We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Black Apple Hostel

Hostel | Jozsef Krt 31\b, Door bell 100, First floor Budapest, Hungary 1085

87.0% Overall Rating

43 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

"El staff fue simpático y atento. El hostel estaba muy limpio. Mi habitación era muy amplia y con un pequeño balcón (era la habitación que está detrás de la mesa de…"

Read all Black Apple Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Inside Hostel Budapest
15.03 USD

Hostel 93.7% 9 reviews
Central Hotel 21
27.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 6 reviews
Tailor & White
13.55 USD

Hostel 98.1% 39 reviews
Europa Centerpoint Guesthouse
9.03 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 63 reviews
Nightingale Ensuite Hostel
18.07 USD

Hotel 5 star 75.5% 244 reviews
Apartment Horanszky
26.84 USD

Apartment 93.6% 4 reviews
Mandala Hostel
11.29 USD

Hostel 91.4% 837 reviews
Hostel Just Right
7.87 USD

Hostel 71.6% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

43 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Black Apple Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El staff fue simpático y atento. El hostel estaba muy limpio. Mi habitación era muy amplia y con un pequeño balcón (era la habitación que está detrás de la mesa de recepción).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location to reach, right next to tram stop. Good locker by bed to leave things in securely.

Disliked: Very noisy at night as next to overnight tram. Also hot, as only a fan for a large room. Only two showers and one toilet for whole hostel, not ideal, you could end up waiting.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Finnegan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the city centre, nice layout but kind of strange when you want to chill in bed as all the beds point into a centre so have 5 pairs of eyes on you at one point

Disliked: No real social area so unless you have company you wouldn't really meet anybody

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located close to metro stop.

Disliked: The traffic outside at night is very loud

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some may say its noisy from the street and it may be for some, but I had no issue with it. Big room, clean everything, big enough kitchen with all utensils needed, location was close to the sights, bars, and train station, had a nice nightstand locker (big), and the staff was accommodating to anything and everything I needed, great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All good

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Rodrigues

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place. It's very friendly and cosy hostel. The stuff it is friendly and helpful.It is in the center. The beds are comfortable, and it is very quite, so you can sleep :)

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serene Tseng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Serene would recommend this property

Liked: it's not like a typical hostel--there are no bunk beds. instead, it reminded me of a fancy boarding school with regular single beds and a nightstand/locker beside the bed. the location is close enough to the city center to walk to. the tram does run all night, but the noise didn't bother me. the price is very inexpensive considering how nice the facilities are. there was hardly anyone staying at the hostel when i was there, but the staff was indeed there the whole time as they promised. they're very friendly too. the kitchen is small, but serviceable and has microwave, stove, kettle.. and the staff even allowed us to use the fridge!

Disliked: literally nothing...well, i think a bit more attention to the cleanliness of the bedding would be appreciated, but it's not a big deal. i just found a few hairs on the blanket.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Latter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, right outside the metro and tram. Very clean and good value for money. Would highly recommend this place. Also had 24hour reception.

Disliked: Nothing!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: Good location, city center and major tourist places can be reached by walk.

Disliked: A very bad experience. First they send me a confirmatory email about my booking. Up on arrival they told me the room I booked is available from next day only and promised me for next day. So they gave me another sub-standard room. Next day again they gave my booked room to someone else and completely denied that they promised me anything. This property is highly non-recommended because of mismanagement and lie.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joe mcload

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 joe would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel it is a really good place. They have many facilities. Tickets to the termal spa, sightseeing tour, a good pubcrawl which was really cheap. The staff was very helpful. The hostel it is very clean, quiet and comfortable. So I recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: joe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernandez Alejandra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Fernandez would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere, helpful staff at a great location. Exavtly what I needed. Perfect!

Disliked: Fernandez left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The hostel has a policy of just adding beds to the room as people arrive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Bassett

Alone

City break

19 April 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: comfy, excellent value for money, good location in front of a tram stop and new metro line 4 , a fridge and a small kitchen which even includes a sandwich maker. This is a nice, small, quiet hostel. which I would definitely recommend to anyone not looking for a big, party hostel. In any case, there is no curfew or anything so if you do want to go out then there's no problem, just don't expect to go on a pub crawl with the hostel

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was great and it was really clean :)

Disliked: The walls are really thin so you hear almost everything from outside especially the tram, but you can get used to it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gloria csiszer

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Gloria would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing. Close to everything. You have stores, bars, Corvinteto, 2 malls

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FEDE López-Cerón Nieto

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 FEDE would recommend this property

Liked: Very kindly staff. The hostel has only 16 beds, so its a quite atmosphere.

Disliked: There´s a kitchen but there´s no table for eating what you`ve cooked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Ford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very good to have no bunk beds and big spacious rooms. Location was right next to the tram to easily get to central budapest and/or the river

Disliked: Only negative would be the tram runs all night and can be a bit loud

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and ready to answer all our questions, rooms were clean and spacious, and location is also very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap, honest and extremely helpful staff 24/7 Enormous offer of snacks, restaurants and bars just outside Easy to get to the city by tram or on foot All the rooms have a decorative theme Tea and coffee available for free

Disliked: Only 2 toilets and 2 showers, but the hostel only has 5 or 6 rooms, so this was never an issue Facilities are limited (for example no breakfast possible), but everything you need is 5 steps away Pretty hard to find the first time, no big sign on the building The beds were a bit hard (thin mattresses?), but once we lied down, they did prove to be extremely comfortable...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vitaliy Andriyants

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Vitaliy would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommend! Good location, a few minutes from the metro. On the 1st floor of the building has a shop. Friendly staff, spacious rooms, clean toilets and hot shower 24h!

Disliked: Old linen:(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a cosy small hostel quite close to the centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gaona Garcia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms and lockers, also free big towel and all very clean. Another positive thing is that is a very quiet hostel, so you can sleep well.

Disliked: All was perfect

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

brandon dayan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 brandon would recommend this property

Liked: The location is easy to find.

Disliked: the kitchen was little on the said side.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrzej Ocalewicz

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Andrzej would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay! Recommend to all!

Disliked: Andrzej left no negative feedback.