HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fifth Hostel

Hostel | Hungary, 1056 Budapest, Vaci u. 85, 1st floor, door 4 Budapest, Hungary 1056

82.1% Overall Rating

35 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/10/2013)

"Fantastic location on Budapest most famous shopping street and within sight of the Great Market Hall. Owners Peter and Istvan are extremely helpful and friendly. Full kitchen and good common room, all at a good price."

Read all Fifth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 19.37
  • Breakfast USD 6.92
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Green Bridge Guest House and Apartments
16.60 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 435 reviews
Downtown Guesthouse
8.30 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 366 reviews
Kalvin House Pension
35.97 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 103 reviews
Barocco Hostel
9.89 USD

Hostel 85.4% 254 reviews
Colors Budapest Hostel
9.68 USD

Hostel 87.7% 191 reviews
Artificial hostel apt and rooms
7.15 USD

Guesthouse 90.0% 6 reviews
Ace hostel
7.42 USD

Guesthouse 68.8% 16 reviews
Andromeda hostel
21.35 USD

Hostel 72.5% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

35 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fifth Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Murat Sarioglu

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Murat would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and in good location..

Disliked: Staff is working a couple of hours in a day.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pablo Rivero Bernal

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff! Location it's awesome.

Disliked: Pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location on Budapest most famous shopping street and within sight of the Great Market Hall. Owners Peter and Istvan are extremely helpful and friendly. Full kitchen and good common room, all at a good price.

Disliked: Lights in toilets are on automatic sensor and are timed at only 10 seconds! But this is the only problem with the entire hostel.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Crisp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the Pest half of town. Nice beds, good wifi and computer facilities. Hostel was clean throughout.

Disliked: Door to the hostel in main building was left open on some occasions. It could have been made clearer on arrival that it needed to be locked when returning to the hostel. Staff were friendly but they were not there much of the time and didn't really give much guidance about attractions. We booked a 6 room dorm but it was actually a 6. This didn't matter too much however.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013

Liked: -Location. It's a great location. Near cheap restaurants of you don't want to cook. Near one of the bridges so you can explore both Buda and Pest on foot. -Price. It's cheap. -Had a kitchen and there was a super market nearby

Disliked: -Shower doors were pretty see through, which wouldn't be so bad if it weren't for the fact that they're located on the way to the kitchen (door's always open) and in the same room as the toilet, washing machine, drier.. Anyone walking by has a clear view of whoever is showering -Wasn't that clean -Toilet lights are controlled by motion sensors but they turn off every 10 seconds, which gets annoying pretty fast -Hard to find -The lockers are not big enough for a backpack. I had a 42L backpack that I usually take as carry on and it was a tight fit. The rest of my friends didn't even try to get their 65L in one of those lockers

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Eugenia Gay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great, good kitchen, very clean

Disliked: if people decide to have drinks at the hostel it is impossible to sleep. Thin walls.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Orhun Cakir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013

Liked: ..

Disliked: We didnt find hostel. There is no sign in front of building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and the whole hostel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Ihander

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: 5th Hostel is perfectly situated, close the river and tours attractions.

Disliked: No bad word to say, I was only longing for a guitar. Black sheep Hostel had a guitar which is extra +

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sarah hopkins

Alone

City break

29 June 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: owner was extremely helpful, the hostel only has 16beds and was very quiet when I was there so did not meet people. But would highly recommend for small groups

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david gosnell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: Lucien was very friendly and welcoming and washed my laundry for free when some junior Ukrainian terrorists disturbed my sleep. The location is really great and so I think the hostel is very good value.

Disliked: The only negative is the fact that Lucien disrespected my rich gypsy heritage by refusing to let me build a fire in the common room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, nice location...

Disliked: Maybe some trash bin in the room could be nice, or maybe a bed lamp. Had a bit of a trouble to find it, as there is no big sign on the outside, but then I phoned the owner and he gave me directions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel Perals

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff.They gave me plenty of information about Budapest but the best was that I had some doubts about how to get back to airport from the city on Sunday early morning and they came back to Hostel only to solve my problem.Thanks a lot..Apart from this the hostel is downtown,next to metro,bus and tram stations.Very convenient.Whatever information they give on HB is right.The value for money is excellent due to the cheap price,and the cleanliness and good smell of the bedsheets.Definitely this is one of the best hostel I have been.

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and location, there is probably no way to beat this location. They have convenient lockers to stow your valuables and you are in a beautiful area, right in the heart of the city and across from what was my favorite attraction, the grand market halls. The facility itself is a standard multi-bed dorms but the bathrooms are fairly cramped and uncomfortable and, maybe because it was booked solid for my entire stay, a little messy.

Disliked: Not very much surface area to put things, messy, drafty, bathroom was a little gross.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and accomodating. They helped us out with anything we needed, recommended the best places to visit/eat/go out and even printed off our boarding cards off for us. All the facilities are very good and clean. There's a spacious communal area and the dorms are big. The actual location is on the best street for resteraunts, 10min walk from bars and the supermarket is literally down the road. Would definately recommend!

Disliked: It is quite hard to spot as it's on the top floor of a block, so just make sure you look hard enough and know the address as we learnt the hard way!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not too big, it's easy to find and there is a big market when you cross the street at the traffic light where you can get great and cheap food. Everything is clean, the kitchen is nice.

Disliked: It took us around 30 minutes to get to places we wanted to go, but then again there isn't really one centre in Budapest and this was very close to the river, so between Buda and Pest. When I was there with my friend there were a lot of couples and they weren't very interested in meeting people so that's why the atmosphere wasn't very good.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super friendly. They provide everything I need in the kitchen and I can even not wash the dishes after using! The bed is comfortable.

Disliked: Places like toilets and bathroom can be cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Kravets

Alone

City break

06 August 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff and I like shower room to;)

Disliked: nothing!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fifth Hostel really has everything that you need. I recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the fact it had be renewed recently... It wasn't noisy at all even for me who slept by the window giving on Vaci Utca, one of Budapest main tourist street.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Moore

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Decent sized lockers to safely store your stuff. Also the owner was brilliant and very helpful to tell you everywhere to go in Budapest

Disliked: No private shower rooms. All in one room which didn't lock

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tjasa Kosar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Tjasa would recommend this property

Liked: I have to say that the manager/owner of the Fifth Hostel, Peter, was extremely kind, helpful, thoughtful (he even gave us his phone number in case we wouldn't find the Lenin statue) and professional. The hostel is in great location in downtown and max. 10-15 min. away from all the sightseeings (btw, I totally recommend you Fatal Garden restaurant on the same street - amazing food, big portions and student friendly prices).

Disliked: There is nothing I disliked exept the people who stayed in the hostel - well I didn't disliked them since I don't know them but I would be much happier if I would meet responsible and mature visitors from all around the world but that's another story which has nothing to do with the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Charming building, small and hidden away means more of a 'local' vibe.

Disliked: Toilets and showers were very basic.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAN KA WAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 MAN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and we have kitchen as well. It is close to many nice location for sightseeing.

Disliked: Seem there is a heat wave in budapest but room without air con is really a hard time to sleep.

The property's response is...