We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fifth Hostel

Hostel | Hungary, 1056 Budapest, Vaci u. 85, 1st floor, door 4 Budapest, Hungary 1056

85.3% Overall Rating

56 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Meghan Low thinks…

"initially unsure about the hostel for location room value for money and staff all expectations were exceeded and it had become one of my top hostel experiences to date. of course the fellow bunkmates…"

Read all Fifth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.71
  • Breakfast USD 5.61
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Green Bridge Guest House and Apartments
13.46 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 435 reviews
Downtown Guesthouse
16.83 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 367 reviews
Hello Budapest Hostel
16.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kalvin House Pension
37.02 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 106 reviews
Barocco Hostel
7.14 USD

Hostel 82.3% 268 reviews
Colors Budapest Hostel
11.21 USD

Hostel 87.1% 221 reviews
Artificial hostel apt and rooms
7.26 USD

Guesthouse 74.6% 9 reviews
Ace hostel
6.42 USD

Guesthouse 68.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

56 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fifth Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Luisa Lubomirska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015

Liked: The staff was very friendly

Disliked: It was not very clean

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sevin Doruk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2015 Sevin would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff were good.

Disliked: Sevin left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Piotr Eyoum

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 August 2015 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: Very good located.

Disliked: Many dirty dishes in the kitchen!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Hayward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful and kind. Would go back just to see them.

Disliked: I hate that I didnt get to stay longer

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Roman Kravets

Alone

City break

13 August 2015 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and it was cheap!

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meghan Low

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Meghan would recommend this property

Liked: initially unsure about the hostel for location room value for money and staff all expectations were exceeded and it had become one of my top hostel experiences to date. of course the fellow bunkmates in one's room will shape anyone's experience but when you have staff members like Pierre and David it makes all the difference. they are approachable for any questions and very knowledgeable of the local scene. thank you for making my time in Budapest a memorable one and I envy those future backpackers to come brcasue I know what good fun they are about to have

Disliked: Meghan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and great, we even went to drink togeather first night. The kitchen is very well equiped. The hostel in general was nice and comfortable. The location is the best for exploring the city. I would stay in this hostel again.

Disliked: The description of the hostel is slightly incorrect - the computer in the common room is broken, the lockers can't be locked and once there wasn't hot water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Erica Barr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really cool. Mattress and pillows are way better than any other place we stayed. The location is awesome.

Disliked: We stayed at the end of june. The place was untidy and I could see it being more of a party hostel when more people stay. Not too much privacy in the bathrooms and showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff, not crowded. Just perfect.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

camilo molina aragon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2015 camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Is good located, with access to 3 diferents ways of transportation, and the beds are good

Disliked: The dirty and powder, but its normal

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Phuong Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2015 Phuong would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to post office and the grand market, tram stops and metro stops... Check out Daubner Cukrászda Kft., Szépvölgyi Way for scrumptious ice cream, cake and macarons (which is only 50c each!!!)

Disliked: The walls are thin so if people watch TV or talk all night, I wouldn't be able to sleep. Unfortunately, they did. Also there were a couple who booked 2 beds but slept together and oh my they were noisy - this isn't hostel's fault but I hope in the future staffs will ask couples in advance to respect common space and privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really nice place in an amazing location. Staff is always willing to help you and make your stay even better.

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vickneswaran Sukumaran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Vickneswaran would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly environment. I love this place location. It very near to kalvin ter metro station.

Disliked: Vickneswaran left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice staff. A tiny hostel with few people. Not crowded.

Disliked: Nth

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Raphaella Machado Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2014 Raphaella would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff was very fun, and the rooms were very spacious.

Disliked: The bathrooms had no place to leave your things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was pretty cool, and our stay there was amazing with their advices and company!

Disliked: The bathrooms were not really cleaned everyday

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hollie Copas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

27 August 2014 Hollie would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at Fifth hostel. We were originally put in a room with too many people and not enough beds, which we later found out was someone elses fault (a lone traveller was in the wrong room); however we reported it and we were quickly helped out and put in another room. The second room was closer to the living area, but was not loud (and the wifi was better)! Beds were changed quickly and the building was pretty cool. It was the fifth hostels second building, i'm assuming used when busy, as we had just been at Sziget Festival! It was in a Jewish boarding school so the building was very old with artwork on the walls. It had a lovely chilled out vibe as a hostel and everyone seemed very considerate of eachother and friendly.

Disliked: As expected in a cheap hostel, the beds were not particularly comfy, my mattress had a large dip in it so my back did hurt in the morning, but it was bearable for one night, any longer may have not been great. And as with most hostels, people coming in and out at strange times at night is a norm, and as i am a light sleeper i wake up- however, this is not a dislike about the property! :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014

Liked: The location was good - really close to the Grand Market and one of the bridges to get about Buda and Pest quite easily.

Disliked: Hardly any other visitors, no visitor information, wifi didn't work, hardly any staff to ask for anything needed, poor common areas, quiet and unfriendly atmosphere (and guests that were there seemed cliquey - those in my room appeared to be on longer term stays). Hostel also in 2 buildings and the one I was put in was being part renovated, anyone could walk into the hostel from main building (no lock on main hostel door) and I was a bit nervous walking around building alone at night because it was quiet and a bit creepy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Ostrognay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and friendly. The location was great for my friend and I because it was a quick walk to all the 'nightlife' destinations however far enough that it didn't disrupt sleep. There was no lockout time

Disliked: There were 5 flights of stairs to go up but it kept us super fit :)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Silvio Revelli

Alone

City break

08 August 2014

Liked: Big room

Disliked: Noisy, 115 steps to the 4floor, and staff wasn't there...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, stuff 24 hours, clean and cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Murat Sarioglu

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Murat would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and in good location..

Disliked: Staff is working a couple of hours in a day.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pablo Rivero Bernal

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff! Location it's awesome.

Disliked: Pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location on Budapest most famous shopping street and within sight of the Great Market Hall. Owners Peter and Istvan are extremely helpful and friendly. Full kitchen and good common room, all at a good price.

Disliked: Lights in toilets are on automatic sensor and are timed at only 10 seconds! But this is the only problem with the entire hostel.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Crisp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the Pest half of town. Nice beds, good wifi and computer facilities. Hostel was clean throughout.

Disliked: Door to the hostel in main building was left open on some occasions. It could have been made clearer on arrival that it needed to be locked when returning to the hostel. Staff were friendly but they were not there much of the time and didn't really give much guidance about attractions. We booked a 6 room dorm but it was actually a 6. This didn't matter too much however.

The property's response is...