We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fifth Hostel

Hostel | Hungary, 1056 Budapest, Vaci u. 85, 1st floor, door 4 Budapest, Hungary 1056

81.1% Overall Rating

47 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2015)

camilo molina aragon thinks…

"Is good located, with access to 3 diferents ways of transportation, and the beds are good"

Read all Fifth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.37
  • Breakfast USD 5.49
  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Green Bridge Guest House and Apartments
13.18 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 435 reviews
Downtown Guesthouse
10.87 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 367 reviews
Hello Budapest Hostel
16.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kalvin House Pension
36.24 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 105 reviews
Barocco Hostel
7.13 USD

Hostel 84.3% 266 reviews
Colors Budapest Hostel
10.97 USD

Hostel 88.7% 215 reviews
Artificial hostel apt and rooms
5.86 USD

Guesthouse 74.6% 9 reviews
Ace hostel
6.42 USD

Guesthouse 68.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

47 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fifth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

camilo molina aragon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2015 camilo would recommend this property

Liked: Is good located, with access to 3 diferents ways of transportation, and the beds are good

Disliked: The dirty and powder, but its normal

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Phuong Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2015 Phuong would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to post office and the grand market, tram stops and metro stops... Check out Daubner Cukrászda Kft., Szépvölgyi Way for scrumptious ice cream, cake and macarons (which is only 50c each!!!)

Disliked: The walls are thin so if people watch TV or talk all night, I wouldn't be able to sleep. Unfortunately, they did. Also there were a couple who booked 2 beds but slept together and oh my they were noisy - this isn't hostel's fault but I hope in the future staffs will ask couples in advance to respect common space and privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really nice place in an amazing location. Staff is always willing to help you and make your stay even better.

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vickneswaran Sukumaran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Vickneswaran would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly environment. I love this place location. It very near to kalvin ter metro station.

Disliked: Vickneswaran left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice staff. A tiny hostel with few people. Not crowded.

Disliked: Nth

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Raphaella Machado Barbosa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2014 Raphaella would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff was very fun, and the rooms were very spacious.

Disliked: The bathrooms had no place to leave your things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was pretty cool, and our stay there was amazing with their advices and company!

Disliked: The bathrooms were not really cleaned everyday

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hollie Copas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

27 August 2014 Hollie would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at Fifth hostel. We were originally put in a room with too many people and not enough beds, which we later found out was someone elses fault (a lone traveller was in the wrong room); however we reported it and we were quickly helped out and put in another room. The second room was closer to the living area, but was not loud (and the wifi was better)! Beds were changed quickly and the building was pretty cool. It was the fifth hostels second building, i'm assuming used when busy, as we had just been at Sziget Festival! It was in a Jewish boarding school so the building was very old with artwork on the walls. It had a lovely chilled out vibe as a hostel and everyone seemed very considerate of eachother and friendly.

Disliked: As expected in a cheap hostel, the beds were not particularly comfy, my mattress had a large dip in it so my back did hurt in the morning, but it was bearable for one night, any longer may have not been great. And as with most hostels, people coming in and out at strange times at night is a norm, and as i am a light sleeper i wake up- however, this is not a dislike about the property! :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014

Liked: The location was good - really close to the Grand Market and one of the bridges to get about Buda and Pest quite easily.

Disliked: Hardly any other visitors, no visitor information, wifi didn't work, hardly any staff to ask for anything needed, poor common areas, quiet and unfriendly atmosphere (and guests that were there seemed cliquey - those in my room appeared to be on longer term stays). Hostel also in 2 buildings and the one I was put in was being part renovated, anyone could walk into the hostel from main building (no lock on main hostel door) and I was a bit nervous walking around building alone at night because it was quiet and a bit creepy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Ostrognay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and friendly. The location was great for my friend and I because it was a quick walk to all the 'nightlife' destinations however far enough that it didn't disrupt sleep. There was no lockout time

Disliked: There were 5 flights of stairs to go up but it kept us super fit :)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Silvio Revelli

Alone

City break

08 August 2014

Liked: Big room

Disliked: Noisy, 115 steps to the 4floor, and staff wasn't there...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, stuff 24 hours, clean and cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Murat Sarioglu

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Murat would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and in good location..

Disliked: Staff is working a couple of hours in a day.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pablo Rivero Bernal

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff! Location it's awesome.

Disliked: Pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location on Budapest most famous shopping street and within sight of the Great Market Hall. Owners Peter and Istvan are extremely helpful and friendly. Full kitchen and good common room, all at a good price.

Disliked: Lights in toilets are on automatic sensor and are timed at only 10 seconds! But this is the only problem with the entire hostel.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Crisp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the Pest half of town. Nice beds, good wifi and computer facilities. Hostel was clean throughout.

Disliked: Door to the hostel in main building was left open on some occasions. It could have been made clearer on arrival that it needed to be locked when returning to the hostel. Staff were friendly but they were not there much of the time and didn't really give much guidance about attractions. We booked a 6 room dorm but it was actually a 6. This didn't matter too much however.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013

Liked: -Location. It's a great location. Near cheap restaurants of you don't want to cook. Near one of the bridges so you can explore both Buda and Pest on foot. -Price. It's cheap. -Had a kitchen and there was a super market nearby

Disliked: -Shower doors were pretty see through, which wouldn't be so bad if it weren't for the fact that they're located on the way to the kitchen (door's always open) and in the same room as the toilet, washing machine, drier.. Anyone walking by has a clear view of whoever is showering -Wasn't that clean -Toilet lights are controlled by motion sensors but they turn off every 10 seconds, which gets annoying pretty fast -Hard to find -The lockers are not big enough for a backpack. I had a 42L backpack that I usually take as carry on and it was a tight fit. The rest of my friends didn't even try to get their 65L in one of those lockers

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Eugenia Gay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was great, good kitchen, very clean

Disliked: if people decide to have drinks at the hostel it is impossible to sleep. Thin walls.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Orhun Cakir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013

Liked: ..

Disliked: We didnt find hostel. There is no sign in front of building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and the whole hostel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Ihander

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: 5th Hostel is perfectly situated, close the river and tours attractions.

Disliked: No bad word to say, I was only longing for a guitar. Black sheep Hostel had a guitar which is extra +

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sarah hopkins

Alone

City break

29 June 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: owner was extremely helpful, the hostel only has 16beds and was very quiet when I was there so did not meet people. But would highly recommend for small groups

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david gosnell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: Lucien was very friendly and welcoming and washed my laundry for free when some junior Ukrainian terrorists disturbed my sleep. The location is really great and so I think the hostel is very good value.

Disliked: The only negative is the fact that Lucien disrespected my rich gypsy heritage by refusing to let me build a fire in the common room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, nice location...

Disliked: Maybe some trash bin in the room could be nice, or maybe a bed lamp. Had a bit of a trouble to find it, as there is no big sign on the outside, but then I phoned the owner and he gave me directions.