We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Deak Hostel

Guesthouse | Asboth utca 17, Budapest, Hungary 1075

70.7% Overall Rating

8 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2013)

"The location was great and the staff was amazing. However there was a policy of no loud talking or speaking which definitely cut into the fun factor. Other than that I thought the place was brilliant. This hostel is in…"

Read all Deak Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.66
  • Luggage Room USD 8.13

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

City Heart Guesthouse
6.85 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 9 reviews
Senator Apartments
12.45 USD

Apartment 93.3% 3 reviews
Deak hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 74.3% 7 reviews
7x24 Central Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 93.3% 67 reviews
Captain Budapest
8.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Paprika Apartman
25.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Wombats City Hostel Budapest
11.39 USD

Hostel 92.1% 169 reviews
Downtown Oasis Private Rooms
15.02 USD

Hostel 98.3% 115 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.7%

Overall Rating

8 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Deak Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
85.3%
Facilities
62.7%
Cleanliness
65.3%
Staff
69.3%
Value
68.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014

Liked: Nothing, I don't recomend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: Everything. The hostel was located alot far away according to what is said in the page of Deak Hostel, the photos that are displaced on the website do not resemble anything that what the hostel is like! The room that was given to me was covered in dust from the floor to the ceiling, it smelled really bad, the toilet was completelly filthy, the beds had duck tape in order for them not to fall apart and there were hairs on the beds. The room that was presented to me didn't show any kind of safety, the doors and the windows seemed like anybody could enter in the middle of the night into the room. This room looked worse than a shed!

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: We called the "hostel" in the afternoon and said that we are coming about 8 o'clock pm. We arrived 20 min. later . Nobody was there. There was not even a plate with the name of hostel. We called the man again and he arrived 45 min. later. He told us, that they have a technical problem and he would bring us to another place. We took him in our car and drove about 10 min. He brougth us to an old flat in a house which was really broken. The flat was catastrophical as well as the bath room, the beds and the bed linen. It was dirty and we discovered that this "hostel" was much worse than our experieneces before. And we have already seen many hostels in many countries. It was just disgusting!! We feel us deceived !! This "hostel" is a shame as well to booking.com as to Budapest. I hope. that booking.com will distance from this "hostel".

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Nicolas Szyrman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

02 January 2014

Liked: Safety and location

Disliked: It was very very cold (there was only a small radiatior enough for half a person) it was very dusty, the sheets and pillows were not enough...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff was amazing. However there was a policy of no loud talking or speaking which definitely cut into the fun factor. Other than that I thought the place was brilliant. This hostel is in an excellent location, 3 blocks away from a central subway station. We stayed in a private with ensuite, and our suite was clean, and had a wonderful kitchen and bathroom. The beds and cots were all very comfy. We also had clean sheets and towels. I would highly recommend this hostel. Happy travels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this place cause of the homely feel and very personal approach to clients. The location is also handy! Close to downtown and easy reachable by public transportation. Tram stop is only few steps from there and trams are working 24 hours a day

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff, very affordable. Highly recommend staying here - I will definitely stay here again if I come back to Budapest.Lovely clean small hostel with friendly helpful and happy staff, and only 5 mins walk to old town. Comfortable beds in tidy rooms, cheap internet near, good range of tourist info provided and generally very good value. What more could you want! Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were put in a bigger place with an extra bed for no cost- it was huge and great value for money! Highly recommend it. It was one block away from deal square which is a great location and had a good bathroom and kitchen, however very limited pans and utensils for cooking. Still very nice though

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012

Liked: The guy who showed us the hostel was very nice but the only time we saw him was when he gave us the key. There was no staff to ask questions or obtain information.

Disliked: First let me say that I've stayed at a good number of hostels and I've never had to complain. I was truly shocked that this place had the great reviews it has. First , the place we were taken was not the same address as listed on the site. We tried to keep a positive attitude regardless of how the plae looked but when bedtime came around, we nearly froze to death. There was no heating system, except for a small portable heater that only heated a 3inch radius. The blankets provided might as well have been tissue paper and the windows might as well have been left open- actually, we should have just slept outside!!If there was a staff, we could have let them know but there is no one at the hostel. We tried calling the guy in the morning to tell himthere was no way we could go through another night but all he told us was to leave the key, so we paid for both nights. Let me add that the toilet was leaking, the towels provided did not look clean, the list goes on and on.HORRIBLE HORRIBLE experience, do NOT recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel and apartments are in the best area of Budapest. Near the river, big synagog, Castle, Parliament and the Market Hall. All of the big hotels in walking distance, but for much higher price. The only minor , I think that need more notice about how to check in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is very comfortable and the staff is friendly and more similar at a family than a hostels...near the center i certainly return there if i'll go at Budapest again

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a wonderfull apartment right in the middle of the city. The area is full of bars and restaurant. The rooms are silent. It was an apartment not in a hostel. This suited us perfectly as we were on our own, but it wouldn't be a place to meet other travellers. But the apartment itself was perfect. The location is outstanding. Right in the centre of Budapest near the main metro station and within walking distance of all the main sights and the Danube. Good value for money as well. I recommend.

Disliked: ok place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is actually an apartment style hostel. We had a bit of trouble contacting the owners upon arrival, but the facilities were worth it. They were in a prime location, very clean, and very spacious.

Disliked: It is good