HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Retox Party Hostel

Hostel | O Utca 41, Budapest, Hungary 1065

93.9% Overall Rating

44 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Damian Roa thinks…

"It is one of the greatest run party hostels in the world. It is amazing and the staff are all essentially a crazy family that took care of me and I had two of th greatst nights of my life on the pub…"

Read all Retox Party Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Retox is a party hostel so there may be loud and drunk people as residents. If this is not ok, please contact us and we will find more suitable accommodation. . We also cannot accept bookings from people over 36, but groups (including university, erasmus, stag and hen dos) are welcomed!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

David Hasselhostel
19.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Beds N Roses Hostel
10.74 USD

Guesthouse 73.5% 25 reviews
Instant Groove! Party Hostel
21.47 USD

Hostel 86.5% 97 reviews
Hi 5 Party Hostel
13.05 USD

Hostel 95.5% 128 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
39.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Broadway Hostel
13.43 USD

Hostel 86.5% 41 reviews
ACH Opera Hostel
24.51 USD

Apartment 90.5% 15 reviews
Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse
11.53 USD

Hostel 84.6% 475 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

44 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Retox Party Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Roa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: It is one of the greatest run party hostels in the world. It is amazing and the staff are all essentially a crazy family that took care of me and I had two of th greatst nights of my life on the pub crawl and boat party .

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like is that I couldn't stay longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Walsh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the people, the atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ethan Wallace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Ethan would recommend this property

Liked: Retox is probably the most beautifully hedonistic cesspit I'll ever experience in my life. The staff are truly amazing and I would rate the likes of Pixie and PJ and among the best blokes I've ever met. Retox well and truly lives up to its name; the friendships made and the experiences had will stay with me for life!

Disliked: I should have booked longer. Also it's not the cleanest place in the world. That said for a place run by a bunch of alcoholics it's pretty decent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Price

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are all very friendly and know how to party. great location close to everything u need 4 nights wasnt long enough !!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Smith

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff were amazing, so much fun and definetely knew how to throw a party!! 100% be coming back to stay again, get my eskimo brother fern to take me to the island again to swim in fountains

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014

Liked: some of the staff were friendly, others werent

Disliked: Dirty, dirty place

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kellie Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 May 2014 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and convenient. Great staff. Keen to get everyone involved in the fun. Cheap too.

Disliked: We were silly to stay here on our last night before an early flight and expect to get any sleep. If you stay here then commit and get amongst it. It is great fun!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tina Zach

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Really, really great partying going on there!!! Every night another fun activity! The stuff was really helpful and friendly and were also partying.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Smith

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel's I've ever stayed at for (1) great staff and people (2) it truly is a party hostel with well organised and run awesome drinking happening every night showing you the best bits of Budapest nightlife/night activities I might not have otherwise found/organised (i.e. the ruin bar pub crawl and river cruise was awesome!) (3) during the day the staff have lists of great things to do (both drinking, non-drinking, cultural, adventure based and quirky) which they help organise making it easy to get out and see things even if you are hungover (I did caving, beer biking and the House of Terror amongst others, though there was plenty more I missed out on) (4) despite being a party hostel, it is keep amazingly clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay here was excellent! The staff miraculously manages a party for every night of the week. There's always somebody who is interested in having fun, and there's such great things to do nearby. I did a ton of cool stuff- I went into a cave, tried authentic Hungarian food and went to a boat party... all of it was organized or suggested by Retox. And, Retox is close by a large group of other hostels- there's always a group of people who want to join and party. Even though I was alone, it wasn't weird or awkward at all. The staff and atmosphere make the experience here a lot of fun.

Disliked: erm... Ducky didn't love me back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

antwan morrow

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 antwan would recommend this property

Liked: If you plan on visiting and partying a lot I would highly advise you to stay here! Retox is by far the best Hostel I have ever stayed in! We arrived drinking and left drunk. I sum up my time in one phrase "ohhh kill em" (insider) but honestly this hostel was fucking DOPE!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarrod Reidy

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Jarrod would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the place to stay in Budapest!! The location is prime and walking distance to everything. The hostel also organises heaps of activities during the day and night. But most of all the standout was the staff! A bunch of absolute legends, especially Candy, Krusty and Kelsey give them a pay rise!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miles Cope-Summerfield

With a large group / tour

Romantic getaway

15 February 2014 Miles would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I've ever been to! Amazing atmosphere, clean and comfy rooms and great facilities. retox was the only place we loved What really made it were the staff though, especially sac. Man that guy is incredible, completely made my Budapest and Europe experience. How he never won legend is beyond me, Budapest party hostels should be nominated for lightweight because of that farce. Actually best hostel I've ever stayed at though, do not consider going anywhere else. Luna, weed, d bag, gooch, shayler, lex, kels, man saw, swainy and lid were cool too Love miles

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! the staff are so lovely & helpful. they really make an effort to ensure you make the most of your time in budapest, not just when it comes to partying (although they did that as well & made everyone feel included in nighttime activities) met the friendliest people here and everyone just generally wants to have a good time which makes for a great atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rahul Dhond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2014 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The party planning and culture

Disliked: Rahul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jake Hunt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what it says on the tin, PARTY HOSTEL through and through. If you are looking for a hostel with amazing staff ready to party just as much as you, a crazy atmosphere 24 hours a day, Jager trains, beer pong (and flip pong!!!), bar crawls, horrific hangovers and one hell of a experience then book Retox you will not regret it. I want to go back already and i have only been home a day!

Disliked: stupid question really, not a single dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanyn Bennett

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 January 2014 Shanyn would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the greatest party hostel I have ever stayed at!! The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to ensure all guest have the most amazing time, everyone is there to party and have fun.. so if that's what you're looking for, stay here!! I would recommend this place to anyone, can't wait to head back for round 2!

Disliked: Nothing at all!! Even the keys are attached to your wrist, they have literally thought of everything..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for party people! They take you out each night, the staff are super friendly.

Disliked: A little bit slummier but I didn't mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome! Great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Liberati

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: There is nothing not to LOVE about Retox. If you are looking to party hard and meet some awesome, unique people, there is no better place in the WORLD than Retox. The staff were all super knowledgeable but also always had a good time. They were a great group that felt like a family. They even sent us a lovely PERSONAL goodbye email.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Best hostel I have every stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayden Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Jayden would recommend this property

Liked: What I loved about Retox was that they were completely upfront and honest about the nature of their hostel from the very beginning, and while they delivered on the party aspect in a big way, the facilities and their cleanliness would easily make you forget you were in a party hostel. I was checked-in by Luna, who was welcoming and friendly, and made sure I was looked after for my entire week-long stay, but she was by no means an exception to the rule as all the staff were fantastic. I met some great people during my stay and had an awesome time; I will be back very soon. Also, it's above a bar.

Disliked: I didn't bring my onesie :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Davison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is full of awesome artwork on the walls in every room- definitely a visual stimulant! The common room even has a place for you to write something yourself! Of course Retox has everything you need: bed, bathroom, common room with kitchen, balcony, and a bar!!!! Every night there is a fun activity planned so instead of having to go out and find a party they bring the party to you! The best part about Retox is most definitely the staff! The minute you walk in the door everyone, both staff and guests, are super friendly and make you feel at home. I originally checked in for 4 days and now have been here for over a month! I love it that much! Most guests end up doing the same thing as well haha. To tell you a little about the staff: Kelsey is the mama of Retox! She is the assistant manager and knows absolutely everything. She is awesome to party with and even to just play drinking games with while watching a movie :) Luna has been amazing as well. She is always there to talk to if ya need it and of course loves to go out and have fun. Mansaw, you can always rely on him to make you smile as he is quite a character and wears the funniest outfits ever! Krusty, same thing goes with him. Funny personality and outfits. This one can definitely party as well! Swanio is also the big man of the house! The manager but is always out and about joining the party. Lid is also the big mama of Retox! She holds this place together. So much so she is now going to be running the new BPH hostel, congrats! Weed.... Oh Weed... F*** you! Haha jk. Love ya man. Nough said. Dbag... I think that's nough said too lol jk. Good times with Dbag. Ringo is the newest member to the Retox staff and fits like a glove! Willie is an exceptional bartender here. Not only is he a bartender, he is also a freestyle rapper, dancer, jump roper, and MC! Always a good time! They are no longer with us, but they definitely were a big part of my stay here: Shayler, Lex, and Sac. Shayler and his quirky personality (" How does that Big Mac daddy have such a fly honnie"), Lex and his awesome music playlist, Sac and his amazing MCing skills and dancing (maybe not so much the dancing lol) I am going to miss BPH soo much! I feel so close to everybody here and want to thank them all for great experiences and making me feel at home. I hope to not say goodbye, but see ya later. Retox Party Hostel is hands down the best hostel in Budapest! STAY WITH RETOX!

Disliked: Nothing! This is the best place ever!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Bourke

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing and very friendly staff. The hostel has a great atmosphere and great location. Had a blast at the pub crawl/alcolympics. Will definitely be back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Dalzell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Retox party hostel is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, I met the greatest people and experienced the best nights of my life here! All the staff are so friendly, hilarious and all round legends! Especially LUNA, who made retox party hostel awesome and is pretty high up on the scale of my favourite staff members and makes me want to come back to retox and never leave ever! Overall I love the retox black hole! XOXO

Disliked: Nothing! ! ! !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Kensington

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are all amazing! Super friendly, heaps of fun and so much help when it comes to finding out what to see and do in Budapest.

Disliked: Nothing at all.