We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Retox Party Hostel

Hostel | O Utca 41, Budapest, Hungary 1065

89.6% Overall Rating

51 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Ryan Harvey thinks…

"Had an amazing time here, facilities were better than expected. Atmosphere was the best I've ever had from a hostel, something to do every night and friendly staff who are always happy to help."

Read all Retox Party Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Retox is a party hostel so there may be loud and drunk people as residents. If this is not ok, please contact us and we will find more suitable accommodation. . We also cannot accept bookings from people over 36, but groups (including university, erasmus, stag and hen dos) are welcomed!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

David Hasselhostel
7.73 USD

Hostel 94.3% 7 reviews
Beds N Roses Hostel
10.12 USD

Guesthouse 73.5% 25 reviews
Instant Groove! Party Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 89.5% 102 reviews
Hi 5 Hostel
5.69 USD

Hostel 92.5% 136 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
37.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Paprika Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 99.3% 4 reviews
Broadway Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 86.4% 42 reviews
ACH Opera Hostel
17.39 USD

Apartment 90.7% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

51 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Retox Party Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 58 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Diego Antunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2014

Liked: If you are prepared to party hostels, this is the place!

Disliked: Its not so clean, but this is a party hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Harvey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 September 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Had an amazing time here, facilities were better than expected. Atmosphere was the best I've ever had from a hostel, something to do every night and friendly staff who are always happy to help.

Disliked: Couldn't find a fault

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Retox is exactly what it claims to be. It is a party hostel for young people. It is close to public transport, close to bars, has its own bar.

Disliked: Cleaning is done each day but not extensively.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katarzyna Mieszczak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Great toilet paper. Nicely embossed; different pattern everyday. Decent softness, kind to the buttocks.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Douglas

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 August 2014 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Retox itself is a fantastic property, it has a large lay out but because of the balcony you can always be aware of where to fun is happening. The staff were amazing (Yogi is a chap) they had ridiculously good activities planned every night, they had tones of tourism advice if you could drag your body out of bed each morning. Pretty much you're a fool if you don't stay here!

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Chavez-Cantu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Retox Party hostel is most definitely my favorite hostel in Europe! This was my second time here, and I always have a great time meeting other partygoers. The staff is allot of fun, and the atmosphere is all about having a good time. The location is on point for everything. I can't get enough! I'll be back for sure! 1love Retox!

Disliked: Nah nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Crazy and great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Patel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: We'll start off by saying, never say M I N E. We learnt the hard way within the first 5 minutes of being in retox that the sick b*stards that are the staff with beat your ass to a pulp if you so much whisper the word. Originally we had 3 nights booked at retox, after 2 days of getting f*cked up ,me and my two friends all gave each other the same look that said "we can't leave tomorrow". We booked 2 more nights and at the end of those 5 nights we almost shed a tear on the train to our next destination..... After 10 hours of travelling and getting half way to Poland, we strolled back into the bar at 10pm to a bunch of stunned faces and "what the f*ck are you doing back here?!" From Shayler. That alone should sum up how amazing the place is. Every night is a different kind of f*cked up madness but if you love to party and don't wanna sleep, this is place for you. Every night was sorted out for us so we didn't have to do any planning ourselves and not a single one was a disappointment. The staff are the one asset that make this place amazing. Yogi and Ducky are sick c*nts, pixie will take great pride in showing how his legs look better in Lycra than any girls could, you will just wanna take Krusti home in your handbag when he wears his cowgirl outfit, puddles is just a lad, spud is the greatest Irish person you'll ever meet(shame about the unfinished tattoos), candy is a crazy m*therf*cker (give him a run for his money in the odds game), fern is f*cking awesome but don't ever ask him to be on your trivia team, Seb is the best big spoon you'll ever have and Shayler is just the cherry on top of this crazy, messed up and over the top family that is retox. This place will take your dignity, deprive you of sleep, make you drink more than you knew you ever could, get you in situations you thought would never happen (thanks for the odds game) and by the end it will ruin you but leaving just won't feel like an option. Thank you to everyone at retox for the most f*cked up week of our lives. We have decided to endure an 18 hour train journey at the end of our travels for 5 more nights of madness. See you in a week!!! Love Hannah, Jess and Emily

Disliked: That they haven't asked us to work there :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Roa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: It is one of the greatest run party hostels in the world. It is amazing and the staff are all essentially a crazy family that took care of me and I had two of th greatst nights of my life on the pub crawl and boat party .

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like is that I couldn't stay longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Walsh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the people, the atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ethan Wallace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Ethan would recommend this property

Liked: Retox is probably the most beautifully hedonistic cesspit I'll ever experience in my life. The staff are truly amazing and I would rate the likes of Pixie and PJ and among the best blokes I've ever met. Retox well and truly lives up to its name; the friendships made and the experiences had will stay with me for life!

Disliked: I should have booked longer. Also it's not the cleanest place in the world. That said for a place run by a bunch of alcoholics it's pretty decent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Price

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are all very friendly and know how to party. great location close to everything u need 4 nights wasnt long enough !!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Smith

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff were amazing, so much fun and definetely knew how to throw a party!! 100% be coming back to stay again, get my eskimo brother fern to take me to the island again to swim in fountains

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014

Liked: some of the staff were friendly, others werent

Disliked: Dirty, dirty place

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kellie Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 May 2014 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and convenient. Great staff. Keen to get everyone involved in the fun. Cheap too.

Disliked: We were silly to stay here on our last night before an early flight and expect to get any sleep. If you stay here then commit and get amongst it. It is great fun!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tina Zach

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Really, really great partying going on there!!! Every night another fun activity! The stuff was really helpful and friendly and were also partying.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Smith

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel's I've ever stayed at for (1) great staff and people (2) it truly is a party hostel with well organised and run awesome drinking happening every night showing you the best bits of Budapest nightlife/night activities I might not have otherwise found/organised (i.e. the ruin bar pub crawl and river cruise was awesome!) (3) during the day the staff have lists of great things to do (both drinking, non-drinking, cultural, adventure based and quirky) which they help organise making it easy to get out and see things even if you are hungover (I did caving, beer biking and the House of Terror amongst others, though there was plenty more I missed out on) (4) despite being a party hostel, it is keep amazingly clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay here was excellent! The staff miraculously manages a party for every night of the week. There's always somebody who is interested in having fun, and there's such great things to do nearby. I did a ton of cool stuff- I went into a cave, tried authentic Hungarian food and went to a boat party... all of it was organized or suggested by Retox. And, Retox is close by a large group of other hostels- there's always a group of people who want to join and party. Even though I was alone, it wasn't weird or awkward at all. The staff and atmosphere make the experience here a lot of fun.

Disliked: erm... Ducky didn't love me back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

antwan morrow

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 antwan would recommend this property

Liked: If you plan on visiting and partying a lot I would highly advise you to stay here! Retox is by far the best Hostel I have ever stayed in! We arrived drinking and left drunk. I sum up my time in one phrase "ohhh kill em" (insider) but honestly this hostel was fucking DOPE!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarrod Reidy

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Jarrod would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the place to stay in Budapest!! The location is prime and walking distance to everything. The hostel also organises heaps of activities during the day and night. But most of all the standout was the staff! A bunch of absolute legends, especially Candy, Krusty and Kelsey give them a pay rise!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miles Cope-Summerfield

With a large group / tour

Romantic getaway

15 February 2014 Miles would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I've ever been to! Amazing atmosphere, clean and comfy rooms and great facilities. retox was the only place we loved What really made it were the staff though, especially sac. Man that guy is incredible, completely made my Budapest and Europe experience. How he never won legend is beyond me, Budapest party hostels should be nominated for lightweight because of that farce. Actually best hostel I've ever stayed at though, do not consider going anywhere else. Luna, weed, d bag, gooch, shayler, lex, kels, man saw, swainy and lid were cool too Love miles

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! the staff are so lovely & helpful. they really make an effort to ensure you make the most of your time in budapest, not just when it comes to partying (although they did that as well & made everyone feel included in nighttime activities) met the friendliest people here and everyone just generally wants to have a good time which makes for a great atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rahul Dhond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2014 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The party planning and culture

Disliked: Rahul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jake Hunt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what it says on the tin, PARTY HOSTEL through and through. If you are looking for a hostel with amazing staff ready to party just as much as you, a crazy atmosphere 24 hours a day, Jager trains, beer pong (and flip pong!!!), bar crawls, horrific hangovers and one hell of a experience then book Retox you will not regret it. I want to go back already and i have only been home a day!

Disliked: stupid question really, not a single dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanyn Bennett

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 January 2014 Shanyn would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the greatest party hostel I have ever stayed at!! The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to ensure all guest have the most amazing time, everyone is there to party and have fun.. so if that's what you're looking for, stay here!! I would recommend this place to anyone, can't wait to head back for round 2!

Disliked: Nothing at all!! Even the keys are attached to your wrist, they have literally thought of everything..