HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Retox Party Hostel

Hostel | O Utca 41, Budapest, Hungary 1065

95.5% Overall Rating

37 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Gavin Smith thinks…

"One of the best hostel's I've ever stayed at for (1) great staff and people (2) it truly is a party hostel with well organised and run awesome drinking happening every night showing you the best bits…"

Read all Retox Party Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Retox is a party hostel so there may be loud and drunk people as residents. If this is not ok, please contact us and we will find more suitable accommodation. . We also cannot accept bookings from people over 36, but groups (including university, erasmus, stag and hen dos) are welcomed!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Beds N Roses Hostel
11.05 USD

Guesthouse 73.5% 25 reviews
Instant Groove! Party Hostel
13.11 USD

Hostel 87.0% 92 reviews
David Hasselhostel
6.75 USD

Hostel 92.9% 78 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
40.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Broadway Hostel
11.25 USD

Hostel 86.9% 37 reviews
ACH Opera Hostel
172.68 USD

Apartment 90.5% 15 reviews
Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse
9.45 USD

Hostel 85.9% 470 reviews
Home Made Hostel
13.50 USD

Hostel 92.0% 485 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

37 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Retox Party Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 40 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Smith

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel's I've ever stayed at for (1) great staff and people (2) it truly is a party hostel with well organised and run awesome drinking happening every night showing you the best bits of Budapest nightlife/night activities I might not have otherwise found/organised (i.e. the ruin bar pub crawl and river cruise was awesome!) (3) during the day the staff have lists of great things to do (both drinking, non-drinking, cultural, adventure based and quirky) which they help organise making it easy to get out and see things even if you are hungover (I did caving, beer biking and the House of Terror amongst others, though there was plenty more I missed out on) (4) despite being a party hostel, it is keep amazingly clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay here was excellent! The staff miraculously manages a party for every night of the week. There's always somebody who is interested in having fun, and there's such great things to do nearby. I did a ton of cool stuff- I went into a cave, tried authentic Hungarian food and went to a boat party... all of it was organized or suggested by Retox. And, Retox is close by a large group of other hostels- there's always a group of people who want to join and party. Even though I was alone, it wasn't weird or awkward at all. The staff and atmosphere make the experience here a lot of fun.

Disliked: erm... Ducky didn't love me back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

antwan morrow

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 antwan would recommend this property

Liked: If you plan on visiting and partying a lot I would highly advise you to stay here! Retox is by far the best Hostel I have ever stayed in! We arrived drinking and left drunk. I sum up my time in one phrase "ohhh kill em" (insider) but honestly this hostel was fucking DOPE!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarrod Reidy

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Jarrod would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the place to stay in Budapest!! The location is prime and walking distance to everything. The hostel also organises heaps of activities during the day and night. But most of all the standout was the staff! A bunch of absolute legends, especially Candy, Krusty and Kelsey give them a pay rise!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miles Cope-Summerfield

With a large group / tour

Romantic getaway

15 February 2014 Miles would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I've ever been to! Amazing atmosphere, clean and comfy rooms and great facilities. retox was the only place we loved What really made it were the staff though, especially sac. Man that guy is incredible, completely made my Budapest and Europe experience. How he never won legend is beyond me, Budapest party hostels should be nominated for lightweight because of that farce. Actually best hostel I've ever stayed at though, do not consider going anywhere else. Luna, weed, d bag, gooch, shayler, lex, kels, man saw, swainy and lid were cool too Love miles

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! the staff are so lovely & helpful. they really make an effort to ensure you make the most of your time in budapest, not just when it comes to partying (although they did that as well & made everyone feel included in nighttime activities) met the friendliest people here and everyone just generally wants to have a good time which makes for a great atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rahul Dhond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 February 2014 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: The party planning and culture

Disliked: Rahul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jake Hunt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what it says on the tin, PARTY HOSTEL through and through. If you are looking for a hostel with amazing staff ready to party just as much as you, a crazy atmosphere 24 hours a day, Jager trains, beer pong (and flip pong!!!), bar crawls, horrific hangovers and one hell of a experience then book Retox you will not regret it. I want to go back already and i have only been home a day!

Disliked: stupid question really, not a single dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shanyn Bennett

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 January 2014 Shanyn would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the greatest party hostel I have ever stayed at!! The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to ensure all guest have the most amazing time, everyone is there to party and have fun.. so if that's what you're looking for, stay here!! I would recommend this place to anyone, can't wait to head back for round 2!

Disliked: Nothing at all!! Even the keys are attached to your wrist, they have literally thought of everything..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for party people! They take you out each night, the staff are super friendly.

Disliked: A little bit slummier but I didn't mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome! Great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cara Liberati

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Cara would recommend this property

Liked: There is nothing not to LOVE about Retox. If you are looking to party hard and meet some awesome, unique people, there is no better place in the WORLD than Retox. The staff were all super knowledgeable but also always had a good time. They were a great group that felt like a family. They even sent us a lovely PERSONAL goodbye email.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. Best hostel I have every stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayden Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Jayden would recommend this property

Liked: What I loved about Retox was that they were completely upfront and honest about the nature of their hostel from the very beginning, and while they delivered on the party aspect in a big way, the facilities and their cleanliness would easily make you forget you were in a party hostel. I was checked-in by Luna, who was welcoming and friendly, and made sure I was looked after for my entire week-long stay, but she was by no means an exception to the rule as all the staff were fantastic. I met some great people during my stay and had an awesome time; I will be back very soon. Also, it's above a bar.

Disliked: I didn't bring my onesie :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Davison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is full of awesome artwork on the walls in every room- definitely a visual stimulant! The common room even has a place for you to write something yourself! Of course Retox has everything you need: bed, bathroom, common room with kitchen, balcony, and a bar!!!! Every night there is a fun activity planned so instead of having to go out and find a party they bring the party to you! The best part about Retox is most definitely the staff! The minute you walk in the door everyone, both staff and guests, are super friendly and make you feel at home. I originally checked in for 4 days and now have been here for over a month! I love it that much! Most guests end up doing the same thing as well haha. To tell you a little about the staff: Kelsey is the mama of Retox! She is the assistant manager and knows absolutely everything. She is awesome to party with and even to just play drinking games with while watching a movie :) Luna has been amazing as well. She is always there to talk to if ya need it and of course loves to go out and have fun. Mansaw, you can always rely on him to make you smile as he is quite a character and wears the funniest outfits ever! Krusty, same thing goes with him. Funny personality and outfits. This one can definitely party as well! Swanio is also the big man of the house! The manager but is always out and about joining the party. Lid is also the big mama of Retox! She holds this place together. So much so she is now going to be running the new BPH hostel, congrats! Weed.... Oh Weed... F*** you! Haha jk. Love ya man. Nough said. Dbag... I think that's nough said too lol jk. Good times with Dbag. Ringo is the newest member to the Retox staff and fits like a glove! Willie is an exceptional bartender here. Not only is he a bartender, he is also a freestyle rapper, dancer, jump roper, and MC! Always a good time! They are no longer with us, but they definitely were a big part of my stay here: Shayler, Lex, and Sac. Shayler and his quirky personality (" How does that Big Mac daddy have such a fly honnie"), Lex and his awesome music playlist, Sac and his amazing MCing skills and dancing (maybe not so much the dancing lol) I am going to miss BPH soo much! I feel so close to everybody here and want to thank them all for great experiences and making me feel at home. I hope to not say goodbye, but see ya later. Retox Party Hostel is hands down the best hostel in Budapest! STAY WITH RETOX!

Disliked: Nothing! This is the best place ever!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Bourke

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing and very friendly staff. The hostel has a great atmosphere and great location. Had a blast at the pub crawl/alcolympics. Will definitely be back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Dalzell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Retox party hostel is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, I met the greatest people and experienced the best nights of my life here! All the staff are so friendly, hilarious and all round legends! Especially LUNA, who made retox party hostel awesome and is pretty high up on the scale of my favourite staff members and makes me want to come back to retox and never leave ever! Overall I love the retox black hole! XOXO

Disliked: Nothing! ! ! !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Kensington

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are all amazing! Super friendly, heaps of fun and so much help when it comes to finding out what to see and do in Budapest.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean barry

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 November 2013 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: That I had to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: It was an awesome time! Met some wicked people, all the staff were amazing! So welcoming and friendly and ready to get the weekend going! Be prepared to go hard - epic times!

Disliked: Nothing it was awesome.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Epic!

Disliked: I was awoken by an orchestra of earth shattering farts!!! Multiple times ......

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Chmiel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The sheer awesomeness of the staff and guests who were staying... Retox is like a black hole in a lot of ways, you go thinking that a certain amount of time will be enough but it never is! The banter is unbelievable, simply because of the sheer debauchery and hedonism running rampant in its veins, but if you love banter and love collecting amazing memories, there is NO PLACE BETTER in ALL of Budapest to go! How can you not fall in love with staff like Stripper, Jesus and Smike? Its IMPOSSIBLE to have a bad time here so long as you let yourself go along for the ride...

Disliked: Nothing... but be warned, it is not for everyone. If you want a nice, quiet cosy bed with late night chats while painting each others toenails, keep on looking. If you want to get absolutely wrecked with amazing people, make great friendships and hear disgusting yet awesome stories, maybe even creating a few yourself, you may just have found the right place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justin Steele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely awesome party hostel, the only 1 I have been to after 5 months of travelling that not only does pub crawls, but does them for free and makes EVERYONE go on them, so you are guaranteed to meet just about everyone staying there. The staff are all very friendly and know and love Budapest. Be prepared to stay longer than you originally planned, as you won't get too much done during the day if you are keeping up with the other guests and staff drinking at night!

Disliked: Just remember, this is quite clearly advertised as a party hostel, so dont go here if you want to sleep early!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel that I have ever stayed at. Retox should be the model for all other hostels in Europe and I say that sincerely. And as for the partying, I'll just say that when I checked in, the guy in charge was wearing a purple onesie and handed be a bottle of vodka before he even asked for my passport...

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was literally the coolest place I have ever been. Had such an epic weekend that i will never forget!!! The staff including "Sidekick, Jesus, Stripper and Morph" are the best....so helpful and fun!!!! Every event that the hostel plans is incredible and definitely worth the money. If you are down for non-stop shenanigans this is the right place!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackson Luker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: The place is exactly as it describes! Awesome staff, awesome facilities and a great vibe. Will make your stay in Budapest so much better!

Disliked: Jackson left no negative feedback.