We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Hostel Hill

Hostel | Ménesi út 5., Budapest, Hungary 1118

69.5% Overall Rating

9 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2013)

"Cheap, air con in the room, wifi worked well in lobby and sometimes in the room. It is quite close a large shopping centre called Allee which has a big supermarket. Also close to the tram stop and one of the thermal…"

Read all City Hostel Hill reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

City Hostel Buda
126.50 USD

Hostel 69.5% 49 reviews
Green Bridge Guest House and Apartments
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 435 reviews
Fifth Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 78.9% 48 reviews
Welcome Hostel
6.71 USD

Hostel 68.2% 7 reviews
Central hostel
11.99 USD

Hostel 69.0% 6 reviews
Ace hostel
7.12 USD

Guesthouse 68.8% 16 reviews
Artificial hostel apt and rooms
16.26 USD

Guesthouse 74.6% 9 reviews
Andromeda hostel
8.13 USD

Hostel 72.5% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

9 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Hostel Hill'

Atmosphere
53.3%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
48.3%
Cleanliness
58.3%
Staff
80.0%
Value
81.7%
Safety
78.3%
Refine your results Showing 5 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, air con in the room, wifi worked well in lobby and sometimes in the room. It is quite close a large shopping centre called Allee which has a big supermarket. Also close to the tram stop and one of the thermal baths (Gellert Bath) where we caught the hop-on-hop-off bus. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a swimming pool available to use for a fee but we did not use it.

Disliked: It is not a hostel it is a hotel. There is no common room or kitchen and no hostel vibe. We were travelling as a couple so it was ok for us, but not recommended for travellers looking to meet people and party. You get what you pay for, the room was dirty, lots of mould around the air con, mould around the base of shower. But we paid £7 each for a private room so we did not expact luxury! Also I think there were bedbugs as I was very itchy for the week I was staying there but not before or after.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

daniel wason

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

06 August 2012

Liked: Hostel was in good downtown location right next to all the transport systems

Disliked: Staff were unfriendly and rude. It was very dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private, when we first arrived it was a bit unclear as to where we had to go, because they don't give good directions from the train station but you can hop on the 173/E or the 7/E and get dropped just down the road. In term time the place is used to accommodate for students so it's not really a hostel. There's no kitchen but there is a swimming pool that you can pay to go into which is quite good. The rooms are a decent size with a fridge in the room and a shower and toilet just outside.

Disliked: The rooms weren't too clean, we found hairs on our bedsheets, and the floors were manky. But you do pay for what you get. It's not the worst hostel I've stayed in.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 August 2011

Liked: close to the main tourist attractions

Disliked: very poor conditions, depressing rooms

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, location

Disliked: Building style, no reconstruction