We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Butterfly Hostel & Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Csengery utca 57, Doorbell sign: BHB, Budapest, Hungary 1067

88.4% Overall Rating

14 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2013)

Hadley Rampton thinks…

"I loved that it felt more like a guest house than hostel. I enjoyed the layout with only four bedrooms with a common kitchen and living area along with three bathrooms. It was easy to become friends…"

Read all Butterfly Hostel & Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

City Center Guesthouse Budapest.
10.55 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 6 reviews
Hostel Israel
13.21 USD

Hostel 60.4% 8 reviews
Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse
8.94 USD

Hostel 84.2% 480 reviews
Multipass Hostel
13.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Made Hostel
12.20 USD

Hostel 92.3% 489 reviews
Carpe Noctem (original)
14.64 USD

Hostel 97.5% 85 reviews
Adagio Hostel 1.0 Oktogon
12.02 USD

Hostel 87.3% 38 reviews
Guru Hostel
10.57 USD

Hostel 92.7% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.4%

Overall Rating

14 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Butterfly Hostel & Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
81.3%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
89.3%
Cleanliness
89.3%
Staff
88.0%
Value
93.3%
Safety
89.3%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hadley Rampton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 July 2013 Hadley would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it felt more like a guest house than hostel. I enjoyed the layout with only four bedrooms with a common kitchen and living area along with three bathrooms. It was easy to become friends with the other guests. Overall, a very pleasant and inviting atmosphere!

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Kirkbride

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: no safe for bag and things

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: Equipped kitchen, Internet, two bathrooms for 4 rooms

Disliked: Weak hygiene in bathrooms, common room/kitchen too close to bedroom. No reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and private rooms.

Disliked: Is not that I didn't like it, but the hostel does not have much activities and places to interact with the other travelers staying there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the atmosphere the most and the facilities ( kitchen, internet, and so on)

Disliked: The fact that you can easily hear what the others where talking in the opposite rooms, even if they were both shut.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ruud de Jong

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 December 2011 Ruud would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the train station where the train to the airport leaves, staff is friendly, the place is homely and feels secure.

Disliked: On the outside of the building it does not show it is the hostel. You have to ring the bell saying BHB. Some new guests arrived around 7.30 a.m. and sttled themselves in the lounge while talking aloud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Konrad Lübeck

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2011 Konrad would recommend this property

Liked: Butterfly Hostel & Guesthouse is a really interesting choice if you want to stay in Budapest. In contrast to other Hostel is possible to stay only one night with a larger group in a private bedroom. The staff is very helpful, kind and reliable. The bedrooms are clean and designed in a modern style (and the beds are cozy :-) ). Cleaniness in kitchen and bathroom is also very good. Metro, tram and train station are reachable in about 5 minutes by walk. Bottom line: Great accomodation for a cheap price.

Disliked: Konrad left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

joop rademakers

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 November 2011 joop would recommend this property

Liked: the freedom and the spaces in the hostel.

Disliked: it was very quiet this time of year. Maybe a little bit too busy in the summer when all the rooms are occupied.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: No complaints

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karolina Flegrova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Karolina would recommend this property

Liked: The equipment is new and trendy (Viva Ikea!), bedlinen was clean, we´ve also been offered some towels. In the kitchen there are all dishes you need for your stay. I really liked the atmosphere in the accommodation- young people friendly and opened for parties... There is no reception, but the owner visit the flat almost every day, so you can ask for everything you want.

Disliked: The true is that it is really hard to find- no sing, no direction. The doorbell is labeled BHB. The street isn´t very nice, but don´t worry - it´s a safe place ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt rather to be at someone's home than staying in a hostel. I really like the personal and intimate charme of this place. The two seperate showers will probably be a good thing, when the hostel is fully booked. When I was there, there were just two other people there though.

Disliked:

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, nice furniture (ikea), colorful, sunny, spacious kitchen and bathroom.

Disliked: :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Dunn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This was just wonderful. I thought this place was simply amazing. it had everything you might ever need whilst still trying to do its bit for the planet. the beds were so comofrtable and the rooms where just beautiful. the hostess was just fantastic and i shall be recommending her to anyone i know going to budapest. i will be staying there again on my return trip to budapest.

Disliked: Leaving