HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Goldfish Hostel

Hostel | Király street 98/B, 1.floor, Budapest, Hungary 1068

84.8% Overall Rating

40 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/06/2013)

"Very friendly staff, good value for the price. They have excellent WIFI and the best pub in city is just front of the door."

Read all Goldfish Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Central Green Hotel 
56.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
DBC Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 85.7% 3 reviews
Apartment for friends
21.05 USD

Apartment 96.7% 7 reviews
Unio Hotel
26.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.7% 19 reviews
Carpe Noctem Vitae
13.05 USD

Hostel 93.7% 114 reviews
Big Fish Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 89.8% 12 reviews
X Hostel Budapest
10.54 USD

Hostel 84.3% 46 reviews
Unforgettable Nights
10.54 USD

Hostel 91.2% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Goldfish Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stuart Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and I met lots of other travellers.

Disliked: When I arrived there was no one there so I had to wait outside for about 30 minutes. There is no full time member of staff. The building is a bit run down. No lock on toilet door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good value for the price. They have excellent WIFI and the best pub in city is just front of the door.

Disliked: not any significant

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big, clean and with windows, there were 3 bathrooms for few people. The hostel is in an old house but it's inside is very new with nice furniture a kitchen in the common room and a washing machine that costs only 2 Euros. They accept the payments in euros. They had a lot of touristic information, maps and coupons.

Disliked: There was no 24 hrs reception, actually the staff was only present when we made check in! We made the check in we got at 1 a.m. and we had to wait in the street for 30 min till someone open us the front door, then we waited for more 10 min. in the hallway to the staff to arrive, they were a little drunk but they were nice with us. The area were the hostel is has a lot of night club but no good ones!! there are a lot of women that look like hookers or strippers in the street, also thug looking guys. At night we heard fights that wake us up!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hailey Crump

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

06 October 2012 Hailey would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing! Our group came to relax after several months of traveling and it has been so refreshing to get to stay here! Tamas is very nice and helpful! We only wish we could stay longer!

Disliked: Hailey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fanastic hostel!:) The staff helped in everything, they showed me lots of things in Budapest. And this hostel is so clean, they cleaned everyday two times. And one more important thing: Nora is very beautiful host!:) This is a best hostel ever!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 August 2012

Liked: Price

Disliked: Location, no events, no full time staffing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dušan Stamenkovic

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Dušan would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, our host was very polite and friendly. Also roommates with whom I was in the room were very communicative and we all have a splendid time. Hostel is very clean, fridge full of food :) and always has hot water. Two shower bathrooms are more than enough for 12 people.

Disliked: Dušan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very central and there are good oportunities to cook and wash clothes. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Dorm was clean and its a nice place to stay. Liked it a lot!!

Disliked: Only the toilets could have been a bit cleaner. There was not always someone from the staff there, but there were numbers to call them. No goldfish anywhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sven mischok

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2012 Sven would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cozy Place near the Centre. Fast Wifi. Good Atmosphere to meet other Travelers. Very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Balazs is so helpful. He provides you with all the information you need and makes sure that you are comfortable and happy in the hostel. It is not a 24 hour reception but Balazs made sure he was there to meet us, he emailed us to ask for an arrival time. We were even there 1 hour late and he just waited for us. Great cooking facilities and wifi and really good location with a Lidl just down road.

Disliked: Nothing really. If we had to say one thing it would be that the private double could use a fan as it gets hot in there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Patrycja Fojna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Patrycja would recommend this property

Liked: 1.Atmosphere was great ,everyone was polite and helpful . 2.Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: It could be cleaner .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy nice little cosy hostel with a lot of trust.

Disliked: No shower curtain in the 2nd bath ;-).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Felt like home.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable with a great kitchen. Basically like staying in your own apartment. Very cool.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place, friendly staff!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ling Yun Hsiao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Ling Yun would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic! this is small hostel but warm, cozy, confortable! I like this family style hostel, more flexiable and staff is super nice and helpful especially bro and sis

Disliked: all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great apartment - clean and tidy! Staff are helpful when around.

Disliked: There is no signage to recognize this hostel from the street - really hard to find!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and central location

Disliked: little bit noisy at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (5 min. walk from metro station);

Disliked: Rooms should be closed separately.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

William Ko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012

Liked: Price.. you really get what you pay for... Self-catered service is included.. but the kitchen isnt that well quip..

Disliked: Location is bad.. very far away from the main sigh and i didnt feel safe at all during my stay there...It's like near a poor area where drunk people are everywhere at night..

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luis Portilla

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of space in the double bedroom we stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SAMIA BIBI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 SAMIA would recommend this property

Liked: great location!

Disliked: SAMIA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soumitra Singh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

13 April 2012 Soumitra would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owners were extremely friendly (thank you Nora, Tamas for a great time) ... they really go out of their way to help you get whatever you need.

Disliked: Not much. Except I got locked in and a few other people got locked out b'coz of a faulty door for a few minutes the first day :D

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather West

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, awesome people who run the hostel-they took the entire hostel out for a drink!! Genuinely lovely people. A small hostel, but very roomy. Lockers in rooms, good kitchen, SO CHEAP! Such good value for money. WE LOVE GOLDFISH HOSTEL!! (Emma and Heather, the girls with the pegs)

Disliked: Almost couldn't find it due to out of date directions. Various train and tram stops were closed/renamed. Get yourself to the major crossroads with Kiraly utca on (by the kfc). Turn right by the kfc and head in this direction. The first time you walk it is feels ages but it's really not. The door is not labelled, it is on the left hand side of the street next to a hairdressers. Go up the stairs and the there is a sign for the hostel in the window.