HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tiger Tim's Place

Hostel | 58 terez korut buzzer 64, Budapest, Hungary 1066

93.9% Overall Rating

217 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Jesse Dolman thinks…

"Staff were very helpful, tiger tims a mad dog! In a great position, really close to all the cool ruin bars. I would recommend tiger tims place to anyone."

Read all Tiger Tim's Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

West Side Hostel
13.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Interflat Hostel & Apartments
17.09 USD

Hostel 88.7% 109 reviews
Sexy tractor Hostel
19.28 USD

Hostel 93.7% 60 reviews
Carpe Noctem (original)
23.99 USD

Hostel 98.6% 83 reviews
Accommodation Callme
16.07 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Potato Budapest
12.85 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Paprika Hostel
29.99 USD

Hostel 93.7% 166 reviews
Lord Residence
26.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

217 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tiger Tim's Place'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 206 of 225 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Dolman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, tiger tims a mad dog! In a great position, really close to all the cool ruin bars. I would recommend tiger tims place to anyone.

Disliked: Very hard to find, and a labyrinth of stairs and a book of door codes to get into the place!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabrina Mistry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and nights out

Disliked: Sabrina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jarod Hargreaves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Jarod would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable common room with good cooking facilities

Disliked: Uncomfortable and creaky beds; seems to attract the party crowd

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ethan Palm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Ethan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about Budapest. When we checked in we were given a great list of things to do, shown locations on maps, and felt comfortable coming back with more questions during our stay. The rooms were nice, but nothing special. The hostel stored our bags for free after we checked out but still had a day in the city.

Disliked: It is a very nice laid back place, but if you are looking for a party hostel this is not it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and a friend stayed at Tiger Tim's for 3 nights, and I wish we'd stayed longer!! We arrived on the overnight train from Krakow to Budapest. Naturally, we arrived at the hostel well before the check in time. This was no issue to the extremely friendly and helpful staff, who welcomed us, checked us in early and talked us through all of the amazing things Budapest has to offer. The atmosphere of the hostel was relaxed, friendly and fun. There was always something going on to get involved in, or somebody around to talk to. Tim, along with all of the staff, were keen to make sure every guest got the most out of their stay by organising trips, tours and pub crawls. However there was never any pressure to join in if you just fancied lounging around on the beanbags and watching TV! I fell in love with Budapest, and my stay at Tiger Tims definitely had a lot to do with it! I'd recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for a friendly, fun and clean atmosphere to enjoy the city from.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Fogarty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a real family feel, and as a solo traveller its a great place to meet people. The building itself is in a great location. Its nice and clean and has all the facilities you could ask for.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly here!!! Definitely the best staff we experienced in western Europe on our 7 week trip! They were very helpful and knew of places that regular tourists would probably never hear of (the best ice cream, a really pretty coffee shop, where to get good craft beer). The nightly pub crawl is also great. Try to be there for Thursday - Sunday: The pub crawl includes an awesome boat cruise and a rave at the thermal baths. We even extended our stay because this hostel & Budapest were so awesome.

Disliked: A lot of stairs... but worth it for the security. Also there was one room we stayed in that was very hot with no air conditioning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, staff were really helpful, awesome common room, comfy beds, lots of power plugs, surprisingly quiet location. Very central, clean which is always a plus, all and all has everything you want a hostel to have! Great kitchen, great atmosphere! Cheers for the great stay and all your helpful hints on places to visit :) much appreciated

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was exceedingly helpful and friendly, esp Tim.

Disliked: Stunk a little bit, but not terrible. Small as well, but that was to be expected.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and great location. Very helpful and useful staff. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noirin Ui Chaomhanaigh

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Noirin would recommend this property

Liked: Great character, close to all transport and a reasonable walking distance to the river and some other places of interest.

Disliked: Nothing really, it met all my needs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the location of this hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful by giving me several ideas of places to go on the map. They offer a free pub crawl where I got to meet even more fellow travelers and see the nightlife in Budapest.

Disliked: I was very happy with the place and would recommend it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great location. Clean rooms and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, comfort and location.

Disliked: 0

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in one of the apartments, it was really clean, safe and in a great location. We popped over to the hostel too but it was nice to have a bit of privacy. I'd highly recommend Tiger Tim's

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Becerra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: There were strange people around. They seemed like they were living at the hostel, but they gave us bad vibe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sangeeta Devi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Sangeeta would recommend this property

Liked: location services

Disliked: noisy crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcus wiggins

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Pizza night was good lots of good books to read. Love the location.

Disliked: marcus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, awesome atmosphere! Defiently one of the better hostels I've stayed in during my travels. Really close to the Pest nightlife (instant is just down the road) and there are supermarkets within easy walking distance too. Highly recommended.

Disliked: A little tricky to find, but it's pretty much directly across the street from McDonalds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryon Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 March 2014 Bryon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, on one of the main streets making it easy to get to any place in the city. Tiger Tim's has a nice big kitchen and a comfortable lounge. Pub crawls and events every night. Overall an excellent place to stay.

Disliked: Bryon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tiger Tim's is such a comfortable and homey place in the best location for transport to the rest of the city! Tim is a great guy - full of great information and insider tips on the city! I would definitely recommend Tiger Tim's to anyone thinking of visiting Budapest - I had such a great time!! Also - if you're lucky enough some nights there is pizza!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tim and the staff working for him are very friendly and took us out every night. It was a great place to stay as a solo traveler. The directions for finding the hostel are excellent. There is a grocery store a couple minutes away.

Disliked: It is a little out of the the main centre of Budapest but its only 20-25 minute walk into the main square on the Buda side. The entrance and getting into the hostel is confusing and be prepared for a lot of stairs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city center, big and cosy common room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Intimate and personal experience. Very helpful and useful staff. Bar crawl every night and pre drinking games. Good facilities for cooking own food. Very suitable for long stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabor Hajdu

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 November 2013 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: staying in Tiger Tim`s place is always a deligthful experience.

Disliked: How can the place possibly be so good, as it is?