HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tiger Tim's Place

Hostel | 58 terez korut buzzer 64, Budapest, Hungary 1066

95.5% Overall Rating

202 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"We stayed in one of the apartments, it was really clean, safe and in a great location. We popped over to the hostel too but it was nice to have a bit of privacy. I'd highly recommend Tiger Tim's"

Read all Tiger Tim's Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

West Side Hostel
13.23 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Interflat Hostel & Apartments
13.41 USD

Hostel 92.9% 104 reviews
Sexy tractor Hostel
9.42 USD

Hostel 95.5% 23 reviews
Carpe Noctem (original)
18.39 USD

Hostel 98.7% 77 reviews
Accommodation Callme
16.59 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Potato Budapest
13.45 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Paprika Hostel
31.39 USD

Hostel 93.7% 166 reviews
Lord Residence
33.86 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

202 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tiger Tim's Place'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 192 of 209 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in one of the apartments, it was really clean, safe and in a great location. We popped over to the hostel too but it was nice to have a bit of privacy. I'd highly recommend Tiger Tim's

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Becerra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: There were strange people around. They seemed like they were living at the hostel, but they gave us bad vibe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sangeeta Devi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Sangeeta would recommend this property

Liked: location services

Disliked: noisy crowded

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcus wiggins

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Pizza night was good lots of good books to read. Love the location.

Disliked: marcus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, awesome atmosphere! Defiently one of the better hostels I've stayed in during my travels. Really close to the Pest nightlife (instant is just down the road) and there are supermarkets within easy walking distance too. Highly recommended.

Disliked: A little tricky to find, but it's pretty much directly across the street from McDonalds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryon Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 March 2014 Bryon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, on one of the main streets making it easy to get to any place in the city. Tiger Tim's has a nice big kitchen and a comfortable lounge. Pub crawls and events every night. Overall an excellent place to stay.

Disliked: Bryon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tiger Tim's is such a comfortable and homey place in the best location for transport to the rest of the city! Tim is a great guy - full of great information and insider tips on the city! I would definitely recommend Tiger Tim's to anyone thinking of visiting Budapest - I had such a great time!! Also - if you're lucky enough some nights there is pizza!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tim and the staff working for him are very friendly and took us out every night. It was a great place to stay as a solo traveler. The directions for finding the hostel are excellent. There is a grocery store a couple minutes away.

Disliked: It is a little out of the the main centre of Budapest but its only 20-25 minute walk into the main square on the Buda side. The entrance and getting into the hostel is confusing and be prepared for a lot of stairs!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city center, big and cosy common room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Intimate and personal experience. Very helpful and useful staff. Bar crawl every night and pre drinking games. Good facilities for cooking own food. Very suitable for long stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabor Hajdu

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 November 2013 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: staying in Tiger Tim`s place is always a deligthful experience.

Disliked: How can the place possibly be so good, as it is?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tiger Tims is an awesome Hostel. One of the best I've stayed in. Tim and his staff are very friendly and helpful. It's a really social hostel without being a massive party hostel. The pub crawls and drinking games they organise are lots of fun. Manu's cooking is amazing.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel offers basically anything you could ask of for as far as the facilities are concerned. The hostel is very clean and Tim is very helpful/approachable. A very good value.

Disliked: I might not recommend this place for younger travelers who are looking for a party atmosphere. When we stayed it seemed like other guests wanted to keep to themselves and were a bit older than I have seen in most hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Glintborg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly, and the atmosphere at the hostel is relaxed and informal.

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice homely hostel. Just stay here

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap & cheerful had a fun stay at tiger tim's. Tim's got good recommendations where to go out each night & was keen to get everyone involved in the fun each night.

Disliked: slighty luke warm water sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daisy Forster

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

26 September 2013 Daisy would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very friendly staff, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Daisy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Hostel with friendly and helpful staff! Very clean and optimal location .... definitely recomend to pass by :)

Disliked: no dislikes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashlee Rigby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Ashlee would recommend this property

Liked: It's was a really fun hostel, great for meeting people and going out. To is helpful for info about tourist attractions and organises a up crawl every night.there is also a movie room if you want down time. The doors and rooms are really secure, one of the best hostels I have stayed in so far.

Disliked: Ashlee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charmaine See

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Charmaine would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely a place to recommend! Would rate this hostel the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Tim was really friendly and his killer drinking games are killer. Really glad my friend and I gave up our first couch surfing experience to stay in this hostel. The atmosphere of the places was great, everyone was friendly and the lounge area is a good place to meet new people. The hostel felt like home during my short period of stay there and Tim even offered to cook us a meal. after traveling for so long and to have someone to cook for us, it warms my heart and stomach. There's lots to offer in the hostel to make your stay in Budapest an exciting one. I would recommend the cave diving experience. Something off the beaten track of your usual sightseeing. Would go back to Budapest just to stay in the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hampus Ramström

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

22 July 2013 Hampus would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it, nothing bad to say. Perfect location and extremly friendly staff.

Disliked: Hampus left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Before I even arrived I got an e-mail from Tim welcoming me to the hostel and helping me the place. It was a little difficult to find and a little far from the central train station but a great location for everything else. I didn't take public transportation the entire time I was there because the hostel was so centrally located. The kitchen was great and super stocked and easy to use. Other travelers made and ate dinner together and then we all went out. It helped that the hostel organizes night events. For the first two nights I was there the hostel was pretty empty and I was the only girl but I didn't mind and it was a pretty easy environment to meet people in. I was there in the beginning of the summer so it probably fills up during the busier season.

Disliked: The property is a little hard to find if you arrive at night. There were no lockers large enough for a backpack but there are lockers and safes for smaller documents and valuables.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Scott Wheeler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and good for meeting people. Very safe and well located.

Disliked: Air con only put on when very hot. Controls weren't given out and therefore we relied on Tim's discretion as to when it was too hot.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013

Liked: The hostel has a decent common area and the location is pretty good

Disliked: The atmosphere isnt great and the hostel owner was not particularly helpful...ive stayed in many different hostels and this hostel was slightly below average.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Mitchell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This is a Hostel for people who like to be social, atleast it's very good for it. The 20:30 pregame before the free pub crawl is great fun expecially if the owner Tim joins in. Also they have like hundreds of movies and tv shows on a flash drive to watch in common room, some great stuff.

Disliked: It can get hot at night without the open doors for ventilation.