HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tiger Tim's Place

Hostel | 58 terez korut buzzer 64, Budapest, Hungary 1066

89.9% Overall Rating

231 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Aya Cherry thinks…

"There is nothing not to like about this property. It is a very chill, tranquil place to stay with lovely people to interact with, and very friendly, down-to-earth staff who were always around to…"

Read all Tiger Tim's Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

West Side Hostel
11.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Interflat Hostel & Apartments
12.16 USD

Hostel 90.3% 115 reviews
Sexy tractor Hostel
7.32 USD

Hostel 88.6% 75 reviews
Carpe Noctem (original)
14.64 USD

Hostel 97.5% 85 reviews
Accommodation Callme
15.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Potato Budapest
12.20 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Lord Residence
14.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
37.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

231 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tiger Tim's Place'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 222 of 241 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the vibe! Clean place and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aya Cherry

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 Aya would recommend this property

Liked: There is nothing not to like about this property. It is a very chill, tranquil place to stay with lovely people to interact with, and very friendly, down-to-earth staff who were always around to help if needed. They also provide a fun night out with other wonderful visitors around the city, if anyone wanted to go out to party instead of resting indoors. A definite recommend for both those who would like to relax or have a good time.

Disliked: As stated, there is none to say that is dislikeable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: such a fun place, wonderful staff, excellent wifi, very clean hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place, great staff, many thanks guys

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful, place was really clean and beds were really comfy for a hostel! I only stayed here a night but I would come back again. Met some cool people there too which helps. Would reccomend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, friendly staff. Very social hostel, organising pub crawls at night, but also good if you want to stay in as there is a noise curfew. Overall a very good hostel, social unlike so many others, so you get to meet tons of great people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: other visitors. friendly staff.

Disliked: building. small bed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice homely looking hostel! Good social area and great cooking facilities. Ideal place to meet other travellers. They run a free bar crawl from the hostel which we would recommend! Our room was a little dark.. But a really good size and very clean as we're the bathrooms. Staff were very helpful when we first got there giving us a map of the city and a run though of everything in the area. The location couldn't be better for being able to reach everything easily by foot.

Disliked: Staff could have been a bit friendlier during our stay as they appeared fed up which was a bit of a shame as the hostel was great otherwise!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Jenny Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: The group of travelers were young and cool. There was a free pub crawl every night that started in the common room and was a great way to meet people

Disliked: The location was good, however the hostel itself is pretty hard to navigate to, requiring entrance through 3 coded doors. This is fine except for at night when it is pitch black, and for when you first move in. The staff were really unhelpful, and seemed reluctant to provide any of the travelers with information beyond the scripted introduction to the city. When asked about how to get to places, about transport services, they simply said 'i don't know' and would seem fed up at times. the bathrooms and bedrooms were not clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located and great staff. It's a good hostel to meet people.

Disliked: The locker in my room was broken but the were personal safes available so it was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky little hostel, great location, clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice common room.

Disliked: It's a hostel so it's not 5 star accommodation but it was comfortable and a welcoming place. Our bathroom (of a private room) was disconnected to our room. Bit confusing to get into the building. Needed to pay cash and wasn't told this before.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: Cozy, good location, close to many train, tram and bus stations

Disliked: pretty dirty bathrooms, never cleaned under bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff who explained the best places to see and eat when I checked in. Very secure.

Disliked: Lockers could be a little bigger, but I just about managed to fit my 53l backpack in - bigger backpacks might struggle.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, atmosphere and events running to help you meet other travellers and see the city!

Disliked: The staff were alright but not overly welcoming.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed vibe, very helpfull staff, good location and they offer a lot of fun activities.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite quirky and very social. Laundry service was a godsend and not too expensive.

Disliked: A girl having sex in the dorm was a massive turn-off. Also it's a very party-orientated place, you're outnumbered if you just want to chill with a beer or two. Staff were a bit unfriendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Dolman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, tiger tims a mad dog! In a great position, really close to all the cool ruin bars. I would recommend tiger tims place to anyone.

Disliked: Very hard to find, and a labyrinth of stairs and a book of door codes to get into the place!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabrina Mistry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and nights out

Disliked: Sabrina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jarod Hargreaves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Jarod would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable common room with good cooking facilities

Disliked: Uncomfortable and creaky beds; seems to attract the party crowd

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ethan Palm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Ethan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about Budapest. When we checked in we were given a great list of things to do, shown locations on maps, and felt comfortable coming back with more questions during our stay. The rooms were nice, but nothing special. The hostel stored our bags for free after we checked out but still had a day in the city.

Disliked: It is a very nice laid back place, but if you are looking for a party hostel this is not it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and a friend stayed at Tiger Tim's for 3 nights, and I wish we'd stayed longer!! We arrived on the overnight train from Krakow to Budapest. Naturally, we arrived at the hostel well before the check in time. This was no issue to the extremely friendly and helpful staff, who welcomed us, checked us in early and talked us through all of the amazing things Budapest has to offer. The atmosphere of the hostel was relaxed, friendly and fun. There was always something going on to get involved in, or somebody around to talk to. Tim, along with all of the staff, were keen to make sure every guest got the most out of their stay by organising trips, tours and pub crawls. However there was never any pressure to join in if you just fancied lounging around on the beanbags and watching TV! I fell in love with Budapest, and my stay at Tiger Tims definitely had a lot to do with it! I'd recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for a friendly, fun and clean atmosphere to enjoy the city from.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Fogarty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The place has a real family feel, and as a solo traveller its a great place to meet people. The building itself is in a great location. Its nice and clean and has all the facilities you could ask for.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly here!!! Definitely the best staff we experienced in western Europe on our 7 week trip! They were very helpful and knew of places that regular tourists would probably never hear of (the best ice cream, a really pretty coffee shop, where to get good craft beer). The nightly pub crawl is also great. Try to be there for Thursday - Sunday: The pub crawl includes an awesome boat cruise and a rave at the thermal baths. We even extended our stay because this hostel & Budapest were so awesome.

Disliked: A lot of stairs... but worth it for the security. Also there was one room we stayed in that was very hot with no air conditioning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, staff were really helpful, awesome common room, comfy beds, lots of power plugs, surprisingly quiet location. Very central, clean which is always a plus, all and all has everything you want a hostel to have! Great kitchen, great atmosphere! Cheers for the great stay and all your helpful hints on places to visit :) much appreciated

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was exceedingly helpful and friendly, esp Tim.

Disliked: Stunk a little bit, but not terrible. Small as well, but that was to be expected.