HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Instant Groove! Party Hostel

Hostel | Nagymezo u. 38, Budapest, Hungary -

86.5% Overall Rating

90 out of 97 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2014)

"This was probably the best experience I ever had! If you like to party till the break of dawn, this is the place to be! You are living just above (!) Budapest's most thrilling club. The Hostel is located on top of it,…"

Read all Instant Groove! Party Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Hi 5 Party Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 93.6% 130 reviews
David Hasselhostel
14.17 USD

Hostel 93.3% 6 reviews
Beds N Roses Hostel
10.51 USD

Guesthouse 73.5% 25 reviews
ACH Opera Hostel
22.32 USD

Apartment 90.7% 16 reviews
Broadway Hostel
11.82 USD

Hostel 86.4% 42 reviews
Retox Party Hostel
12.08 USD

Hostel 92.8% 56 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
38.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
LOL Boutique Hostel City Center
21.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

90 out of 97 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Instant Groove! Party Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was probably the best experience I ever had! If you like to party till the break of dawn, this is the place to be! You are living just above (!) Budapest's most thrilling club. The Hostel is located on top of it, and it feels like private backstage area. The staff are the coolest and craziest people I ever met, and they make everything that you will experience Budapest at his best. If you want to jump directly into Budapest's nightlife, and get insider knowledge about underground raves, parties and happenings - this is the place to be. Also it is very likely that you will meet the staff at those parties :) Thanks again and see you next time!

Disliked: My girlfriend fell in love with the staff member(s) and she keeps on talkin and dreaming about them... But somehow thats ok :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: At first, thx for the hole staff. best people ever!! You can have with them more then lots of fun, they know everything about the city. they are able to suggest you something of your taste (and budget) that is happening in Budapest that day/night! And now to the Hostel....the hostel has lots of magic. Feels like a secret pocket in the city! Everything is always clean, I mean after a long night party, you wake up and everything is clean tidy and happy :) it has one of the best/beautiful balcony I ve ever been....rooms are big, cozy, with couches, tabels, chairs, nice big wooden beds with very comfy matraces (seriously, very comfy!!!) common areas/kitchen are big, clean, really nice deco, just perfect to hang out!!! right under the Hostel is one of the craziest clubs I ve ever been!! and the best, you get free entrance, you can skip the line, get cheaper drinks in the bar and you always can come up to the Hostel to refill your drinks and feel the INSTANT GROOVE :) I am a girls solo traveller and I ve felt more then save al the time! ---just go there and you will know what I am taking about!! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Brace

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 April 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at Instant Groove! was really welcoming and we were made to feel at home straight away - very chilled throughout our stay! We were also free to do whatever, including using the receptions computer to play music throughout the hostel. We didn't have any issues about the cleanliness at the hostel, and even seen staff cleaning about both days we stayed. The staff were very helpful and even took the time to highlight a route on a map which included all the sights which we wanted to see. The location was very central, only a few streets away from the Octagon and the walk to the river was not very long either. Each person was given their own storage lockers under the beds which had plenty of space and pad-locks were also provided free of cost. We were given wristbands at the start of our stay which allowed us free entry into the ruin bar and also 10% off any drinks we purchased there - definitely value for money in my eyes! We were only supposed to stay here one night but had such a fantastic time and met so many interesting people that we decided to cancel a hotel and stay here for the final night of our trip as well... Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Although we didn't find this an issue, it did get quite loud here at night - though nothing that would prevent sleep. Instant Groove! did however provide free earplugs to those who required them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is an eclectic beautiful experience! The staff - I would not even call them staff - they are like your older cool brother that knows perfect the city and and are willing to share everything with you. This place is 90% made by their magic presence ... its like NEVERLAND The Hostal is what I call an Experience ..emotions , noises , looks,, evrething is so original and real. hand craft by creative souls .... the space . Facilities are perfect , clean , smells good , .... I didnt sleep much but i leave the place more fresh and alive than 7 days in the Ritz .. This is the place where free souls become free!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2014

Liked: Cheap, location, and great staff

Disliked: Falling asleep in this hostel was utterly impossible, as music penetrated the walls until 6 AM and resumed at 9 AM. We stayed at the 8 bed mixed dorm, and the reception area which is also the common room, was right outside our door, and the door had the worse soundproof - there was no difference whether it was shut or not. People talked loudly all night even at 2am and was not considerate at all. The receptionists were young hippies who blasted techno music non-stop and their solution was giving you ear plugs that were plastic and useless. They encouraged you to party all night and did not expect anyone to sleep at all. On top of it all, the best club in town is right underneath this hostel so you would hear a mix of music from both the reception area and the club. This is a place to party al night, and definitely not a place to get some sleep. Be prepared!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Bar open from 11pm to 6am everyday we were there. It was so loud that it impossible to sleep. Staff didn't seem to know what was going on. They also almost forgot that we already paid too. Drunk travellers stole our food and beer from the fridge too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Duniam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and great bar below. Really loud at night, but that's what we expected from a party hostel! Met really cool people and even went back to stay again since. The bar below is awesome and you're only a short walk from the city center.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpfull. Especially Zorka! Without her our stay in Budapest would be much different. Awesome girl! You should raise her salary!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Does what it says on the tin. Do not stay here if you fancy a quiet night in. It does, after all, call it self a party hostel. Great atmosphere, located directly above a bar/club that stays open to the early hours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the community style of this hostel. Everyone was so friendly that stayed here as well as the people that worked here. It was definitely a party hostel which I enjoyed. It was on top of the coolest bar in Budapest meaning that all you had to do was walk down stairs to get to the party. Also because I was a guest at the hostel I was able to skip the line to get into the bar on nights I went out. All partying aside, the beds were comfy and the facility was clean. I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathalie Jongmans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: When we booked this hostel we knew it was a party hostel. We didn't know that the hostel was above the most famous ruined bar of Budapest! A lot of noise and high temperatures at night in the rooms, but we didn't care because we stayed in the Instant bar till the end of the party! I recommend this hostel to everyone who wants to party the whole night. Otherwise you can better look further.

Disliked: Half of the lockers were broken.. If you book this hostel change the currency to florint!!!!!! You can show at the reception how much you have to pay, because otherwise they use a different exchange rate and then you pay to much for the room!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a really good location, near most of the popular tourist destinations. Lovely atmosphere and the hostel itself was really cool, lots of communal space and bright and coloful decor, clearly designed for young travellers. Having the club dowstairs was really good, got free entry! Good sized communal kitchen and rooms are spacious as well. If you want a hostel in Budapest that is vibrant and full of life definitely consider this hostel!

Disliked: On the second night we stayed the staff moved another guest onto the sofa in our room. I though this was a bit weird as we booked an eight bed room and they had nine people in it, so it limited our space a bit. But was only a negative because the guy was really weird. I suppose we wouldnt of minded if the extra person would have been nice, just bad luck really. No real negatives to this place, its one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Bourlet

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013

Liked: the people staying there

Disliked: too quiet, bit boring, no events run through the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

daniele aliprandi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2013 daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place if you want an easygoig atmosphere with possibility of good fun. Rooms are big and kitchen is fully equiped.

Disliked: daniele left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsa Tickler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Elsa would recommend this property

Liked: Instant Groovel is the best I have ever stayed at! It is not a huge hostel but big enough to cater for the amount of people staying there. It has clean kitchen, dining room and bathroom facilities and a common room filled with bean bags, lounge chairs and a television. The bedrooms are spacious with a good sized locker for each person. There is an absolutely incredible club right downstairs with numerous themed rooms. Being a hostel stayer at Instant Groove entitles you to free entry and no queuing to get in. I will say though, if you enjoy a good nights sleep, then this hostel is definatly not for you due to the loud music from the club. The staff were incredibly chilled and friendly and always willing to share local knowledge. The location could not be any better. All the main attractions are within walking distance and there are quite a few nice bars and restaurants in the same street. I will definatly be returning to Instant Groove :)

Disliked: The noise from the club downstairs got a bit annoying but the club itself was amazing which made up for it. Also, we couldn't pay with card, only cash.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! Great value, really cool and informative staff, convenient location, walking distance to all inner city sights and near public transport. Met so many great people from all different countries who are up for partying - the nightclub downstairs is really fun, 3 different dance floors and heaps of crazy interesting little rooms to hang out in, you probably won't even find all the rooms! I really had the best time of my travels here so I'm glad I chose this hostel! I'd recommend it to anyone who likes to party!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roberta Kovacs

Alone

City break

14 October 2012 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and it had a very great atmoshpere. Most of the people living there were travelers.

Disliked: I personally did not dislike this factor, but it is very noisy and busy until about 5-6am in the morning. It is great if you want to have a fun night, but not good if you need to get a good rest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imi O'Neill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Imi would recommend this property

Liked: The huuuuuuuge bunk beds

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: god belligebhed

Disliked: meget støj fra trafikken

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SPIROS MILIONIS

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012 SPIROS would recommend this property

Liked: Near the centre ofg the town

Disliked: the Club under it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalie Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to party, come here! It is a very famous bar as it is a ruin pub... An old abandoned building turned into a cool 5 storey bar. Staff are SO lovely and helpful.. Cool scene.

Disliked: If you want to sleep on thurs/fri/sat nights then good luck! I arrived on thurs arvo but couldn't sleep at al as the club music goes til 5am. However, it's a great place to meet people! :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. Eric especially so. Great atmosphere and amazing location and building to stay in. So so relaxed and the people it drew towards it were great also.

Disliked: Bit noisy at night, but then again it is pretty obviously called PARTY HOSTEL so if it bothers you, chill out ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jhonatan Herrera

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Jhonatan would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nice, the place was easy to find, and it is located near of metro stations and near of one big avenue. You could be shocked by first image, but after one nigth you will understand everything. Careful, I mean this is an hostel for friends wishing a good time, not to family trip.

Disliked: The problem for those who want silence is the party on the first floor!! I though it will be "a little bar" or pub, but beleive me, the party on wknd is until 6 o 7am, and you shouldn't go to sleep. Its amazing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Brown

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 May 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is perfect for people who like a good time. it is located very conveniently near all the bars and cafes etc and right in the middle of the city. the staff are a great help and this hostel is where you wana be if you wana party, hence the name. I don't understand anyone who would leave a bad review about this place being nosing or attracting people who party, because that's the whole point of this hostel and its called party hostel so this people are silly. its above a large bar and nightclub and the noise actually doesn't carry too bad into the hostel anyway. would surely recommend if you are travelling and want a good time.

Disliked: i would not recommend this hostel to people who do not want a good time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caner Filinte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2012 Caner would recommend this property

Liked: I saw how the staff could be that helpful and warm in a hostel. It had a decent cleanliness. The location is pretty much at the center of the city, or at least a couple of minutes by walking to the metro station. If you like the warm relations between the hostel staff and people, unlike the places where you have to do all your work by invoices and stuff, I strongly recommend you this place.

Disliked: Well, I would say it was pretty loud at night and early morning, but it's already noted by many customers and even by the hostel description itself. But that's all.