HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Instant Groove! Party Hostel

Hostel | Nagymezo u. 38, Budapest, Hungary -

87.0% Overall Rating

86 out of 92 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Rosie Duniam thinks…

"Amazing staff and great bar below. Really loud at night, but that's what we expected from a party hostel! Met really cool people and even went back to stay again since. The bar below is awesome and…"

Read all Instant Groove! Party Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

David Hasselhostel
6.72 USD

Hostel 92.9% 77 reviews
Beds N Roses Hostel
11.06 USD

Guesthouse 73.5% 25 reviews
ACH Opera Hostel
172.77 USD

Apartment 90.5% 15 reviews
Broadway Hostel
11.20 USD

Hostel 86.9% 37 reviews
Retox Party Hostel
11.65 USD

Hostel 95.5% 41 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
40.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
LOL Boutique Hostel City Center
30.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lord Residence
47.68 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

86 out of 92 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Instant Groove! Party Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 89 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Bar open from 11pm to 6am everyday we were there. It was so loud that it impossible to sleep. Staff didn't seem to know what was going on. They also almost forgot that we already paid too. Drunk travellers stole our food and beer from the fridge too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Duniam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and great bar below. Really loud at night, but that's what we expected from a party hostel! Met really cool people and even went back to stay again since. The bar below is awesome and you're only a short walk from the city center.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpfull. Especially Zorka! Without her our stay in Budapest would be much different. Awesome girl! You should raise her salary!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Does what it says on the tin. Do not stay here if you fancy a quiet night in. It does, after all, call it self a party hostel. Great atmosphere, located directly above a bar/club that stays open to the early hours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the community style of this hostel. Everyone was so friendly that stayed here as well as the people that worked here. It was definitely a party hostel which I enjoyed. It was on top of the coolest bar in Budapest meaning that all you had to do was walk down stairs to get to the party. Also because I was a guest at the hostel I was able to skip the line to get into the bar on nights I went out. All partying aside, the beds were comfy and the facility was clean. I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathalie Jongmans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: When we booked this hostel we knew it was a party hostel. We didn't know that the hostel was above the most famous ruined bar of Budapest! A lot of noise and high temperatures at night in the rooms, but we didn't care because we stayed in the Instant bar till the end of the party! I recommend this hostel to everyone who wants to party the whole night. Otherwise you can better look further.

Disliked: Half of the lockers were broken.. If you book this hostel change the currency to florint!!!!!! You can show at the reception how much you have to pay, because otherwise they use a different exchange rate and then you pay to much for the room!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a really good location, near most of the popular tourist destinations. Lovely atmosphere and the hostel itself was really cool, lots of communal space and bright and coloful decor, clearly designed for young travellers. Having the club dowstairs was really good, got free entry! Good sized communal kitchen and rooms are spacious as well. If you want a hostel in Budapest that is vibrant and full of life definitely consider this hostel!

Disliked: On the second night we stayed the staff moved another guest onto the sofa in our room. I though this was a bit weird as we booked an eight bed room and they had nine people in it, so it limited our space a bit. But was only a negative because the guy was really weird. I suppose we wouldnt of minded if the extra person would have been nice, just bad luck really. No real negatives to this place, its one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Bourlet

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013

Liked: the people staying there

Disliked: too quiet, bit boring, no events run through the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

daniele aliprandi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2013 daniele would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place if you want an easygoig atmosphere with possibility of good fun. Rooms are big and kitchen is fully equiped.

Disliked: daniele left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsa Tickler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Elsa would recommend this property

Liked: Instant Groovel is the best I have ever stayed at! It is not a huge hostel but big enough to cater for the amount of people staying there. It has clean kitchen, dining room and bathroom facilities and a common room filled with bean bags, lounge chairs and a television. The bedrooms are spacious with a good sized locker for each person. There is an absolutely incredible club right downstairs with numerous themed rooms. Being a hostel stayer at Instant Groove entitles you to free entry and no queuing to get in. I will say though, if you enjoy a good nights sleep, then this hostel is definatly not for you due to the loud music from the club. The staff were incredibly chilled and friendly and always willing to share local knowledge. The location could not be any better. All the main attractions are within walking distance and there are quite a few nice bars and restaurants in the same street. I will definatly be returning to Instant Groove :)

Disliked: The noise from the club downstairs got a bit annoying but the club itself was amazing which made up for it. Also, we couldn't pay with card, only cash.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! Great value, really cool and informative staff, convenient location, walking distance to all inner city sights and near public transport. Met so many great people from all different countries who are up for partying - the nightclub downstairs is really fun, 3 different dance floors and heaps of crazy interesting little rooms to hang out in, you probably won't even find all the rooms! I really had the best time of my travels here so I'm glad I chose this hostel! I'd recommend it to anyone who likes to party!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roberta Kovacs

Alone

City break

14 October 2012 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and it had a very great atmoshpere. Most of the people living there were travelers.

Disliked: I personally did not dislike this factor, but it is very noisy and busy until about 5-6am in the morning. It is great if you want to have a fun night, but not good if you need to get a good rest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imi O'Neill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Imi would recommend this property

Liked: The huuuuuuuge bunk beds

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: god belligebhed

Disliked: meget støj fra trafikken

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SPIROS MILIONIS

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012 SPIROS would recommend this property

Liked: Near the centre ofg the town

Disliked: the Club under it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalie Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to party, come here! It is a very famous bar as it is a ruin pub... An old abandoned building turned into a cool 5 storey bar. Staff are SO lovely and helpful.. Cool scene.

Disliked: If you want to sleep on thurs/fri/sat nights then good luck! I arrived on thurs arvo but couldn't sleep at al as the club music goes til 5am. However, it's a great place to meet people! :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. Eric especially so. Great atmosphere and amazing location and building to stay in. So so relaxed and the people it drew towards it were great also.

Disliked: Bit noisy at night, but then again it is pretty obviously called PARTY HOSTEL so if it bothers you, chill out ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jhonatan Herrera

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Jhonatan would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nice, the place was easy to find, and it is located near of metro stations and near of one big avenue. You could be shocked by first image, but after one nigth you will understand everything. Careful, I mean this is an hostel for friends wishing a good time, not to family trip.

Disliked: The problem for those who want silence is the party on the first floor!! I though it will be "a little bar" or pub, but beleive me, the party on wknd is until 6 o 7am, and you shouldn't go to sleep. Its amazing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Brown

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 May 2012 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is perfect for people who like a good time. it is located very conveniently near all the bars and cafes etc and right in the middle of the city. the staff are a great help and this hostel is where you wana be if you wana party, hence the name. I don't understand anyone who would leave a bad review about this place being nosing or attracting people who party, because that's the whole point of this hostel and its called party hostel so this people are silly. its above a large bar and nightclub and the noise actually doesn't carry too bad into the hostel anyway. would surely recommend if you are travelling and want a good time.

Disliked: i would not recommend this hostel to people who do not want a good time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Caner Filinte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2012 Caner would recommend this property

Liked: I saw how the staff could be that helpful and warm in a hostel. It had a decent cleanliness. The location is pretty much at the center of the city, or at least a couple of minutes by walking to the metro station. If you like the warm relations between the hostel staff and people, unlike the places where you have to do all your work by invoices and stuff, I strongly recommend you this place.

Disliked: Well, I would say it was pretty loud at night and early morning, but it's already noted by many customers and even by the hostel description itself. But that's all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

CHUKWUDUMEBI UBOGU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

04 May 2012

Liked: The staff were very helpful and very friendly.

Disliked: Some might have said it is old and quaint but really it was just neglected and run down. I liked the fact that the location was relatively central and there is a bar/pub just downstairs so I guess that is where the instant groove part of the name comes from.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Reda Elhore

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Reda would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly cool staff. The location is perfect for partying and pub crawling. The hostel is at the top floor of a building hosting several ruin bars. Most of them display underground music and it's very busy in the weekend. Rooms are clean and beds quite comfy.

Disliked: My stay was perfect. If you feel like sleeping sober at 10pm, better choose another place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central, friendly staff, awesomely located above one of the coolest night places in Budapest - the Enchanted forest bar complex. The rooms are big, beds are comfortable, there is a big kitchen. The atmosphere is great. There's no curfew and, best of all, no time to check out in the morning - everything is pretty relaxed. The common areas don't close and no one bitches around if you make a bit of noise - which has its downsides too...

Disliked: Let me put it this way: it was the filthiest place I've ever stayed in. The room was still ok - although the bedsheets were doubtable - but the kitchen and bathrooms...jeez! I know it depends on the guests too and there was a group of german teenagers that seemed to be wild animals (plus it was right after New Year's), but still, there should have been someone to clean it up a bit! And the fact that there were no strict rules meant that the pack of wild animals partied loud in the kitchen till 7 a.m, meaning no sleep - but it's called the party hostel, right? Only one shower and one computer for all those rooms, not enough

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great party in the bar downstairs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a really great feel to the hostel, very lively. Loved the bar on the lower floors. Great facilities and very clean. One of the best hostels I've been to.

Disliked: Though my fellow travelers and I had no problem with this, some people could be put-off by the music from the bar downstairs and went pretty late.