HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Som Basilica

Guesthouse | Októrber 6. utca 15., Budapest, Hungary 1051

95.1% Overall Rating

45 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2013)

"Gabriela was very nice, she gave us all important informations about sightseeing, and quickly arranged all the troubless."

Read all Som Basilica reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Central Backpack King
15.20 USD

Hostel 93.3% 605 reviews
TO-MA Apartments
17.92 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Basilica Hostel
7.84 USD

Guesthouse 72.2% 11 reviews
Pal's Hostel
19.28 USD

Apartment 96.9% 12 reviews
Boomerang Hostel
17.28 USD

Hostel 88.3% 9 reviews
Corso Apartment
26.88 USD

Apartment 55.7% 4 reviews
Origo Hostel
16.24 USD

Guesthouse 94.2% 68 reviews
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
13.82 USD

Hostel 83.3% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

45 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Som Basilica'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gabriela was very nice, she gave us all important informations about sightseeing, and quickly arranged all the troubless.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's centrally located but quiet and peaceful. Gabriella is a pleasant hostess who gave us valuable hints what to see and do and where to go. The apartment is clean and renovated.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Vidano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, furthermore the hostel is located in a splendid street in the main center of Budapest

Disliked: Rooms on the street side are a bit noisy, but this would be the same everywhere in the center of Budapest, and it does not have anything to do with the hostel itself

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Hau

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, free wifi, 24 hour supermarket is right next door, clean, friendly staff. Pillows good size and comfortable.

Disliked: In our room it was quite noisy, we could hear the television and people talking. So not good for privacy. The room was also a little dark (one window which faces buildings on all sides) although there were cute lamps which brightened it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: totally recommended!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the staff were great

Disliked: all rooms are actually in one apartment, so if your neighbors are noisy, you can hear them very well

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff, great rooms, definitely worth the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012

Liked: The location was very good, the woman, Gabriella, that runs the plays was really nice and helpful. She gave us some good advice where to go and what to see which was great.

Disliked: The standard of the room . Mold in the bathroom (really bad as well). Smelled awful and made me really sick during the stay. To be frank, the smell was disgusting. The bathroom in one of the double rooms really needs renovation. No sheets in the bed either (even though it was promised). The woman that runs the hostel was supposed to give us some change back for the room (we didnt have the exact amount when we arrived and she couldnt give any change at the time ) but she never gave us any money. It wasnt much but still! As well, you could hear really well what the people in the next room said and unfortunately we had to listen to the people in the other room when they had sex.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean and renovated. The location is excellent, the best place to stay in Budapest. The staff was very helpfull.

Disliked: Terrible matress. You will wake up with your back in pain! The sounproofing between the bedroom and living room could be better. You sleep and wake up with your apartment mates...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Selada

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, confortable and renewed rooms. Excellent location, few meters away from a 24h convenience store, and near big cultural monument. Perfect for who likes to dinner or drink in the terrace of restaurants an caffes watching the crowd and feel the ambience. Extremly central! Near metro, tram, buses or even for whom likes to walk to the central attractions. Owner very very friendly and available.

Disliked: Bed didn't had the convenient blankets for couple. No floor nor head towel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location close to Basilica St Steven and all sites accessible by foot!

Disliked: The room had just a tiny window without any view, only thing to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Geltinger

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Was reallt nice here. Would recommend this accomodation.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Besnard

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. Our room (both bedroom & bathroom) was large and clean. No noise from outside. The staff is very helpful, and gave us tips and some infos on current events happening in the city. It is very well located, right in the city center and in a nice street with restaurants, bars, bakeries, 24h shop. Inside the appartement are some facilities that are very helpful (kitchen, fridge etc...). We really enjoyed our stay there and wouldn't hesitate coming back there if we decided to come back again to Budapest :)

Disliked: Sadly, we saw 2 cockroaches in the room in 3 nights, but i guess that could happen anywhere...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexa Campbell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Alexa would recommend this property

Liked: Such a cute and chic renovated apartment. So modern and new, everything was extremely clean and well put together. I would recommend this hostel 1000%!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonas WepsäläinenJonasW

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere. The stylish old fashioned/beginning of the 21 century look that was clean up to modern standard. And last but not least when we wished to enjoy a glass of wine on our room there was of course a wine opener to be found in the kitchen...

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cook

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway

13 February 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly introduction to the city upon arival

Disliked: A bit difficult to find

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Tschirky

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: - Perfect Location. Near to metro and city center (walking distance). There is a 24hours-shop and a cute bakery right around the corner. Altough it is near to the center of the city, it is quiet in the rooms. - Extremely friendly and helpfull owner. - Clean and well equipped facility. I can recommend this place to EVERYONE. Cost effectiveness of this hostel is unbeatable! A perfect place to visit this beautiful city

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and very large property! Fantastic value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best experience I've ever had staying at a hostel. The owner is incredibly friendly and helpful and went out of her way to help us. She even left us some candy out on the table one night. The location is very central, and the room was very spacious and very clean. I would definitely recommend this place for any travelers.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked, absolutely no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enkeleda Hoxha

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 October 2011 Enkeleda would recommend this property

Liked: We liked accommodation,location,comfortable,very clean,friendliness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Mazzorana

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, and since is downtown, there was no noise in the room's. The reception it was amazing. And the owner before we arrive, asked us about transfer, and help a lot with huge amount of tips.

Disliked: Small issues. One of the beds have some noises when you move on it. And we don't know why, in the last night we hear some bugs flying. But as I said, it was too small issues comparing with the advantages.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

donald haggbloom

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

03 October 2011 donald would recommend this property

Liked: great location. owner very helpfull

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Lucas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great location only a few minutes walk from the parliament building and Som Basilica, less than 10 mins from two underground stations. More a modernised apartment on the 4th floor of an old, characterful block than a hostel. Spotlessly clean inside. The owner greeted us and was exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The double en-suite bedroom gets pretty hot and stuffy, with just a window opening onto an internal courtyard. (So no view). That was September - probably would be stifling in full summer. Oh, and we did spot a couple of mysterious brown insects in the bathroom - may have been cockroaches though that's at odds with this otherwise clean and well looked after hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect,the room we stayed in was the private double room and it was clean. The hostel was quiet, and had a homely feel to it.The lady in charge, was so helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katrina marinovic

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 September 2011 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location!! Gabriella the owner who greeted us was so very helpful and sat down with us for about 15 min. explaining the sites and transport system, great places to eat and the night life, as well as a free parking area only about 10 away. Also there were a bunch of leaflets in the rooms for sites and tours

Disliked: nothing