HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of BlackSheep Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Akácfa utca 7, VII (7th) District, Budapest, Hungary 1072

94.7% Overall Rating

317 out of 341 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Nicholas Howells thinks…

"This hostel is perfectly located. Tram is 5 mins walk away, tobacco shop for the smokers is 5 mins walk, theres fast food places within 10 mins walk and the bar is underneath the hostel (and its VERY…"

Read all BlackSheep Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CREDIT CARDS NOT ACCEPTED. CASH ONLY

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

ACH Akacfa Apartments
138.01 USD

Apartment 89.1% 110 reviews
Agape Guesthouse
20.36 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 182 reviews
Gangnam Hostel
13.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Village
16.56 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Europa Centerpoint Guesthouse
34.50 USD

Guesthouse 64.0% 61 reviews
Nightingale Mini Hotel
11.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 237 reviews
Budapest Beat Hostel
9.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Locust Tree Apartments
16.91 USD

Apartment 95.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

317 out of 341 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BlackSheep Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 286 of 334 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Howells

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is perfectly located. Tram is 5 mins walk away, tobacco shop for the smokers is 5 mins walk, theres fast food places within 10 mins walk and the bar is underneath the hostel (and its VERY CHEAP with good beer and atmosphere). The Hostel itself is very clean, with good facilities, wifi is free and it also has 3 computers with webcams and skype available for you to use at no extra charge and can even provide you with towels. The Staff make this place the best. They were so friendly even though I have to say sorry for the horrific sight of us in our underwear with massive hangovers in the morning ( The toilet opposite our room was being refurbished so we had to go to the otherside of the hostel). A massive thanks to Judit for directing us to 1 of the best spots for food (Bors Gastro pub!) and being very friendly and helpful to 2 hungover men :). Adam for telling us places to go and see to try local beers and night clubs. Zsofia Thanks for being so friendly and spending the time answering our questions :). The staff make this place their like a family and They are all awesome! The bar staff in the Blacksheep bar were awesome also Big thanks to Nori and Novak for making sure our glasses were not empty for long! Cant wait to go back in the Summer!

Disliked: The only issue really was that as I stated previously the toilet/shower opposite our room was being renovated. This meant that there was working men banging (which isnt nice on a hangover). The other fault was that 2 days there was no hot water for a shower in the morning, but this was a blessing as a cold shower helped shake the beer and palinka off! The blacksheep bar closed too early (3am).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hans Zimmermann

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, central location, spacious, cheap.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanne Holberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Johanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room, and good location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constantin Vergeleu

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

25 March 2014 Constantin would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Brusset

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2014 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Wagner

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: close to metro, trams, etc. and nightlife. Gábor and the rest of the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014

Liked: Good wifi and computer access. Had a guitar! Has own cooking facilities. Cheap.

Disliked: Breakfast was poor and ran out about 30mins after it began. Bathrooms were really dirty and the showerheads were broken. We weren't given our towels until the second day, when I went and asked for them. All the rooms are off the main area, so if there are drunk/loud people about early in the morning, don't imagine you will get any sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Djordje Mancev

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Djordje would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, great laid back and friendly atmosphere, clean, safe, great location. I would recommend the hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Budapest

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good locations

Disliked: A lot of dust in our room and toiletpaper ran out at one point

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and helpful, rooms are both equipped thoughtfully AND stylish (Mirror, Coathangers, Lamp and 2 sockets for every bunkbed). Nice family-like-Vibe due to small size of the hostel, easy to meet fellow travellers in the cosy communal areas.

Disliked: Nothing, except that it could be EVEN cleaner (but I do have very high standards)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Taylor

Alone

City break

23 October 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! Loved every second, we had a langos night, cooked together with the staff! It was fun for a quite night

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun and colorful. Large tv and movie selection, eating area and kitchen. Breakfast included!

Disliked: The bar wasn't open the nights I was there. I didn't ask why though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashely Saffort

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Ashely would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was simply perfect. Gave me the best tips. The breakfast is like at home.

Disliked: Ashely left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryce Christie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Bryce would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, homely atmosphere and great location. Would definitely stay here again if I pass through Budapest!

Disliked: Bryce left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Perry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The most helpful and friendly staff out of all the hostels I have stayed in around Europe.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yekaterina Klimushkin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Yekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were simply amazing here. Extremely nice and very helpful. They have free breakfasts and every Thursday night they cook dinner. This definitely is the best deal for the Buck!

Disliked: The location was ok since it was close to the metro but not the closest walking distance to main attractions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff Cheap Good breakfast Hungarian home feeling

Disliked: insufficient information on the map which hostel provides Some travellers will smoke on balcony

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Ferreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

21 September 2013

Liked: There were really nice people and we hang out in the night. The place is really good located, near metro stations and nightlife (pubs, restrooms, etc.).

Disliked: The locker they gave me was broke and wasn't working properly. But not a big deal. I've left all my things around and nothing happened. It's secure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhen Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 September 2013 Zhen would recommend this property

Liked: Many

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Wallace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great Hostel in Budapest. The good points: Good sized dorm, with 4 bunk beds / 8 beds in total. I've stayed in Hostels where a room this size would have at least another bunk or two, so that was really good. You also get a free breakfast and the Hostel as a whole has a friendly vibe.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Moczadlo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decoration, clean, facilities are great, atmosphere good, staff helpful and great location.

Disliked: Not a lot

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna bowring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: The BlackSheep Hostel is a clean and well-maintained hostel with a lovely homely feel to it. The kitchen is well-equipped and has everything you could possibly need, and breakfast was included with the price of our stay and was decent. The showers were clean and actually WORKED (a nice change from most of the places we stayed!). They also have really fast computers available for use free of charge with webcams and headphones so you can Skype away to your heart's content! Great location, close to places to eat and the Metro.

Disliked: When you were getting ready to go on a night out, there wasn't much of an atmosphere at the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mayur Lodhi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

06 August 2013 Mayur would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is pretty awesome, and its great fun to be there. I was there during summers and it was very hot at that time but thankfully they have aircon in the common areas and you can chill out during the day and watch movies and make a lot of friends from all over the world.

Disliked: It is not that great for people who want to sleep at night :P as there is a lot of noise in the streets and you have to open the windows because it gets very hot in summer. But most of them are not here to sleep :D

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Troy WHITMARSH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, nice smallish hostel. Its easy to meet friendly people here to go out with or a good place to chill out.

Disliked: Nothing.