We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of BlackSheep Hostel & Bar

Hostel | Akácfa utca 7, VII (7th) District, Budapest, Hungary 1072

93.3% Overall Rating

325 out of 349 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

"Very small and cozy hostel. There's a couch and tv where people can chill together and watch movies."

Read all BlackSheep Hostel & Bar reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

CREDIT CARDS NOT ACCEPTED. CASH ONLY

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

ACH Akacfa Apartments
18.92 USD

Apartment 89.1% 110 reviews
Agape Guesthouse
20.85 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 182 reviews
Hostel Just Right
7.82 USD

Hostel 77.5% 8 reviews
Europa Centerpoint Guesthouse
19.24 USD

Guesthouse 66.3% 62 reviews
Nightingale Ensuite Hostel
18.35 USD

Hotel 5 star 82.9% 237 reviews
Locust Tree Apartments
17.45 USD

Apartment 93.5% 15 reviews
Marco Polo Top Hostel
11.55 USD

Hostel 74.1% 129 reviews
Ravin Hostel
8.23 USD

Hostel 87.7% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

325 out of 349 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BlackSheep Hostel & Bar'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 291 of 342 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really cool athmosphere. really helpful staff.

Disliked: maybe one more washroom would have been nice. wifi could have been better as well, but still great stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very small and cozy hostel. There's a couch and tv where people can chill together and watch movies.

Disliked: A little bit out of the way but also near some really great bars.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where really friendly and the kitchen was awesome plis the free coffee in the mornig was gret

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the kitchen and the wooden table. And the balcony. The beds are comfortable and have bed drawers. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: The showers were not that clean...but okay, there were a lot of people using them.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The property is located a 20 minute walk or 5 minute train ride from Budapest-Keleti train station (a plus for us, since we came by train). The Hostel is located in a traditional Hungarian building on the fifth floor, it may sound weird but it's really not that strange. It's just one floor of the building, and it's secured entry. The surrounding neighborhood is really close to the hip, ruin bar, boutique shop area. There's a few bars below the property and a cheap market where you can get some groceries if you feel like cooking something. It's also a close walk to Oktogon station which gives you access to the yellow tram that connects to a lot of tourist attractions/shopping. The hostel itself is alright, it was good but nothing special. There's a small common room with a flat screen and tons of DVDs, some books, some games, and a nice sofa. There's a large dining table, a small kitchen, fridge, and three computers for free use. There's three whole bathrooms and one WC - usually not a problem in the morning when you're getting ready. They have a fridge stocked with slightly more expensive soda/water but convenient if you can't be bothered to leave the hostel. Overall clean, well maintained. Staff was really friendly, although some of them didn't really know what was going on when you asked for something. The wall across the kitchen has a huge map of the city with labeled points of interest, neat feature to get a feel for the city. Although they have a bar downstairs and they have nightly events (game night, tour, cook together) this doesn't seem like the meet people, party hostel - especially since it is located in a residential building. This was NOT a problem for my boyfriend & I who were in Budapest to relax and have fun, but if you want to party and meet people not the place.

Disliked: Budapest is a very, very, very, VERY, hot place. I'm talking, sweat all over, all day, humidity in the 30-40%, temps of 35 C and up (95 F+). No joke, we saw street dogs throw themselves in dirt ponds, birds laying in the shade ready to die, people bathing with water bottles. That being said, this hostel has NO AC in the bedrooms, only in the common areas. There's ceiling fans in the rooms, but it really does not help with the amount of heat coming in. My boyfriend could sleep, but I really couldn't handle the heat in the bedrooms, and most of the people sleeping here sleep with no sheets, open doors because of it. If you can't handle heat, then don't stay here in the Summer, if you don't mind so much then go for it. The other thing - WIFI was very slow, very spotty, and disconnected frequently. If you're thinking about streaming films, music, you're gonna have a bad time. If you want the occasional Facebook check or Tweet it's alright.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Howells

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is perfectly located. Tram is 5 mins walk away, tobacco shop for the smokers is 5 mins walk, theres fast food places within 10 mins walk and the bar is underneath the hostel (and its VERY CHEAP with good beer and atmosphere). The Hostel itself is very clean, with good facilities, wifi is free and it also has 3 computers with webcams and skype available for you to use at no extra charge and can even provide you with towels. The Staff make this place the best. They were so friendly even though I have to say sorry for the horrific sight of us in our underwear with massive hangovers in the morning ( The toilet opposite our room was being refurbished so we had to go to the otherside of the hostel). A massive thanks to Judit for directing us to 1 of the best spots for food (Bors Gastro pub!) and being very friendly and helpful to 2 hungover men :). Adam for telling us places to go and see to try local beers and night clubs. Zsofia Thanks for being so friendly and spending the time answering our questions :). The staff make this place their like a family and They are all awesome! The bar staff in the Blacksheep bar were awesome also Big thanks to Nori and Novak for making sure our glasses were not empty for long! Cant wait to go back in the Summer!

Disliked: The only issue really was that as I stated previously the toilet/shower opposite our room was being renovated. This meant that there was working men banging (which isnt nice on a hangover). The other fault was that 2 days there was no hot water for a shower in the morning, but this was a blessing as a cold shower helped shake the beer and palinka off! The blacksheep bar closed too early (3am).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hans Zimmermann

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, central location, spacious, cheap.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanne Holberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Johanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room, and good location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constantin Vergeleu

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

25 March 2014 Constantin would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Brusset

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2014 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Wagner

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, good location.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: close to metro, trams, etc. and nightlife. Gábor and the rest of the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014

Liked: Good wifi and computer access. Had a guitar! Has own cooking facilities. Cheap.

Disliked: Breakfast was poor and ran out about 30mins after it began. Bathrooms were really dirty and the showerheads were broken. We weren't given our towels until the second day, when I went and asked for them. All the rooms are off the main area, so if there are drunk/loud people about early in the morning, don't imagine you will get any sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Djordje Mancev

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Djordje would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, great laid back and friendly atmosphere, clean, safe, great location. I would recommend the hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Budapest

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good locations

Disliked: A lot of dust in our room and toiletpaper ran out at one point

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly and helpful, rooms are both equipped thoughtfully AND stylish (Mirror, Coathangers, Lamp and 2 sockets for every bunkbed). Nice family-like-Vibe due to small size of the hostel, easy to meet fellow travellers in the cosy communal areas.

Disliked: Nothing, except that it could be EVEN cleaner (but I do have very high standards)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Taylor

Alone

City break

23 October 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! Loved every second, we had a langos night, cooked together with the staff! It was fun for a quite night

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun and colorful. Large tv and movie selection, eating area and kitchen. Breakfast included!

Disliked: The bar wasn't open the nights I was there. I didn't ask why though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashely Saffort

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Ashely would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was simply perfect. Gave me the best tips. The breakfast is like at home.

Disliked: Ashely left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryce Christie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Bryce would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, homely atmosphere and great location. Would definitely stay here again if I pass through Budapest!

Disliked: Bryce left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Perry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The most helpful and friendly staff out of all the hostels I have stayed in around Europe.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yekaterina Klimushkin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Yekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were simply amazing here. Extremely nice and very helpful. They have free breakfasts and every Thursday night they cook dinner. This definitely is the best deal for the Buck!

Disliked: The location was ok since it was close to the metro but not the closest walking distance to main attractions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff Cheap Good breakfast Hungarian home feeling

Disliked: insufficient information on the map which hostel provides Some travellers will smoke on balcony

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Ferreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

21 September 2013

Liked: There were really nice people and we hang out in the night. The place is really good located, near metro stations and nightlife (pubs, restrooms, etc.).

Disliked: The locker they gave me was broke and wasn't working properly. But not a big deal. I've left all my things around and nothing happened. It's secure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhen Tan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 September 2013 Zhen would recommend this property

Liked: Many

Disliked: nothing