HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grand Hostel Budapest Budapest

Hostel

Huvosvolgyi ut 69, Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 82%

Location 69%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 20.10USD
  • Breakfast 3.55USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 82%

Location 69%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were mostly friendly, the woman who initially checked me in was really helpful. The location is quite far from the centre of town but it's a nice district and easy to get to once you've worked out the chaotic tram repair works. The hostel is super clean and the beds are fairly comfortable.

Disliked: It was extremely noisy at night, Saturday in particular had thumping music shaking the floorboards until around 5am. The directions need updating. Moskva Ter has been renamed and the tram network is being renovated. Once you find where Tram 61 (Husovology) now goes from it's easy though.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Although it seemed far out from the centre, buses/trams ran all night to this place, which the staff very helpfully told us the times and where to get these buses from, so we still managed to enjoy Budapest's wonderful nightlife.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: it is clean and the staff are cool

Disliked: the rooms are very very smalthe train makesa lot of noise in the rooms

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals

Liked: nothing, the rooms looked nice.

Disliked: could not sleep whatsoever due to the road right there. Also there is no chill out area, only outside which is not too comfortable. And inside is so dark it feels like you are in a dungeon. And the beds were not comfortable at all.Also the taxi there is a hour long from the airport.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: bedrooms

Disliked: traffic noise, so don't expect to sleep

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Welcoming and friendly staff always offering to help. Great atmosphere in the bar, which played good music. Only 2 mins walk to the tram line, which is 7/8 stops to the center (Budapest Deli station, the metro, and the castle). Our top floor double room felt like we were in a log cabin among the trees, lovely.

Disliked: Room wasn't very big, but wasn't a problem for us. Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the atmosphere and the location.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: the staff was very helpful and friendly, let me and my friends pay later because we didnt have any hungarian currency. Let us sleep in (past check out time) and woke us up when we over slept but we extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: it is relatively far away from the city center but easy to get too with a 15 minute bus ride

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it is very clean, ambient is very nice, stuff is very polite, beds are very comfortable, social room - you can hear good music, meet interesting people...

Disliked: they could made safety lockers, this is something what i missed. but ok, if you have something value you can give it to stuff and they will store it in safe place.location is mabye a little bit far from the center of the city, but Budapest is big city, and sights are at diferent places so wherewer you are, some of them will be far. :) city trainsport is exelent so there is no problem! evrithing was perfect!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For this money, there is no better hostel in Budapest. It's easy to find and it's situated in fairly peaceful neighborhood, which we very liked. Some will say it's far from the center of the city, but it's not - you need like 10 minutes with tram. The stuff was very helpful and friendly. And definitely we'll stay again in this hostel if we come in Budapest again. Greetings from Nina, Kosta and Stefan. :)

Disliked: Loud Russians. :PHmm, nothing special, really. Beds were "crunching" a bit. (:P), but nothing serious.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability