We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grand Hostel Budapest

Hostel | Huvosvolgyi ut 69, Versec sor 1, Budapest, Hungary 1021

83.8% Overall Rating

200 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

"Although it seemed far out from the centre, buses/trams ran all night to this place, which the staff very helpfully told us the times and where to get these buses from, so we still managed to enjoy Budapest's wonderful…"

Read all Grand Hostel Budapest reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.51
  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Hotel Panda Kft
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Budai Hotel
13.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Papillon
17.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 5 reviews
E&G Residence
19.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jagello Business Hotel
28.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 4 reviews
Vesno Apartment
26.43 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Charles
26.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.9% 5 reviews
Hotel Classic
13.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

200 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Budapest'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 164 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although it seemed far out from the centre, buses/trams ran all night to this place, which the staff very helpfully told us the times and where to get these buses from, so we still managed to enjoy Budapest's wonderful nightlife.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is clean and the staff are cool

Disliked: the rooms are very very smal the train makesa lot of noise in the rooms

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Paul Cicatello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013

Liked: bedrooms

Disliked: traffic noise, so don't expect to sleep

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

15 August 2013

Liked: nothing, the rooms looked nice.

Disliked: could not sleep whatsoever due to the road right there. Also there is no chill out area, only outside which is not too comfortable. And inside is so dark it feels like you are in a dungeon. And the beds were not comfortable at all. Also the taxi there is a hour long from the airport.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere and the location.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paris Martins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Paris would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming and friendly staff always offering to help. Great atmosphere in the bar, which played good music. Only 2 mins walk to the tram line, which is 7/8 stops to the center (Budapest Deli station, the metro, and the castle). Our top floor double room felt like we were in a log cabin among the trees, lovely.

Disliked: Room wasn't very big, but wasn't a problem for us. Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Barna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: For this money, there is no better hostel in Budapest. It's easy to find and it's situated in fairly peaceful neighborhood, which we very liked. Some will say it's far from the center of the city, but it's not - you need like 10 minutes with tram. The stuff was very helpful and friendly. And definitely we'll stay again in this hostel if we come in Budapest again. Greetings from Nina, Kosta and Stefan. :)

Disliked: Loud Russians. :P Hmm, nothing special, really. Beds were "crunching" a bit. (:P), but nothing serious.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Mitnick

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 May 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very helpful and friendly, let me and my friends pay later because we didnt have any hungarian currency. Let us sleep in (past check out time) and woke us up when we over slept but we extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: it is relatively far away from the city center but easy to get too with a 15 minute bus ride

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Mlinarevic

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: it is very clean, ambient is very nice, stuff is very polite, beds are very comfortable, social room - you can hear good music, meet interesting people...

Disliked: they could made safety lockers, this is something what i missed. but ok, if you have something value you can give it to stuff and they will store it in safe place. location is mabye a little bit far from the center of the city, but Budapest is big city, and sights are at diferent places so wherewer you are, some of them will be far. :) city trainsport is exelent so there is no problem! evrithing was perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Shill

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at Grand Hostel over New Years Eve with a friend and had a brilliant time. The staff at the hostel are absolutely great, so friendly and really knowledgable about the area and have loads of tips on where to visit. The hostel has a great downstairs bar and we were lucky enough to experience a night of live music the first night we got there with some friendly locals. Hostel is really clean, with decent bathrooms per floor and it was really warm inside despite minus degrees out. It is about a 40 min walk or 15 min tram journey into the centre of town but it gives you a chance to explore the suburbs and stay out of the main town. This was the best hostel we found for the price by far and really actually enjoyed the walk into town and back every day. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in Budapest.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

burcin cetin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 burcin would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS REALLY PERFECT HOSTEL,EVERTHİN WAS JUST PERFECT! LOCATİON İS A LİTLE FAR AWAY BUT İT İS NOT İMPORTANT YOU CAN ARRİVE THE CİTY CENTER İN 10 MİNUTES.

Disliked: NOTHİNG.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden atmosphere was quite lovely

Disliked: The room was so small…

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, clean and price is excellent, had a great time

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic giving helpful advice and always upbeat. Little Dachshund bitch was also very friendly and welcoming. Lovely bar/rest area on the ground floor. Very handy for the tram system nd you can buy tram tickets from the hostel.

Disliked: The basic room locks could be locked from the inside by a key which one of the occupants did and the took the key out. Getting out of the room would have been difficult in an emergency as I had to search in the night for my key to open the door.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good welcome and quick check-in, maybe because EURO 2012 footbal match was currently on :)

Disliked: Located between quite freqently used road and tramline, so a bit noisy from traffic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere,good music.....

Disliked: .....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROMERO VERONICA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

11 June 2012 ROMERO would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean, and it is easy to get by public transport, it is on a nice location, the rooms are big and clean, the showers are also great.... I will come back for sure

Disliked: ROMERO left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaniness Atmosphere Well comunicated 24-7

Disliked: Far from the city center Staff not so prepared to help

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was briefly renovated and very clean. Additionally, the staff was very nice. We even got a free drink at arrival.

Disliked: It was a little far away from the city center but it was still easily reachable by public transportation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to reach by public transport. They offered welcome drinks when we arrived. cozy.

Disliked: Location is outside the city center. It is about half an hours by Metro and tram from Keleti train station, but the transport connection is very good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very clean and especially relaxing because it is like being in a chalet in the mountains, with so much wood and being a bit apart from the city centre. Also Miriam at reception is very helpful and professional.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jolien Jansen

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 February 2012 Jolien would recommend this property

Liked: The staff spoke very good English, and we're very helpful. The rooms were tidy and clean and it was a pleasure to stay here.

Disliked: The only thing that you could dislike about the hostel was the fact that it was next to a tramrail. Even though I had no problems with this at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an exceptional property in my opinion. Although some say that it is removed from the city center, that can be a good thing because you have a true place to come home to in the evening. I really liked staying here and I did not find it far from the city at all. The staff members are outstandingly friendly and the entire property is kept very clean.

Disliked: I do not think there is anything I disliked about this property.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arvind Sivaramakrishnan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Arvind would recommend this property

Liked: clean and neat

Disliked: location is a bit far and not that many people were around

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Green

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Lack of cooking facilities