HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mandala Hostel

Hostel | Krúdy Utca 12., Budapest, Hungary 1088

95.4% Overall Rating

788 out of 819 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"I have stayed in many hostels around the world and Mandala is without doubt my favorite. Incredibly homely, with a family feel, it creates a great atmosphere between guests, yet you can still find plenty of room for…"

Read all Mandala Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Central Hotel 21
20.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 6 reviews
Inside Hostel Budapest
15.59 USD

Hostel 95.2% 6 reviews
Jimi Hendrix
13.52 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 76 reviews
Minoo House
21.42 USD

Hostel 90.2% 155 reviews
Hostel Goodmo
14.77 USD

Hostel 91.5% 287 reviews
Apartment Horanszky
32.48 USD

Apartment 93.6% 4 reviews
Sunyfly Hostel and Apartment
4.98 USD

Apartment 89.4% 124 reviews
Design Apartments Budapest
21.48 USD

Apartment 83.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

788 out of 819 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mandala Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 617 of 636 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels around the world and Mandala is without doubt my favorite. Incredibly homely, with a family feel, it creates a great atmosphere between guests, yet you can still find plenty of room for peace and relaxation. In particular I must mention Peter the charming hostel manager, in return for a gin 'n' tonic, he will keep you entertained with songs and stories all evening long.

Disliked: nothing, perfect hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, comfortable, great for meeting people

Disliked: Fridge was struggling and I was unlucky enough to get attacked by bed bugs but the hostel staff responded really quickly and well to the situation and were getting a professional bug man in the very next day. I really don't think they were at fault as the place was cleaned well each day. Just something that can occasionally happen with people moving from hostel to hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Mandala is the best place we have stayed on our trip! The best welcome, informed about good places to go, help regarding every aspect of our stay in budapest! This is a brilliant place to stay, beautiful rooms, lovely people, relatively small but literally the best people we have met! Could not give this place enough praise! Lots of love, Caitlin and Trish xx

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to old town and Jewish District. Staff are very friendly. Rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily. Hand soap and hand towels are provided in bathrooms.

Disliked: I stayed in the ZEN room. When somebody is walking, the wood floor as well as the wood stairs to the upper beds made too much noise. Personally I'd like to have a curtain around the bed to give some privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florence Theobald

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 May 2014 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we've stayed in. Such a great atmosphere, staff and everyone there so friendly. Really safe and clean, such a great place to stay. Thoroughly recommend!

Disliked: no dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mandala is the best hostel ive stayed in! It was exactly what I wanted for a relaxing and comfortable stay, somewhere that feels like a home. This was especially perfect as i was travelling alone, and i made some wonderful friends! Everyone was lovely and so helpful, and I stayed twice as long as I planned because I didnt want to leave. Location was perfect, walking distance to most things. Clean and comfortable rooms that were cozy and not overcrowded like other hostels. Wifi was good, bathrooms clean, kitchen with free coffee...no complaints!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: felt like a family

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leila Cahill

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Leila would recommend this property

Liked: Mandala is like staying at a friend's friend's place. The people are friendly, welcoming and go out of their way to help you. Not only did the staff do the things that you hope they'd do such as booking early morning taxis and pointing out places to go on the maps, they also took me to one of the sites and showed me the best place to get langos. I was travelling by myself so this was great! I felt like I was staying with people who were actively helping me to have a better time in Budapest as opposed to just doing the minimum that's required to keep a job which is often the case with hostels. I can't believe how cheap it was for such a homely, clean hostel. I told one of the locals how cheap it was and she instantly assumed the place must have been old and dirty. Not the case at all! I love this place and would love to see more hostels like it!

Disliked: Leila left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olaf Gehrke

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 February 2014 Olaf would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was an AMAZING experience for me and i have never expected my stay so fantastic like this! I started my Trip to Budapest alone but the Mandala hostel host Furi as well as the guests made it very easy for me to step in the Budapest Lifestyle immediately. The host and the hostelworkers made it simple for me to get in touch with several facts and sights in Budapest because they will give you a short but powerful introduction. Some facts: - All rooms are very clean! - Free towels - 3 bathrooms - Kitchen with everything you need - Free tea and coffee - Very nice dog (Lufi) and a nice cat (Töhötöm) -> you will have a great time with them for sure! - you will get many tips you would never be able to find without the host Furi. Like for instance a wonderful hungarian volksmusik dance-party and so on - Free wifi in the whole hostel - a familiar atmosphere :) - its not expensive and you will get so much value! At the end of my stay i have many new friends and amazing contacts more and iam very thankful for my excellent stay in this hostel. Miss the time already :/ The Mandala Hostel is like a big family with many kind people and i will be back for sure. Thank you for everything.

Disliked: Really Nothing! Its the perfect hostel to explore Budapest from. Everybody should stay at the Mandala hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy hostel I've ever stayed. Staff is very friendly and kindness!!! cat and dog is cute, atmosphere in the room is great!!!! I really like this hostel.

Disliked: Reception doesn't open 24h, so when I check-out there is nnbody to say good-bye.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Gearheart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: I had such a great experience staying at this hostel. Its pretty small, but that was one of the things we enjoyed most about it because it created a very homey atmosphere. I made some great friends while staying there! The staff is awesome as well. They would take us around to the local spots and were very knowledgeable about the surrounding attractions. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking to meet knew people and have a great local experience (its especially great for solo travelers).

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. The desk attendant spent well over 20 minutes giving recommendations on places to see, providing popular spots as well as personal favorites. Definitely helped to create a good experience for myself in Budapest

Disliked: The hostel is about a 20 minute walk away from any popular spots or attractions. However, Budapest is a very walkable city so it was not a major problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I honestly wish I could've stayed longer! This hostel made my, unfortunately short, trip to Budapest just perfect, everything went nice and easy thanks for the helpful staff and after a day in the city coming back to the hostel was like coming to home, the atmosphere was just so wellcoming and sweet! Thank you for that, Mandala :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it's a small hostel which makes it easy to meet people, fantastic atmosphere and the staff are always willing to help with any questions or concerns. There's no bunk bed's which is really awesome, and the general vibe of the hostel is very chill and sociable.

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Solveig Daae Kristiansen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2013 Solveig Daae would recommend this property

Liked: The people working at Mandala were really welcoming and helpful. I felt like home there, and found the atmosphere to be great. The hostel has a good location close to the yellow tram line, and it is also possible to walk to the main sights.

Disliked: The place was a little worn out, and no one seemed to think about refilling the toilet paper, which was inconvenient...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a small hostel with a great chilled atmopsphere. This is a great place for solo travellers, the people who run the place are very nice.

Disliked: Shower was somewhat clogged, as is common in hostels. This place may be hard to find just using the directions from this website, do your research on google maps

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great hostel!!! This is the best hostel I had in this trip so far...It is a nice place for solo travellers.. it feels like home... Highly recommended...Everything is very good... I had some good sleeps during my stay.... Well done...

Disliked: Nothing.....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kristie donnelly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 kristie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, really good for solo travellers as it is a very small hostel only holding 16 beds in total. You can easily get to the metro or even walk to the main part of Budapest. Supermarkets and restaurants close as well as nightlife which the staff were great for recommending and also getting involved on nights out.

Disliked: Because this property in so small, it was difficult to get to sleep as the floor creeked and there were only curtains dividing the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Paras

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: I was backpacking in Europe and I stayed in Budapest for 3 months. This is the best hostel I stayed in. I would really recommend it. There are some great people working there and most of the people that stay in this hostel are nice to talk to. I was that the atmosphere the hostel has attracts people like this.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, peaceful, quiet, clean..

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I highly reccomend this hostel for solo or duo travelers. A great place to stay in Budapest with very friendly staff who give you a great lowdown of the city on arrival & will help you throughout your stay. The hostel has a cozy atmosphere however you can still enjoy the nightlife of Budapest from here. The hostel is also very clean!

Disliked: The only downside was we almost got robbed due to the buildings door being left open. This however I can understand is not solely the hostels fault as it is located in a residential apartment building. The staff also dealt with the issue really well. If your looking for a party hostel this isn't the place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioanna Pantazi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Ioanna would recommend this property

Liked: great homey atmosphere, staff was so friendly and helpful, and the overall atmosphere of the hostel resembled more a little family! Would definitely come back here!!

Disliked: only 2 bathrooms with shower that made it challenging when everyone wanted to take a shower. But that was included in the "home atmosphere" of Mandala, so this is just a remark- not a complaint

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annapurna Mellor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Annapurna would recommend this property

Liked: Mandala Hostel is amazing! It's beautifully decorated, the staff are amazing and the atmosphere is so relaxed. I wanted to stay forever. For me, this is literally the perfect hostel. Stay here, you will not regret it!

Disliked: Nothing! However if your looking for a 'party hostel' this isn't the best place to go, there's plenty of party hostels in Budapest. This place is for people who want to meet people, see the city and explore it's nightlife.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Ipsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: I realy like the atmosphere, the introduction, nice and friendly staff and I think the property is situatet in a very good location. Maybe they could make some more stuff to bring the guests more together.

Disliked: It really irritated me some times that some of the others guests just ignored me or even wouldn't say hallo to me. But I don't know if there is really much you can do about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Great ppl. Jesse and Peter were really helpful. Simply put value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.