We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mandala Hostel

Hostel | Krúdy Utca 12., Budapest, Hungary 1088

94.4% Overall Rating

802 out of 833 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2015)

julia virpi thinks…

"An excellent place to chill and meet other people. It feels like a family. I wouldn't recommend going anywhere else in Budapest!"

Read all Mandala Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Central Hotel 21
16.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 6 reviews
Inside Hostel Budapest
14.82 USD

Hostel 93.7% 9 reviews
Minoo House
13.27 USD

Hostel 91.1% 171 reviews
Hostel Goodmo
8.88 USD

Hostel 85.3% 304 reviews
Apartment Horanszky
26.47 USD

Apartment 93.6% 4 reviews
Sunyfly Hostel and Apartment
13.24 USD

Apartment 85.0% 133 reviews
Corvin Plaza Apartments
13.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Design Apartments Budapest
17.77 USD

Apartment 82.5% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

802 out of 833 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mandala Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 630 of 650 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ching Yee Lau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2015 Ching Yee would recommend this property

Liked: Cannot express by words! It is really an awesome hostel like home!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amos Chapple

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 June 2015 Amos would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, gorgeous eastern style rooms.

Disliked: A bit of a hippy vibe which might not be to everyone's tastes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia virpi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015 julia would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent place to chill and meet other people. It feels like a family. I wouldn't recommend going anywhere else in Budapest!

Disliked: Having to leave.. :( but I'll be back!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff member gave me a rundown of Budapest. The location was great and it was quite cheap. Entry was secure.

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. There was a sign that says we should notify staff if it was unclean. It can be a bit noisy as the 'lounge' area isn't separate from where the beds are.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great ambience and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique atmosphere, friendly staff.

Disliked: No separate common room. Toilet entrance straight from the kitchen/common room area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hen Yacobson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Hen would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good and the price was cheap

Disliked: our private room wasnt so private (we couldnt lock the door and the staff was using our room for hanging clothes and stuff like that) and the shower wasn't the cleanest ever

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yilmaz deniz topkan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 yilmaz deniz would recommend this property

Liked: well there is no much to say about this hostel it was like my sweet home. the atpmosphere of the hostel and people make you feel that you are at home. whenever i visit budapest again i know that i have a really nice friendly hostel there.

Disliked: i think there was nothing that could be disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sagi zilbershatz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 sagi would recommend this property

Liked: In this small hostel you are obligated to socialize and therefore cannot avoid making new friends which in my opinion is great! it's cozy, home-like and clean. i highly recommend on staying here!

Disliked: The only thing i would suggest the owner to improve is to get new pillows as they weren't too comfortable, but overall everything was positive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Veloso

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff that helped me out a lot! The atmosphere is also excellent, very relaxing place! Loved the hostel

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice and friendly atmosphere and good location.

Disliked: The wooden floor is a bit noisy when you step on it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is the nicest hostel i've ever stayed in! amazing people, super atmosphere! just the best!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed. It is located in an apartment flat so you feel like you are staying at your friends place. They don't have bunk beds but beds and mattresses. The name and the decor of the hostel may sound and seem very "spiritual" like the rooms having the names "zen" etc. but no one cares about that at the hostel :D I also want to mention our Scottish host too (whose name I never remember, I named him Andrew in my mind anyways) I haven't seen a helpful staff member like him in my entire life :D You should choose this hostel.

Disliked: Now the things I am going to say shouldn't scare you away but keep these in mind when going there. Two of their main rooms have wooden floors and because that the structure is old, the floors creak like HELL when walked on. One of the mattresses (the one I slept on) smelled like cat urine so if you sleep on this mattress please tell Andrew about it, as I forgot to tell.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels around the world and Mandala is without doubt my favorite. Incredibly homely, with a family feel, it creates a great atmosphere between guests, yet you can still find plenty of room for peace and relaxation. In particular I must mention Peter the charming hostel manager, in return for a gin 'n' tonic, he will keep you entertained with songs and stories all evening long.

Disliked: nothing, perfect hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, comfortable, great for meeting people

Disliked: Fridge was struggling and I was unlucky enough to get attacked by bed bugs but the hostel staff responded really quickly and well to the situation and were getting a professional bug man in the very next day. I really don't think they were at fault as the place was cleaned well each day. Just something that can occasionally happen with people moving from hostel to hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Mandala is the best place we have stayed on our trip! The best welcome, informed about good places to go, help regarding every aspect of our stay in budapest! This is a brilliant place to stay, beautiful rooms, lovely people, relatively small but literally the best people we have met! Could not give this place enough praise! Lots of love, Caitlin and Trish xx

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to old town and Jewish District. Staff are very friendly. Rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily. Hand soap and hand towels are provided in bathrooms.

Disliked: I stayed in the ZEN room. When somebody is walking, the wood floor as well as the wood stairs to the upper beds made too much noise. Personally I'd like to have a curtain around the bed to give some privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florence Theobald

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 May 2014 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we've stayed in. Such a great atmosphere, staff and everyone there so friendly. Really safe and clean, such a great place to stay. Thoroughly recommend!

Disliked: no dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mandala is the best hostel ive stayed in! It was exactly what I wanted for a relaxing and comfortable stay, somewhere that feels like a home. This was especially perfect as i was travelling alone, and i made some wonderful friends! Everyone was lovely and so helpful, and I stayed twice as long as I planned because I didnt want to leave. Location was perfect, walking distance to most things. Clean and comfortable rooms that were cozy and not overcrowded like other hostels. Wifi was good, bathrooms clean, kitchen with free coffee...no complaints!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Howard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: felt like a family

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leila Cahill

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Leila would recommend this property

Liked: Mandala is like staying at a friend's friend's place. The people are friendly, welcoming and go out of their way to help you. Not only did the staff do the things that you hope they'd do such as booking early morning taxis and pointing out places to go on the maps, they also took me to one of the sites and showed me the best place to get langos. I was travelling by myself so this was great! I felt like I was staying with people who were actively helping me to have a better time in Budapest as opposed to just doing the minimum that's required to keep a job which is often the case with hostels. I can't believe how cheap it was for such a homely, clean hostel. I told one of the locals how cheap it was and she instantly assumed the place must have been old and dirty. Not the case at all! I love this place and would love to see more hostels like it!

Disliked: Leila left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olaf Gehrke

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 February 2014 Olaf would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was an AMAZING experience for me and i have never expected my stay so fantastic like this! I started my Trip to Budapest alone but the Mandala hostel host Furi as well as the guests made it very easy for me to step in the Budapest Lifestyle immediately. The host and the hostelworkers made it simple for me to get in touch with several facts and sights in Budapest because they will give you a short but powerful introduction. Some facts: - All rooms are very clean! - Free towels - 3 bathrooms - Kitchen with everything you need - Free tea and coffee - Very nice dog (Lufi) and a nice cat (Töhötöm) -> you will have a great time with them for sure! - you will get many tips you would never be able to find without the host Furi. Like for instance a wonderful hungarian volksmusik dance-party and so on - Free wifi in the whole hostel - a familiar atmosphere :) - its not expensive and you will get so much value! At the end of my stay i have many new friends and amazing contacts more and iam very thankful for my excellent stay in this hostel. Miss the time already :/ The Mandala Hostel is like a big family with many kind people and i will be back for sure. Thank you for everything.

Disliked: Really Nothing! Its the perfect hostel to explore Budapest from. Everybody should stay at the Mandala hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy hostel I've ever stayed. Staff is very friendly and kindness!!! cat and dog is cute, atmosphere in the room is great!!!! I really like this hostel.

Disliked: Reception doesn't open 24h, so when I check-out there is nnbody to say good-bye.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Gearheart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: I had such a great experience staying at this hostel. Its pretty small, but that was one of the things we enjoyed most about it because it created a very homey atmosphere. I made some great friends while staying there! The staff is awesome as well. They would take us around to the local spots and were very knowledgeable about the surrounding attractions. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking to meet knew people and have a great local experience (its especially great for solo travelers).

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. The desk attendant spent well over 20 minutes giving recommendations on places to see, providing popular spots as well as personal favorites. Definitely helped to create a good experience for myself in Budapest

Disliked: The hostel is about a 20 minute walk away from any popular spots or attractions. However, Budapest is a very walkable city so it was not a major problem