We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grund Hostel Budapest

Hostel | Tomo u. 6., Budapest, Hungary 1082

73.6% Overall Rating

271 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2014)

"Free wifi in the bar but it reaches most bedrooms too. happy hour is great, they had a 2 for 1 offer, a pint of local beer (x2) for 450HUF"

Read all Grund Hostel Budapest reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Hotel Pava Plaza
20.49 USD

Hotel 4 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Urban Life Guesthouse.
6.33 USD

Hostel 90.0% 10 reviews
Bebop Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 94.5% 140 reviews
Hotel Thomas Budapest Center
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.8% 7 reviews
Rastel Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 84.8% 135 reviews
City Hostel Corvin
15.50 USD

Hostel 72.1% 17 reviews
Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments
11.26 USD

Hostel 91.3% 207 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
7.39 USD

Hostel 90.5% 149 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

271 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grund Hostel Budapest'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 300 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the variety of the property. It had a a bar/ club downstairs as well as different architecture.

Disliked: As a result of the bar and childrens playground there was often loud music playing or children screaming.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The security , friendlyness and wide terraces !

Disliked: There is no way you can warm your own food ,or anything similar !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qing Ge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Qing would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was very nice!

Disliked: A litttle bit dark that is all

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and easy to make friends

Disliked: There was no functioning kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rutger Kerkhoff

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Rutger would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap but good hostel, nice extra are the bars in the same building.

Disliked: Had to leave the key at the reception, anyone could ask for it and enter your room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building of this hostel is a beautiful, old building and has a nice bar attached to the hostel which has a large outdoor area. Prices are relatively cheap with a 'happy hour' between 18.00 and 20.00 which includes buy one get one free on the already cheap beer. Two beers for around £1.20 can't be bad.

Disliked: The room I stayed in has a lift up bed with a compartment underneath for valuable which is supposed to be lockable. Neither my bed or my partners had working locks. Some rooms do offer a locker which is available with a deposit on the padlock. Toilet and shower facilities are old and basic but enough.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The hot water only works every now and then, the kitchen has no microwave or stove top, its basically a sink and a kettle to boil water, there is one small bowl and two mugs no plates etc.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely nice and helpful! The shared room was nice, everyone had enough space and the shared bathroom was clean. No bunk beds!!

Disliked: the only thing was that they didn't offer very secure luggage storage or padlocks for the lockers, and no breakfast. The property was really widespread and I kind of got lost in it but I can see how it would be fun if the place was full. When I was there it was pretty empty because the common area was so big.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a nice play to stay

Disliked: nothing is really happening in that area

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Cowen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2012 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, location was good, and free parking, amazing bars, occasional entertainment. The staff went above and beyond to help us as well.

Disliked: Only issue was that every bed had a locker, but not one of them worked, and if you went out and the last person in the dorm didn't lock the door then your room was unlocked and nothing was secured. If the lockers worked and the main door to the room was auto locking then the hostel would probably have a perfect score.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and yard are really nice, staff is helpful and I think the location is pretty good as well. It's quite good value for money.

Disliked: Some toilets and bathrooms didn't have locks at all and usually you couldn't find toilet paper either. They didn't have keys for everyone in the rooms, so couple of times I couldn't get in to my room because someone had the key with him. It isn't any kitchen there, there isn't cooker and fridge is broken... i realized it too late and had to throw all my foods away. It's sometimes as well really noisy at nights because of the bar. Place isn't well organized at all and things don't really work as they should.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, the property (the grund bar) is really cool and there's a nice atmosphere to it. i also liked how high the ceilings were in the rooms, it had a nice airy feel. it's super cheap so while it wasn't the nicest place, you get what you paid for and it gets the job done! i would still recommend it!

Disliked: there was no toilet seat on the toilet and often no toilet paper, as well as no lock on the bathroom door for the 2 different, main rooms i stayed in (they were on different levels of the building). i stayed a few more nights than i originally booked so each night i was put in a different room and had to move my linens from room to room. also, the stove is broken so there is nowhere to cook things.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gürsel Seha GÜLTEKIN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Gürsel Seha would recommend this property

Liked: I like the atmosphere and design of the hostel.I think it is a good place to relax in Budapest.The staff is very helpful and friendly.After my staying I realize that I lost my hard-drive in my room.And called them to search for it.They search and find it and send it to me.This is the best place of value for money with a perfect helpful staff.

Disliked: Gürsel Seha left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place for staying here for one night. In the other part of the hotel was some party, but in my room I did not jear anything. In the bathroom was also a washing mashine.

Disliked: The main door was closed in the night, so I had to find the another enter through the parking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Poulter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever!! The hostel is part of a bar/pub, with a massive garden where you can relax with a fairly cheap beer. I was quite surprised that we didn't get any noise from the bar in our room though - it was nice and quiet. The spacious rooms have a lot of character - we stayed in a 4 bed dorm, and 2 of the beds were on a kind of mezzanine, so you got a bit more privacy and a LOT more space than normal. Separate single beds, not bunks, which is also a plus. Free use of washing machine! Good location - close to metro and corner shop.

Disliked: The entrance could do with better signposting (you need to go round the back and enter through the garden). Also, although I never had to wait to use the shower, there was only one shower for 3 rooms, (although other showers in other areas of the hostel) so at busy times this could be an issue (like I said, I never had to wait).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mengchen Qi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Mengchen would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever! I love everything there! Especially the staff!

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cédric Marchal

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Cédric would recommend this property

Liked: C'était impeccable! Chambres spacieuses et très propres. Possibilité de cuisiner. C'est grand, et il y a une bonne ambiance avec un bon bar bien convivial :). Le prix est ridicule, et c'est à 3 stations de metro du centre ville. nous recommandons cet hostel à tout point de vue!

Disliked: rien à reprocher

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Anh Le

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012

Liked: I dont like. They are old and dirty, lots of dust

Disliked: I dont like. They are old and dirty, lots of dust

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Corina Elena Delea

As a family with children

City break

19 June 2012

Liked: Location and the staff

Disliked: Creepy aspect, unsafe looking rooms, bathrooms don't have an appropriate hygene

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Corongiu

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Prive kluisjes onder het bed. De uitstraling. De diverse faciliteiten. De veiligheid. De vriendelijke staff.

Disliked: Ze moeten zeggen dat er feesten gegeven worden. Meerdere sleutels voor een kamer er waren er te weinig. Geen slot op de badkamer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GOKHAN SUCU

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2012 GOKHAN would recommend this property

Liked: it's an amazing place to stay.

Disliked: it's a bit far from centre.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012

Liked: O ambiente exterior.

Disliked: Em primeiro lugar queria salientar o facto de este hostel não ter mínimas condições em termos de limpeza tanto a nível de casa de banho como quarto, além de não existir chave para fechar a porta da casa de banho. Onde uma colega nossa de quarto foi "apanhada" nua, por um homem, sem querer, devido há inexistência de chave. Nas informações relativas ao Hostel está referido a existência de uma cozinha totalmente equipada, na qual quando há chegada do Hostel deparamos com um espaço vazio e sujo na qual chamavam de cozinha. Sem falar na falta de organização. Portanto não recomendamos este Hostel. pedimos desculpa pela brutalidade das palavras, mas não queremos que outras pessoas passem pelo mesmos. Obrigada

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Frederiksen

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Big lovely garden and a big bar. I think this place would be cool if you travel in a big group.

Disliked: Though the place seemed big and nice, there wasn't much atmosphere. A lot of things were broken. No real kitchen and no common computer (but WIFI)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

naiara irusta

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 May 2012 naiara would recommend this property

Liked: that it was very cheap

Disliked: that it was a little bit far from the city center

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, 30 minutes walking to the centre. The price is good and the staff is, normally, nice.

Disliked: It is very noisy if there are parties. Not very well organized.