HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grund Hostel Budapest

Hostel | Tomo u. 6., Budapest, Hungary 1082

73.6% Overall Rating

271 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2014)

"Free wifi in the bar but it reaches most bedrooms too. happy hour is great, they had a 2 for 1 offer, a pint of local beer (x2) for 450HUF"

Read all Grund Hostel Budapest reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Hotel Pava Plaza
21.00 USD

Hotel 4 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Urban Life Guesthouse.
11.82 USD

Hostel 89.5% 9 reviews
Bebop Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 94.5% 140 reviews
Hotel Thomas Budapest Center
22.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.8% 7 reviews
Rastel Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 133 reviews
City Hostel Corvin
16.09 USD

Hostel 72.1% 17 reviews
Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments
14.45 USD

Hostel 91.3% 207 reviews
Hotel Sissi
52.53 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

271 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grund Hostel Budapest'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 300 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice new quirky hostel. Will be even better once all the building is finished and all facilities are up and running.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Smith

03 June 2009 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend Grund Hostel Budapest. If you arrive at night, make sure you have a map, otherwise the hostel is pretty easy to find. The owners are all very hospitable, especially Daniel who can tell a pretty good history of Budapest if you are interested. The living room makes a nice place for meeting people and there is no shortage of information about Budapest, history and touristy info. I was travelling alone as a single female and the hostel took very good care of in which room I stayed, which was very appreciated! Go to this hostel if you would like an easy-going environment, might like to hang out on the terrace and enjoy the sun, or meet some great people.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is going through a lot of changes as I write... There's a lot of alteration work going on in in the terrace and the rooms downstairs which i'm sure are going to make this hostel a really really nice place to stay in the near future... kinda like the hostel i would myself like to open one day!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is of very old style.... I liked this.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Lehmann

02 June 2009 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: It was a small and really familiar hostel,people get to know eacht other quickly.The staff was always friendly and helpful and a welcome drink was inclueded as well.Best hostel I have ever been and it will be much better when the own bar with garden will be finished.

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Belinda Burns

02 June 2009 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: This place has been amazing, i've met some fabulous people and have felt so welcome the whole stay! The staff were INCREDIBLY kind and helpful after some things went wrong, it really made a difference to me! If you don't come and stay here, you are CRAZY! :)

Disliked: Belinda left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in couple months the construction will finish and there will be a nice bar under the hostel and the playgroud GRUND for the children...very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Lauer

18 May 2009 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This might be the best place I have ever stayed!! If you come to Budapest and you don't come here you are making a mistake. Not only do you get a welcome through the door, they get to know you, where you are from, and what you like to do. You become instant family as soon as you walk through the door. Thomas and his crew have done an amazing job, and once the bar down stairs is finished there will be no better hostel!! Plus they have a playground with a zip line..... how many places have that!!!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Lorens

13 May 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This is hands down the best hostel I've ever been to. A home away from home in a truly unique setting. All of the staff go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay in Budapest while leaving you to your own devices when desired. The breakfast is great, as are the showers, sharing a beer with the staff and other guests, and the overall feeling that you're truly welcome throughout your whole stay. Genuinely lovely people abound and the place will only get better when the bar is open in a few weeks - I for one, will be back to check it out! Thanks guys!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Hazell

13 May 2009 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: After many nights of hostels being pretty generic with unwelcoming staff, The Grund Hostel was exactly what we needed. A handshake and proper introduction from one of the young owners, a Transylvanian welcome drink and an invite to sit, talk and drink with staff and guests. Will be going back for sure. Great building, retro and tasteful furnishings and beds are Lockers themselves.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rory Ward

12 May 2009 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time during my stay at the Grund.. Is a new hostel and great place for meeting new people...the bar was under construction at the time so I arrived too early:( Also had a childrens playground which i think is great for the local community. Security is top rate with a huge solid gate and a security officer guarding the premises day & nightTamas could not of made me more welcome and was very helpful in regards to information about the city. I initially booked for a shared room, 4 beds and I was allowed to have the room to myself the entire stay! Free internet and other facilities were top notch. Access to metro & supermarket are within short walking distance.Definitely recommend the Grund Hostel for anyone staying in BudapestThanks for the experience Tamas! :)

Disliked: Rory left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liene Strazdina

04 May 2009 Liene would recommend this property

Liked: I liked personal attitude from staff to us. They suggested the places in Budapest what we can visit, where we can have dinner etc. Room was quite big for 5 persons.

Disliked: Liene left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivana Majdova

04 May 2009 Ivana would recommend this property

Liked: great place for staying in budapest

Disliked: Ivana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grund Hostel was absolutely beautiful. It's brand new and was perfectly clean. The staff was really helpful and made sure that every detail of our stay was perfect. They had great suggestions for restaurants and things to see throughout our stay. The best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is somthing different. The hostel is in a romantic building. The staff was great. Excellent. I recomment this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grund Hostel is THE PLACE. Staff is best, thanks Tamás! Location is very good, and the building... incredible. If I return to Budapest, I will surely stay at Grund Hostel! I recommend it very much to everyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Torsten Guenzler

14 April 2009

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff which makes up for inicial inconvenience due to renovation work

Disliked: Torsten left no negative feedback.