HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grund Hostel Budapest

Hostel | Tomo u. 6., Budapest, Hungary 1082

73.6% Overall Rating

271 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2014)

"Free wifi in the bar but it reaches most bedrooms too. happy hour is great, they had a 2 for 1 offer, a pint of local beer (x2) for 450HUF"

Read all Grund Hostel Budapest reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Hotel Pava Plaza
20.49 USD

Hotel 4 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Urban Life Guesthouse.
6.33 USD

Hostel 90.0% 10 reviews
Bebop Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 94.5% 140 reviews
Hotel Thomas Budapest Center
22.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.8% 7 reviews
Rastel Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 86.3% 134 reviews
City Hostel Corvin
15.50 USD

Hostel 72.1% 17 reviews
Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments
12.52 USD

Hostel 91.3% 207 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
8.65 USD

Hostel 90.5% 149 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

271 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grund Hostel Budapest'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 300 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Harkins

01 July 2009 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Tomas and Dan were the best hostel runners you could have. Dont consider anywhere else. Welcome you with a shot and then show all the best places 2 go every day and night

Disliked: Joel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Noelle Brackett

01 July 2009 Noelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and a relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: Noelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing. It has it's own history (try and read on Paul Street), the staff are very very very friendly, you can asked for directions and they will definitely help you;), the metro is near, breakfast is served, there's kitchen to cook lunch, internet connection, the toilet is attached to each room, what else do you need? Everything is there! ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rosemary Wall

24 June 2009 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and actually remembered your name.

Disliked: Rosemary left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Scott

23 June 2009 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in numerous hostels that are rated on hostelbooker of over 90. This is the only hostel that I have felt merited a review. I cannot say enough about the staff the building or cleanliness. It had great wifi, huge lockers to fit my large bag, and coffee 24hrs a day. I cannot say enough about this hostel. Don't worry about going to the spas in budapest while here cause the hostel is just as good!

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nasser Bani Hassan

21 June 2009 Nasser would recommend this property

Liked: It was really excellent hostel. The nicest hostel i've ever stayed.

Disliked: Nasser left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Perry

20 June 2009 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Love it, so cheap for what you get, Zip wire in playground- awesome! Tomas and friends were very helpful, lively and interesting. Will be back!

Disliked: Suzanne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beau Ginbey

19 June 2009 Beau would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel run by a group of friends living the dream. Very personable staff - That makes all the difference.

Disliked: Beau left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big double room with own bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and friendly staff, nice atmosphere, good location, clean and spacious rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bit further out but easily accessible. Pubs around hostel had very cheap drinks. Very good for value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Dodman

13 June 2009 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Grung hostel is a lovely building with a great family feel. You are made very welcome as soon as you arive and everyone is really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is also wonderful! I highly recomend a staying here and will more than likely return myself.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, I would go there anytime again. Was clean, safe and a nice atmosphere mainly produced by the awesome staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a bit hard to find, but only because of the construction going on in the area. Other than that, it was a nice place to stay! The rooms are big and comfortable and there is a good sense of privacy. Overall, highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 June 2009

Liked: People were nice but overall this place screams getto

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Ross

10 June 2009 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Grund made my stay in Budapest a very enjoyable one! Even though the hostel is very new, it is a very friendly one to stay in with a great 'family' atmosphere. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast great and the staff especially friendly and helpful! I WANT to go back!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, the staff were brilliant! Very friendly and helpful. Also, it was located in a very secure environment and in close proximity to the city centre with the metro stations just around the corner. The price was very exceptional too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Geach

08 June 2009 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Homely atmosphere, we was made to feel very welcome the moment we arrived. Staff are very imformative and help plan your day so you get the best of Budapest. Highly recommended

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great teracce :)) very hospitable staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Friedman

07 June 2009 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was especially friendly and helpful. I felt more secure here than other hostels because there was external security to get in. Also, they provided free breakfast every morning, which I did not receive at any other hostel.

Disliked: Ross left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed for a few days. Breakfast and rooms were really good. Location - meh. Currently renovating, so construction starts at 6 am. Little pushy about paying. But definitely a good bargain.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Bartys

06 June 2009 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Our room (we have booked a private double ensuite) was very clean and spacious, bathroom with a bathtub, nice big window in the sleeping room. Free WiFi access all around the place. Nice breakfast (we could choose between couple basic menu options) included in the price. Very friendly and helpful staff, 24/7 reception and a security guard. No problems communicating in english. The entire hostel area is secured, but you can come back at any time. We have arrived by car and to our surprise we have found out on our arrival that the hostel offers a small parking lot, which was great. Location is very good, most of the places we wanted to see in Budapest were in the walking distance, but if you don't like loads of walking, there is a subway station nearby. We will definately recommend Grund Hostel to our friends.

Disliked: Maciej left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Jasi?ska

05 June 2009 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: It is the most amazing place in which I was. Atmosphere and people make I want to go back there. I recommend in 100%!

Disliked: Ewa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Hughes

04 June 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome! had such a great time there. Its a bit under construction still but how many other hostels have a flying fox? the terrace is a great place to sit and have a beer and the staff are very friendly and help out wherever they can.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Moses

03 June 2009 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: This was probably the best hostel I have ever stayed at. I only meant to stay one night, but I loved it so much I ended up staying 6 instead. There were always people hanging out in the evenings so it was really easy to meet people. The hostel itself is great - clean, good facilities, awesome breakfast, and a lot of character. But the thing that really made it great though was the staff. They really welcome you in, make you feel at home and were always willing to chill in the evenings. It is an awesome place now, so it'll be great to see what it's like when the renovations are finished. I definately can't wait to come back!

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.