We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Holiday Hostel Budapest

Hostel | Dob utca 49. Floor I, Budapest, Hungary H-1074

94.3% Overall Rating

115 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2013)

amy baker thinks…

"The idea of an apartment. Great! was just like someones house. good kitchen everything you needed"

Read all Happy Holiday Hostel Budapest reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Infinity Party Hostels
7.59 USD

Hostel 77.3% 36 reviews
Funky Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Honey Hostel Budapest
10.44 USD

Hostel 93.1% 5 reviews
Fair and Square Apartments
17.71 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Unity Hostel
7.46 USD

Hostel 89.5% 304 reviews
Penthouse Privates
16.67 USD

Hostel 98.6% 19 reviews
King's Hotel
32.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.3% 5 reviews
MM Hostel Budapest
11.79 USD

Hostel 84.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

115 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Holiday Hostel Budapest'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

amy baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2013

Liked: The idea of an apartment. Great! was just like someones house. good kitchen everything you needed

Disliked: The place was a state. the Bathroom? the worst iv seen, hair, dirt, everywhere. Very difficult to get advice from staff etc as she is 100% never there, which also made feel a little unsafe. in most hostels the place is manned, and if you stay book an apartment for you hols you usually would know the people. The problem here is that your sharing with people you dont know, and there is no staff around. We shared with 3 awful guys, one of whom was staying there "illegally" as he's friend put it. They basically trashed the place, took drugs, and demand to have our bed cos they didnt want to share. Obvs not the fault of the owner,but if you dont have someone working then these things can happen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Kawinski

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Atmosphere; 2. Neighborhood (except from funny, grumpy old man living downstairs ;) )

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: Clean rooms, convenient location and friendly staff. Stayed in a double room at the other location which felt more like an apartment than a hostel as there was only one other couple staying there.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything perfect, location! Cool stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Velislava Bazelkova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Velislava would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is OK!

Disliked: Velislava left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon mikhail

Alone

City break

07 May 2013 simon would recommend this property

Liked: everything, location is perfect the place is confortable you feel home staff is very very nice

Disliked: nothing is negative

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just great; many thanks to the the guys who run this place. I've stayed in a great many hostels in Budapest and this is the best experience I've had by far. Very sensible, respectful and intelligent hands-off approach to managing you as a guest - half way between a hostel and an apartment.

Disliked: Nothing too much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hospitality!!! Perfect atmosphere!!! Wonderful location!! Amazing staff!!! Highly recommended!!! Had a great time :)

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is central and the rooms are clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barrai Brennan

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 November 2012 Barrai would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely apartment in a great location

Disliked: Need to give better directions from the train station

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Brakus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is helpful and the location of the hostel is excellent, our room was really clean and spacious, everything that is advertised is as stated. the hostel has a nice kitchen and everything in there can be used, it's quite and really feels like home.

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Pierzynowska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and nice service

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is on great place near city center and near tram stops. The atmosphere is authentic. Everything was clean, the room was cozy and the stuff was very friendly. We definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Sheridan-Toombs

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely brilliant, beyond our expectations - we were upgraded into a private apartment, with our own fully equiped kitchen, bathroom, everything. It was amazing. The staff and owner were very friendly, professional and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing! It was well located, secure, clean and whilst it wasn't luxuriously decorated it was very touchingly turned out, with photos of budapest on the walls and charming messages.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: so nice staff and so nice localisation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bianca Keogh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: Happy Hostel was a great place to stay. Clean and safe which a huge factor for us. The location was brilliant and the staff were helpful. Def recommend to anyone.

Disliked: None

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was large and the whole house felt even more so, though this is probably because we were practically alone in the house (we didn't see anyone but it smelt like toast in the morning so..). There was a lot of info in the main house, though that's not where we stayed, there's less info available on the second house, but it's still pretty good.

Disliked: We we're put on the secondary house, this wasn't at all bad in itself, but it felt like we weren't paid as much attention which could be bad in any emergency. Everything went fine thought :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in relation to the city centre and main sights

Disliked: the shower was not cleaned properly when we arrived, the wifi didnt work and we were rudely asked to leave the hostel before check out time as the new guests had already arrived

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melinda Edwards

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: The property is nice and our room was nice and big. It's not too far located away from the train station (about 15-20mins walk) and from the main part of Pest. It's located within apartments with locals, which is pretty cool.

Disliked: The hostel is split into two - the main property and the second property is located about 50m from each other. We were in the second property and we didn't get any of the information that the main property has information on the hostel itself (check out time, laundry use, places to eat, tours etc). We felt quite disconnected from the main property. The hostel needs to provide the same information in the second hostel. I would only recommend staying here if you're after a really quiet place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klara Plasirybova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Klara would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice accomodation with perfect kitchen and bathroom. Very nice stuff at the welcome willing to say any info about Budapest (just prepare question :) The best thing was the location of the property, it is simly close to everything!

Disliked: Klara left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

boyang guo

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

02 July 2012 boyang would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and good location

Disliked: just the something wrong with internet, which sucks

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emilio Cortes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Emilio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice People, Nice rooms an kitchen

Disliked: Emilio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, great location, nice and colorful rooms.

Disliked: Some noise sometimes by night but it's not a major problem, you can sleep easily if you close the window !