HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Astoria City Hostel Budapest Hostel

7th discrict, Rakoczi ut no 4, 3rd floor, Doorbell 27, Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 97%

Staff 96%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please note: We can not receive larger groups than 12 people! If you are considering a multiple room booking please remember that the private rooms and the dorms are not in the same building. They are not far, but not in the same place. The limit for multiple bookings in the new apartment for doubles or twins at the same time are 3 rooms. It is always better if you contact the website's groups department to book a group. Please, note that we do not accept any bookings from stag or hen parties, in case of booking your booking will be cancelled. Note: Private rooms do not include Breakfast.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 97%

Staff 96%

Value 98%

Showing 51-60 of 136 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very little!


The property's response is

Yes! We all know that size does matter! :))))
The safety here is very high though! 4 cameras in the building's lobby and one on each floor and a camera that watches the front door from inside. Also 24 hours reception.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location. Staff members were helpful.

Disliked: The shower drainage was pretty weak in our room. Other than that all good.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Liked: Good located

Disliked: Noisy! Very Noisy!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Jana, so you liked the location, but you rated that 60%? What is the point?
This is prime location in Budapest, you cannot ask for a countryside village's traffic...

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Breakfast was ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great number of freebies and very secure with a very friendly atmosphere

Disliked: It was really difficult to find! They really need to give more info about landmarks etc if they're not going to have it signposted

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks Scott!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's so sociable - a shared kitchen/living area meant that we made friends with all the people staying there. It was the best hostel out of all the ones we stayed in across Europe! Clean and secure, very friendly people and staff - help you with anything ! They let us leave Our bags in the hostel for the day before we left in the evening. Good location - walking distance from everything. Would definitely come back!

Disliked: Only a minor problem - there was a strict rule on silence after 11pm in the hostel. We were happy that there was no curfew but if you stayed up talking to other travellers you got told off!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: There was only one small bathroom on our floor that had the only shower and toilet in it...to be shared by about 6 rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Lorna

It is not a noticable thing from the corridor, but 2 out of 5 rooms has their own bathroom inside, so the mentioned bathroom is being shared only with 2 other rooms.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I live on the private room and it is no difference with renting a room in a department.

Disliked: The sign of the hostel is small which is hard to locate.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The kitchen in the hostel area was a godsend! So clean and well equipped! The staff were also lovely and forthcoming with advice for travellers! The centre of Budapest was within walking distance, and I loved the little balcony area outside of the hostel!

Disliked: On a very busy road which wasn't particularly nice! Also our double room was sold with a 'private bathroom' which there definitely wasn't! Our bed completely fell apart by the last night and I ended up sleeping in a hole on the floor basically! It was slightly inconvenient to have to walk back to the building with the reception desk to hand in our keys when checking out but I'm just being picky now!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability