We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Astoria City Hostel

Hostel | 7th district Rakoczi ut 4, 3rd floor, Doorbell 27, Budapest, Hungary 1072

91.9% Overall Rating

1300 out of 1444 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

Matteo Tubito thinks…

"The guys who manage the hostel are very available and very nice!! They gave us towels, airdresser and all the things for bathroom and kitchen!! Good position in the center of the city perfect for the…"

Read all Astoria City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: We can not receive larger groups than 12 people! If you are considering a multiple room booking please remember that the private rooms and the dorms are not in the same building. They are not far, but not in the same place. The limit for multiple bookings in the new apartment for doubles or twins at the same time are 3 rooms. It is always better if you contact the website's groups department to book a group. Please, note that we do not accept any bookings from stag or hen parties, in case of booking your booking will be cancelled. Note: Private rooms do not include Breakfast.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Budapesting Private Rooms
5.80 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 102 reviews
Centrooms Apartments
12.52 USD

Apartment 93.0% 25 reviews
Astori Hostel Budapest
6.34 USD

Apartment 67.2% 61 reviews
AlaTurca Apartment & Hostel
18.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Museum Guest House
10.14 USD

Guesthouse 74.7% 13 reviews
A2 Design Hostel
13.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gaia Hostel
11.98 USD

Hostel 96.7% 62 reviews
Small Group Hostel
9.78 USD

Hostel 88.7% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

1300 out of 1444 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Astoria City Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 991 of 1182 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013

Liked: Crews are all nice

Disliked: My roommates are all noisy that time, and I want to change the room, but they said no!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hangzhi zhen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 hangzhi would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: hangzhi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good city centre location, staff really useful in helping to sort out activities (caving) and our taxi to the airport. Small but with a nice, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Only 2 showers, although there was never too long a wait.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, location, cleanliness, everthing

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price, Stuff,

Disliked: Private rooms aren't in the same building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated at the center of the city, very near to Metro station. Easy to find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything... Locations is just right, one station away from the very center of the city. It's clean, staff is helpful, and all the people are very friendly.

Disliked: Nothin... everything is good

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Enrique Lopez Arevalo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013

Liked: Helpfulness of the staff, clean shower and toillet and big rooms.

Disliked: Common area is so close to the rooms you hear everything. You depend on the behavioir of others.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lillian Tuttle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely wonderful--it's very small, and the staff really care about the hostel and its reputation, and it shows. They offer help with anything one might need, and suggest good activities in the area. In addition, they make food for all the guests every couple days--the day we arrived they had a Hungarian soup for dinner that night, free of charge, which was delicious and helped us meet people at the hostel. Since it's so small and describes itself as a calm hostel, it was very easy to make friends with other travellers, and there was great community.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jamie naish

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 June 2013 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: We mainly like the guy at the desk. Huiis name was Atilla and was really nice. Helpful from the start. A hostel is a hostel. As long as its safe and clean. But staff make all the difference.

Disliked: It was like we had our own appartment in the city. Very cool building and very tardis like.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Yurivilca

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Julio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! I stayed for 3 nights and was really great! I met a lot of people here... the hostel is small so i think every guest can know each others. I really like because you feel like in home! All the stuff is really friendly, charm and helpfull! Ijust can say that i really have the most wonderful time here in Budapest and the hostel help to that! I just wanna say thank you so much to all the stuff... they help me a lot! The next time i will come here again for sure!

Disliked: Julio left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people that worked there were not just employees, they were PEOPLE. This is really rare to find. People that aren't just there to make money, or just to be a friendly professional, but people who really know that a bit of kindness goes a long way to make a decent experience that much better. It's really the little things that matter, and the staff here really show that they care.

Disliked: The one minor gripe I had with this place was finding it. It's a bit hidden, since it's two floors of a residential section of a medium-sized complex at a busy street corner with businesses and stores everywhere. I had my phone out using the GPS and I still had trouble. Maybe a big sign hanging out the windows is in order :)

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Florian Rohr

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the center and bars.

Disliked: Very few showers and facilities. There was only one bathroom (Shower and toilet) for one floor

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic time! The staff was perfectly helpful and they had great suggestions for sightseeing in Budapest. (They even make us crepes to snack on!) The room was spotless, and the whole feel of the hostel was quite cozy. The location is good as well: everthing except for Szechenyi was in walking distance.

Disliked: My only warning to future travelers is that this hostel can be somewhat difficult to find as it is tucked away in an apartment building.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tommy Reinholdsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Tommy would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel :-) Perfect for backpackers!

Disliked: Tommy left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giuseppe Cerni

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

09 May 2013 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful. Everything perfect. I recommend everyone Astoria Hostel

Disliked: Giuseppe left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy hostel with knowledgeable and friendly staff. Clean, safe, and central. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Location near a major crossroad so traffic is pretty loud in the evening (and morning), otherwise nothing to complain.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a family manage this hostel,felt like home.

Disliked: maybe it wasn't high season yet,so not many people here,a bit too quiet,but you can sleep well :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel Service was excellent, and super friendly It is just 10 minuted walk from the train station, and in the city center.

Disliked: nothing to dislike !!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Albert Redfern

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 May 2013 Albert would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good good facilities

Disliked: We had a double room ,which is 400metres down the road so we did not have staff to ask

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Geffert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: It is really nice place located in city center. There is very good connection for means of publice transport. The staff is very kind and helpfull. I can recommend this hostel to everybody.

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and clean space with really friendly staff! They also made a HUGE stack of crepe/pancake things daily so we had a ton every day when we got home!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Mihaljevi?

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

27 April 2013 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city center, good value for money

Disliked: -

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013

Liked: The staff was okay. Even if the advice given weren't very accurate and didn't drove us to the places we were looking for, the staff was available and flexible on the departure time.

Disliked: The mattresses were incredibly uncomfortable, there was NO shutters on the windows, the room was way to warm with NO ac NOR fan and a very important street noise because of the important traffic from early morning. I have hardly ever seen such a bad service for a hostel. On top of that, we had asked for a room on the courtyard side of the building, a demand which has not been answered. Hostel to AVOID !

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia McLean

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Nicest hostel I've ever been to. Absolutely spotlessly clean, couldn't ask for a better location, comfy beds and very laid back but respectful atmosphere. Will never stay anyplace else in Budapest!

Disliked: Nothing - perfect! Really perfect!

The property's response is...