We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Oleander Hostel

Hostel | Szép u. 5, (Ground floor), Budapest, Hungary 1053

87.7% Overall Rating

317 out of 353 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/10/2013)

Steve Hoang thinks…

"It has a spacious common area. It is located on the ground floor. Very close to everything you need and want to see. In fact, I am staying additional nights here."

Read all Oleander Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in time is 09 to 23.(In case of earlier or later arrivals, please inform us by phone or email). Attention: Please, be specific with your arrival time or your bed or room could be sold!. Parties are not allowed in our facilities.Common area is closed at 23:00 to ensure that guests who want to sleep can do so.For groups: To ensure those rules, we ask groups a deposit which will be returned at check-out time Since this booking engine doesn't ask for arrival time, after the booking is made, you will have to send us an email or give us a phone call to let us know your arrival time. We have a part-time reception and check-ins are made upon appointment. If your arrival time changes, please, let us know by phone or email as soon as possible. If you make a booking on the same day of your arrival date, you will have to send us an email or call us by phone to let us know your arrival time immediately after the booking is made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Emerald Hostel Budapest
10.31 USD

Hostel 79.2% 90 reviews
Ginkgo Hostel Budapest
6.44 USD

Hostel 89.6% 34 reviews
Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers
12.88 USD

Hostel 89.7% 30 reviews
Elizabeth Bridge Hostel
20.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Budapest Center
9.33 USD

Hostel 87.3% 152 reviews
Home to Home Hostel
12.88 USD

Hostel 91.5% 89 reviews
Gaia Hostel
3.86 USD

Hostel 96.7% 61 reviews
11th Hour Cinema Hostel
12.24 USD

Hostel 91.4% 580 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

317 out of 353 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Oleander Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 327 of 338 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

rebecca rendell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. Good to meet other travellers in social area.

Disliked: I had booked an 8 bed dorm but I arrived and it was a 10 bed, then the owner put another bed in to the room. So it was very crowded and no where to move. There was just one shower for everyone to use which was ridiculous in the morning. It was very noisy when people came back drunk. The common area was very echoey. And with so many people it was dirty a lot of the time.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so cheap. But you get what you pay for.

Disliked: The bathroom was not the nicest, and the staff unfriendly.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Hoang

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 October 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: It has a spacious common area. It is located on the ground floor. Very close to everything you need and want to see. In fact, I am staying additional nights here.

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meaghan Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location that's close to the metro. The owner is friendly and let a group of random travelers use the WiFi to book a different hostel. Lockers are available with locks provided

Disliked: Only one bathroom and two toilets to share between two dorms of people.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 August 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not clean. Common room is dark and dingy. Kitchen isn't really practical to use for any cooking purposes and was dirty so we didn't want to cook In there anyway. The Fridge froze our food also.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1. The hostel is dirty and disgusting 2. Messy 3. I booked a 8 beds in a room and there were 9 beds 4. Only ONE shower for all the hostel 5. There is no ar conditionair or ventilator and the rooms are very hot. 6. Don't accept credit card

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Staff is helpful and friendly.

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and atmosphere was laid back.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice place in the center of Budapest. I have good memories from this hostel. Chatting with the owner was interesting. He know a lot about this city and also can show you some places at nights which is very good when you are a solo traveler. Thank you !! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and great location. Hostel is very clean and small. It allows you to get to know your roommates very easy and make friends. Kitchen was good and common room is good for hanging out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like it because is very quiet at nights to have a good sleep. Mattresses are comfortable and very clean hostel in general. I would recommend to my friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful owner. Small but cozy hostel. I met other travelers and went out together. All in all, great price/quality.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel !! Very nice staff and vibes. Very near to the ruin pubs district and the river. Thumbs up!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere and quiet at the same time. The receptionist is very helpful and funny. We had a really nice conversations about everything. I would recommend stay here!!

Disliked: Nothing bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, cozy, warm, cheap, staff very helpful and excellent location.

Disliked: nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maja Koleric

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 December 2012 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: I love this little hostel. It has all the facilities in the kitchen and the rooms are comfortable and clean. For this price, is the best place I could find in my whole trip. Thank you guys!

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe. Staff is very helpful answering any kind of question you could ask. The location is fantastic and hostel is quiet for a good sleep. I will be back.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cosy hostel in the middle of the hot spots. Very clean and helpful staff. I will recommend!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel because is small, cozy and friendly staff. They go out of their way to help you in anything you need. There was few guests so was easy to get to know roommates and go out together. Is a big plus that this hostel is just walking distance from everywhere, especially, the ruin bars district. We had such a good time there. Beds are comfortable and heating system works all the time when freezing cold days like now are happening. For price/quality, the best place I have been in my trip. I totally recommend this hostel.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've been to. Great location, great staff, great beds. Everything about the place is just perfect. They helped me organize everything, they showed me how to get to the places I wanted to visit. I loved the staff. The rooms were clean and tidy. I had a pleasant stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy little hostel in a great location. The front desk staff is awesome. He gave me advice on which places to go, which ones to avoid, and was always ready to help. The most famous bar, Szimpla Kert and most attractions are within walking distance. Would definitively recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Hope

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security were good. Small quiet hostel with very helpful staff.

Disliked: We were lucky enough to have beds/bunk, but for one unlucky traveller a foldout bed was put in the middle of the room each night which made manoeuvring around the room awkward! The hostel would benefit a big spring clean!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and helpful staff. The beds are quite comfortable to have a good sleep. I met very nice people in the hostel and we had fun going out together. Quite clean and perfectly located in the city center. Everything was walking distance. Thank you guys for the nice stay !! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was small and good,especially the receptionist anna maria was quite helping and mr.alex helped us by saying how to explore the city

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Pereira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy atmosphere, very easy to meet and become friends with everyone. Budapest has so much to offer and this hostel is an amazing place to stay. Location is great and all the staff made me feel at home (thanks a lot Alex, Ana and Elizabeth!). I'll definitively come back.

Disliked: The owner is argentinian!

The property's response is...