HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Oleander Hostel Budapest

Hostel

Szep u. 5, Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 88%

Staff 91%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Check in time is 09 to 23.(In case of earlier or later arrivals, please inform us by phone or email).
Attention: Please, be specific with your arrival time or your bed or room could be sold!. Parties are not allowed in our facilities.Common area is closed at 23:00 to ensure that guests who want to sleep can do so.For groups: To ensure those rules, we ask groups a deposit which will be returned at check-out time
Since this booking engine doesn't ask for arrival time, after the booking is made, you will have to send us an email or give us a phone call to let us know your arrival time.
We have a part-time reception and check-ins are made upon appointment. If your arrival time changes, please, let us know by phone or email as soon as possible.
If you make a booking on the same day of your arrival date, you will have to send us an email or call us by phone to let us know your arrival time immediately after the booking is made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 88%

Staff 91%

Value 90%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The hostel pros are its location and atmosphere in one of the top districts of Budapest, a beautiful area indeed, and great staff (Alex and Csila are very nice and helpful). If you are travelling alone, I think it's ideal because you feel very safe, something that does not happen at all hostels.

Disliked: You might have to wait for a short time to take a shower,

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Many thanks once again to Csilla and Alejandro. I have stayed at Oleander twice before and will stay again when I return.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great. Good to meet other travellers in social area.

Disliked: I had booked an 8 bed dorm but I arrived and it was a 10 bed, then the owner put another bed in to the room. So it was very crowded and no where to move. There was just one shower for everyone to use which was ridiculous in the morning. It was very noisy when people came back drunk. The common area was very echoey. And with so many people it was dirty a lot of the time.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was so cheap. But you get what you pay for.

Disliked: The bathroom was not the nicest, and the staff unfriendly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Staff unfriendly? Really? Maybe you think that only because we had to ask you to be quiet after you and your partners were drinking and shouting in the room at 2 am bothering other guests who wanted to sleep. We prefer to keep the hostel quiet at nights and be friendly with the other guests who wanted to sleep.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It has a spacious common area. It is located on the ground floor. Very close to everything you need and want to see. In fact, I am staying additional nights here.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not clean. Common room is dark and dingy. Kitchen isn't really practical to use for any cooking purposes and was dirty so we didn't want to cook In there anyway. The Fridge froze our food also.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location that's close to the metro. The owner is friendly and let a group of random travelers use the WiFi to book a different hostel. Lockers are available with locks provided

Disliked: Only one bathroom and two toilets to share between two dorms of people.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: 1. The hostel is dirty and disgusting2. Messy3. I booked a 8 beds in a room and there were 9 beds4. Only ONE shower for all the hostel 5. There is no ar conditionair or ventilator and the rooms are very hot. 6. Don't accept credit card

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location.Staff is helpful and friendly.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great and atmosphere was laid back.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability