HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Groove Hostel

Hostel | Szent István krt. 16 II/14, Budapest, Hungary 1137

91.7% Overall Rating

163 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2014)

Lindsay Fox thinks…

"I returned to the Groove the 2nd time and now I can definitely say that it is my favourite hostel ever. It is the perfect place to chill (beanbags!), but at the same time it's close to great pubs and…"

Read all The Groove Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Studio Istvan
16.07 USD

Apartment 86.9% 31 reviews
Zsófi's House
25.71 USD

Hostel 92.9% 4 reviews
Gallery Stay Hostel
13.71 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 48 reviews
2Night Hostel
13.23 USD

Hostel 87.7% 300 reviews
Bell Hostel&Apartments
20.09 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 86 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
22.76 USD

Hostel 90.6% 132 reviews
Balcony Apartment
40.70 USD

Apartment 96.5% 35 reviews
Home Plus Hostel
21.29 USD

Hostel 89.7% 350 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

163 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Groove Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 165 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: I returned to the Groove the 2nd time and now I can definitely say that it is my favourite hostel ever. It is the perfect place to chill (beanbags!), but at the same time it's close to great pubs and night-life if that's what you're looking for. The rooms are clean and the decor is original, there are huge lockers to store your staff securely. But the best part is the staff - the most helpful and lovely people I have met during my travels. Thanks Lili, Odon, Dani, Panna and everyone who made my stay awesome!! :)

Disliked: I loved everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was by far the nicest, coziest little hostel where I've been so far. First I stayed in a huge hostel in Budapest but got I fed up with the 'factory like', impersonal atmospehere and it was the best decision to come to the Groove as a change. Everything is great in the hostel - the rooms are spacious, the house itself, where the hostel is located, is beautiful, everything is clean, the kitchen is very well equiped and as a big big plus you can hire bicycles - but the best part is the staff, everybody is such a different but lovely person that you can hang out with and always have lovely converstaions, and they even cook you free dinner once a week. I booked one night but ended up staying 6 and I only left because I couldn't delay my flight anymore. Thank you lovely people, I'll be back!

Disliked: There's not such a thing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great! We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom and it was like living in our own private studio space- really big and spacious with nice attention to detail to the furniture. The staff were very kind, helpful and the whole hostel had a relaxed and friendly atmosphere- Loved the painted map on the wall!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the coziest, loveliest little hostel where I've ever stayed. The staff is superb and the atmosphere is lovely. The hostel is small enough to get to know everybody, and fortunately there were no loud, big groups there during my stay but a lot of solo or 2-3 pieces travellers that were really easy to get along with. Definitely a great hostel for travellers! Thank you guys!

Disliked: There is nothing not to like about this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marco Tech

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere and great staff. The hostel itself is quite small, but if you are looking for a cozy place without too much party, that's a very good choice

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marek Jesenský

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2013 Marek would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay. Nice clean rooms and friendly personal.

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really big and clean, the staff were really helpful and it has a nice, relaxed atmosphere. We were here during winter and it was really warm.

Disliked: The only thing is that it is a little outside the city.. however there is a tram right outside your door.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a very good location

Disliked: They should clean the toilet and showers way better and more often

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all round excellent - i felt so at home here i extended my stay considerably! and wished i could've stayed longer! the character and atmosphere is just amazing, the staff are awesome, the location is great, kind of private, in a heritage listed apartment block near the danube and the 24 hour tram line (essential!!) the rooms are so big, unlike many hostels. the beds are big and comfortable (such a luxury for the value!) the best thing about this hostel is the type of guests that come - not always party animals but just genuine good, social and interesting people from my time there, many of which were solo travellers who are open to meeting new people. it's relaxed and friendly environment - it's normal for you to know everyone there, more like a share house or something. the staff play good music and make great free coffee :) i started every day in such a good mood and arguably spent too much time at the hostel (i like to take my time exploring a city and i like cooking with friends rather than eating out every night) i will be meeting up with some guests and staff that i met at the groove in future travels. i also think i will return to budapest happily knowing that i have a home there :) thanks Lili and groovies!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neasa McHugh

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Neasa would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are so friendly and helpful. They really make you feel welcome and treat you like an old friend. The building is amazing!!! Its over 100 years old and in a perfect location close to nightlife, shopping, metro, trams. Very easy to access. It's a real home-from-home

Disliked: nothing I didnt like about this place - great spot!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The comfy bed.

Disliked: Other than the fact that the bathrooms do not have windows (that is my personal preference), the hostel is ideal and perfect.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Maria Begona Cabrera

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 October 2012 Maria Begona would recommend this property

Liked: El staff fue muy atento en todo momento

Disliked: No me gustó que había una habitación en la cual se tenía que acceder a través de la que yo me hospedaba y eso hacía que siempre había gente entrando y saliendo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So far probably my all time favorite hostel. Great communal atmosphere makes it super easy to meet people and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Pretty good location to get to everything.

Disliked: Its on a main street so can be pretty loud in the bedrooms. If your not drunk, this may hinder your sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like home!! went travelling all around europe and this was definitely my favourite and all of my friends favourite too! Stunning location and great balcony, highly recommended! very helpful staff, awesome beds, good showers, and a great little hostel!

Disliked: there is nothing not too like!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are delightful and were full of excellent recommendations about things to see and places to go to eat, party etc. The property is situated close to the tram lines which makes getting around very easy, with an excellent view from the balconies.

Disliked: The kitchen area could have been cleaner.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double room with ensuite bath- it was more like a hotel than hostel! Beautiful old building, high ceilings, room very comfy and modern, wooden floor, stereo, kitchen well equipped. Great location- close to train station, metro, the Danube (and Margaret Island). Very friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Tricky to find- look closely at the labels on the doorbell! Busy street and construction works right outside our window- I can sleep with earplugs really well and didn't mind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everythign was good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kristiana Stoitseva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012

Liked: The location was ok and the staff was friendly

Disliked: It was a little bit dirty in the bathrooms and especially the sheets! There were stains all over them. I got the impression that I was the 10th person who is sleeping on them. The common room was right next to the dorms and that is why it was extreemly noisy! Everybody was shouting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shauna ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 shauna would recommend this property

Liked: Great people staying here, staff were helpful. There's a few bars in walking distance, namely Morrison's 2 right across the street. You can walk into town no problem. The rooms were clean and there's 2 communal computers to use. The common area is small but people get cozy in that area :)

Disliked: The lockers aren't really great and the one assigned to my bed was broken and couldn't be fixed when I stayed there. It seemed pretty secure though as staff is there almost all the time. It's really hard to find because there is literally no sign for the hostel. You have a large iron gate beside the corner cafe and you can read "groove" on the buzzer intercom on the left hand side.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, helpfull and friendly staff, great atmosphere, clean, big rooms, 2 laptops with free internet.

Disliked: -

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: At first we booked a private double booked, it was overbooked en we were given a room where we had to share bathroom, we could not get our deposit back. When we arrived they booked our staying wrong in system and no place we we could sleep. On fridaynight 10 pm. They spent two hours to arrange something. The staff was very grumpy and started to complain about their own problems .... Finally after waiting and waiting they arranged something for 2 nighst en we didn't know yet were we could sleep the last night. The last night we could sleep at the hostel the double private. It was very dirty! The staff was unfriendly en we don't come here again!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adil khan

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2012 adil would recommend this property

Liked: The double room we had was outstanding - easily hotel quality. The hostel is located within a lovely old building which has an impressive courtyard. The staff were outstanding in their service and friendly manner. Always willing to help and offer any tips.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Goode

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed in, the atmosphere is amazing, it's like you're in a sharehouse, so relaxing and amazing! Spacious and super clean and comfortable with beds and showers like ones from home! Also in the coolest building with a great balcony!

Disliked: Miriam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked practcally everything.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homey and sociable atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: A couple of small things - we had to walk through another room to get to ours, and the dividing door didn't block sound or light very well. Not quite enough bathrooms for the number of beds. The location wasn't bad, but it was a 10-20 minute walk from everything we wanted to see.