HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Groove Budapest Hostel

The Szent István krt 16., Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 4.49USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 92%

Location 93%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: very clean and really comfortable beds, The beds have little curtains which is nice for privacy. and it seems like they have really thought of everything with plugs near beds, reading lights, little pouches on the wall next to the beds. Rooms has sofas and bean bags. Was a really nice chilled out place. Staff are really friendly.

Disliked: Little bit to chilled out for me, slightly less of a sociable atmosphere, not unsociable but people just seemed to be doing their own thing. No events like pubcrawls ect orginised by the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Atmosphere, location and friendly staff were perfect..

Disliked: Nothing to report:)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This wasn't the best place we've stayed. We arrived at midnight in Budapest after a horrid bus ride from Zagreb, and the hostel wasn't well signed on the street. After finding it and being buzzed into a very old building, although quite stunning in the daylight, we made our way up two flights of pitch black stairs to reception. The staff were really great on check in, making me a much needed cup of tea. We were shown to our room (double private with own bathroom) which was back down one flight of stairs. The room was very big and there was access to another kitchen on that floor. The disappointment though was that the room itself was quite outdated and felt dirty, especially the bathroom. I showered with thongs everyday as the shower was really gross looking. The water pressure was terrible and the water did not get hot at all. I spent our five days in Budapest not being able to wash properly. The beds also did not seem that clean. We were able to adjust the heating thermostat, but it either seemed to be freezing cold or baking hot, no in between. Being on a separate floor we also felt quite disconnected from the rest of the hostel. The location is also quite far from the Jewish quarter and other attractions, although the closest metro stop is a 5 min walk away. There was a lot of noise from traffic and nearby bars late at night. Security is good, as you need a code to access the building and then two keys for the room. Overall we loved Budapest, but didn't really enjoy the stay at this hostel.

Disliked: This wasn't the best place we've stayed. We arrived at midnight in Budapest after a horrid bus ride from Zagreb, and the hostel wasn't well signed on the street. After finding it and being buzzed into a very old building, although quite stunning in the daylight, we made our way up two flights of pitch black stairs to reception. The staff were really great on check in, making me a much needed cup of tea. We were shown to our room (double private with own bathroom) which was back down one flight of stairs. The room was very big and there was access to another kitchen on that floor. The disappointment though was that the room itself was quite outdated and felt dirty, especially the bathroom. I showered with thongs everyday as the shower was really gross looking. The water pressure was terrible and the water did not get hot at all. I spent our five days in Budapest not being able to wash properly. The beds also did not seem that clean. We were able to adjust the heating thermostat, but it either seemed to be freezing cold or baking hot, no in between. Being on a separate floor we also felt quite disconnected from the rest of the hostel. The location is also quite far from the Jewish quarter and other attractions, although the closest metro stop is a 5 min walk away. There was a lot of noise from traffic and nearby bars late at night. Security is good, as you need a code to access the building and then two keys for the room. Overall we loved Budapest, but didn't really enjoy the stay at this hostel.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The atmosphere here totally created for travellers. They can make friends here, definitely. Overall are good!

Disliked: The only issue the room is closed to the living room or so called gathering room. This make me can't sleep well even after 10pm.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really great place, huuuuuge rooms, nice bathrooms, and a kitchen

Disliked: It is a little further away from some of the attractions, but everything is within walking distance, and the trams and metro are super close :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great and close to the subway. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. Overall great experience, would recommend to everyone.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent staff, central location and great for meeting people.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Groove is a true social hostel. The thing that strikes you at first is how open and friendly the staff are, and this has an impact on the guests too. It was very easy to meet people and hang out in the common areas such as the couches or the cool balcony overlooking the street. It's hard to tell staff apart from the guests! Definitely recommend this place!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was super nice and helpful i had a situation that i needed to stay one more night because there was problem with the trains and they were already fully booked so they figured out a solution and let me stay for free

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals

Liked: feels like home

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability