HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse

Hostel | Budapest VI Terez krt., 30. III/28, Ringcode 48 Budapest, Hungary 28

85.9% Overall Rating

418 out of 470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/03/2014)

"Cleanest hostel i have ever stayed! really center location - walking distance to castle and pub street! the stuff is nice! definitely would recommend for others!"

Read all Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Home Made Hostel
13.48 USD

Hostel 92.0% 484 reviews
Butterfly Hostel & Guesthouse
13.83 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 15 reviews
Carpe Noctem (original)
18.43 USD

Hostel 98.4% 75 reviews
City Center Guesthouse Budapest.
14.76 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 5 reviews
Retox Party Hostel
11.69 USD

Hostel 95.5% 41 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
40.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Beds N Roses Hostel
11.07 USD

Guesthouse 73.5% 25 reviews
Hostel Israel
14.61 USD

Hostel 60.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

418 out of 470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 310 of 346 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2014

Liked: cheap, good location

Disliked: simple furnishing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredible!

Disliked: You have to climb the stairs :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest hostel i have ever stayed! really center location - walking distance to castle and pub street! the stuff is nice! definitely would recommend for others!

Disliked: Breakfast- only bread and butter/jam Bathroom - no heating, a bit cold Charge- it is without tax when stated in the booking, he added tax, the amount is a bit more than its original, but fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Grzywa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: close to metro and train station

Disliked: breakfast could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gürhan Özkan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Gürhan would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the center of Budapest. Public transport (tram 4/6 and metro line) is 1minute away from the hostel. The hostel is clean and big. Staff is very friendly. Price is very reasonable. My next stay will be definetely Caterina Hostel again.

Disliked: Gürhan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Forsyth

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast for free, clean, great location and helpful staff

Disliked: On the 5th or 6th floor and no lift! But the staff helped me with my bags

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesada Temaismithi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Jesada would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and very informative, especially for the Christmas day on which everything is closed. The toilet and shower are very clean. A towel and a free breakfast are included.

Disliked: Climbing three flights of stairs before reaching the hostel isn't very attracting, though not too bad. There is no locker available, and leave luggage costs, though is properly advertised on the web. The map provided at the hostel isn't the best one in the sense that it does not highlight the places of interest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonina Stavytska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Antonina would recommend this property

Liked: Well, this is one of the best hostels I stayed in. I made myself as at home. I didn't feel like a guest. It was a sort of feeling of staying in my own apartment. The location is really in the centre of the city. I was on travelling so I was visiting all the local sights on foot. I used the public transportation only rwice from the airport and back. The receptionists were very nice and friendly. They tried to ask all the questions I had, so very helpful. Peter, the receptionist, was very kind, he even treated me with coffee and apple pie. I will really miss that place. Hopefully, I will come back there one day. Certainly, once I am in Budapest I will stay in Caterina hostel.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lukas Burda

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Good price / location value.

Disliked: Lukas left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect but there is no elevator, a big problem to take your luggare for 3 floors

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Nyugati Railway station. Friendly owner. Two good bathrooms.

Disliked: Oeps, no elevator and the hostel is on the top floor. Fortunately the owner came running down to help with the suitcase. Room looks nicer on the picture, needs some renovation. Not very cheerful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Rombough

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Huge rooms, multiple large kitchens and common areas.

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miša Biro

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2013 Miša would recommend this property

Liked: The information on webside about hostel was really usefull. We were pleased with everything. The location of hostel was excellent for us. Although quite busy road is beside the hostel we could sleep peacefully in the night. The staff was really great, friendly and so helpful. They even gave us the opportunity to have a shower at the end of our staying, when we were coming back for our packaging.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, the staff was great and very helpful. The bathrooms are clean and comfortable. Also the building is quite lovely.

Disliked: There are no lockers in the rooms (shared ones at least) and you can't lock the doors in shared rooms. Even though there's always someone from the staff one can get an impression it's not the safest place to leave your luggage.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price and location

Disliked: atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Very helpful and kind staff, really clean, quiet and quite safe. Great value for money. I loved this hostel!!!! Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nestor Ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Nestor would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty familiar enviorent, the staff whats really great, they help you in everything you ask for, they are very friendly and polite.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the city centre and the landlady really helpful

Disliked: The rooms weren't locked, the bathroom was slightly dirty...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money (they honored a website error which gave us an awesome deal!) and simple breakfast of toast and jam included as well as coffee.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Clarke

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, very friendly staff, very accomodating despite problems with my booking.

Disliked: Small kitchen area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Bigoszewski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Relation quality/price = perfect!!!

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gökçe ege bilican

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 gökçe ege would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff, very nice and clean rooms&common areas. Nice location,near public transport. Very nice decorated rooms. A very nice place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Paloma de Castro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013

Liked: The staff was really friendly and hepful.

Disliked: A woman was using the hairdryer at the same time my friend was taking a shower, so the water got cold. All of us had to take shower in a bathroom in the room next door. The staff man that helped us were really sorry and provided us with a quick alternative for the shower problem, though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We ordered a room for two people, but stayed in a four bed room alone. The lady who works here is very friendly and extremely helpful. It was a good experience.

Disliked: There was no cozy meeting place to get to know the other travelers. It is definitely not the best hostel for crazy parties.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Keeper was really helpful and friendly. If you need help, just ask her. Our room was clean and warm but if you seek luxury, this isn't your place. We enjoyed our stay at the Caterina hostel.

Disliked: Lock on the door was poor, some of the lamps didn't work (bulbs were burnt out). Stairway and corridor looked scary in dark. Place wasn't easy to find.