HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happyhostel

Hostel | Városház str. 8, 5. Dist., Budapest, Hungary 1052

93.3% Overall Rating

177 out of 179 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"Private room was a huge apartment! 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen laundry etc. Staff very helpful. Great location, right beside Deak frenec ter."

Read all Happyhostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.98
  • Breakfast USD 5.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

HappyFlat
21.11 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 288 reviews
Jump In Hostel
11.59 USD

Hostel 65.6% 23 reviews
Home to Home Hostel
13.19 USD

Hostel 91.5% 89 reviews
Base Budapest Hostel and Backpackers
13.19 USD

Hostel 89.7% 30 reviews
Suite Hostel
6.30 USD

Hostel 92.9% 305 reviews
Maverick Hostel & Ensuites
14.51 USD

Hostel 97.6% 709 reviews
Ginkgo Hostel Budapest
6.60 USD

Hostel 89.6% 34 reviews
Elizabeth Bridge Hostel
21.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

177 out of 179 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happyhostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 175 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private room was a huge apartment! 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen laundry etc. Staff very helpful. Great location, right beside Deak frenec ter.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rose Bradshaw

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Great amount of space in the apartment with bathroom, kitchen, bedroom and living room/dining room. The beds were very comfy with clean sheets. The kitchen had all the necessities - pans, cooker, microwave, chopping board, fridge, cutlery, plates etc. The bathroom was functioning to a pretty good standard - there was a bath and got water. The staff were amazing and really helped us out during our entire stay. Location is pretty good with a metro station close by that takes you straight to keleti, and walking distance from sights and bars/pubs/clubs. Very good value for money.

Disliked: We had a slight problem with water from the bath. The cold tap did not work so cold water had to be either pored directly from the boiler or transferred in a bowl from the sink to the bath (bath was too hot otherwise). The cooker was also a bit annoying to light. But other than that is was all good!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zheng Chuan Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Zheng Chuan would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is super friendly. He even offer us some of the tips when traveling in Budapest. The hostel might looks a little bit old from the outside but it is still comfortable inside. It is really close to a metro station so it is really convenient.

Disliked: Zheng Chuan left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Sexton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The space in the flat, and the location

Disliked: No real reception or communal area and just seemed like a residential building with a couple of flats in it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rostislav Hubac

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Rostislav would recommend this property

Liked: We got a full-equipped apartment just for ourselves, there was even some basic food (tea, sugar) included. The location is perfect, right in the city-center, within walking distance to major attractions.

Disliked: They don´t have a formal reception/front desk so the check-in was a bit more difficult.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Mimnagh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was fabulous! So much value for such little money. Very central and host Csordas is extremely helpful and friendly. Really made our trip to stay in such a lovely place. Booked a 3 bed and got a room for 8 to ourselves. Loads of amenities and facilities the rooms alone. Would recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Rooms aren't well insulated so if other people are loud hard to block out the noise but not much of a problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and value for money. We were in a private apartment, rather than a large hostel, which surprised us at first, but the apartment was great and is located nearby to the main hostel building.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaume Lapeña

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Jaume would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the appartment itself and all the complete explanations and tips from Csába.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolas Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Nikolas would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a 'twin'. It turned out to be an entire apartment, complete with double story, two bathrooms, kitchen and washing machine! The location is excellent, right in the heart, near the river, shops and transport. The host, Csaba, gave a thorough introduction to the city and furnished us with brochures and maps, and made a sightseeing booking for us at a discounted rate.

Disliked: Nikolas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a 4 bed room but they gave us a 10 bed room instead for the 4 of us so we had a mini flat with sofas and kitchen area! The block is quiet so you get a good nights sleep but the location is excellent - very near to the station and other public transport links. The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations of restaurants and sightseeing etc.

Disliked: Nothing really. It is quiet so it is not the right place for you if you are looking for a party hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really helpful, the location was amazing, it was nice and big with really good facilities and looked nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Perla Medina

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Perla would recommend this property

Liked: Everything it is in the center... its very clean and people really nice

Disliked: Perla left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Csaba was very helpfull and friendly!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Ereira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: We were given an entire apartment that beds 8 for just the four of us! It was really well equipped; two bathrooms (with decent enough hot water that they could be used simultaneously :P), two toilets, a kitchen with fridge and small freezer, hob, pans, and lots of plates and cutlery, a dining table and large living area. It was all very clean and well maintained. Csaba is extremely friendly and helpful, made lots of recommendations, gave us some discounts, and took the time to answer any queries we had and arrange transport to the airport at the end of our stay. WiFi available was great. The location is also very central, just a few minutes walk to lots of shops and restaurants and public transport links as well as some important sights. Thanks for everything, Csaba!

Disliked: Nothing. :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, our room setup was perfect. There was a living room with a couch and table, a bathroom with bath towels and a blow dryer, and a kitchen with a refrigerator and tons of dishes. The bedroom had 3 bunks (for 6 people presumably), but it was just my friend and I since we went in the off-season. Also Casba, the hostel's owner, was extremely helpful! Our flight home was very early so we took advantage of the shuttle service... HIGHLY recommended! It's very reasonable priced and so much easier than the bus/metro coming from the airport

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach our room which was a pain, especially because the common area of the hostel (where the router is) isn't very well defined... Fortunately, free wi-fi is available at most establishments in Budapest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Harrison

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: We really loved the apartment we stayed in. Csaba was so helpful and made us feel so welcome and even waited for us as our train was delayed. The apartment was so clean and had everything we needed with a fully equipped kitchen. The location was brilliant too as lots of bars near by and two metro lines. I really would recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing as the apartment was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The flat we stayed in was well-equipped, clean, nice & perfectly located in the heart of the city center. But the owner's welcoming attitude definitely made it more than just comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Barlow

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 February 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Accomodation is large and extremely clen. Csaba was one of the most helpful people I have come across. Would definately recommend. Location is brilliant.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a fantastic place to stay! It's a brilliant location, you can walk pretty much everywhere but there's a metro station a few metres away if you're feeling lazy. Csaba is very helpful and charming providing maps and local information. The hostel is very quiet even though it's so central and is very nicely done. We were upgraded to a little flat at no extra charge.

Disliked: I can't really fault it - brilliant!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had whole big apartment to ourselves- was amazing! However not good if you were keen to meet with others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, spacious appartments in the middle of the city. Everything close by, in walking distance

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Lamers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: We were with 8 young guys, and had a great time here! - Very friendliy staff who helps you visiting Budapest - Clean, big rooms - Kitchen and living room in our (8 persons) ensuite room - Location (downtown, close to biggest subway station) - Value for money!

Disliked: - No negative comments to notice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ivo atanasov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 ivo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great owner!!! When we first arrived to hotel, the owner, Csaba did treat us like a friend and gave us lots of information about Budapest. He had all the brochures about the city and different kinds of places. I highly recommend this property! Thanks for everything Csaba!..

Disliked: ivo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Peneva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very nice and helpful. Location was perfect - very close to a metro station and a non-stop supermarket. We had a great stay and will recommend the hostel.

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a very spacious 8 Person Appartment for us 2.

Disliked: -