HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Carpe Noctem Original Budapest Hostel

Szobi utca 5, 3/8a, Budapest, Hungary

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUPS OF MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE. ANY BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE WILL BE CANCELLED AND YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DEPOSIT.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 15:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 96%

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Everything!!!! One my favourite hostels in the world, easily. Had the most incredible time here - staff was excellent, guests were amazing. Easy to make friends as a solo traveller here. Would recommend to anyone, and will definitely be back!

Disliked: Nothing! It was the perfect hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: staff, location, security, parties, bedroom

Disliked: you have to be quiet after 20:30, but at that time you are outside having fun

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: This hostel was easily the best one that I have ever stayed at. The facilities and the location are great. However, what really makes this hostel stand out from the rest are the incredible staff and the atmosphere they create. I got to the hostel at 7am and was greeted by Crash who instantly made me feel at home. He gave me a fantastic and detailed introduction to Budapest and really helped me make the most of my time there. The nightly activities are crazy fun, as are all the people working here.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Amazing hostel, staff were really friendly and helpful. It's a party hostel so don't stay there if you're not up for a laugh but if you are the staff will do everything in their power to help you have all the fun! Would definitely stay there again.Location is right next to the train station and really easy to walk anywhere in the city from here. It is up a lot of stairs and not shiny and new but ust adds to the character if you ask me!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Carpe Noctem OG is literally one of the best hostels you will ever stay in! The atmosphere is insane- with only 20 beds you get to know everyone there and it feels just like home. The staff are amazing and are helpfull with everything, and the location is pretty perfect as well. And the partying is amazing! I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Budapest- OG is the place to be!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Carpe Noctem had a vibe different to other hostels I had been to. It is particularly homely with about only 20 guests and perhaps 5 staff. With mostly solo travelers, the communal dinner in the central living room is a convenient way to make friends for the night ahead. While this hostel describes itself as a party hostel, only mild pre drinking occurs here before the partying happens at Retox hostel nearby. So if you wish to party but also sleep then Carpe Noctem is good for you.

Disliked: There was no hot water when I stayed. A cold shower the morning after Spa Party was rough.With such a small quantity of guests it can be hit and miss with their quality :-/

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: All the staff were so amazing. I felt so at home, with family dinners every night and helpful recommendations provided throughout the day. I stayed here for 2 weeks and it was so horrible to leave. I became so close with all the staff and other guests it just enhanced the experience of travelling solo. Budapest is an amazing city and its so amazing to be able to stay somewhere that’s in such a great location, but also where they have a great knowledge of where to go and what to do. It was the best hostel I stayed out in my entire trip by a country mile and I cannot wait to go back on my next European adventure.

Disliked: it was perfect, no negative comments to make.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good ambiance, warm people, a big family !Just had an amazing stay and wanna/will come back soon :)

Disliked: An infinite caipirinha fountain in the living room will for sure make this place, best place ever on earth.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everyone is so helpful and friendly. If you don't know what you're doing, or where you are going, they give great travel tips. There are always activities on offer. Awesome place to stay.

Disliked: I had to leave

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. Free Breakfast, HELLO! Friendly enviroment. Location, just great... perfect size hostel not to big, no to small...

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability