We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Carpe Noctem (original)

Hostel | Szobi utca 5, Floor 3 / 8a, Budapest, Hungary 000

97.4% Overall Rating

84 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/01/2015)

"The crew here were the reddest bunch of dudes out. Super open and friendly. The hostel was kept clean and functional and just when you thought this was the best place you've stayed you discover there's FREE EGGS. Best…"

Read all Carpe Noctem (original) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUPS OF MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE. ANY BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE WILL BE CANCELLED AND YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DEPOSIT.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Interflat Hostel & Apartments
10.94 USD

Hostel 89.8% 116 reviews
Multipass Hostel
13.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
West Side Hostel
9.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Tiger Tim's Place
14.23 USD

Hostel 89.9% 245 reviews
Caterina Private Rooms and Apartments
10.57 USD

Hostel 83.4% 481 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
37.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Potato Budapest
12.20 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Sexy tractor Hostel
12.20 USD

Hostel 88.7% 76 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.4%

Overall Rating

84 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Carpe Noctem (original)'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 83 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The crew here were the reddest bunch of dudes out. Super open and friendly. The hostel was kept clean and functional and just when you thought this was the best place you've stayed you discover there's FREE EGGS. Best deal ever. It would be madness not to stay here!!

Disliked: Nope

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Forte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

17 January 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Had the best time in Budapest all the staff members were beyond fantastic, special shout out to coltrane! you made my stay, you deserve an employee of the year!

Disliked: The only thimg I didnt like was the fact that I had to leave :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lewis

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 January 2015 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Had an awesome time here, second time I've stayed in this particular hostel. Rooms and bathroom kept clean, great location and very sociable! Very easy to meet people in the common room and a really good programme of social events around the city in the evenings. Very chilled out in the day though and with friendly staff... with interesting nicknames and some with equally impressive dance moves, also Coltrane's leggings...yea. They only take bookings for groups of 3 or less but if you're in a large-ish group, it's worth ditching your mates just to stay here! I'll be back again for sure!

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moonen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was the perfect size and very well situated to see Budapest. Staff were always offering stuff to do during the day and night and anytime I wanted to do something I could get ideas easily from the people there. They also sold all the tickets right there and offered directions so all you needed to do was have fun!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: The location was good and the staff were ultra helpful and friendly. Staff defininetly made the stay

Disliked: Rooms weren't cleaned properly. Neither were the bathrooms or common rooms. Entry into the hostel was filthy with a wicked stench.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saskia Webb-Hayward

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Saskia would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, nice and informal atmosphere, great fun.

Disliked: Nothin really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Tamsett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Hostel organizes something every night. Staff helpful & show u where everything is. Full kitchen. In the centre of the city.

Disliked: Nothing. There could have been more showers but not a big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Woodford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are AMAZING. It's a group of young people who live in their own section on of the hostel, so someone is always available to help. It's in a great location. Although there are a ton of partying events, people usually go out by 8:30pm and there's a quite policy after 10, so if you want to stay in you can. If you go out, they have sister hostels like Retox where you can go party. Almost all of their facilities are free, except laundry. The staff have a ton of suggestions for stuff to do around the city. Really, it's just an amazing hostel, that isn't too large, so it has a sense of family away from home.

Disliked: Nothing. It was amazing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna-Marie Fry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Donna-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Carpe Noctem is fantastic. The hostel itself had loads of character, is clean quirky and in a great location. The staff and the activities they provide are super. Listen to and do everything that Anna tells you we had a fantastic stay in Budapest because we did! The hostel is great if you want to party but also a great place to chill if you want to stay in. In a word it's perfect!!

Disliked: Nothing it was fab!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charles cumberlidge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 charles would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing! It's such a friendly hostel and feels like a big family

Disliked: charles left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jose Arturo Palacios Pineda

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 April 2014 Jose Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: staff, atmosphere

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BEST CITY HOSTEL I'VE BEEN IN! best people, loads of solo travelers (as me) that wanna travel with others. (small hostels are the best). best friendly-cool-helping stuff ever best things to do every day and night super homey: no check out time(!), easy cancel/extend, kitchen, towels, dinner ect. and lotssss of love:)

Disliked: i just didnt want to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Mcculloch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I start. I could live here. When I was booking I was a tad nervous since they don't offer breakfast, but every night they offer a huge portion of a home cooked meal for 700 huf! Breakfast stuff can be grabbed at the store for the morning if you want it. The staff here are fellow partiers, but take great care of the place. I will be back. I extended my stay to 8 nights, and loved every day and every night. Best place I've stayed as a solo traveler. Overall it was more like living in a sitcom like friends then a hostel. Get your ass in this place!

Disliked: Don't come if your gonna be boring. Go to somewhere else! Nothing to dislike. Sometimes the showers can be a bit cold, but whatever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pablo morales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Like staying in a friend's house. Everybody is friendly and talk to each other, the staff take you out everynight to have fun and are always willing to help you, I really hope I can go back to Budapest and if I do I'll definitely go to Carpe Noctem.

Disliked: pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Simons

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: A well located and very friendly hostel with great staff. Organised activities every night mean there is always something going on. The perfect place to go as a lone traveller, feels more like a communal flat than a hostel. Definitely the place to stay in Budapest.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. if you like partying, drinking and hanging out with nice people, this place is paradise.a living room full of great people, family dinner, partying every single night. you just never wanna leave this place. definitely gonna go back as soon as possible.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: We actually stayed at the sister hostel (Vitae) and it was brilliant! We all had an amazing time (group of 3 girls age 20-24). The staff were great, location fantastic, and such a great atmosphere! Would definitely recommend to any one!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siew Kit Kwong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Siew Kit would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staffs! they party harder than everyone else and yet still wake up the next morning to clean the place and check people in, give them a proper introduction to the city. Spacious room and comfy beds.

Disliked: Siew Kit left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tyler braggins

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 December 2013 tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...they make you part of the family and provide non-stop fun

Disliked: Pillows are a little uncomfortable...that's right, that is all I have to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of those really special small hostels that very quickly feels like home. The staff are fantastic and are always there to help and have a good time as well. Social/night life is awesome with something on every night but as you leave the hostel around 8:30 for these, its also quiet at night at the hostel for those who want to just relax/catchup on some sleep (not that you end up wanting to do this much, its just too much fun!). It was very hard to leave this place and I definitely want to go back sometime soon!

Disliked: Hot water was a bit temperamental, but nothing terrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Salmon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed more than twice as long as I planned here, as do many people, which says plenty about how much fun it is. Staff are great, and one of them is even an international tv star! Very relaxed and homely, events on every night.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What didn't I like about this property...

Disliked: Nothing. I disliked nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Stacey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Carpe Noctem Original is fucking amazing. This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at in my four months of travelling Europe. It's cosy, welcoming, friendly and homey but at night you are guaranteed a rager! You meet up with the other carpe hostels and shit gets wild, you will never be bored here. Be prepared to stay AT LEAST an extra week longer than initially intended as well. It will happen. Trust me. Ps. The staff are incredible. You won't even realise it until it's too late, but you will fall a little bit in love with each one of them...

Disliked: That I kept having to change my plans to stay longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Kobylecki

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 October 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, values & atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing