We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Carpe Noctem (original)

Hostel | Szobi utca 5, Floor 3 / 8a, Budapest, Hungary 000

97.5% Overall Rating

80 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

Nicole Tamsett thinks…

"Everything! Hostel organizes something every night. Staff helpful & show u where everything is. Full kitchen. In the centre of the city."

Read all Carpe Noctem (original) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUPS OF MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE. ANY BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE WILL BE CANCELLED AND YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DEPOSIT.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Interflat Hostel & Apartments
12.29 USD

Hostel 89.4% 113 reviews
Multipass Hostel
18.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
West Side Hostel
13.10 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Tiger Tim's Place
8.22 USD

Hostel 89.9% 245 reviews
Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse
9.04 USD

Hostel 84.2% 479 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
38.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Potato Budapest
12.33 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Sexy tractor Hostel
8.22 USD

Hostel 88.7% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.5%

Overall Rating

80 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Carpe Noctem (original)'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saskia Webb-Hayward

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Saskia would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, nice and informal atmosphere, great fun.

Disliked: Nothin really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Tamsett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Hostel organizes something every night. Staff helpful & show u where everything is. Full kitchen. In the centre of the city.

Disliked: Nothing. There could have been more showers but not a big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Woodford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are AMAZING. It's a group of young people who live in their own section on of the hostel, so someone is always available to help. It's in a great location. Although there are a ton of partying events, people usually go out by 8:30pm and there's a quite policy after 10, so if you want to stay in you can. If you go out, they have sister hostels like Retox where you can go party. Almost all of their facilities are free, except laundry. The staff have a ton of suggestions for stuff to do around the city. Really, it's just an amazing hostel, that isn't too large, so it has a sense of family away from home.

Disliked: Nothing. It was amazing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna-Marie Fry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Donna-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Carpe Noctem is fantastic. The hostel itself had loads of character, is clean quirky and in a great location. The staff and the activities they provide are super. Listen to and do everything that Anna tells you we had a fantastic stay in Budapest because we did! The hostel is great if you want to party but also a great place to chill if you want to stay in. In a word it's perfect!!

Disliked: Nothing it was fab!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charles cumberlidge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 charles would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing! It's such a friendly hostel and feels like a big family

Disliked: charles left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jose Arturo Palacios Pineda

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 April 2014 Jose Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: staff, atmosphere

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BEST CITY HOSTEL I'VE BEEN IN! best people, loads of solo travelers (as me) that wanna travel with others. (small hostels are the best). best friendly-cool-helping stuff ever best things to do every day and night super homey: no check out time(!), easy cancel/extend, kitchen, towels, dinner ect. and lotssss of love:)

Disliked: i just didnt want to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Mcculloch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I start. I could live here. When I was booking I was a tad nervous since they don't offer breakfast, but every night they offer a huge portion of a home cooked meal for 700 huf! Breakfast stuff can be grabbed at the store for the morning if you want it. The staff here are fellow partiers, but take great care of the place. I will be back. I extended my stay to 8 nights, and loved every day and every night. Best place I've stayed as a solo traveler. Overall it was more like living in a sitcom like friends then a hostel. Get your ass in this place!

Disliked: Don't come if your gonna be boring. Go to somewhere else! Nothing to dislike. Sometimes the showers can be a bit cold, but whatever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pablo morales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Like staying in a friend's house. Everybody is friendly and talk to each other, the staff take you out everynight to have fun and are always willing to help you, I really hope I can go back to Budapest and if I do I'll definitely go to Carpe Noctem.

Disliked: pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Simons

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: A well located and very friendly hostel with great staff. Organised activities every night mean there is always something going on. The perfect place to go as a lone traveller, feels more like a communal flat than a hostel. Definitely the place to stay in Budapest.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. if you like partying, drinking and hanging out with nice people, this place is paradise.a living room full of great people, family dinner, partying every single night. you just never wanna leave this place. definitely gonna go back as soon as possible.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: We actually stayed at the sister hostel (Vitae) and it was brilliant! We all had an amazing time (group of 3 girls age 20-24). The staff were great, location fantastic, and such a great atmosphere! Would definitely recommend to any one!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siew Kit Kwong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Siew Kit would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staffs! they party harder than everyone else and yet still wake up the next morning to clean the place and check people in, give them a proper introduction to the city. Spacious room and comfy beds.

Disliked: Siew Kit left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tyler braggins

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 December 2013 tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...they make you part of the family and provide non-stop fun

Disliked: Pillows are a little uncomfortable...that's right, that is all I have to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of those really special small hostels that very quickly feels like home. The staff are fantastic and are always there to help and have a good time as well. Social/night life is awesome with something on every night but as you leave the hostel around 8:30 for these, its also quiet at night at the hostel for those who want to just relax/catchup on some sleep (not that you end up wanting to do this much, its just too much fun!). It was very hard to leave this place and I definitely want to go back sometime soon!

Disliked: Hot water was a bit temperamental, but nothing terrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Salmon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed more than twice as long as I planned here, as do many people, which says plenty about how much fun it is. Staff are great, and one of them is even an international tv star! Very relaxed and homely, events on every night.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What didn't I like about this property...

Disliked: Nothing. I disliked nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Stacey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Carpe Noctem Original is fucking amazing. This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at in my four months of travelling Europe. It's cosy, welcoming, friendly and homey but at night you are guaranteed a rager! You meet up with the other carpe hostels and shit gets wild, you will never be bored here. Be prepared to stay AT LEAST an extra week longer than initially intended as well. It will happen. Trust me. Ps. The staff are incredible. You won't even realise it until it's too late, but you will fall a little bit in love with each one of them...

Disliked: That I kept having to change my plans to stay longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Kobylecki

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 October 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, values & atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gina Langford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff. Super friendly and really knowledgable. Really cool relaxed vibe to the hostel. Get to know everyone really easily and it's such a social environment. Great for solo travelers. Awesome organized events at night and really cool bars that you visit. Met up every night with the other 4 party hostels so always a cool and new crowd. Spa party was the best party of my life!!! Thank you Rikki Tom Jamie and Rosie! You're awesome :)

Disliked: N/a Tiny complaints - doesn't affect my opinion at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Cordwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Carpe Noctem OG is easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Because it's pretty small, the atmosphere is really awesome and laid back - everyone meets everyone. As a solo traveller this was the best. The staff are super friendly and helpful during the day, but get equally as fucked up as all the guests during the nightly activities, see; champagne fuelled boat party and sex fuelled spa party etc. and everyone just has shit tons of fun. So if you like fun stay here. Actually, even if you don't like fun (and actually prefer to sleep during the night LOLZ) you can stay here too because unlike the other party hostels, it's chilled out enough to be able to get a solid night's sleep.

Disliked: I had to stay at Vitae for the last couple of nights because the hostel was full. :( (It was nowhere near as good.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travelling alone I have to be really picky with hostels and Carpe Noctem Original was the best choice I could have made! Stayed an extra couple of nights (everyone does) and had an incredible time. There was something on every night and we met up with all the other party hostels, but theres also heaps to do during the days, and the staff will always take you out! Its a small hostel, only about 20 beds, so I got to know everyone really quickly and will definitely stay here next time I'm in Budapest - particularly recommend for solo travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Harden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Since its a party hostel there are great things to do every night. Also did a good job of suggesting a few interesting things to do every day on the whiteboard.

Disliked: The directions i got through hostelbookers were completely wrong - took me 2 hours to get there. Having to leave the hostel every night at 8:30 was annoying - if you want a true party hostel go elsewhere. Also some of the staff weren't very knowledgeable, myself and a few other guests were given incorrect information a few times - it seemed like they were guests rather than staff (Will and Claws were solid though)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.