HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Carpe Noctem (original)

Hostel | Szobi utca 5, Floor 3 / 8a, Budapest, Hungary 000

98.4% Overall Rating

72 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Aidan Mcculloch thinks…

"Where do I start. I could live here. When I was booking I was a tad nervous since they don't offer breakfast, but every night they offer a huge portion of a home cooked meal for 700 huf! Breakfast…"

Read all Carpe Noctem (original) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUPS OF MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE. ANY BOOKINGS FOR MORE THAN 3 PEOPLE WILL BE CANCELLED AND YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DEPOSIT.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Interflat Hostel & Apartments
13.40 USD

Hostel 92.9% 104 reviews
West Side Hostel
13.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Tiger Tim's Place
11.20 USD

Hostel 95.1% 212 reviews
Caterina Hostel & Guesthouse
10.75 USD

Hostel 85.9% 470 reviews
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum
40.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Potato Budapest
13.44 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Sexy tractor Hostel
9.41 USD

Hostel 98.6% 20 reviews
Butterfly Hostel & Guesthouse
13.82 USD

Guesthouse 88.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.4%

Overall Rating

72 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Carpe Noctem (original)'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 73 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Mcculloch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I start. I could live here. When I was booking I was a tad nervous since they don't offer breakfast, but every night they offer a huge portion of a home cooked meal for 700 huf! Breakfast stuff can be grabbed at the store for the morning if you want it. The staff here are fellow partiers, but take great care of the place. I will be back. I extended my stay to 8 nights, and loved every day and every night. Best place I've stayed as a solo traveler. Overall it was more like living in a sitcom like friends then a hostel. Get your ass in this place!

Disliked: Don't come if your gonna be boring. Go to somewhere else! Nothing to dislike. Sometimes the showers can be a bit cold, but whatever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pablo morales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Like staying in a friend's house. Everybody is friendly and talk to each other, the staff take you out everynight to have fun and are always willing to help you, I really hope I can go back to Budapest and if I do I'll definitely go to Carpe Noctem.

Disliked: pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Simons

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: A well located and very friendly hostel with great staff. Organised activities every night mean there is always something going on. The perfect place to go as a lone traveller, feels more like a communal flat than a hostel. Definitely the place to stay in Budapest.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. if you like partying, drinking and hanging out with nice people, this place is paradise.a living room full of great people, family dinner, partying every single night. you just never wanna leave this place. definitely gonna go back as soon as possible.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: We actually stayed at the sister hostel (Vitae) and it was brilliant! We all had an amazing time (group of 3 girls age 20-24). The staff were great, location fantastic, and such a great atmosphere! Would definitely recommend to any one!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siew Kit Kwong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Siew Kit would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staffs! they party harder than everyone else and yet still wake up the next morning to clean the place and check people in, give them a proper introduction to the city. Spacious room and comfy beds.

Disliked: Siew Kit left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tyler braggins

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 December 2013 tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...they make you part of the family and provide non-stop fun

Disliked: Pillows are a little uncomfortable...that's right, that is all I have to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Hazzard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of those really special small hostels that very quickly feels like home. The staff are fantastic and are always there to help and have a good time as well. Social/night life is awesome with something on every night but as you leave the hostel around 8:30 for these, its also quiet at night at the hostel for those who want to just relax/catchup on some sleep (not that you end up wanting to do this much, its just too much fun!). It was very hard to leave this place and I definitely want to go back sometime soon!

Disliked: Hot water was a bit temperamental, but nothing terrible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Salmon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed more than twice as long as I planned here, as do many people, which says plenty about how much fun it is. Staff are great, and one of them is even an international tv star! Very relaxed and homely, events on every night.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What didn't I like about this property...

Disliked: Nothing. I disliked nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Stacey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 October 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Carpe Noctem Original is fucking amazing. This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at in my four months of travelling Europe. It's cosy, welcoming, friendly and homey but at night you are guaranteed a rager! You meet up with the other carpe hostels and shit gets wild, you will never be bored here. Be prepared to stay AT LEAST an extra week longer than initially intended as well. It will happen. Trust me. Ps. The staff are incredible. You won't even realise it until it's too late, but you will fall a little bit in love with each one of them...

Disliked: That I kept having to change my plans to stay longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Kobylecki

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 October 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, values & atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gina Langford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff. Super friendly and really knowledgable. Really cool relaxed vibe to the hostel. Get to know everyone really easily and it's such a social environment. Great for solo travelers. Awesome organized events at night and really cool bars that you visit. Met up every night with the other 4 party hostels so always a cool and new crowd. Spa party was the best party of my life!!! Thank you Rikki Tom Jamie and Rosie! You're awesome :)

Disliked: N/a Tiny complaints - doesn't affect my opinion at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Cordwell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Carpe Noctem OG is easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Because it's pretty small, the atmosphere is really awesome and laid back - everyone meets everyone. As a solo traveller this was the best. The staff are super friendly and helpful during the day, but get equally as fucked up as all the guests during the nightly activities, see; champagne fuelled boat party and sex fuelled spa party etc. and everyone just has shit tons of fun. So if you like fun stay here. Actually, even if you don't like fun (and actually prefer to sleep during the night LOLZ) you can stay here too because unlike the other party hostels, it's chilled out enough to be able to get a solid night's sleep.

Disliked: I had to stay at Vitae for the last couple of nights because the hostel was full. :( (It was nowhere near as good.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travelling alone I have to be really picky with hostels and Carpe Noctem Original was the best choice I could have made! Stayed an extra couple of nights (everyone does) and had an incredible time. There was something on every night and we met up with all the other party hostels, but theres also heaps to do during the days, and the staff will always take you out! Its a small hostel, only about 20 beds, so I got to know everyone really quickly and will definitely stay here next time I'm in Budapest - particularly recommend for solo travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Harden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Since its a party hostel there are great things to do every night. Also did a good job of suggesting a few interesting things to do every day on the whiteboard.

Disliked: The directions i got through hostelbookers were completely wrong - took me 2 hours to get there. Having to leave the hostel every night at 8:30 was annoying - if you want a true party hostel go elsewhere. Also some of the staff weren't very knowledgeable, myself and a few other guests were given incorrect information a few times - it seemed like they were guests rather than staff (Will and Claws were solid though)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. There is a fun friendly atmosphere inside, it's very easy to get involved in whatever is going on. The staff are excellent and provide great knowledge and activities to do while in Budapest. Every night there is a planned event which are always fun, and also massive because you join up with the sister hostels which means the group can be 300+ in size. If you plan on leaving Budapest, you might not want to stay here because you will get stuck!!

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in! More like a home than a hostel. from when we arrived at 6am until we checked out a week later, the staff made us feel like we were part of the family. Rikki, Will, Clauds and Jenny were the nicest staff anyone could have asked for! Offering the best advice on what to do during the day, and then talking us out at night. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting! I've even extended my trip so I can head back to visit! Cheers for making it one of the best weeks of my life

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrienne Duncan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: I can honestly say that my experience of Budapest would not have been the same if I had not stayed at Carpe Noctem and its the only place I will ever recommend to others! The staff here are unbelievable, so friendly and helpful. It's just like a bunch of mates having a good time together, hanging out at someone's flat. Ive been travelling for a little while now and this is not only the best hostel in Budapest, it's the best hostel in Europe! Absolutely gutted to leave, after extending my stay twice but its somewhere I will definitely be coming back to!

Disliked: Not one thing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Collins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: What's not to like? Truly the best hostel I've EVER STAYED AT! The guys who work there are legends! They know the city inside out, they definitely know how to show you a good time and they are so welcoming and friendly. All round I'd highly recommend this hostel if you're looking to make new friends while you travel, experience unreal parties (everything from awesome pub crawls, to clubs, to all night parties in the baths). Plus the hostel is in a great location and super clean. 10 out of 10!

Disliked: The only down side was the fact that it was on the top floor of the building - which at 5 in the morning can be a struggle - but it's soooo worth it when you get to the top! In fact it's not really a "dislike" - it's a great workout for the quads :P

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really chill atmosphere, the staff is great, so nice you can almost not tell who is a guest and who is staff. Perfect single, solo travelers under 30 who want to party. Its the best of both world though because the hostel never thows parties so it is really clean and good for meeting people who you can then party with elsewhere.

Disliked: Location: A bit far from city center(but a block away from train station), and at least a five minute walk to a tram or metro stop.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Reale

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment you set foot in this hostel, you feel like you're home. The staff are spectacular and their only intention is to make sure you have the most incredible time. They're friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and reliable. The facilities themselves are always clean, the beds are almost too comfortable and the lounge is the perfect place to chill, listen to tunes, and meet some rad people. During the day, the staff point you in the direction of all the sights and sounds Budapest has to offer. At night...well, make sure you're ready for a serious party (whether it be on land or in water). While Budapest is steeped in history and you can sight see to your heart's content, it's the people you'll meet at Carpe Noctem that make your stay unforgettable. Don't be surprised if you find yourself missing your flight home or just extending your stay...it's that difficult to leave!

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What's not to like?! This is probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in! Staff are great, parties are epic, and location is awesome.

Disliked: That I had to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Coleman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place with really good walls. Pretty much all of the beds were horizontal too, which was a bonus. The Canadian members of staff were particularly accommodating.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.