We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kalvin House Pension

Guesthouse | Gonczy Pal utca 6., Budapest, Hungary 1093

90.1% Overall Rating

100 out of 105 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

"I spent 10 weeks this summer traveling around Europe. This was one of the best places I stayed in the whole trip."

Read all Kalvin House Pension reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Budapest?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Budapest

Barocco Hostel
8.94 USD

Hostel 83.9% 265 reviews
Hello Budapest Hostel
12.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Downtown Guesthouse
12.52 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 367 reviews
AGE Budapest Youth Centre
12.65 USD

Hostel 89.8% 61 reviews
Lavender Circus Hostel and Apartments
20.33 USD

Hostel 98.3% 285 reviews
HoBar - the hostel bar
8.09 USD

Hostel 82.9% 16 reviews
Fifth Hostel
6.96 USD

Hostel 77.9% 44 reviews
Hipster Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 91.0% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

100 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kalvin House Pension'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 77 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I spent 10 weeks this summer traveling around Europe. This was one of the best places I stayed in the whole trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms

Disliked: No airconditioning

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel's in a lovely old building and the rooms are huge and full of character. The location is fantastic, with the wonderful covered market a few minutes away on foot and Tesco over the road. There's also a metro station and tram and bus stops very nearby. The staff are super-friendly and helpful, which really adds something to the stay. Everyone spoke English and the price includes breakfast (cold buffet) and free wifi throughout the hotel. I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

Disliked: We stayed there at a very hot time (over 30 degrees celsius in April). There was a big fan, which helped to cool the room, but it was still quite hot!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to metro station and liberty bridge.

Disliked: No hot water the second day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a huge and very beautiful room and the staff was very nice!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dorothy boerste

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodation was charming. The staff wee friendly and helpful. Anita was absolutely professional and wildly funny.

Disliked: nothing. I would stay there again and recommend to friends this hostel/apartment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Cunningham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay. It was within a good 30 minutes walk to most of the attractions on the Buda side of Budapest and within 5 minutes of a good market where you can by Hungarian meats and cheese. The accommodation was also within 5 minutes walk of a good strip of restaurants that catered to tourist. The staff were helpful and spoke English really well. It was easy to get into the property at any time of day with no hassle.

Disliked: Pretty much nothing.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location. Breakfast included in the price.

Disliked: Very tired old building in need of considerable work. We had ants in our room. There is no air conditioning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tutto perfetto!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiago Guimaraes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2010 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: Very large rooms.Location is also excelent, near a tram and metro line.

Disliked: In the middle of the night, going to the bathroom you will awake all your friends because of the wooden floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was my second stay at Kalvin House, and if possible, the standard of the place was even better than before. The hotel is VERY CENTRALLY located, my room had air conditioning, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast verstalite and delicious. A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room decororation is very nice. The size is so big.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Abington

22 July 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Neat and clean with a fantastic location near resturants, theLiberty Bridge and National Museum. Great value for money in a lovely period building.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed breakfasts - not rushed - friendly staff. Very close to centre - reminded me of pensiones in Italy 30 years ago - so refreshing to get away from faceless hotels.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Rachel Broadbent

15 July 2009 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was nice and breakfast was excellent, but my Mums room got the sun all day and was extremely hot at night (no air-con).

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kalvin House Pension is more like a hotel rather than hostel. It has two types of room classic & modern. Classic room (having classic furnitures) is relatively larger but modern has air-condition. Hotel is so quiet. Staff is helpful. I liked my stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

04 May 2009

Liked: Great location and very clean, but the staff were rude.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

enrico davini

22 February 2009 enrico would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, clean, central location

Disliked: enrico left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: more hotel than hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kent McDonald

05 January 2009 Kent would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good size rooms

Disliked: Kent left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friedly staff; atmospheric accomodation; clean and tidy rooms - just a perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice large rooms, good central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Hincapie

19 September 2008 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, awesome rooms

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sergio Bizzarri

02 September 2008 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms with new furnitures

Disliked: Sergio left no negative feedback.