HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Crystal Hostel HK Hong Kong Hostel

Flat E4, Block E,11/F, Chung King Mansions, 36-44 Natha, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Ceiling fan
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Important Information

In an event of No-show without cancellation or a late cancellation, Korean Hostel has the right to charge the full amount of your stay at their hostel.


Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 3 days before arrival (local time). Payments made online are non-refundable.
If no-show without cancellation or a late cancellation, Korean Hostel has the right to charge the full amount of your stay at their hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 65%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: THe staff is friendly, also honesty The room is clean.

Disliked: the room is small but comfortable. Too bad the air from outside enter to the inside make the room have some smell. I need to turn on the vacuum fan always.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In the city center. Chungking Mansion is the best in hong kong for travelers

Disliked: The room was really tiny, and the people at the first floor of the mansion was super insistent.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you understand that room sizes are small in HK and especially for budget accommodations.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very tidy and cosy room. TV, air conditioner, fan, fast wifi. Coffee, tea, hot water provided. Staff attitude quite friendly.

Disliked: The building where the room is located is noisy and very crowded.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are happy to see that your stay with us was enjoyable!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought the place was tiny but not uncomfortable and it was extremely clean. The staff was nice and it was conveniently located.

Disliked: The reception was on the other side of the building which was kind of annoying if you wanted information or to check out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. The reception is being rebuilt into a newer area and it will serve as a hub for checking in and out - it allows us to manage the guests requests and any other queries better. We apologize for the inconvenience. Nonetheless, once again we thank you for your kind words and hope you will allow us to serve you again!

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Gave me a single room instead of a dorm as booked.

Disliked: I was given a room at another hostel in the building, perhaps the Paris Hostel but I'm not sure where I in fact ended up in the maze that is Chung King Mansions . While I was given a single rom instead it was the worst room I have ever seen. Bed was too short (Im 1.90), room was dirty with paint peeling off, walls were paper thin, and I doubt the sheets had been cleaned. The room and whole area smelled terribly and the other people were incredibly noise, talking loudly through the night and playing loud music. While I know it is limited what you can expect from a hostel in Chung King Mansions this was NOT acceptable.


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately, our doom was overextended by the group that booked it that day. Thus, we had to find alternative accommodation for you for which we apologize. Regarding the alternative accommodation, we apologize that it was not held up to the standards we expect and will ensure that it does not happen again in the future.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: The location is convenient for travelers

Disliked: Room and bed too small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoy the location of our hostel. Regarding the size, unfortunately such is the case with all budget accommodations in Hong Kong.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: The newness of the room (changed from the 11th floor to the 3rd floor. More work being done to adjacent areas.)

Disliked: Nil, we expected a small room which we received. We were hoping for tea/coffee making facilities from other feedback. Not so for us.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newer additions. In regards to the tea and coffee making facilties, due to the limited space, as of now we are unable to provide them in the unit you stayed in but they are available in our reception as well. A staff member should've mentioned it upon request. Glad you enjoyed your stay nonetheless and hope you will allow us to serve you in the future again. Thanks!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was tiled and spotless and staff changed the towel on a daily basis.

Disliked: It was tiny - but apparently this is normal in Hong Kong.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are small but we make up for it by offering numerous other amenities free of charge which other hostels and bigger chain hotels are known to charge for; wifi, tea/coffee, bottled water, local calls etc.

Thanks once again and hope you will allow us to serve you on your next trip to HK!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: For Hong Kong (where expectations on accommodation need to be adjusted) it was pretty good. The Chung King Mansions definitely aren't for everyone, but it was generally fine.

Disliked: They never cleaned the room. At one point that said they were going to, but we had an overflowing rubbish bin the entire 4 days we were there. Also, while we booked at the Korean, our room was actually in the Canadian.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, I would like to sincerely apologize to you regarding the cleaning of the room - there must be a fault in the system with cleaning management and I assure you that we ensure that all our rooms are cleaned daily and towels and bed sheets are changed daily too. Once again, I am sorry and will speak to the staff regarding this! Sorry about that but glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful, internet worked great and the location was super close to all the transport - I travelled mainly by bus so I suggest you get an octopus card ( sort of a pre paid travelling card , helps in making sure u dont need to carry around change! ) . Hostel was spotless and had cctv cameras - for a lone traveller i felt pretty safe and secure! would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nothing much to be honest i felt everything was decent for the price charged.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and thank you for leaving such kind review! We hope you will allow us to serve you again in your next trip to Hong Kong!

Check Availability