We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Crystal Hostel HK

Hostel | Flat E4, 11/Floor, Block E, Chung King Mansions, 36-44, Nathan Road, Tsim Tsa Tsui Hong Kong, Hong Kong 00852

73.1% Overall Rating

19 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

ANDRII MATUSHYN thinks…

"Very tidy and cosy room. TV, air conditioner, fan, fast wifi. Coffee, tea, hot water provided. Staff attitude quite friendly."

Read all Crystal Hostel HK reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

In an event of No-show without cancellation or a late cancellation, Korean Hostel has the right to charge the full amount of your stay at their hostel. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 3 days before arrival (local time). Payments made online are non-refundable. If no-show without cancellation or a late cancellation, Korean Hostel has the right to charge the full amount of your stay at their hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hong Kong

New Tokyo Hostel
14.49 USD

Hostel 85.7% 4 reviews
Day and Night Hotel
13.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.5% 143 reviews
Canadian Hostel
12.88 USD

Hostel 65.1% 297 reviews
Shanghai Hostel HK
12.88 USD

Guesthouse 69.7% 10 reviews
Ashoka Hostel
16.10 USD

Hostel 77.5% 48 reviews
Delta Hong Kong
17.71 USD

Hostel 72.2% 27 reviews
Guangdong Guest House
32.84 USD

Hostel 92.1% 207 reviews
Germany Hostel
12.07 USD

Hostel 67.8% 209 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

19 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Crystal Hostel HK'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
72.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRII MATUSHYN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 ANDRII would recommend this property

Liked: Very tidy and cosy room. TV, air conditioner, fan, fast wifi. Coffee, tea, hot water provided. Staff attitude quite friendly.

Disliked: The building where the room is located is noisy and very crowded.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the place was tiny but not uncomfortable and it was extremely clean. The staff was nice and it was conveniently located.

Disliked: The reception was on the other side of the building which was kind of annoying if you wanted information or to check out.

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014

Liked: Gave me a single room instead of a dorm as booked.

Disliked: I was given a room at another hostel in the building, perhaps the Paris Hostel but I'm not sure where I in fact ended up in the maze that is Chung King Mansions . While I was given a single rom instead it was the worst room I have ever seen. Bed was too short (Im 1.90), room was dirty with paint peeling off, walls were paper thin, and I doubt the sheets had been cleaned. The room and whole area smelled terribly and the other people were incredibly noise, talking loudly through the night and playing loud music. While I know it is limited what you can expect from a hostel in Chung King Mansions this was NOT acceptable.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is convenient for travelers

Disliked: Room and bed too small

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Keep

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

24 October 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The newness of the room (changed from the 11th floor to the 3rd floor. More work being done to adjacent areas.)

Disliked: Nil, we expected a small room which we received. We were hoping for tea/coffee making facilities from other feedback. Not so for us.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was tiled and spotless and staff changed the towel on a daily basis.

Disliked: It was tiny - but apparently this is normal in Hong Kong.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Kelly-Rose Kloester

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

15 June 2013 Kelly-Rose would recommend this property

Liked: For Hong Kong (where expectations on accommodation need to be adjusted) it was pretty good. The Chung King Mansions definitely aren't for everyone, but it was generally fine.

Disliked: They never cleaned the room. At one point that said they were going to, but we had an overflowing rubbish bin the entire 4 days we were there. Also, while we booked at the Korean, our room was actually in the Canadian.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, internet worked great and the location was super close to all the transport - I travelled mainly by bus so I suggest you get an octopus card ( sort of a pre paid travelling card , helps in making sure u dont need to carry around change! ) . Hostel was spotless and had cctv cameras - for a lone traveller i felt pretty safe and secure! would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nothing much to be honest i felt everything was decent for the price charged.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms like cells

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dominique Frankenne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, all the minimum requirement is included central location. Room clean

Disliked: Nobody at the reception when i arrived. Smell a bit in the room

The property's response is...

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We are on a trip around the world and have been traveling for about 5 months now. We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in January 2013 but only because we paid in advance and they wouldn't give us our money back. We have been to many hostels around the world and are not picky at all but this was by far the worst place we have ever stayed at. When we arrived the toilet and - what was even worse - the whole bathroom floor was full of urine. It smelled like hell and was so disgusting. When we told the owner the only answer we got was that this was coffee... yes, sure... that's why it smelled like under a bridge. The guy was really unfriendly and when we wanted to at least get our money for the next 2 nights back as we didn't want to stay there any longer he just told us that we could leave but wouldn't get any money back. Worst experience ever!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013

Liked: the reception is on floor 7! First of all the staff is friendly and description in relation to hostel is kind of right, there is instant coffee, hot water and free wifi in the floor. the room size is normal for chunking mansions.

Disliked: In some rooms the bed is to short! don't stay there when you are taler than 170cm! they only have normal beds in the more expensive room with 2 beds... which is very annoying. A very big problem was the bedding the blanked was stinking of cigaret smoke and the bed linen looked very dirty, maybe it was washed maybe not, but definitely it had some dirty spots from blood and a hole in the corner, some spots where just gray…

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Very small rooms. Not very clean. Unfriendly stuff. Don't know if the beds were cleaned.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price(super cheap) , clean (everyday new towels, clean bins etc), although room was small it was clean

Disliked: Location (Chungking mansion- i was scared to walk around by myself) , the room was smaller than what i expected (but i guess other guests houses are in same condition)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

violet bucket

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 violet would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really nice about the hostel,they provided me coffee when i arrived and when i got there i had to do some laundry and they did it for free for me,there is excellent Wi-Fi so i had no problem getting to where i wanted to go and it is in the middle of the city so its really easy to go to alot of places.

Disliked: NIL

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katterine Cua Johnson

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Katterine Cua would recommend this property

Liked: Great Budget , I loved staying here .i am going back! the staff are friendly and helpful. The room was cute and clean. Good location were shopping Malls just around the corner..

Disliked: Katterine Cua left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and the room was cleaned every day. It's located right in the centre of town so is very convenient although it was hard to find at first.

Disliked: The room is very small. We were 4 people and it was cramped even though we stayed in a 5-person room. The double beds were more like big singles. However, we chose this hostel because of the price so we can't really complain.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Amber Fraser-Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: The location is ideal in that it is really central! The room was really tiny and the bed small but after the initial shock it was pretty comfortable. There was a TV, fan, air con and a fridge (which we didn't use as it hadn't been cleaned).

Disliked: We booked into Korean Hostel but were put in Zodiac Lodge. There was no one at reception so the place didn't have much of a personality. The supposed free coffee and tea was four flights below (and not on the same escalator) so we couldn't use. Chungking Mansions is a bit strange. We felt okay there but I wouldn't recommend it for a female travelling by herself.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kor Kinster

Alone

Business / conference

25 July 2012 Kor would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel to stay in! It was clean and the rooms were priced very well..helped me stay within my budget! The WiFi worked well. Overall, I must say that I got A LOT more than I had expected. Would definitely recommend to others! P.S. Chung King Mansions is an experience within itself and also it was safe !

Disliked: Nothing really.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was not where it said. I was told to go to the 7th floor, but there is nothing there called "Korean Hostel." The sign by the ground floor elevator though had a "Korean Hostel" on 11 so I went there and had to bang on the door repeatedly, only for an intercom voice to say something unintelligible. They wouldn't even come out to meet me, this after promising someone would meet me at the bus stop (which didn't happen either). Eventually, I got back to 7, rang a bell and someone let me in, but it was very aggravating.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a god stay, better than expeted!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was geographically excellent in that it was near to the main tourist drag. The man running the place was quite nice, and he was accommodating and welcoming. The free unlimited coffee, tea, and water was really convenient and nice and made the experience much better! The floors and beds were quite clean, and we did not see any bugs and we didn't have any problems with bed bugs. Good air conditioning!

Disliked: The bathroom sink was very very moldy, which really grossed me out. There was no room for a shower, so it was like as an afterthought a showerhead was placed right above the toilet so to shower we had to stand right up against the toilet and lean over it to shower in the tiny bathroom (we stayed in a private double ensuite). it was not a comfortable or relaxing building at all, a very chaotic place with exchange houses and many many men badgering you trying to sell something or sell you on their guest house as soon as you walk downstairs and every time you come back to that big chaotic center filled with food stalls, stalls of things for sale, pushy salespeople, and thousands of hostel rooms.

The property's response is...