HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Day Hostel Hong Kong Hostel

Flat D6, Block D, 10 Floor, Chungking Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, TST, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 62%

Location 90%

Safety 67%

Staff 73%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 38.79USD

Important Information

In the case of a no show or a cancellation made less than three days before arrival a full charge of the stay will be made.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 62%

Location 90%

Safety 67%

Staff 73%

Value 70%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location was really good, bus and train station were right in front of the building. Staffs were really nice, they tried to do their best to help me.

Disliked: Rooms were tiny, dark. Bed sheets and pillow cover were not washed, i saw some blood n dirts on them, and they smelt reallllllly horrible. Cockcroaches were everywhere even on my bed. Bathroom door wasnt able to be closed somehow. And the building was really old and dirty. If you travel alone, and you are a female, i highly suggest you to just book somewhere much safer and cleaner. This is not a good place for a single female traveler!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: This place has just been renovated, so it is quite new and clean. Staff is friendly especially Jane and John. The location is perfect for shopping lovers!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location, location, locationand Indian food downstairs!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: I was stolen my cellphone

Customer would recommend this property

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing to like DO NOT STAY HERE, terrible staff they will rip you off

Disliked: Worse hostel ive ever been too, bugs, staff is awful, facilities are terrible save uourself an awful time and keep looking somewhere else


The property's response is

Dear Customer service
The Customer never stay with us as reported no show , how come he can write a negative review
This review need to be deleted asap
THanks
John

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We Arrived very late that night because we were lost in Hong Kong.When we came in the room we were a bit shoked. It was so small! We had 2 big backpacks and 2 small bags and we couldn't fit in the room. But everything was clean and we got use to it. The 2 bagpacks and 2 handbags we droped under the bed. And with the airco we had no problem staying in the room. The room had no windows.

Disliked: see comment on top, we made a film about the room and put it on youtube. You can find it on the nam Days hostel hong kong.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it was actually much better than I expected. I'd heard lots of crazy stuff about the Chungking Mansion and though as a whole it was a teeming human dumpster, the Days Hotel was a surprisingly clean and trustworthy pocket within all of the garbage. My girlfriend and I were upgraded to a private room for free. The staff were friendly, the location is unbeatable, and yes, the room is about the size of a treehouse.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, Chungking Mansions is a really interesting place.

Disliked: Not easy to find. Directions at this site are not entirely correct. You're never sure where you'll end up when booking this place. This hostel has several names and is one of 160 hostels in the building. Some of them apparently exchange guests sometimes. If you,re lucky you get a relatively spatious room :)

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location

Disliked: The beds the elevatior non working ac All people downstairs trying to make you buy things every time you get in or out

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: i was upgraded to a single room. all these rooms are in a typical hk huge building and u live on mini space, around 3.5m2, which is a cool and typical experience (probably not for guys of 1.9m or taller). there are "interesting" characters around, but it is perfectly safe (security and video cams everywhere)

Disliked: if u look for a typical backpacker's place this is not what u will find here.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability