HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of New Chung King Mansion Hotel

Hostel | Flat C5 , Floor 7, Block C, ChungKing Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44 Hong Kong, Hong Kong .

61.6% Overall Rating

70 out of 137 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/12/2011)

peter Knight thinks…

"The room was indeed tiny, but functional. Who wants to stay in the room when you're on vacation anyhow? It was always clean when we got back to the room, and we felt safe once we got upstairs. The…"

Read all New Chung King Mansion Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dear precious customer, Thank you for booking our hostel. Our hostel aims to provide a very comfortable home-feeling during your stay. We will keep the room until 00:00 on the day of your booking. You will have to pay the whole amount of room rent by the time. Print out your booking confirmation sheet and check-in with your name. We will have your name on a list of paper. Please do not show or give your booking information to any stranger, because our hostel is popular, and some people always stand in the street pretending to be our staff and bring you to a different place. They will try to get money out of you before you discovered that you have been cheated! Even when you find out the truth, they will not return the money to you. Check-in at the following address: Our Hostel Reception Office Flat C4, Floor 15 (press 15 in the lift, lift number 5), ChungKing Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong. If you would like to make any changes in your booking please contact us, we will try to help you. *you must pay the whole room rent when you check-in* When you arrive the Hong Kong Airport, there are many free telephones, please give us a call immediately at the provided cell phone number. Thanks for your attention and wish you an unforgettable holiday in Hong Kong and our hostel! Regards, The manager of the hotel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hong Kong?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hong Kong

Hollywood Guest House
22.58 USD

Hostel 67.3% 126 reviews
New International Guest House
16.77 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 94 reviews
Hong Kong Las Vegas Hotel
6.45 USD

Hotel 1 star 58.7% 174 reviews
Maple Leaf Guest House
19.35 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 126 reviews
Reliance Inn
15.48 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.5% 3 reviews
Delta Hong Kong
16.13 USD

Hostel 72.2% 27 reviews
Ashoka Hostel
16.13 USD

Hostel 77.5% 48 reviews
New Grand Hotel
25.16 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.6%

Overall Rating

70 out of 137 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New Chung King Mansion Hotel'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
63.2%
Value
58.4%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Robert Mackie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013

Liked: location - walkable to ferry

Disliked: we booked chungking mansion but was placed in star guesthouse. i guess the rooms are very similar. The room was very small literally the size of the bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and patient.

Disliked: The cockroaches - thankfully not in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter Knight

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 peter would recommend this property

Liked: The room was indeed tiny, but functional. Who wants to stay in the room when you're on vacation anyhow? It was always clean when we got back to the room, and we felt safe once we got upstairs. The staff was very helpful to us. The location is great, near the park, Star Ferry and MRT. Easy for lost tourists to find

Disliked: Standard complaints about the building as a whole, but the hostel was very good for us. While the first floor was far from clean, it wasn't as scary as reported.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011

Liked: near the parks and accessibility to all

Disliked: the indians that stay outside the place and the bad smell

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Cartellieri

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 September 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nice staff and i love hongkong

Disliked: that the elevator was soo slowly, but in addition to the pro's that little thing is deffinitely not important =)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 July 2011

Liked: the smallest room ever and ever

Disliked: small room

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: extremely small. hong kong is not a great destination for backpackers when it comes to accomodation. it's rubbish, and expensive, and ther arent any otheroptions

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: nobody at the hotels reception at 9 oclock, reception opened at 12.30 oclock, we had to wait till 12 30 to check in we have got the OTHER room then we have booked they wanted more money for paying using the credit card

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: atmosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011

Liked: the location!!! except from that...not much...the hostel is on the 15 th floor of this building with dodgy indian and african people going by day and night...they're not bad people...simply just a bit weird. The elevator smells the whole day!!!

Disliked: except from that...not much...the hostel is on the 15 th floor of this building with dodgy indian and african people going by day and night...they're not bad people...simply just a bit weird. The elevator smells the whole day!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

keith doherty

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2011

Liked: LOCATION,NEAR ALL THE SHOPPING AND GOOD SIGHTSEEING

Disliked: Bldg very old,many many people, many many street hawkers.Very difficult to find, The lifts only stop going up.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2011

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: THe smell was AWFUL, the facilities were run down and nothing worked, the bathroom shower was either way too cold or way too hot, the building itself was EXTREMELY unsafe, dangerous and horrible and overall it was just awful!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Bill Eby

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 January 2011

Liked: good money changing area

Disliked: long lines in elevators smalll rooms not like shown on internet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Somjade Kaewkulvanich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010

Liked: New room

Disliked: Size is very small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010

Liked: good location

Disliked: toilet was clean, but the toilet tank was infested with mold/mildew

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place in HK

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 August 2010

Liked: The only positive point is it's very good location: close to the pier.

Disliked: Looking at the info on the site, you would expect a warm welcome, clean, newly renovated, clean rooms, a lounge area, internet, etc.. well, no. In fact, none of that was on show for us during our three night stay. The rooms was ridiculously small, so much so that two people could not fit into the room at a time, one had to be on the bed while the other was standing. There was no internet, no info on the city, no maps, nothing. The staff were unfriendly, and not approachable. If none of the above bothers, it's the perfect place to stay in Hong Kong. If not, look elsewhere, like the Mongkok area, much nicer atmosphere, and the area more interesting and welcoming.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sasa Sijak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Sasa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, air condition, TV. Friendly service. Value for money. Recommend to visit.

Disliked: Sasa left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Across the road from TST metro underground.Small but nice clean rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The smallest room I have ever stayed it but fine for my needs. Dont use the laundry on the ground floor as they did a very poor job!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, value, desk helpfull

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

KAMLESH BAVISHI

16 May 2010

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: KAMLESH left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristina Diener

02 May 2010 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: price was good for nights with bathroom. but flush didnt wor and somebody slept at the floor. but you were able to reach stuff anytime

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good. mrt, ferry, all accessible!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for money is AMAZING. It's plain and simple, perfect for people who aren't going to spend much time in their room. Step outside and you are in the heart of Hong Kong.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.