HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Little Big House

Hostel | Andokidou 24, Thessaloniki, Greece 54634

94.4% Overall Rating

118 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2014)

Alisdair Grahame thinks…

"This place is amazing. The location is very atmospheric up on the old town, with an outside terrace where you can watch the sun set (or rise if you're one of those people). The hostel itself is…"

Read all Little Big House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.51
  • Breakfast USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Thessaloniki?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Thessaloniki

RentRooms Thessaloniki
16.57 USD

Apartment 95.0% 119 reviews
Hotel Alexander Inn
27.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.2% 19 reviews
Olympia Hotel
51.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Studios Arabas
17.95 USD

Hostel 85.7% 139 reviews
Tourist Hotel
138.05 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Luxembourg Hotel
138.05 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Colors Budget Luxury
21.40 USD

Apartment 91.0% 6 reviews
Hotel Aegeon
37.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.3% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

118 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Little Big House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 100 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alisdair Grahame

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Alisdair would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. The location is very atmospheric up on the old town, with an outside terrace where you can watch the sun set (or rise if you're one of those people). The hostel itself is immaculate and beautifully decorated. The dorms are newly refurbished, with ensuite bathrooms and kitchen areas with a sink, fridge, gas hob and microwave. Best of all is the staff, who are hands down the loveliest hostel staff I've ever come across. When we arrived, luggage in tow, the lovely woman (I forget her name) sat us down and served us frappes and biscuits free of charge, gave us a whole bunch of maps and guides for the city and a lot of brilliant advice! All in all a brilliant hostel to stay in and will definitely be coming back!

Disliked: I have nothing negative to say about the hostel itself, just beware it might take you a while to find!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmet Can Kutlu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2013 Ahmet Can would recommend this property

Liked: Vicky, the staff, was so friendly and helpful. She talks with the bus companies for me to find a ticket and shows good places to see and eat. The hostel was clean and in the old city Ana Poli.

Disliked: The breakfast could be richer Our room was small and there was some construction works outside at that time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Talitha Harley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Talitha would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, comfortable, friendly staff, cost friendly and Vicki the owner is honestly the nicest person and always willing to help with out with anything.

Disliked: Talitha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Conley

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, friendliness of staff, breakfast,

Disliked: Dark stairway, difficult to find the hostel from downtown

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly and welcoming. Loved the free welcome drink upon arrival. Courtyard out front was great for meeting other travelers and having BBQs. Located in a great area, only a little walk from the city center. Loved it so much, I ended up staying an extra night!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandra d Assumpcao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, its an example for other hostels, just like a hostel should be. You name it, clean, cheap, close to everything, breakfast (cheap), helpfull friendly staff, lockers, wifi... its awsome, wish i had stayed longer!

Disliked: The showers are a bit small...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, most welcoming hostel workers and rooms were incredible with giant lockers and a kitchen in each

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Graham Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, generally clean, ensuite bathrooms.

Disliked: My main complaint is the location. It's very hard to get to, though this was partly down to bad luck. I followed the directions and got on the bus, looking out for the "Agios Pavlos" stop. However, the bus was not announcing the stops as usual and some a-hole had put a sticker over the bus stop's name; so I went past it without even realising it! Even when you get there, it's a good 20 minutes walk from the city centre. It was also very hot and humid when I was there and the air con was only moderately effective.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where excellent, great for welcome and bookings

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the staff, who were fantastic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Niemczak

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This stay felt much more like staying with friends than staying at a hotel. Vicky was friendly and available for help and recommendations whenever they were needed. Furthermore, she knows her clientele very well and was thus able to anticipate many of our needs and questions (not to mention offer us free frappes!). The location in Ana Poli was a great plus, as the walk to and from the city center is rather pleasant and the neighborhood of Little Big House is charming.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vicky and Stella were great, really helpful and friendly hosts, such a cute little hostel with a nice courtyard to sit and relax. Would definitely recommend this hostel, probably one of the best I have stayed at :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and staff was absoluteley great!

Disliked: well, nothiing to say in this point!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I will try and give a you a view of my experience in this hostel. The location firstly is one of the nicest, set in Ano Poli which means the upper part of town, hilly, clean , with little cobbled alleys and colourful old houses. I was welcomed by the owner Vicky and her colleague on arrival with a smile and a welcome tea. I was then shown around my room which was clean and spacious, with its own self contained little kitchenette and bathroom. I was lucky in that although sharing with another 5 bunk beds, the room was all to myself initially! Even when others arrived, four of the beds can be isolated by their own door so it felt private, adequately warm, very clean, quiet and comfortable. There was a big locker with key for each of us. I had a lovely breakfast each morning for just 2 Euros, and the girls spent ages guiding me through various maps and sights of the town, and even booking me into see a play!. They even provided shampoos, hair dryer etc. Vicky herself lives in the same building and is available at any time. I really felt welcome, as if I found a home away from home. I very much hope to return to this little home-on-the-hill to see these lovely friends again!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theresa Gaffney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: I love the staff! The facilities and character were also great. The proximity to bus stops is very good.

Disliked: I liked the location and being more in a neighborhood, but others may not care for the walk into the city center. Once you get familiar with the neighborhood, you find food and nightlife are nearby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PANAGIOTIS RIGOPOULOS

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 February 2013 PANAGIOTIS would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy, super friendly staff, fully functional and neat equipment, very clean and brand new building

Disliked: Nice neighborhood (like Plaka in Athens) but needs a good physical condition due to uphill involved

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daria Kuzevanova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Daria would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the owner is great! They were very helpful and friendly, organized some appointments I needed and helped me buy the tickets for train online half the price. The room is very clean and everything is new.

Disliked: It's very difficult to find them. Streets are narrow and there are a lot of small streets that may mislead you. If you travel from Macedonia by bus - you will be disembark in the middle of a road (no bus station) and from the spot to get to the buses 23 and 24 you need to take bus 16 first and get off near the University or cemetery :) There you'll find the buses you need. One more addition: after you get off the bus 24 following their directions on the site you need to cross the street and take the left road where you will see bars ON your left and on you right and also kind of a cliff. Don't take the street up as I did following their instructions to take the street with the bars on your left. Take the one with the bars on your both sides, the cliff on your left. If you have a heavy bag - sorry for you, cause the streets are not the best to drug your suitcase with a lot of stairs. Breakfast is not included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mari Mogstad Eri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2012 Mari Mogstad would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice and clean hostel up in the hills in Thessaloniki. The staff was wonderful!

Disliked: Might be a bit far from downtown for some, but I think it was a very nice walk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Little Big House is such a wonderful property! It is clean, spacious, provides a free welcome frappe + Greek dessert (delicious!), towel, and even a garden area for relaxing. The staff is SO helpful and friendly, and really made me feel at home!

Disliked: My only complaint is that the property is hard to find even though they give directions (in Greek and English) via email. It's also sort of an uphill climb since it's located on a side street in Ano Polis. Luckily, Thessaloniki is relatively walkable and safe, and public transportation is quite reliable - so it's fine.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nestor Espinoza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Nestor would recommend this property

Liked: This is how all hostels should be, spotlessly clean, with new and well taken care of furniture and appliances. Best thing is that each room is organised as a separate self catering unit, I stayed in a 4 bedroom room, which was divided in 2, with it's own bathroom and kitchenette. I happened to be alone, so it was great value, but if you share there is a much better chance that you'll make new friends with this setup.

Disliked: Parking is not ideal, but that is just a detail. However, in season it might be a problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hosts were very helpful and informative. Location is great, rooms and bathrooms were incredibly clean. Great place!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Our stay was ideal, a nice slice of home. Best view in the city.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Narita Prieto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Narita would recommend this property

Liked: Typical Greek housing, the stuff you see in movies! Great restraunt 20m down the street, spacious rooms, cute courtyard

Disliked: Difficult for taxi drivers to find, they don't know the street name. The Local Directions given by the hostel are very helpful, DO use them if lost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first stay at a hostel, and I am sold! Vicky and Harris take great care of their guests! We had a lovely time chatting, and the complimentary Frappes were delicious! The hostel was wonderfully decorated and Vicky was so helpful in helping us plan our visit through the city and surrounding area. Loved it! They take great care of their guests, and even send you directions to find the hostel both in English and Greek (in case you need to ask for directions and they can't speak English). Brilliant!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tules Saatcioglu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Tules would recommend this property

Liked: staff was so helpful and nice.. location is also good , it was very close to main things. breakfast is nice too :) very beautiful hostel!! totally recommend here

Disliked: nothing