HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Caveland

Hostel | 39 Karterados, Santorini Island, Greece 847 00

92.5% Overall Rating

76 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Phillip Yeatman thinks…

"The hostel itself is beautiful, a great place to relax. The staff were very friendly."

Read all Caveland reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Your booking can be modified or cancelled 48 hours before your arrival. Otherwise we reserve the right to charge your whole stay to your card. 10% that you pay upon booking your accommodation is non-refundable and cannot be deducted from the final amount in case of shortening of your stay or cancelaltions. "The January Sales Price" is available only if you stay for 3 nights in a row with us. If your stay is shorter, standard price applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santorini Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santorini Island

Mirsini Pansion
22.76 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Anna Pension
29.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Babis
22.76 USD

Hotel 1 star 93.2% 13 reviews
Emmanuela Studios
26.78 USD

Apartment 96.6% 10 reviews
Hotel Karterados
13.39 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 10 reviews
Pension Stella
24.10 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Lodos
46.87 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Agas Hotel
29.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

76 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caveland'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ming Li

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Ming would recommend this property

Liked: really good service and I love it as well as the staff very much

Disliked: no

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Phillip Yeatman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is beautiful, a great place to relax. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: It's a little out of the way. Not a problem if you hire a scooter/quad bike.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great rustic feel. I loved the rooms and the family atmosphere

Disliked: gives the initial impression of being an abandoned house, the pool is not clean and the littered entrance makes you think twice about checking in

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys who run the hostel, Andy and Rachel, were extremely fun to be around. They partied and got along well with the guest at the hostel and it was a pleasure meeting them! Good job guys! I like the facilities at this hostel. I booked a 4 bed dorm room with an aircon, a humidifer, a bar fridge, security boxes with plugs in them that allowed you to charge your electronics in the boxes themselves, a closet with hangers, a couch and plenty of power outlets in the room. There is a place at the hostel for sunbathing on beach chairs and an area for yoga and hanging your laundry. You can also rent a beach towel if you feel like sunbathing on the beach. The hostel is also very well decorated by the owner and the common area felt very homely. It is one of the very few hostels that I have been to where I walked in and I was blown away by how it looked and felt. The owner seems to truely understand and cater for the needs of backpackers. I found it really easy to meet people in this hostel and find people to do stuff with, which is really important to me as I was travelling alone and was looking for companionship during my travels. If you like dogs, the hostel also has 3 friendly dogs on the premises which guests can play with. I had stayed at this hostel for 5 nights however I had enjoyed my stay so much that I even came back to the hostel for an extra 3 nights.

Disliked: I think the hostel is a bit far from Fira and it takes 25 minutes walk into town. You then have to wait for the bus and travel on the bus in Fira to the other towns in Santorini such as Oia. The minutes do add up and be prepared for longer than usual travelling time on the island. However, one clever backpacker that I met on my first night there mentioned to me that while the hostel is far from the town, people who stay here will only be good kind people who had thought about this and still choose to stay here for a specific reason. These will not be the guys who stay on Santorini for 1 or 2 days and choose to keep to themselves during their trip (the anti-socialites). You are therefore immediately guarantee to meet someone who has the same reason for staying in Cavelands as you do and you are on your way to making great friends and having an awesome experience on the island, which happened to me. In low season, the pool at the hostel is not available for swimming, however, you will still be able to go to the beaches in Karterados by walking 30 minutes or taking the bus in Fira to Perissa or Kamari (Black Beach) or Akrotiri (Red Beach) for sunbathing. The wifi doesn't connect well within the caves, even the wifi at reception was a bit poor at times. One would have to exit the caves to fully utilise the wifi. I would say that is something the hostel needs to improve on for their guests. Be aware that there are fruit flies on the premises which tends to hang around the reception area during the Spring / Summer months. They don't bite so not to worry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Yahrling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely incredible hostel!! We spent 5 unforgettable nights in Caveland and had the greatest time. Rachel and Andy are such great people, who made our stay so worth while. The hostel itself is really cool, and there was so much to do on Santorini. If you go to Santorini, you HAVE to go to Caveland!! Thanks for a wonderful time!

Disliked: Denise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YOUNGHO JEON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 YOUNGHO would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. It is little bit difficult to find the place, you should notice before you go there.

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky, friendly, casual.

Disliked: A long walk to the local bus services

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED this place. SO awesome to stay in the old cave houses - WHAT an experience in Santorini. Each house has its own bathroom and kitchen which was awesome. Although it looks far - its really only a ten minute walk into Fira plus there is an ATV rental place closeby for the rest of the island. I was there during low season and still had a blast! Would love to come back during the summer and get the true Greek Island vibe :)

Disliked: Devon left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a spacious and beautiful place good view

Disliked: it is a bit far from the city centre the reception gal is trying to help but she's too new (juz few weeks there) better verify her advise before taking it but the owner knows the place very well and his information is much more reliable and he is very willing to help too

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Kilner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the character of this place and learned that it used to be a winery. The owner is very interesting and knowledgeable and is also a tour guide - the staff is friendly and efficient. There is a pool on the premises and a feeling of space and light. I also met some lovely people staying there. Santorini is the kind of place that's hard to leave, so I ended up staying 4 nights.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abby Elisha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Abby would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've ever stayed in! My girlfriend and I loved it. So beautiful, perfect location, amazing staff and facilities.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thanh Thuy Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Thanh Thuy would recommend this property

Liked: Caveland is not located in Fira so if you want to get there, you have to walk for 25 minutes or catch bus. It's a minus. But, Caveland is in very lovely and peaceful area, surroundings are good with shops, restaurants, people are nice also.there is a supermarket near so it's very convenient to buy cheap things (and here cards are accepted) Bus stop just few minutes walk from Caveland. Normal breakfast. The guy in reception is very friendly and willing to give you any info you need. Overall,it's a nice place to stay with good value.

Disliked: Thanh Thuy left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price of this hostel was very reasonable for Santorini. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious enough. The concept of the hostel was really unique and cool too - I loved the cave theme throughout the hostel!

Disliked: A bit far from Fira or any other towns. The reception is only open from 9am or 9pm so if you leave before/arrive after this time then you have to sort stuff out for yourself which is quite hard since the public transport on Santorini is not great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very cool, even when the A/C was turned off. Good location. Close to Fira but still very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Very clean. There was a pool!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my time at caveland. Nabil was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nabil up at front desk was so helpful! When we couldn't get a taxi out to the ferry, he found a way! He always has a helpful word and a smile for everyone. The property itself was beautiful and the dogs were such a treat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pravash Sahoo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Pravash would recommend this property

Liked: At reception they keep the key and map for my room ,which is really appreciable.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dilahn De Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2013 Dilahn would recommend this property

Liked: great common room and outdoor pool area. friendly staff always wiling to help

Disliked: small security lockers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cute hostel with friendly reception!

Disliked: I'm satisfied about all of them but only the location is not so convenient, better rent a car!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, atmosphere. Owner offered a ride to town. He gave a ride to the airport on his errand.

Disliked: Owner seemed a little too concerned about saving expenses, such as inviting donation for tea and coffee, . I would rather see they charge a little more than having to feel guilty about taking a tea bags to make a cup of tea.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chui Yee Joy Chong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Chui Yee Joy would recommend this property

Liked: Stylishly beautiful atmosphere, lovely garden, sea view of the quieter east coast of the island, distanced view from Fira. Staff Simone was great as well.

Disliked: quite a distance from main road and main town, but as long as you rent bike or a car it's actually great to live in the village rather than elsewhere touristy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Igor Andrei Hernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Igor Andrei would recommend this property

Liked: Attention

Disliked: Igor Andrei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamila Soltysik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Kamila would recommend this property

Liked: everything! but mostly the character! this place is amazing. Inspiring and relaxing. The trees, the flowers, the furnitures, the notices on walls, the pictures, the ornaments, the rooms, the kitchen, the toilet, the dogs, their ball.. I didn't want to leave this place!! and i still miss it..

Disliked: u kidding? nothing! It was THE BEST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. and trust me-i travel a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a beautiful place, excelent atmosphery, perfect to know santoriny.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful host, great wifi connections, ktichen accomidations, and very quiet. Awesome hostel!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.