HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Paraga Beach Hostel

Hostel | Mykonos Camping, Paraga Beach, 84600 Mykonos Island, Greece 84600

65.9% Overall Rating

122 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Sena Turkdogan thinks…

"The lounge area and the beach are beyond amazing. The common are was very nice with a lovely view. Paraga is probably one of the best beaches on the island. Very well located. The common bathroom and…"

Read all Paraga Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.98
  • Breakfast USD 3.98
  • Linen USD 3.98

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mykonos Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mykonos Island

Paradise Beach Resort
39.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.8% 614 reviews
Paradise View Hotel
66.34 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa Vasilis
26.54 USD

Hostel 84.6% 54 reviews
Paradise Beach Camping
19.90 USD

Campsite 64.1% 18 reviews
Artemoulas Studios
43.12 USD

Apartment 95.2% 55 reviews
Argo Hotel
74.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.3% 90 reviews
Esperides Apartments
33.17 USD

Apartment 97.3% 83 reviews
Mina Studios
39.80 USD

Apartment 88.7% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

122 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paraga Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
60.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 172 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sena Turkdogan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2014 Sena would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge area and the beach are beyond amazing. The common are was very nice with a lovely view. Paraga is probably one of the best beaches on the island. Very well located. The common bathroom and shower areas are also very spacious and clean.

Disliked: Some of the staff was quite rude to us. When we asked for directions the girl at the desk was basically yelling at us for wasting her time and claimed "why should I know where that address is? If I came to your city and asked you for random directions would you know where it was??" Secondly, we had booked for a 5 bed accommodation since we were traveling 5 people and they put us in a shack with 8 because "that's all that was left and we were lucky to not be split up". Third of all, one of the toilets had back flowed and we had to cross a river of crap every time we wanted to reach our shack (lack of a better description for the room).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Eves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome pool/bar area. Good access via a cheap bus to Mykonos town. Don't know why everyone complains about this place, it is cheap and very basic but has a great atmosphere, the staff were helpful! Give them a break they are pretty busy running a place with 100s of people staying! Bed was comfortable. No air conditioning but what do you expect, it's a campsite! Toilet/shower blocks are typical of a campsite and i found them to be clean, the toilet paper is kept by the wash basin not the toilets, I imagine to discourage people flushing it and blocking the sewers..very common in Greece..and it was always available. The cabins made me laugh but really they are fine. If you are stuck up and like everything to be very nice then pay 4 times as much for a hotel somewhere else and go and moan about that!

Disliked: It was fine by me

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alana Naylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas and restaurants had good food and a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: - terrible wifi - unhelpful staff - ridiculous washing facilities (we had to leave our clothes to be washed by the staff who proceeded to rinse our belongings and leave them sitting in a wet bag for an entire day! Provided no drying facilities!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and environment

Disliked: Nil

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Vincent Marquis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: Nothing. I'm sorry but it was my experience.

Disliked: No working wifi (had to eat out to get wifi)... The rooms were filthy with no a/c... You basically sleep 2 inch from your next neighbors. There is no soap nor toilet paper in the bathrooms.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alister Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 July 2014

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Staff are rude. Wifi is terrible. Make you pay for their own internet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jorge mendez

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Landscape, music, the bus service. Because he pick up us from the airport

Disliked: jorge left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014

Liked: Nothing much

Disliked: Staff were very unhelpful and rude, the breakfast food was horrible, we paid to stay in a cabin and ended up in a horrible dirty tent with no explanation, there was one roll of communal toilet paper for an entire set of toilets, the showers were dirty, we had to pay if we wanted to sit by the pool, there was no cooking facilities and I just wanted to leave as soon as I arrived.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Stephanie Rubinstein

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014

Liked: Such an awful place. Never recommend this

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Michael Klein

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: great location, international guests

Disliked: missing kitchen facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location & awesome pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniela Menniti

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Paraga Beach Hostel is like none other: it truly encompasses both the party and beach atmosphere of Mykonos. I really enjoyed the infinity pool overlooking the beach, the easy access to Paraga Beach, the poolside bar/restaurant, the mini market, and the DJ playing music all day. The music was always perfect for the time of day: more relaxed during the morning and afternoon, and more pumped up at night. The deck transformed into a dance floor at night, with strobe lights setting the mood. There were many beach chairs with mats, tables and bean bag chairs set around the pool for guests to use. The food served at the poolside restaurant was distinctively Greek and always very delicious. The shuttles between both the airport/port and the hostel were perfect

Disliked: I found that the poolside bar/restaurant and mini market were a bit pricey. I also would have liked having the option of renting a towel, as the cheapest one available in the mini market was 10 euros. Keep in mind that guests stay in cabins/cabin tents instead of rooms at Paraga Beach Hostel. For this reason the beds were a little bit uncomfortable, the tents were warm at night and bugs found their way into the tents, although this was bearable for me.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrin Hilger

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 May 2014 Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: It is easy and simple but clean and very cool.

Disliked: Katrin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our tent is overlooking the bay, a view that is to die for

Disliked: Toilets and showers are a fair walk

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hayden Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere here was amazing, very easy to party

Disliked: I stayed in the dorm and it was very hot and didn't have lockers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool area and access to the beautiful beach.

Disliked: Worst pizza ever! Bathroom facilities felt very camp-like and the dorms had a very ineffective fan so it was quite stuffy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Heathcote

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 September 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: I have just returned from a three week backpacking stint, of which Paraga Beach Hostel was my first stop. I really wanted to leave a rating on here, as I was a bit worried about this place when I'd booked it - there was no need to be! There seems to be a lot of negative reviews but maybe everyone was expecting an amazing Mykonos hotel?! It's clean and friendly and does the job. I stayed in a mixed dorm which was fine, also saw some of the other rooms - the "pod" type camping things - they're far from luxurious but considering the location (right on the beach) it's not bad at all.

Disliked: The bar prices are a little steep, and the staff perhaps a little bit surly but it was no big deal.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful lounge area, ended up hanging out there must of the time. Not sure why so many people complained about the staff, they were fine to me, I guess you just have to be polite and patient. Shuttle pickup was convenient.

Disliked: have to pay 2 Euro for water which gets expensive

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Laura Curle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Great Bar and eating area. Amazing Pool and sunbed area. Gyros were amazing and the only cheap thing there!

Disliked: Very expensive for drinks and things such as getting laundry done. No kitchen area so you have to buy overpriced food from the canteen. Staff were rude and not friendly. The manager told us she would organise the bus to take us to the port to get a late night ferry but when we were ready to go she went to get the bus driver and they had a full on row in Greek which was really embarassing. Bus driver said he wouldnt take us and then she turned round and said that she didnt say we could 'definitly' get transport to the port that late. We had to get the local bus and then a 55 minute walk which was really dangerous and exhausting with 20kg of stuff each! Really unhappy with the fact they lied to us and caused us so much hassle. There were a number of people complaining about the wifi and the way they handled those were really bad. One French staff just shrugged her shoulders. Terrible customer service. It almost feels like they feel that the hostel is so great that if anyone has any issues they dont need to rectify.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: It was grossly overpriced. We went to many other greek islands and stayed in proper rooms with beds, air-condtioning and an ensuite all for a 1/3 of the price. The showers and toilets were very unclean. No bedding was provided even though we were paying 21euros a night. There was one socket in our "room" (tent) and a tiny mirror. No return taxi service to the port was provided despite the fact that the minibus went there to collect people.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: The pool and bar area was nice. Location.

Disliked: Unhelpful and rude staff. Bathrooms were dirty and smelly. Rooms very basic no power outlets.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Matthew Saroufim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2013

Liked: The location and that is all

Disliked: BYO toilet paper toilets can be smelt from all over the campsite! The pool is covered at 7pm and when asked why I was told if you don't like it then leave!! Receptionist pretends they can't speak English but when they want something they all speak fluent English!!

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013

Liked: Good public area. Bathing rooms are well-designed so that your clothes won't be wet when u take shower. Some staff are friendly and helpful when they are not busy.

Disliked: The check in and check out system. They seem got to finish all the check-outs, then start to do the check-ins. We have been waiting for 6hours to get a cabin. But be fair, it might because it's peaking season rite now. When we got into the cabin, it's good that they got a fan there. Yet, it needs a three-legged adaptor to fit in the two-legged socket they provide in the room. A bit funny about that.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its like they created a concentration camp for partying...and i like it

Disliked: one powerpoint in the 8 bed dorms...but its for the fan lol.