HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Paraga Beach Hostel

Hostel | Mykonos Camping, Paraga Beach, 84600 Mykonos Island, Greece 84600

65.6% Overall Rating

100 out of 154 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2013)

Craig Heathcote thinks…

"I have just returned from a three week backpacking stint, of which Paraga Beach Hostel was my first stop. I really wanted to leave a rating on here, as I was a bit worried about this place when I'd…"

Read all Paraga Beach Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.14
  • Breakfast USD 4.14
  • Linen USD 4.14

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mykonos Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mykonos Island

Paradise Beach Resort
24.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.4% 611 reviews
Paradise View Hotel
92.46 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Villa Vasilis
20.70 USD

Hostel 82.3% 51 reviews
Paradise Beach Camping
13.80 USD

Campsite 65.2% 6 reviews
Artemoulas Studios
165.61 USD

Apartment 93.0% 50 reviews
Argo Hotel
31.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.2% 89 reviews
Esperides Apartments
20.70 USD

Apartment 97.3% 83 reviews
Mina Studios
22.08 USD

Apartment 88.7% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

100 out of 154 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paraga Beach Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
53.6%
Value
64.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 148 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hayden Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere here was amazing, very easy to party

Disliked: I stayed in the dorm and it was very hot and didn't have lockers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great pool area and access to the beautiful beach.

Disliked: Worst pizza ever! Bathroom facilities felt very camp-like and the dorms had a very ineffective fan so it was quite stuffy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Heathcote

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 September 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: I have just returned from a three week backpacking stint, of which Paraga Beach Hostel was my first stop. I really wanted to leave a rating on here, as I was a bit worried about this place when I'd booked it - there was no need to be! There seems to be a lot of negative reviews but maybe everyone was expecting an amazing Mykonos hotel?! It's clean and friendly and does the job. I stayed in a mixed dorm which was fine, also saw some of the other rooms - the "pod" type camping things - they're far from luxurious but considering the location (right on the beach) it's not bad at all.

Disliked: The bar prices are a little steep, and the staff perhaps a little bit surly but it was no big deal.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful lounge area, ended up hanging out there must of the time. Not sure why so many people complained about the staff, they were fine to me, I guess you just have to be polite and patient. Shuttle pickup was convenient.

Disliked: have to pay 2 Euro for water which gets expensive

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Laura Curle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Great Bar and eating area. Amazing Pool and sunbed area. Gyros were amazing and the only cheap thing there!

Disliked: Very expensive for drinks and things such as getting laundry done. No kitchen area so you have to buy overpriced food from the canteen. Staff were rude and not friendly. The manager told us she would organise the bus to take us to the port to get a late night ferry but when we were ready to go she went to get the bus driver and they had a full on row in Greek which was really embarassing. Bus driver said he wouldnt take us and then she turned round and said that she didnt say we could 'definitly' get transport to the port that late. We had to get the local bus and then a 55 minute walk which was really dangerous and exhausting with 20kg of stuff each! Really unhappy with the fact they lied to us and caused us so much hassle. There were a number of people complaining about the wifi and the way they handled those were really bad. One French staff just shrugged her shoulders. Terrible customer service. It almost feels like they feel that the hostel is so great that if anyone has any issues they dont need to rectify.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: It was grossly overpriced. We went to many other greek islands and stayed in proper rooms with beds, air-condtioning and an ensuite all for a 1/3 of the price. The showers and toilets were very unclean. No bedding was provided even though we were paying 21euros a night. There was one socket in our "room" (tent) and a tiny mirror. No return taxi service to the port was provided despite the fact that the minibus went there to collect people.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: The pool and bar area was nice. Location.

Disliked: Unhelpful and rude staff. Bathrooms were dirty and smelly. Rooms very basic no power outlets.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Matthew Saroufim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2013

Liked: The location and that is all

Disliked: BYO toilet paper toilets can be smelt from all over the campsite! The pool is covered at 7pm and when asked why I was told if you don't like it then leave!! Receptionist pretends they can't speak English but when they want something they all speak fluent English!!

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013

Liked: Good public area. Bathing rooms are well-designed so that your clothes won't be wet when u take shower. Some staff are friendly and helpful when they are not busy.

Disliked: The check in and check out system. They seem got to finish all the check-outs, then start to do the check-ins. We have been waiting for 6hours to get a cabin. But be fair, it might because it's peaking season rite now. When we got into the cabin, it's good that they got a fan there. Yet, it needs a three-legged adaptor to fit in the two-legged socket they provide in the room. A bit funny about that.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its like they created a concentration camp for partying...and i like it

Disliked: one powerpoint in the 8 bed dorms...but its for the fan lol.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for beach and going out at night.

Disliked: Very expensive to buy anything and not as clean as it could be.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Matias Ly

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

30 July 2013

Liked: The worst place ! and the staff is the worst too... I have an accident and nobody helps me.

Disliked: all

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas are very nice! The swimming pool is beautiful and clean, and the bar has live music all day long. The staff were really friendly.

Disliked: For the money you pay the "rooms" ( in my case it was a bungalow) are not good. Very very hot, dirty, there is no air conditioning or fan, and if you opened the door you will have an invation of Mosquitos and spiders. The window was a joke ( very small). Anyway everyday a finish with new mosquito bites. From the rooms you can hear very loud the music.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right next to paradise beach which has the good nightlife but y staying at paraga you get the nicer beach and pool area during the day. Rooms are really basic but for the location and what your paying its so good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , beach is amazing short walk to paradise is where the parties at!! Wifi is ok and u don't have to buy something just ask for code at the bar... Food is nice.. Rooms have lockers, staff r fun n friendly!!! Great fun so glad I ignored the reviews earlier and booked because we had the best time and met some amazing ppl ! Would recommend to anyone!!!!!

Disliked: The toilets stink but you get that when its old... Couldn't get turkey sandwich after twelve annoying!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cheryl Theo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: They have a bar and sun beds are provided where guest of the hostel have complimentary usage. If you just need a place to sleep for the night and want to safe on accommodation, the tents are very suitable. There is also a shuttle service at a small charge to the city centre. For the amount that you're paying, it is very reasonable and value for money!

Disliked: Some bugs flying in the tents but there's pretty common considering that it is a campsite and it is out in the open.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013

Liked: The location was beautiful, the beach was lovely and the pool area really nice.

Disliked: If only they put the same amount of effort into the rooms and bathrooms... The room was literally a wooden shack with tiny prison style beds. It was boiling hot all day and night, with a fan that barely worked. The toilets were often dirty and lacked paper, and the showers were like public beach showers. And there is constantly music blasting from four different places all day and night. I'd recommend splitting a better hotel between friends than this place.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alessandra d' Assumpcao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013

Liked: The beach is beautiful! The pool area is really nice and beautiful and the mini market is helpful as well.

Disliked: So many things. The check in of the people arriving in the first ferry takes forever! The dorms are not dorms, just as many beds they could fit in 4 walls. I had BED BUGS in the first night, reception could not help during the night so I had to wait until 8am to switch beds, but the receptionist didnt even know what bed bugs were! Staff seems lost, they are not sure of the services they provide. No atm around. The showers keep going from cold to hot each 5 seconds and are smelly. You dont have to ruin your stay in Mykonos staying there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Paraga Beach Hostel is a party hostel. If that's the purpose of your trip to Mykonos, then it's perfect. That being said, it really is like glorified camping. The tents we stayed in were very basic, and the sleeping bags left in the rooms night after night were a bit interesting. However, the pool area and dancing area were beautiful and clean, and the windy island of Greece is also very beautiful. The food offered was also good.

Disliked: We didn't anticipate the hostel being removed from other things, and that the beach and pool area both require you to pay for a drink or umbrellas. Every extra thing was expensive, but the tent itself was a good deal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's so close to the beach, and gorgeous views over the bay.

Disliked: It's very basic, as described - is more like camping than being at a hostel. The bathrooms are a little gross.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mitchell Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2013 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: Property is set on perfect location and has easy access to all the essential parts of Mykonos.

Disliked: No air-conditioning and a little bit more group organizing would be great.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2013

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Sleeping areas

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pravash Sahoo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Pravash would recommend this property

Liked: The Beach..

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Silvia Vilarinhos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2013

Liked: Located at the beautiful Paraga beach with a nice view from the common area.

Disliked: Not well clean. Dark way to get the tent. Miss a second linen to cover.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amelia Kaldy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 May 2013 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: A fun place to stay with great staff and a nice atmosphere. The beach is right on the doorstep, there is a great bar and pool.

Disliked: The bathroom was average - sometimes no toilet paper available.