We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Windmill Rooms

Hostel | Ios Island, Cyclades, Greece Ios Island, Greece 840 01

96.2% Overall Rating

26 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Emily Hart thinks…

"It was a great place to stay, comfortable and clean rooms, great location! The staff were so friendly! I would recommend this to anyone!!"

Read all The Windmill Rooms reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ios Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ios Island

Markos Village
13.92 USD

Hostel 90.5% 121 reviews
NISSOS IOS HOTEL
36.69 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Margarita Rooms
12.65 USD

Hostel 80.0% 3 reviews
Skala Hotel
13.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 47 reviews
Village Twins
29.10 USD

Hostel 93.7% 5 reviews
Afroditi Hotel
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel George and Irene
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.0% 17 reviews
Ios Resort
56.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 98.9% 74 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

26 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Windmill Rooms'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 26 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Pavlo and his son George are very good and helpful people!

Disliked: The rooms and staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hart

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay, comfortable and clean rooms, great location! The staff were so friendly! I would recommend this to anyone!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliot Bryan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

19 August 2013 Elliot would recommend this property

Liked: I had an excellent time here and thoroughly recommend it. Pavlos is a fantastic host, really looks after you, funny and always has some great stories! The location is great as it is literally 3-4 mins from the nightlife and yet you don't hear any noise from it at all while at the hostel. Will definitely be coming back!

Disliked: Elliot left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ennis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, highly recommend it. You won't regret it. Pavlos the owner is a top class guy. Loves a friendly chat, very welcoming & accommodating. Would return just to have a chat with him again. Accommodation is excellent, very comfortable and secure. Air con. Fridge, private bathrooms and showers each room.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin White

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Pavlos the owner was fabulous and always up for a chat. We had a private room with private bathroom and both were well kept and cleaned daily. Very impressed. Location is a minutes walk to the main square and busy night light but the actual accommodation is quiet and relaxing.

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed at the Windmill Rooms for 2 nights. It was a very short taxi ride from the port and cost about 6-7 euros one-way. The owner, Pavlos, was incredible and very welcoming. He was extremely friendly and always went out of his way to make sure we were having the most comfortable stay possible. The hostel was right in the heart of the village and only a few minutes walk to all the major bars and restaurants. I always felt safe walking home, even into the early hours. Air-conditioning and ensuite bathroom was great. Highly recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith Lee

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2012 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this place! A 1 minute walk from the main square where all the bars/clubs are located, and 2 minutes down to the main street, but also far enough away from the noise... so the location can't be beat! Pavlos the owner is the funniest, loveliest, friendliest guy you'll ever meet, and goes out of his way to make sure you have the best time possible while in Ios. The rooms are cleaned everyday and have aircon which is a savior, and there's also a nice balcony out the front of the building to relax on. Everyone's really friendly, nd it's also not too far away from the Mylopolotos beac, walking distance about 15 mins downhill. Definitely book here for your stay in ios, I'll be returning! I really loved staying here and am recommending it to all my friends.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Windmill Rooms is one of the best places I have ever stayed, thanks mostly to Pavlos, the wonderful owner! He was always up for a chat, very generous, and a great source of knowledge!The rooms themselves are great, super clean, and very close to both the center of town where all the going out places are, and the beach. It was such a pleasure to stay there and to meet Pavlos, I hope that I can make it back to Ios one day so that I can visit again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the main village, Chora, but it was far out enough so no noise from the clubs could be heard at night. Good air conditioning.

Disliked: I could hear everything out in the halls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owner, clean rooms and brilliant location

Disliked: Nothing I didn't like

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely perfect location. almost right in town a very short walk down side streets to the centre of clubs very useful at night. walk down to the main beach or a 5 euro cab. Palo the owner goes above and beyond to accommodate all guests. could not recommend higher.

Disliked: NOTHING

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

michael kerle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: helpful friendly staff, close to town

Disliked: away from the beach

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, 5 mins walk from the main square, great room, clean, air-conditioned. But the best thing about this place is the hospitality of Pavlos the owner, so friendly, great to have a chat to, he's there all the time if you need anything and recommended the best places to go out as he is a local and knows everyone in the village!!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Madison Holdsworth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Madison would recommend this property

Liked: There is everything to like about windmills, we absolutely loved our stay there! The hotel is in a great location and although it is about a 15 minute walk to the beach it could not be closer to the town. Pavlos made us so comfortable and welcome that we looked forward to chatting with him and getting some words of wisdom on the Greek culture and life! The rooms are lovely and clean and although the towels don't get changed everyday the lady that cleans the rooms is very honest and concerned for the security of your belongings. If we went back to Ios we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Wassel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Everythıng! Its ın an awesome locatıon, you can walk everywhere! It ıs near all clubs and perfect ıf you want to party. Its up a hıll, near the wındmılls and has an amazıng vıew ıf you walk up to the wındmılls whıch are a few metres away. Pavlos the owner ıs lovely, very frıendly and there to help you wıth all your needs. Nıce rooms and comfortable beds. No curfew, we came and went whenever, ıf you want to get home at 8 ın the mornıng you can, and pavlos ıs there to greet you. He ıs laıd back and happy for you to soak up the party atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothıng.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: No negative comments can be made

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and good safe location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean rooms and so close to the main square with all the restaurants and bars also short walk or bus ride to the beach and staff are so helpful couldnt ask for better staff definately stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Costa Calmon

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

06 September 2010 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The very best thing about The Windmills is its owner, Pavlos. You couldn't ask for a better host! We deeply enjoyed our time listened to his histories and sipping his homemade wine from the islands. Location is also perfect, 5 minutes walk from the city center and close to the farout beach. The rooms are spotless clean and very confy. I definetely recommend!

Disliked: I loved every aspect of my stay at The Windmills.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all the night spots cheap food and authentic Greek food also. It is 10 min walk from the popular beach but still located in a quite location to get some really good sleep. A/c was fabolous.

Disliked: Towels where small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Thanh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2010 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: This small family hostel is very well located, not directly in Hora Downtown, where all the noise is, but only about 5 mins away. The owner, Pavlos, is an amazing helpful man, very friendly. it is a very beautiful hostel, with private rooms, so it kind of gave us a good break from the hostels and dorms !not a party hostel, but the best place we got to rest a little and party a lot every night we were in Ios !

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Middleton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: we loved it here!!! pablo is the nicest host possible, we will deffenitly come back next time were in Ios, very hard to leave! good location, right in town yet in a nice quiet area. 15 minutes walk to the beach but a very pleasant walk, and walking distance to other nice beaches too.great place great people!

Disliked: Gina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam weeks

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2010 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Please be assured i have not just ticked all good with out proper consideration. Pavlos place is fantastic location to the town, and stumbling distance from the night spots. He was a superb host and went out his way to make sure we were well looked after. Also helped us to arrange a hotel in Santorini. Get stay at a great price both male and female friendly. and if you ask nicely Pavlo might show you a two finger push up :)

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED staying here. The hotel is located not far from the ferry, nearby beaches and restaurants. Only a short 10 minute bus trip from the port (the buses are every 15 minutes). The rooms are very clean and the bathroom was excellent. The owner Pavlos made you feel at home and was fun to talk to. It was a great place to relax and I would definately recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Pizimolas

29 August 2009 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: 5 mins walk into town. a good 30 min walk to Mylopotas beach - but it's scenic and all downhill and there are regular buses back from Far Out on Mylopotas beach which take 5 mins. No wifi but it was available at a nearby restaurant. Pavlos, the owner, was very friendly and helpful with lots of information about where things were in and around town and recommendations for restaurants etc were all great. we'd stay again!

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.