HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Crete Island, Greece

95.4%
226 reviews Book Now 
1

Rethymno Youth Hostel

Hostel
41 Tobazi Street, Rethymno, Crete Island, Greece 74100

215 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rethymno Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 100% Facilities - 91% Safety - 88%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 100%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 09 July 2014

This property was very clean. It's location was great and gave you a great feel of the surrounding town. The staff were extremely friendly. You could always find one of them around the hostel at any time. They also made us feel very welcome when we arrived.

Brit Cowan
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Brit would recommend this property 07 July 2014

The energy of this place is so fantastic. It's a true backpackers hostel. There's cheap beer in the fridge, and the staff will take you to the best bars in the city. We had such a fun night dancing with Alex! The location is so central to everything, and for this price, what else can you ask for? I wish we stayed longer!

95.2%
3 reviews Book Now 
2

Ikaros Villas

Apartment
Makrigialos, Makrigialos, Crete Island, Greece 72055

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ikaros Villas

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 86% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Kalyan Reddy Methermetla
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Kalyan Reddy would recommend this property 14 March 2011

George & Nota - managers were very helpful, Our ferry was delayed and by the time we got to Ierapetra, it was late and there were no buses available, they were very kind to pick us up (it is a 20 min drive from Makrigialos). We were told that the room we booked had some problems and they gave us a much better place instead :-). They were very helpful in many ways. The place itself is close to the beach (pebble beach) but one can get to sandy beach after a 5 minute walk. There are couple of georges close by which can be accessed by foot or by car. Overall, a good experience.

daniel wood
100.0%
daniel would recommend this property 27 June 2010

Clean, well-equipped apartment, with kitchen, TV, AC, and instant hot water. Beachfront (rocky beach) but less than 5 minute walk to nice sandy beach. We had a bit of trouble finding it, so we asked at a local market and they called George to come and get us. Manager onsite, which was helpful bc the power went out twice ( George quickly restored it). Makrysgialos is about 1.5 hours driving from Heraklion, however, the beach was nearly empty and the townspeople VERY friendly! We enjoyed the slow pace of life there and had the opportunity to go to another popular beach town in the north, which was packed with people and nerve wracking to walk through. We would recommend Ikaros and makrygialos to anyone going to Crete, it was the highlight of Greece for us as well as being our least expensive accomodations there!

93.4%
13 reviews Book Now 
3

Axos

3 star Hotel
Maxis Kritis 167, Platanias, Crete Island, Greece 74100

13 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Axos

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Siobhan File
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Siobhan would recommend this property 30 June 2014

We were pleasantly shocked when we arrived at Axos, thinking we would be in a cheap backpackers as usual for the price we'd paid. However, Axos is a very nice hotel in a great location with nice spacious rooms and a pool. The staff were friendly and the area is a cool little beachy village.

Brianna Andrade
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Brianna would recommend this property 20 May 2013

The staff were very friendly, the rooms were very clean, and it was only a short walk from the beach! Great value for the money!

92.9%
4 reviews Book Now 
4

Cretasun Apartments

Apartment
Katovigli, Crete Island, Greece 72055

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cretasun Apartments

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 90%
Angelika Baumbach
As a family with children
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Angelika would recommend this property 31 August 2011

I liked the Place. The village was nice, the beach wonderful, the water lovely, the rooms were clean and well-shapes, the owner very friendly end helpful. Wie likes our stay very much.

Customer review
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 12 September 2009

The location is amazing, the owners are helpful and friendly, and the low price is not reflected by the standard of accommodation. I would highly recommend the apartments, and would be more than happy to return.

92.5%
77 reviews Book Now 
5

Youth Hostel Plakias

Hostel
Plakias, Rethymno, Crete Island, Crete Island, Greece 74060

72 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Youth Hostel Plakias

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 90%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 97%
Shani Busnach
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Shani would recommend this property 10 October 2013

this hostel is SUPER! it's located in the midst of beautiful hills overlooking the great beaches of Plakias, plenty to do around (awesome nudist beach, an old windmill and nice trails for relaxing walks). the hostel manager Uli is the nicest guy ever, knows everything there is to do, and brings all the travelers together, took us out to great tavernas to have lovely dinner and drinks cheap as heck! it's chilled out, cool hammocks beneath the lemon trees, great breakfast (not included but real cheap and yummy), and wonderful company! I can't wait to go back!

Cameron Andrew
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Cameron would recommend this property 18 September 2013

This place is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy nature right on your back doorstep. The vibe here is unlike anywhere else. If you are in Crete you have to stay here and you probably wont want to leave.

91.1%
33 reviews Book Now 
6

Summer Lodge

Guesthouse
Pirgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Chania, Crete Island, Greece 73014

29 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Summer Lodge

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 99% Facilities - 85% Safety - 96%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 15 July 2013

Owners are very friendly and greeted us with fresh orange juice. The property has a very unique and traditional feel compared to other places we stayed. The owners are very informative and helped us booked a trip to Samaria Gorge. Very close to the beach and a strip full of cafes and restaurants.

Roman Jauhonen
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Roman would recommend this property 31 July 2012

Swimming pool was refreshing and almost always empty. Lovely common areas, decorations inside the pension. Lots of spice herbs around and cosy atmosphere - all the people we met here were relaxed and super friendly. The best however was the owner and his friendly advise that took us to lots of great places we would have not found on our own.

88.7%
46 reviews Book Now 
7

Marni Village

Apartment
8 G. Seferi St., Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete Island, Greece 70014

45 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Marni Village

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 83% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 90%
Gregory Armstrong
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Gregory would recommend this property 26 July 2011

It was a wonderful atmosphere, and the staff were very friendly. The privacy of having an apartment-style room was very nice too, and they were kind enough to upgrade our accommodation to a 1-bedroom apartment from a studio apartment for free.

Customer review
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 14 September 2009

Really really nice place to be. Very clean, 3 big pools and a nice atmosphere everywhere on the site. Be carefull though to not book your excursions at the reception of the hotel because the prices are highter.

88.2%
8 reviews Book Now 
8

Regina Hostel

Hostel
Theotokopoulo 13-15, Crete Island, Greece 72100

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Regina Hostel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 90%
Evan Taylor
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Evan would recommend this property 17 March 2012

Dorm was clean, had its own kitchenette and spotless washroom. Heating worked well for the cold nights. Located on a quiet street 2 minutes walk from the centre.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 23 August 2011

Great value. Quiet and central location. Basic rooms but at least you have your privacy.

87.4%
10 reviews Book Now 
9

Mikro Village

3 star Hotel
Xirokambos, Agios Nikolaos, Crete Island, Greece 72100

8 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mikro Village

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 94%
Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 November 2011

The Staff was extremely welcoming. Breakfast was outstanding. Our rooms were large and clean. We would definitely return to this facility.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2011

Fantastic pool, lovely room, great balcony, helpful staff - we could not believe how little we had paid for this place compared with the niceness of our surroundings. We had to walk down and then up the hill to Ag Nik - if you were being picky this would matter, but to us we enjoyed the view. We felt lucky to be there and really enjoyed the cats.

87.1%
18 reviews Book Now 
10

Renia Hotel & Apartments

Apartment
Arkadiou street, Agia Pelagia, Crete Island, Greece 71500

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Renia Hotel & Apartments

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 83% Facilities - 86% Safety - 94%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 91%
Sheylla Souza
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals
80.0%
Sheylla would recommend this property 20 June 2014

Very close to the beach, supermarket, drugstore and restaurants. The staff is nice, the place is clean

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2013

It was cute and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beach and restaurants everything you need is two steps away.

Crete Island

51 Hostels from 13.46 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Crete Island hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Crete Island. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.