HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sunrock Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Sunrock (Vrachos), Pelekas Beach, Sinarades Corfu Island, Greece 49084

88.1% Overall Rating

142 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

ALKISTIS GEORGIOU thinks…

"amazing view/people/tastes. greek hospitality still exists and this hostel is the best example for it."

Read all Sunrock Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Corfu Island?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Corfu Island

Bella Vista Apartments
31.98 USD

Apartment 82.9% 4 reviews
The Pink Palace Budget Resort & Hostel
28.28 USD

Hostel 81.0% 102 reviews
Irene Apartments - Studios
26.93 USD

Hotel 4 star 71.4% 9 reviews
Corfu Backpackers Inn
22.89 USD

Hostel 74.2% 61 reviews
Villa Kapella
20.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Corfu Hostel
20.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Allegro
37.70 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Kontokali Bay Resort & Spa
108.52 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

142 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunrock Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 134 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALKISTIS GEORGIOU

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

21 July 2014 ALKISTIS would recommend this property

Liked: amazing view/people/tastes. greek hospitality still exists and this hostel is the best example for it.

Disliked: ALKISTIS left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deanna Smith

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

04 April 2014 Deanna would recommend this property

Liked: Okay, so this place is amazing! The family that runs it is absolutely wonderful. I felt like I was staying with extended family and not strangers. Madalene is such a great cook! I cannot rave enough about her homemade breakfast, dinner, salads, sandwiches, wine...the list goes on! I would definitely go back here! Heck I didn't want to leave!

Disliked: Deanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Sizer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 August 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: I don't know how Sun Rock doesn't have a 100% rating! It is AMAZING! Amazing location, the views are spectacular, the beach right on the doorstep... But even better is the staff who are all 8 shades of awesome and make sure you have a great time and feed you like royalty (the food is exceptional). The owner, Madalena, is devastatingly attractive and has a sparklingly witty sense of humour.

Disliked: That I had to leave. I will be back.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all right hostel

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for, relaxing during the day and a party at night. The family were extremely helpful throughout are stay, from picking us up at the airport, dropping us into town, and arranging a lift when we taught we would miss are ferry. Not to mention the lovely meals that are prepared daily. There is a real communal feel that you just can not get at a hotel. It's also really close to the beach

Disliked: The only downside was no air con but you could get a fan if you wanted.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Doble

Alone

Relaxation/spa

05 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, very warm and welcoming. They make you feel p art of the family. The food is fantastick and will keep you going. Nice lounge area to relax in or have a bit of fun. Beach is a short walk away. The airport and ferry transfers are very helpful. Thank you!!!!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas Garcia de Deus Assis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 July 2013 Lucas Garcia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and room very comfortable and clean

Disliked: Lucas Garcia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the beach so it's perfect if this is what you're after for your holiday in Corfu. The sunset views are really beautiful. It is isolated from town so if you want some quiet time it's great. The meal deal on offer is a good option as you can sit down with the other guests of the hostel which is a really nice friendly way to eat, the meals were usually really good too.

Disliked: The guests did not always seem to be the priority of the hostel. As the hostel is also the family's living area it often felt like you were intruding in their home which is not how a hostel should run. The woman running the hostel could be quite rude also. The volunteer staff memeber was great though and very helpful and freindly, although very overworked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sasha Juliard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Sasha would recommend this property

Liked: This place is exactly what you image when you imagine a backpackers beach hostel. First off, the location is *amazing*. Close to the beach with one of the best viewing decks I have ever been on. The family/staff welcomes you into their hostel and cooks awesome meals from scratch everyday. It's laid back, easy going and, for me, was the perfect place to unwind and have a beach holiday for next to nothing. I will definitely be going back in the future!

Disliked: Sasha left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, the view is outstanding, the food is fresh and come directly from the farm they own. It's a really good place to relax and spend time on the beach!

Disliked: The wifi didn't work (but I can handle not going on Facebook for some days), the shower & toilets were disgusting !! I had to wait more than 1 hour a the airport for the pick-up and I had to pay 10e for the rise back.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Gordon

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

22 April 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel experience I've had across 15 countries. So peaceful, so welcoming, INCREDIBLE food, great location, safe, scenic, feels like home. Wonderful atmosphere in general. Not a luxury stay by any means, but Sunrock has everything you need, and Madalena and her family are so accommodating and lovely, and really help you to have the best possible time on Corfu. Can't recommend it enough, and can't wait to go back.

Disliked: If you're high maintenance then Sunrock isn't for you -- but then again, Corfu probably isn't for you, either!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfectly located on one of the best beaches the island has to offer. The staff/family was really nice and were eager to make my stay a nice one. I recomend renting a quad to go to the remote beaches around the island, it's dirt cheap. Great value for your money if you are looking to put your bag down and your feet up for a couple of days.

Disliked: The food was "meh" we only had a "real greek meal" once, and it was acompanied by french fries. But still good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tobias Wagner

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed staying at this place for a week. The view from the big balkony on one of the most beautiful beaches in Corfu is stunning. Location is great, directly at the beach and in a good area to explore the island. The family is awesome, picks you up from the airport and brings you back for free. They organized a scooter, which was brought to the hostel and assist with everything you need. Food is great value for money and joined dinners are perfect to get to know people, if you want. We had a room for two with balkony overlooking the bay, for which you would have to pay a lot in a hotel. Guest are coming from all over the world and you can spend the night with beer or self-made wine together.

Disliked: Only some minor things to improve: wi-fi is for free but ony works if you are standing directly next to the modem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and home-like place. Awesome food. The staff was unforgettably nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Antony Egan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Location is truly amazing. Gorgeous beach view with excellent beach access. Meals are delicious and honesty system for drinks and ice cream is excellend.

Disliked: The transfer service is very much at their own discretion. You either get the free transfer at times that suit them or not at all. We had to get dropped at airport 4 hours before flight so it suited them, not us. Plan your stay as if you need to do your own transfers then hope for a pleasant surprise when you get there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Morrison

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

16 August 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic, nothing but good things to say about this place. The family is amazing and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable and memorable,. No hesitation in highly recommending. Sunrock,hostel especially Madalena and Alexa. Gorgeous beach and fantasticm location

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who run this hostel are really heplful and welcoming. The food was amazing and the location was perfect for sun, sea and relaxing.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great terrace and view, close to the beach. Home-made dinner and own bar adds much value. Good atmosphere, no one needs to spend the evening alone. No AC or fan but it doesn't get too hot in the rooms. Airport/port pick ups are a big plus (you save about 30€ one way).

Disliked: Bathroom/toilets could be better and cleaner. (Floating) showers were a bit difficult and akward (there could be a hook or a shelf of some sort to hang your stuff). WiFi could be stronger.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Bennett

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

30 July 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: There wasn't much I didn't like. I was picked up from the airport, served delicious food, the family were kind, helpful, and wonderful, the location was fantastic, it was great value for money, and the accommodation very comfortable. Loved it!

Disliked: The only problem was the bar next door playing very loud music until very late, but this was not the fault of Sunrock.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rahime Kutrolli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 July 2012 Rahime would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay. Loved the location. Included breakfast and dinners were delicious. They had the most awesome views from the terrace. Such a nice chilled hostel. All staff (particulary the volunteers) were awesome.

Disliked: The dorm rooms were quite uncomfortable in the evening (ie it was quite hot with no fan or aircon). Website promised an 'included free drop off and pick up from the port'. Even though I told the hostel of my arrival details and called them when I got there, there was no answer, I didn't get picked up. This meant a 35 euro cab trip to the hostel (which was more than half what I paid for 3 nights accommodation). I also requested a drop off when it was time to leave however I was told that they were too busy. Fortunately there were a few other travellers that were going to the port at the same time so I was able to split a cab. Although I really enjoyed my stay and the staff, I have to admit I was a little disappointed that they didn't deliver on what they promised.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Harkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is fantastic because it is more of a home than anything. I felt completely relaxed and comfortable here, surrounded by the family that's been running it for years. The property is amazing - it has a HUGE balcony overlooking the water and it is so nice to sit out on and watch the sunset. I stayed in the triple room with a balcony and seaviews and would highly recommend paying the extra money for this room. The views are fantastic! The breakfast included is wonderful (you order from a selection when you wake up and they make it fresh for you - I had French toast) and the dinner is AMAZING. 2 courses, with a fresh Greek salad as first course and then a traditional Greek main. A lot of the ingredients come straight from the family's farm and it is delicious. Everyone sits at a big table together and enjoys dinner - it is such a nice feel and a great way to meet people. The hostel is equipped with everything you need and the staff are happy to help with anything. Alexia the daughter was even kind enough to pick me up from the port and drop me to the airport. If you're looking for a relaxing beach holiday then this is the place to stay! The views cannot get any better than this.

Disliked: The only downfall would be that the hostel is a little way out of town - about half an hour on a bus. However this is not a big deal and the location by the beach is beautiful, and it is not too difficult to get the bus into Corfu town for the day (though the buses only run every couple of hours).The other thing is that there is only one key for the room and no lockers for baggage. This wasn't an issue for me however and the place seemed very trustworthy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We didn't want to leave! The family was so welcoming and friendly. The food was delicious, the beach was gorgeous and extremely close. They can pick you up/ drop off at the port and have everything you would need at the hostel. Great experience, can't wait to find our way back.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome. Right by the beach, and mudbaths are fun. The food is amazing, i ate so much. Everyone, including staff are really friendly and we all just hang out together. It's perfect for when you're travelling alone. DEFINITELY worth it. The food alone was worth it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the beach and has a nice terrace overlooking the sea. The breakfast and dinner were both delicious.

Disliked: The bathrooms are kind of gross. It seems like years of stuff building up on the facilities and the shower rooms have no shelf or hook to hang clothing/towels on, so everything gets wet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is literally 1 minute from an amazing beach. Mada cooks a different meal every night depending on the fresh produce from the farm and it always tastes great! It's a lovely place to relax. It's easy to get in to the centre of Corfu but why would you want to be in the busy town when you can relax on the beach!

Disliked: Bathrooms, but they are always tricky!