HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Athens House Hostel

Hostel | Street Aristotelous no 4, Athens, Greece 104 32

73.4% Overall Rating

24 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/01/2014)

"A private deck! This place has been a welcome respite from other crazy hostels I've stayed in. The manager is sweet and very helpful. The room has a sink, which is a nice amenity. Bed is very comfortable and even has an…"

Read all Athens House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in 24 hours.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Lozanni Hostel
12.44 USD

Hostel 66.3% 684 reviews
Cosmopolit Athens Hotel
22.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Parnon Hotel
34.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Athens Easy Access
17.97 USD

Hostel 69.1% 546 reviews
Athens Moka Hotel
20.73 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Alma Hotel
17.28 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Aristoteles Hotel
12.44 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 75.4% 990 reviews
Hotel Alma
29.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

24 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Athens House Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 30 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Herda Sabriyah Dara Kospa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Herda Sabriyah would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A private deck! This place has been a welcome respite from other crazy hostels I've stayed in. The manager is sweet and very helpful. The room has a sink, which is a nice amenity. Bed is very comfortable and even has an electric blanket (yes, Athens can get a bit chilly in winter). Kitchen is handy. All in all I've had zen moments here. Did I mention the deck?!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANYANWU MICHAEL CHIGBAZIRI

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 ANYANWU would recommend this property

Liked: I like them because there are nice and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013

Liked: Fair price.

Disliked: Very dated. Never had the hot water that it advertised for 24hrs. / day. Bedroom was poor with no a/c.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

gustavo gonçalves dos reis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: Meu Deus. Esse hostel é diferente de tudi que eu ja vi no mundo. Ja viagemi por mais de 28 países e mais uma vez fui surpreendido pelo acaso do destino. A recepcionista Gabrela, é uma foforua que vive sentada e fumando na recepção, eu amo assa mulher, ela ajuda a gente com tudo que pode, é muito simpática. O Mas a peruca do recepcionista é fantastica. Sou escritor e so com a recepção consegui esctrever 3 capitulos para o meu livro. ANtes de tudo é preciso Sentar e Relaxar, se não você nunca vai fazer o check-in.

Disliked: I Don't like The smooke of Gabriella.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Zareed Ashraf

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013

Liked: Location is good, easy to find very near from Big train station.

Disliked: Managers, non-cooperative only concern is money. no house keeping,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Kmunickova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the metro, four bathrooms to choose from, hotel manager available 24 hours a day and speaks good english.

Disliked: Hookers on the corner do their business all day long (but the hotel is on the 5th floor so we weren't forced to watch them).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a home rather than a hostel. The owners are polite and explain everything in detail to ensure guests know where things are and how things work. The older gentleman owner in particular makes you feel very welcome. It felt safe as well.

Disliked: The first two nights I managed to remove the mosquitos that came in through the door and window as the windows don't all have screens but the third night I missed a couple because I woke up with about ten mosquito bites on my face, neck, arm and ankle which itched tremendously. Another thing was how dirty the floor was in the room I was staying. It would have been nice each day for it to have been swept even if it wasn't cleaned thoroughly but this was a small issue in light of the fact I had a nice stay generally.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has good Kachin and room. Staff is very kind.

Disliked: Non

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the atmosphere was very bad, the hot shower didn't work, and the room and kitchen was dirty.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money and cleanliness were things I liked

Disliked: There is no staff but a single person running the hostel and he is not well behaved

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2012

Liked: Nothing i would be ashamed to own the hostel it was more like a derelict house

Disliked: Everything there wasnt even a cup for tea and coffee

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tetsuhiro sano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012 tetsuhiro would recommend this property

Liked: The boss was very kind! !

Disliked: You know I think I could use a gas kitchen if possible.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Keenan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Athens house was perfect for me. Cheap & easy. People friendly and helpful (help with secure parking for my bike overnight etc). The area surrounding is fine....very local and had no problems. Cafes & shops nearby are cheaper than touristy areas. Some people don't rate this area i understand but i liked getting away from the busy tourist areas. I came for 2 days and stayed for 4.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: This is the worst hostel that I've ever stayed. When I stayed, I couldn't sleep in the room, because there were overbooking. The staff did nothing to me, although I paid money. They don't work. You had better use other hostels.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jamie Healy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice enough place and a very good price. Very quirky in terms of decor (particularly the wall paper) and staff. The people running it were helpful and friendly too. Although did not seem to know the answers to questions about getting around the city, they still tried as much as possible to help. The area of Omonia is a run down part of Athens and there are a lot of social issues in the area, prostitution and drug dealing are very obvious throughout all hours of the day but more so at night. I did not find this the be a threat really and I don't believe that most travelers would either just use some common sense and you will be fine, the streets are quite populated and there are a lot of police around. There is a reason why this is the cheapest area to stay in Athens and its good value for money here.

Disliked: The area but with a little common sense you will be fine. This is a long way from Disneyland here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxime Paradis-Pelletier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were ok for one or two nights. Free internet and it is cheap.

Disliked: No air con but there is some fans. Beds were not super comfy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

allyce cameron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 allyce would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cheap! Its close to the metro station so transport was really easy even if the area was a bit dodge. The rooms were really large and airy and we had our own balcony so that was nice!Also the wifi was really good ;)

Disliked: The whole area is so dodgy, there is a heavy police prescence and we saw multiple arrests and prostitutes on the street corner outside. That being said we didn't get harassed or anything so its not too bad!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: The price, the other guests

Disliked: not much common area, no hot water (no problem because it was summer), rooms were really hot (ask for a room with air conditioning if they-re still available). Location was not very good, dangerous neighbourhood.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great locarion, budget price.

Disliked: Extremely hot in summer, but that is Athens...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Teligades

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. I was going to stay only one night but ended up staying for four nights. The place was very safe to enter with cameras and a locked/buzzer type system outside so not just anyone could come it. The staff was all very friendly and accomodating. The free wi-fi was a plus. Nice bathrooms, showers, etc. I also thouroly enjoyed the large balcony outside. There is a kitchen with a refridgerator, pots, pans, table and chairs, etc. for everyone to use which is very convient, so you do not have to spend the money going out every day for food. There is a sitting area with a big screen tv and couches if you want to relax and a bunch of little places outside to walk to. While I was here two girls even slept on the floor in the lobby because all the rooms were booked. I wou;d recomend this to enyone and will be back again for my next Athens journey. :)

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lo mejor es su ubicación. además tiene habitaciones cómodas y una amplia cocina para utilizar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels