We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Athens House Hostel

Hostel | Street Aristotelous no 4, Athens, Greece 104 32

60.0% Overall Rating

31 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Betsy Beza thinks…

"For the cheap hostel price of about $14 USD, we were able to get a private room with a sink and tv in it, so that was a nice change from usual hostel stays. It's also very close to the metro station,…"

Read all Athens House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in 24 hours.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Lozanni Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 64.0% 698 reviews
Cosmopolit Athens Hotel
18.98 USD

Hostel 84.6% 5 reviews
Parnon Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Athens Moka Hotel
16.34 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Alma Hotel
15.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 46.4% 4 reviews
Aristoteles Hotel
11.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 1006 reviews
Hotel Alma
26.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 42 reviews
Pergamos Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.2% 243 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.0%

Overall Rating

31 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Athens House Hostel'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
66.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: Staff are helpful but little bit slow

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014

Liked: Hostel ist quite in the middle between train station and Akropolis

Disliked: my room was pretty narrow and there were no blankets on the beds.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alex Gibbs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: Nice and cheap, good that they had a kitchen, nice and friendly staff.

Disliked: The showers weren't very nice. Other guests were a bit noisy and the general atmosphere wasn't very nice.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elliott Percival

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014

Liked: Nothing really.

Disliked: The place didn't feel like a hostel, it was essentially an apartment converted with multiple beds in each room. The "common area" was just a place for the staff to smoke whilst waiting for guests and the kitchen was very poorly equipped. The area was a walk away from anything interesting, nothing local was enticing either. A really negative atmosphere and not conducive for travellers.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Betsy Beza

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: For the cheap hostel price of about $14 USD, we were able to get a private room with a sink and tv in it, so that was a nice change from usual hostel stays. It's also very close to the metro station, only about 3-4 blocks away.

Disliked: The entire place smells like smoke, it's a little dingy, and the area is not the safest. It's pretty sketchy, so don't plan on staying here alone and walking alone. If you're with at least one other person that you're going to do everything with while staying here, it's much safer. Bring your own linen, because the linen provided looks ancient and worn.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014

Liked: I thought it was ok, for the cheapest place to stay in Athens, since I only slept there.

Disliked: But otherwise it wasn't the cleanest place I have stayed at. There was a cockroach in our room.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014

Liked: She didn't check on the PC/booking record, just ask when you are booking and show her something in my print. No honest, no business.

Disliked: One time that is enough!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tara Korneli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: --

Disliked: I booked a 4 bed room and got an 5 bed room without any discount. Staff guy is friendly but a bit slowly with everything and the information you get about the city are quite poor. Internet didn't work well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is not the Ritz Carlton, the value is great. If you like a place with a little character, interesting people, near to the city center - than you'll enjoy this place. I met a number of cool people here. I liked the atmosphere...it's laid back, mellow etc. If you want a chill place in Athens... i would recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014

Liked: Only the price.

Disliked: Stay in this hostel only if you want a very unpleasant holiday.I will never stay in this hostel again. Unorganized admin, dishonest and full of excuses. Simply shove you with one room when you booked a specific room . Think about it .I hope you will be wise :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: We were given a large private room with a lovely balcony overlooking the colourful district of nearby Omonia Square. Particularly enjoyed the friendly and laissez-faire approach of the Hotel staff. We didn't feel rushed at any point and were given helpful information about other destinations in the Greek islands.

Disliked: None of note

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TSZ HO CHUNG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 TSZ HO would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly

Disliked: TSZ HO left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is apparently in a "bad area" of Athens, but I felt safe when I was walking around. I was traveling with a friend though. It was super clean with WiFi and printing. The WiFi actually worked too! I enjoyed my stay here. It had everything I needed and cute balcony in my room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 April 2014

Liked: The staff was very kind and helpful - especially Mike (I think he's the owner of the place)! The room and facilitates (e.g. bathroom, kitchen) were clean!

Disliked: The area that the hostel was in was VERY sketchy. I honestly felt very unsafe walking around the area at night, so I dished out the extra money to take a cab to and from the area. The early morning that I got into the hostel, there were actually prostitutes and drug dealers just around the corner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Herda Sabriyah Dara Kospa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Herda Sabriyah would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A private deck! This place has been a welcome respite from other crazy hostels I've stayed in. The manager is sweet and very helpful. The room has a sink, which is a nice amenity. Bed is very comfortable and even has an electric blanket (yes, Athens can get a bit chilly in winter). Kitchen is handy. All in all I've had zen moments here. Did I mention the deck?!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANYANWU MICHAEL CHIGBAZIRI

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 ANYANWU would recommend this property

Liked: I like them because there are nice and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013

Liked: Fair price.

Disliked: Very dated. Never had the hot water that it advertised for 24hrs. / day. Bedroom was poor with no a/c.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

gustavo gonçalves dos reis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: Meu Deus. Esse hostel é diferente de tudi que eu ja vi no mundo. Ja viagemi por mais de 28 países e mais uma vez fui surpreendido pelo acaso do destino. A recepcionista Gabrela, é uma foforua que vive sentada e fumando na recepção, eu amo assa mulher, ela ajuda a gente com tudo que pode, é muito simpática. O Mas a peruca do recepcionista é fantastica. Sou escritor e so com a recepção consegui esctrever 3 capitulos para o meu livro. ANtes de tudo é preciso Sentar e Relaxar, se não você nunca vai fazer o check-in.

Disliked: I Don't like The smooke of Gabriella.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Zareed Ashraf

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013

Liked: Location is good, easy to find very near from Big train station.

Disliked: Managers, non-cooperative only concern is money. no house keeping,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Kmunickova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the metro, four bathrooms to choose from, hotel manager available 24 hours a day and speaks good english.

Disliked: Hookers on the corner do their business all day long (but the hotel is on the 5th floor so we weren't forced to watch them).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a home rather than a hostel. The owners are polite and explain everything in detail to ensure guests know where things are and how things work. The older gentleman owner in particular makes you feel very welcome. It felt safe as well.

Disliked: The first two nights I managed to remove the mosquitos that came in through the door and window as the windows don't all have screens but the third night I missed a couple because I woke up with about ten mosquito bites on my face, neck, arm and ankle which itched tremendously. Another thing was how dirty the floor was in the room I was staying. It would have been nice each day for it to have been swept even if it wasn't cleaned thoroughly but this was a small issue in light of the fact I had a nice stay generally.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has good Kachin and room. Staff is very kind.

Disliked: Non

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the atmosphere was very bad, the hot shower didn't work, and the room and kitchen was dirty.


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels