HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Athens House Hostel Athens

Hostel

Aristotelous 4, Athens, Greece

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 55%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Check in 24 hours.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 55%

Location 66%

Safety 64%

Staff 69%

Value 68%

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was cheap and you have a kitchenIn the city center

Disliked: Not really 24 reception - you get a keywifi was not working all timeFork spon and knife I missing in the ktichen bed was really near by the basin

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: None. Very bad experience.

Disliked: 1) They do not provide personal locker. I gave my camera to the reception for safekeeping, he just put it in the store room and it was stolen. No compensation given. 2) This area, Omonia square, is a not safe area. 3) The laundry cost 5 euro and you get your clothes back wet. He will ask you to lay them out on your bed and wait for them to dry. 4) No receipt given for payment. If they own you money (due to partial cancellation), they will delay giving it back. I heard some travelers never get back the full amount.IF YOU CAN AFFORD A BIT MORE, AVOID THIS HOSTEL!

23% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
23% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was honestly nothing to like.

Disliked: The hostel is disgusting! It's ridiculously dirty and the staff is not helpful whatsoever. I arrived at noon and was told I could not check in because my room was not ready. I was able to leave my luggage, and returned later in the day. I was placed in a room and thought that everything was fine. Literally an hour later, I was woken up because they were banging on my door. Apparently they overbooked their hostel and insisted that I be relocated. I had to pack up all my stuff and follow the man down the street to some other hostel. The whole thing was a joke and definitely the worst hostel experience I have ever had.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are helpful but little bit slow

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel ist quite in the middle between train station and Akropolis

Disliked: my room was pretty narrow and there were no blankets on the beds.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice and cheap, good that they had a kitchen, nice and friendly staff.

Disliked: The showers weren't very nice. Other guests were a bit noisy and the general atmosphere wasn't very nice.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing really.

Disliked: The place didn't feel like a hostel, it was essentially an apartment converted with multiple beds in each room. The "common area" was just a place for the staff to smoke whilst waiting for guests and the kitchen was very poorly equipped. The area was a walk away from anything interesting, nothing local was enticing either. A really negative atmosphere and not conducive for travellers.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For the cheap hostel price of about $14 USD, we were able to get a private room with a sink and tv in it, so that was a nice change from usual hostel stays. It's also very close to the metro station, only about 3-4 blocks away.

Disliked: The entire place smells like smoke, it's a little dingy, and the area is not the safest. It's pretty sketchy, so don't plan on staying here alone and walking alone. If you're with at least one other person that you're going to do everything with while staying here, it's much safer. Bring your own linen, because the linen provided looks ancient and worn.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought it was ok, for the cheapest place to stay in Athens, since I only slept there.

Disliked: But otherwise it wasn't the cleanest place I have stayed at. There was a cockroach in our room.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: She didn't check on the PC/booking record, just ask when you are booking and show her something in my print.No honest, no business.

Disliked: One time that is enough!

Check Availability