HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of City Circus Athens

Hostel | 16, Sarri str, Athens, Greece 10553

95.7% Overall Rating

83 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"It is a modern and artistic place. There is a good choice of food for breakfast. There is a roof terrace and a bar although we didn't have enough time to go there. The rooms were very brand new and clean. There are lots…"

Read all City Circus Athens reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Evripides Hotel
34.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 9 reviews
SPARTA TEAM Hotel
10.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.2% 7 reviews
Jason Inn
35.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Pella Inn
15.20 USD

Hostel 81.8% 34 reviews
Soph & Chris Northern Backpackers
22.11 USD

Hostel 75.9% 52 reviews
Soho hotel
13.68 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 74.5% 68 reviews
Athens Odeon Hotel
29.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
AthenStyle
16.59 USD

Hostel 84.6% 328 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

83 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Circus Athens'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 83 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KONSTANTINOS CHATZICHRISTOS

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 April 2014 KONSTANTINOS would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast buffet very good

Disliked: Showers-toilets with no window or ventilation so Bad smell and humiditycomes out

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a modern and artistic place. There is a good choice of food for breakfast. There is a roof terrace and a bar although we didn't have enough time to go there. The rooms were very brand new and clean. There are lots of bars and restaurants close by to the hostel.

Disliked: We got a bit lost when we were looking for the hostel as we came out from a different exit from the metro station.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

THOMAS DIMITRIOS BOGIAS

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

19 March 2014 THOMAS DIMITRIOS would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmoshere, price

Disliked: the room was in the basement,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upon arriving the staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. On our first night a member of the staff gave us a great dinner recommendation at a local restaurant, the Greek food was delicious, authentic, and filling. The hostel was located a short walk from the main city square and also Acropolis and other attractions. In fact, the hostel's rooftop terrace had a great view of the Parthenon and we often sat up there at night to see it illuminated. The free breakfast was GREAT! Fresh, filling, and authentically Greek. Breakfast was one of my favorite parts of the day while I was in Athens because of how tasty the food provided was. I would 100% recommend this property to anyone looking to visit Athens.

Disliked: No complaints!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was great - especially location

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alice Crosbie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, lovely interior and friendly staff.

Disliked: Found it quite hard to find (depends which side of the tube station you come out of)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, clean hostel right near Monastraki

Disliked: Liked it all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very clean, good food, nice location!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent in all aspects! Really great staff, very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New and modern - stayed in a private room (number 1) and was perfect for a fun weekend away, very quiet and no street noises, and the bathroom comes with a hair dryer!

Disliked: The free breakfast was presented nicely but not substantial and very basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really amazing hostel - beautifully restored early 20th century mansion and decorated with some cool funky furniture and lamps- has tons of character! The stuff is very friendly and helpful and can prepare some great traditional dishes upon request...very clean as well. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly LaDuke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of this property have spared no expense in their attention to detail and atmosphere. The beds are the most amazingly comfortable beds I have ever slept on in a hostel, or hotel for that matter. yes, you do pass through a short area graffiti on the way to the hostel from the metro, but I never felt unsafe even at night. I give this property a 100 percent rating, and I've traveled all over the world and stayed in many other hostels. Ask about the free walking tour, and ask for Walter, he's amazing.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DUYGU PINAR OLKEN

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 DUYGU PINAR would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, very good breakfast

Disliked: DUYGU PINAR left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully decorated and designed, lovely helpful staff, amazing breakfast in the mornings! Close location to shops, food, tourist sights and public transport. Clean new rooms with nice bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing it was great

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

christopher sherwood

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 October 2013 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean, nicely decorated

Disliked: No kitchen facilities

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brett Chaiyawat

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: clean and modern

Disliked: a bit far from station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jen Pace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Jen would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing!! Super clean, great location, delicious breakfast.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the cold water in our bathroom sink didn't work.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, within walking distance of the main attractions of Athens and with an amazing breakfast, this is probably the best backpackers I've ever stayed in. Although it's a little more expensive then other locations in Athens it's well worth the extra Euro. The bathrooms are clean and large, the linen is changed daily and the atmosphere during my visit was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming staff. Very friendly, very helpful. Clean facilities, nice roof top terrace with a view on the acropolis. Highly recommended!

Disliked: The room we had was bellow the ground, we could hear everything happening on the street which was a bit noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kathryn Nielsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay in Athens! Conveniently located. Close to attractions and the metro stations to take you to the airport or the port. Really clean and very nice atmosphere. Comfortable beds and big secure lockers in the room. Breakfasts were really yummy!

Disliked: Nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a very convenient location, was beauitfully clean and the layout was very well thought out perfect for backpackers, families and couples. City Circus is the diamond on the bosom of Athens City- a city that has aged well. It offers very secure storage (for a small fee) great for those guests who are travelling throughout Greece including the Islands.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful. The bedrooms and bathrooms were modern and clean. Breakfast was lovely and any food purchased in the hostel was fresh and good value. Good wifi. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Dorsey

Alone

City break

11 May 2013 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Abosolute cleanest hostel I've EVER stayed at. Rooms have central A/C. Dorm rooms are comfortable, and quiet. I had a whole 6-bed room to myself. They have a great kitchen with a free breakfast: their greek yogurt tasted like Zeus himself made it. Once you find the place (tucked in a back street), you realize how close it is.

Disliked: Perhaps because it's still new I didn't meet very many other travelers willing to socialize. It has the right atmosphere, so hopefully it will grow into it once it becomes more popular. Maybe if the hostel organized outings it would help.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Both my room and the common room looked new and were clean and well maintained. Private shower for the four-person (two bunk bed) room was nice, and the shower though a wee bit cramped was better than most budget hotels in Greece. Room wasn't exactly spacious but sufficient. Wi-fi worked fine (only tried it in the common room) and the breakfast was nice (self-serve boiled eggs, yogurt & toppings, toast & jam). The receptionist was very good about giving me a full rundown of the hostel and the area on arrival. Not super-friendly thereafter but certainly courteous. Monastiraki and Thissio metro stations are both 5-10 minute walks, with tons of restaurants and the Acropolis just on the other side.

Disliked: The immediate area around the hostel isn't great. Not unsafe I'd say, just dirty and a bit run down in places. It's only two or three minutes that you walk through that particular area though. Didn't seem like a party hostel by any means - except for my roommates most everybody kept to themselves and there was even a family staying there. (I was there in the off season.)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in the perfect location, right in the town centre. Very short walking distance from shops restaraunts bars..etc. It is also very close to the Acropolis and has a beautiful view from the rooftop Terris. Very delicious and varied breakfast. Staff are friendly and helpful. Air conditioning which was a relief from being out in the extreme heat for hours. Great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels