HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Athens Backpackers

Hostel | 12 Makri Street, Makryanni, Athens, Greece 11742

88.6% Overall Rating

1468 out of 1527 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"Great location, right in the heart of Athens and the stunning view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar. Would stay here again."

Read all Athens Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

The office at the Athens Studios is open from 8 am to midnight every day. Please pick up your swipe cards from Athens Backpackers (2 min walk away) outside the above hours. Cancellations need to be received in writing and responded to 24 hours prior to our 2pm check-in time to the property's email address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Hotel Byron
47.24 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Athens Studios
33.74 USD

Apartment 91.7% 273 reviews
Hostel Dioskouros
30.37 USD

Hostel 80.8% 403 reviews
Acropolis Boutique Museum Hotel
56.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Student and Travellers Inn
22.95 USD

Hostel 82.5% 611 reviews
Alice Inn Athens
31.04 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Acropolis House
48.59 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 108 reviews
Myrto Hotel
40.49 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

1468 out of 1527 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Athens Backpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 1197 of 1286 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 47 | 48   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Activities each night, roof top bar with great sunset, walking tours

Disliked: They must find a way to prevent the water going all over the bathroom floor each time someone is taking a shower!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ellie Sparke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: It had awesome views and the mattresses were really comfortable. The rooms had plenty of space, power points and lockers (bring your own lock). The rooms also had air conditioning and the staff on request let you have the remote to adjust the temperature settings (as it was set to freezing at first!) Also the view from the roof top bar was pretty spectacular

Disliked: The bathrooms were small and often got a bit flooded (but they did have a floor squidgy to let you clean it up yourself!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Xiong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. But mostly its location; the Acropolis is pretty much across the road, but the best thing is definitely the restaurant and sports bar next door, which I think are owned by the hostel (or at least have some kind of agreement with it), because everyone at the hostel just goes there at night and the staff are really friendly. It's really convenient to meet people, and you can order dinner from the bar and have it delivered from the restaurant next door while watching a game.

Disliked: Literally nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angela Ramsey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 angela would recommend this property

Liked: Was super easy to find, staff were friendly, roof bar is chilled, nice and intimate. Has a good atmosphere! Not everyone is sitting on the wifi all time. Great location - right is the middle of heaps of places to eat and drink- close to the metro and acropolis!

Disliked: Although it doesn't really matter- I had to pay cash as my stay was under €50

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the backpackers made travelling to and from sights really easy. We walked to most sights. It's also right next to a main train station that runs to and from the airport. We stayed in one of the apartments. It was nice and clean and the aircon was good after a big day of sight seeing. The free breakfast was also convenient. I highly recommend this backpackers!

Disliked: The only thing that I could dislike was that you had to be in one specific spot in the apartment for the wifi to work. It took us a while to realise this. It may just have been our apartment though. Once we figured this out the wifi worked fine. The wifi also worked really well at the sports bar that's down stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brit Cowan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Brit would recommend this property

Liked: In a country with very few hostel options, this place was great! The location is AMAZING, right near the Acropolis, next to a street with cafes and restaurants and THE BEST souvlaki/gyros in the whole city. The atmosphere was fun, with a rooftop bar and lots of young people.

Disliked: The breakfast is terrible, don't even bother. And the bathrooms could be cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great location, we met great people and overall would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: don't eat the oranges from the tree outside, no matter how good they look

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ari Lazar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Ari would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and location

Disliked: Some dude peed all over my hostel in the middle of the night and the staff didn't do anything about it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location, close to everything

Disliked: Lack of bathrooms, and they were slightly dirty

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find! And good location- close to the metro station and tourist sites.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast selection was not great but the food (buns and hard boiled eggs) was quite filling. Great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Roof bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Stringini Severo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The people who work there.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rafael Basso

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a 4bed room in the Studios building. Really good location close to the subway and main sites in Athens. Nice room, a lot of space and also a balcony with street view.

Disliked: No lockers inside the bedrooms for small items and the hostel charges for large ones located in the basement (daily rate based). No shower curtain in the bathrooms is a joke. You have to deal with non educated people who leave the bathroom all wet after use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing! Plus everything else about it is great:)

Disliked: The breakfast was really limited.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jasmine preteau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great location very close to everything great atmosphere with an awesome roof top bar and staff is very helpful!

Disliked: jasmine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property is located afew meters from key attractions! The staff are extremely helpful

Disliked: early checkout

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Heazlewood-Ross

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities were really clean and the happy hour in the rooftop bar was awesome. Staff were really helpful with good tips and convenient location. A really well run hostel.

Disliked: Whilst our room was big and beds comfortable I felt that in room lockers would be good. There was an option to store valuables in the storage room but that can be a hassle when your 3 floors up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ruth McKee

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: In a great location right next to the Acropolis and loads of restaurants. Metro is close by so easy access to other areas of the city. The staff were helpful when I asked to switch rooms as I was not happy about the one I was put in. The shower was good - hot water and powerful!

Disliked: The kitchen in the bedroom. I unfortunately had people in my room who were not considerate of others so decided to cook their dinner at 11pm, and then set the fire alarm off! There needs to be a communal space away from where people want to sleep. They offer a luggage storage which was useful. However the lift doesn't go down to that floor and the stairs are very steep. Not easy to get heavy suitcases up and down.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Barnes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast and common area, nice rooftop bar, helpful front desk staff

Disliked: Bathroom clean but soaking wet after each shower, no one to replace overhead light that was burned out, would have been nice to have a towel to use rather than pack up a wet one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EREN JOY BAUTISTA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 EREN JOY would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION. It's just really near the Acropolis: Parthenon, museum, Temple of Zeus. etc. STAFF: Great, super friendly and they did assist me in all ways possible. FACILITIES: They have lockers! I went to SAntorini for a day and I was able to only bring few of my stuff cause you can use their lockers to put your bigger luggage (for a fee per day though but cheap) Also, they are near good restaurants!

Disliked: NOTHING. THIS PLACE IS A ROCKSTAR.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WEN YING KOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 WEN YING would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location of Athens Backpacker. Is just a few seconds walk from the acropolis station and 10 minutes walk to all acropolis site. The sovlaki and gyro nest to the Acropoli station is so nice.

Disliked: After I book with hostel bookers, they send a confirmation to me saying they will upgrade my room to Athens Studio. However, when I went to Athens Studio, they told me I need to go back to Athens Backpacker. This is confusing and I am quite unhappy with this.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast,location,staff

Disliked: Lack of common area. There is cafe and bar nearby owned by the hostel though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, location, staff

Disliked: no common area to hang out, i was switched to the studios due to boiler problems, breakfast 730-930 too narrow of a time, should be earlier


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels