HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Acropolis House

Guesthouse | Kodrou 6-8, Plaka, Athens, Greece 10558

89.3% Overall Rating

102 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

Brian Donaldson thinks…

"It;s staff was very friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better as far as the nieghborhood, safety and access to the sites and walking to all the tourist restaurants and shops in…"

Read all Acropolis House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive the e mail address of the property. You'll need to send the property your three digit security code from your credit card. (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Myrto Hotel
38.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Niki Athens Hotel
53.73 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.9% 5 reviews
Alice Inn Athens
30.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Omiros Hotel Athens
46.12 USD

Hostel 66.4% 4 reviews
Student and Travellers Inn
22.84 USD

Hostel 83.1% 612 reviews
Hostel Dioskouros
26.87 USD

Hostel 80.8% 403 reviews
Pan Hotel
26.87 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arethusa Hotel
806.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

102 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Acropolis House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Donaldson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: It;s staff was very friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better as far as the nieghborhood, safety and access to the sites and walking to all the tourist restaurants and shops in Plaka.

Disliked: Shower curtain was too short :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Youell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: The shower was small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Handy location, quiet area, helpful staff.

Disliked: No complaints!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keisha McLean

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Keisha would recommend this property

Liked: Acropolis House is at the heart of the tourist center of Athens. Our room had a view of the Acropolis, was a 5 minutes walk from the Plaka markets, and the Acropolis museum, Temple of Zeus... and well basically everything you could want to see. Staff were helpful when looking for restaurants, and it was kept clean. I was there to see the sites and have a clean safe place to stay at a relatively good price, and Acropolis house ticked all the boxes.

Disliked: Wifi was intermittent and was often inteferred with the Hotel across the road. There were a few stairs, which I didnt mind but could be difficult if you have a large suitcase to carry.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was a dream for us...everyone we met, from the front desk people to the staff to the other travellers themselves were friendly, helpful, and interesting. The location is perfect, the air conditioning efficient (very important during one the the hottest summers in history), but the real strength of the place are the thoughtful perks: firdges on every floor, a cabinet for people to leave extra toiletries, a swap shelf with everything from books to hats to computer cables. And to top it all off the place is a gorgeous old building. We will definitely seek this hotel out again if we have the good luck to return to Athens.

Disliked: Honestly, nothing. If you want to experience Greek hospitality in olf town Athens, stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and very friendly staff with who were very helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was minimal compared to other places we stayed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Hughes-daeth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location! Was very central to all the main sight seeing attractions and located in a nice area of plaka, close to everything! Staff very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing really though would of been handy to have a fridge and a kettle inside the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lesley Searle

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, in a pleasant and quiet street. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was superb, the breakfast was good and we thought tbe hotel was really good value.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012

Liked: Location was very good, staff were friendly.

Disliked: Bathrooms a bit grotty. Breakfast too skimpy compared to similar priced hotels.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, beautiful view of the Acropolis from the top floor.

Disliked: Our room was advertised as having a bathroom but our bathroom was actually down the corridor from our room. Not a huge problem but we were expecting an ensuite.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and with breakfast until 10.30 and check out at 12, we were able to recover from a long Greek night out on our final night in town. There are fridges which guests can use, a nice balcony for the smokers, comfy beds and breakfast was tasty and plenty. They also have free wifi (although it occasionally played up a bit). The place was very clean and the common rooms very atmospheric.

Disliked: While the common rooms have lots of character, our room was rather plain. Also it was out to the street which wasn't much of a problem during the night as it's a quite area with very few or no cars. But we had an afternoon nap one day and my boyfriend kept being woken up by a motorbike zooming past every 15 minutes or so. Also the toilet had the annoying habit of refilling the water tank drip by drip - with the corresponding noises.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aline Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Wi-fi conection was not working properly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sebastian Perez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, near the city center, the Acropolis and in the beautiful neighbourhood of Plaka.

Disliked: The staff was very helpful, although they unsderstood English just a little.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, not too expensive

Disliked: the arrangement of the room - too many things inside of it...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, helpful staff, rooms were small but perfectly adequate.

Disliked: N/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super good location - a couple minutes walk to main restaurant/shopping drag in Plaka, maybe 10 minutes max to Acropolis. On quiet road considering its location, a few minutes walk to Syntagma Sq/metro/parliament. Breakfast was pretty good (hard boiled egg, warm buns, jam, fresh coffee) - served us early one day due to our ferry schedule. Owners provided grapes and delicious figs for free from their garden. From desk was generally helpful and friendly - Jasmin was a character and called ahead to check our ferry time/gate, etc. They have a small library of books, a comments box and - the first time I've ever seen this in my life - a small medicine cabinet near the dining area for people to leave/take as they need (i.e. there was sun tan lotion, some head/stomach pills). We had a private ensuite room on the first floor above ground. No elevator, so difficult draggin a heavy bag up windy marble stairs but this is standard in non-chain hotels. Little balcony was cute. We were surprised at how clean everything was, daily cleaning service, candies on the bed. Overall really happy with the place.

Disliked: Room was very tight. Same for bathroom. Tiny shower and toilet crammed into the corner between shower and sink. However, its was super clean and space is obviously a luxury in Plaka, so it was manageable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Douglas McBay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2011 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff knowledeable about the area, willing to suggest places to go and how to get to the various areas. Breakfast was alright, nice terrace and pretty good air conditioner. Also located close to 2 laundries. You can store your bags with them for a couple hours the day you leave after checkout if you don't take your trip out for a few hours.

Disliked: It would have been nearly perfect with wi-fi. The lock on the doors didn't seem super secure (they were ok, just not great) , but the staff seemed watchful enough to not make this a super big issue.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean hotel with a very good location. The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great!! You can shooping,eating there easily! near metro station! The breakfeast is good!

Disliked: The room that we lived 401 has separate bathroom outside our room that is unconvenient and the bathroom do not have window, and is not new and blight enought..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Management was amazingly helpful, not only did they recommend a superb local restaurant just around the corner, but they answered questions and helped to arrange travel details for our next stop.

Disliked: The bathrooms were small, they had everything one would need, just in a very small place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent for Greece

Disliked: Nothing was disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt very comfortable at the Acropolis House and the staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our needs. It is really close to the Acropolis and lots of great places to eat.

Disliked: Breakfast was just lots of toast crackers with jam and a hard boiled egg.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and interested staff!

Disliked: No city maps, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brody Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Brody would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and safe. Everyone was very helpful and polite. Great location, right next to shopping g and acropolis. Wonderful stay

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

SARA RESCALVO

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 SARA would recommend this property

Liked: the officer is really kind!

Disliked: no.


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels