HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Zeus Hostel

Hostel | Sofokleus 27, Athens, Greece 10552

74.4% Overall Rating

101 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/12/2013)

Devon Harris thinks…

"Awesome little place for the value! Beds were fine, showers were okay (a little old and run down but not that bad). Not very safe as in no lockers and the last person hands the key over but there's a…"

Read all Zeus Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All cancellation MUST be done by e-mail. No exceptions. Dorm rooms only include one bed linen sheet - extra sheets small local charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Economy hotel
35.91 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Athens Center Square Hotel
48.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 93.3% 6 reviews
Home Travelers-Athinaikon
18.99 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 89.8% 32 reviews
Cecil Hotel
53.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dorian Inn Hotel
37.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
SPARTA TEAM Hotel
10.91 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.5% 6 reviews
Chic Hotel
51.79 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Soho hotel
13.67 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 74.5% 68 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.4%

Overall Rating

101 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zeus Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Devon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome little place for the value! Beds were fine, showers were okay (a little old and run down but not that bad). Not very safe as in no lockers and the last person hands the key over but there's a luggage room. I stayed during a low time so I wasn't worried anyway but not sure what it would be like during the high season. I liked it - close to everything and walkable within all the main metro lines. Definitely worth the savings in Athens. WIFI was good in my room but some people were in the hallway outside my room for it - not sure about that.

Disliked: No locker in my room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nichole Cambridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a good location & cheap.

Disliked: There are no lockers in the rooms as well as no common area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lara Buschmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: The room and facilities were in a very bad state and needed urgently a renovation.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Steve Pabst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: roof top bar

Disliked: to pay extra for air con at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very, very friendly and extraordinarily helpful. They treated you like friends and welcomed you in happily. Also the dorms are really great and well-priced. The location is perfect, right in the heart of everything that's going on. The rooftop bar is pretty nice as well!

Disliked: No kitchen but that's Athens is really well priced for food so that's not such a bad thing in the end.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and close to some of the major attractions by foot,

Disliked: Not the best value for money place I've been. They don't supply sheets, have good working wifi (as advertised) and not the greatest condition of rooms/bathrooms (some toilets are broken, sinks in the rooms not working properly). For the price we paid, I would have expected a little better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price Helpfulness of friendly staff

Disliked: Shared shower facilities were not nice

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought that hostel provided excellent value. Location is great.

Disliked: Not a fan of their being a shared room key.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

martha elena reyna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012

Liked: i have no idea i did not stay there, but liked the one they acommodated me in instead except i would have rather been speared the walk!

Disliked: like new property better, i am sure, closer to fleamarket, bigger, nicer except hot water only in one shower stall

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, very safe and good internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money, clean dorms, clean showers (some mold up high) & very clean toilets. The walking tour is very good, so like me you'll probably give a tip.

Disliked: Mold up high on the showers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Hiller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, good location close to major sights.

Disliked: Rooftop bar was not in use, so the hostel lacked some atmosphere - nice place to stay, but not much opportunity to meet other hostel members, as no real communal area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Russel Goossen

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Russel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, Demitir, Alex and Grorge are very helpful.

Disliked: The nigbourhood is less than desirable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012

Liked: Its cheap. I met some nice people staying there

Disliked: Although its close to the center attractions, its not very safe to walk around this part of the city. BATHROOMS need help. Not too nicely

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAKAHIRO OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 TAKAHIRO would recommend this property

Liked: cheep money

Disliked: TAKAHIRO left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap - good for students. Enough showers and toilets, hot water and the rooms were a decent size. Quick and easy access to the cultural centre of town, internet access, a small safe and informative staff. There is also a small supermarket fairly nearby, but no way of keeping food cool in the hostel.

Disliked: Rooms can be quite cool in spring, so you may need to take extra blankets as only one is provided by the hostel. Some problems with wet floors in showers. Sophoklous street area is a bit dodgy and we were told that a nearby area was not safe to walk in, but Athenas street is mostly fine. The road which most of the rooms overlook can be very noisy at night and the shutters don't do much to keep this out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominic Schacht

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: an english guy at reception was very helpful, getting out greece travelbooks and stuff while we were just chatting about potential sights. location is great. they provide help on decoding the crazy greek KTEL bus timetables and bus stop locations and stuff.

Disliked: no wifi reception in the rooms (one can just go downstairs to the reception), only two computers to access internet on, reception area can get crowded if people are using the internet, no kitchen (not that i normally use kitchens anyway.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucia Taboada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. In addition they gave us a free walking tour via Athens which was a total plus. Location is good, can walk almost everywhere, just need to be a little bit careful at night, still a good location if you take precautions at night.

Disliked: Rooms where a little bit cold, but nothing else

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kimberly mccauley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: such great people and so helpful. moldy bathroms but i feel like that is every hostel i have ever stayed in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Colourful themes of the rooms and floors Bar on the roof Close to Acropolis and markets

Disliked: Street was fairly noisy at night Loads of stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassio U Castro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Cassio would recommend this property

Liked: nice painting on the walls. good terrace for chilling.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A large and simple hostel with a nice staff, some computers, and the rooftop is a nice common area when it is open. There are also plenty of bathrooms.

Disliked: It is simple so if you are looking for extras or amenities it is not the right place for you.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011

Liked: Good location, nice rooms, quite clean, staff helpful.

Disliked: You had to pay for airconditioning and the rooms were stifling! Got eaten alive by mosquitos, and noise from the rooftop bar made it very hard to sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Holly Underwood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: there was a mistake with our booking which worried us when we arrived but the young guy on counter was so helpful he really made this place great for us. he offered us a 4 bed dorm just for me and my partner at the same price (or offered to find us somewhere else) and even though the lock didnt work, he was so helpful and we were happy to stay there. also great location near acropolis and drinks were so cheap in the roof bar, wish we couldve stayed longer!

Disliked: showers were a little bit smelly and no where to hang anything, also its wise to get aircon because it was stinking hot, i slept on the flooroards for some of the night i was so hot and the noise outside is incredible, never been to a louder city. not the hostels fault but didnt really sleep. i think it would be like this in most places in athens though

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really clean and friendly. Quickly to reach from Omonia Square, but the area is not the best. Nice and friendly staff.

Disliked: The showers on our floor were not nice. No possibility to hang the clothers inside without them getting wet. So had dress and undress outside the shower....


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels