We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Zeus Hostel

Hostel | Sofokleus 27, Athens, Greece 10552

73.4% Overall Rating

123 out of 165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

Yap Ching Ching thinks…

"There's an air condition in the room which is quite good especially in the summer. Staff is very friendly. Location is perfect. It's an ideal place for backpackers like me and my friend !"

Read all Zeus Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All cancellation MUST be done by e-mail. No exceptions. Dorm rooms only include one bed linen sheet - extra sheets small local charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Economy hotel
33.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 5 reviews
Athens Center Square Hotel
40.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.6% 9 reviews
Home Travelers-Athinaikon
17.17 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 86.5% 47 reviews
Cecil Hotel
36.64 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dorian Inn Hotel
30.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
SPARTA TEAM Hotel
14.31 USD

Hotel 1 star 61.7% 31 reviews
Chic Hotel
42.94 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Soho hotel
11.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.5% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

123 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zeus Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 158 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yap Ching Ching

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015 Yap would recommend this property

Liked: There's an air condition in the room which is quite good especially in the summer. Staff is very friendly. Location is perfect. It's an ideal place for backpackers like me and my friend !

Disliked: The water in the bathroom is weak. But still can use.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to major attractions.

Disliked: Lack of cleanliness.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hatem Elkassar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Hatem would recommend this property

Liked: Very near from acropolis, shopping & old athens helpful staff, excellent money value especially for backpackers

Disliked: It's need to be more clean but it's ok

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ignacio Juanicotena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015

Liked: It's cheap.

Disliked: Awful experience!!! I arrived around 2am to do my check in and was informed that my booking was cancelled! Nobody let me know in advance about that. I lost the deposit and the place altogether! The reason: an incident in the room I spent two nights before in which I had absolutely nothing to do with! The receptionist (Stefanos is his name) was absolutely unhelpful: I tried to be reasonable with him and he didn't do a thing, not even when he had several chances to help me as some guests were leaving during the night (he knew the situation was completely unfair and I was desperate). The only "help" I got from him was that he found another place (but the price was 4 times more expensive!). He even refused to give me any name of the person responsible for my situation! I was treated like a street dog: this place is absolutely unreliable, and customers have no rights to do a thing about it. My worst experience ever in a hostel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and super affordable.

Disliked: The room I stayed in wasn't particularly secure because there was a gap in the door so the lock could easily be carded into. Made me nervous.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amy Schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2015 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to walk to everything. Great value for money. Fantastic to have air conditioning!

Disliked: Each room only had one key, making it difficult to get access to your shared room. The bathrooms were usually dirty, with flooding in the showers. The only shared space is on the rooftop.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2015

Liked: The location was the only decent thing, amd even that wasn't great

Disliked: The wifi is horrible throughout the hostel, there was no common room or kitchen, therefor very hard to meet anyone other then in your dorm, the walls are paper thin and can hear everything that happens on your floor, I'm easy going but considering my friends paid the same price and stayed in an amazing hostel 10 mins away I will not be staying here again

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, really close to the acropolis and all the others sites to visit in Athens

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meriel Smith

Alone

Business / conference

05 June 2015 Meriel would recommend this property

Liked: Bright, friendly hostel in a good location (very near Monastakeri, Syntagma square, the Acropolis etc.) with 24 hour reception

Disliked: The road the hostel is on feels unsafe for a solo female traveller but can be avoided

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free walking tour offered was really nice

Disliked: There was mold in the showers and the bathroom were kinda smelly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful friendly staff, ideally located, hot showers, comfy beds, very easy to find, perfect!!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how close everything was, easy access to metro and food places, walking distance from Parthenon etc Amazing staff, very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikael Stensson

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2014 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, good service, nice staff.

Disliked: Mikael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, really at the center

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Myrlande Laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014

Liked: Close to tourist attractions. Nice theme. Friendly staff. Balcony, small but nice.

Disliked: You shared one key with your roommate, pay to use the a.c., use the toilet, but you couldn't flush the toilet paper down with it, had to go in the trash pile. Bed sheets so thin, you are sleeping on the last person's sweat stains. Mosquitoes, even though doors were closed, they'd get through holes or cracks in the walls.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace on the rooftop

Disliked: It was a bit noisy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close enough to metro station and easy enough walk to sites. Reasonably comfy bunks.

Disliked: No aircon in dorm, no locker for luggage in rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hospitable, central, cheap.

Disliked: Mosquitoes can be lethal, and no nets / fans.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kamal Passi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Kamal would recommend this property

Liked: It is just 10 minutes walk from the Acropolis and 5 minutes walk from the Monastiraki Metro Station. The Hostel offers a Free Walking Tour of the Acropolis which is fun and you will end up making a lot of new friends during the course of the tour. The staff is super friendly, and advices you in the best possible manner. I stayed there during the inauguration of the 2014 FIFA WC and saw all the matches on the Roof Top Bar with other backpackers which was also fun. And I personally thought that the toilets were quite clean. At the price they offer, it's a steal.

Disliked: 1. There is only 1 key to the Dorm Room. So you might have to make quite a few trips up and down the stairs in case you find the room locked. 2. The Wi-Fi Signal is pretty off. But in a way it is a good thing. No wi-fi meant we spent more time visiting and exploring Athens, otherwise we would just keep sitting right next to our smartphones in our dorm. 3. The Bathroom has 2 Showers on each floor. And you need to get undressed outside the shower cubicle. As a guy, there isn't any problem. But I am not sure about the girls.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ONUR ÖZTÜRK

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Less celaning, no locked cabinets, bad showers and toilets, less wireless.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014

Liked: It was close to everything

Disliked: There is no security whatsoever and it is really noisy, expect a few hours of sleep if that. The showers are in poor condition and the place is quite dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Devon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome little place for the value! Beds were fine, showers were okay (a little old and run down but not that bad). Not very safe as in no lockers and the last person hands the key over but there's a luggage room. I stayed during a low time so I wasn't worried anyway but not sure what it would be like during the high season. I liked it - close to everything and walkable within all the main metro lines. Definitely worth the savings in Athens. WIFI was good in my room but some people were in the hallway outside my room for it - not sure about that.

Disliked: No locker in my room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nichole Cambridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a good location & cheap.

Disliked: There are no lockers in the rooms as well as no common area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lara Buschmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: The room and facilities were in a very bad state and needed urgently a renovation.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Steve Pabst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: roof top bar

Disliked: to pay extra for air con at night


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels