We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Zeus Hostel

Hostel | Sofokleus 27, Athens, Greece 10552

76.2% Overall Rating

111 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/12/2014)

"Loved how close everything was, easy access to metro and food places, walking distance from Parthenon etc Amazing staff, very helpful"

Read all Zeus Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All cancellation MUST be done by e-mail. No exceptions. Dorm rooms only include one bed linen sheet - extra sheets small local charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Economy hotel
27.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 4 reviews
Athens Center Square Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 8 reviews
Home Travelers-Athinaikon
14.86 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 88.9% 42 reviews
Cecil Hotel
28.21 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dorian Inn Hotel
34.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
SPARTA TEAM Hotel
9.99 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.8% 21 reviews
Chic Hotel
47.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Soho hotel
12.52 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 74.1% 70 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

111 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zeus Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 143 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how close everything was, easy access to metro and food places, walking distance from Parthenon etc Amazing staff, very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikael Stensson

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2014 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, good service, nice staff.

Disliked: Mikael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, really at the center

Disliked: -

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Myrlande Laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014

Liked: Close to tourist attractions. Nice theme. Friendly staff. Balcony, small but nice.

Disliked: You shared one key with your roommate, pay to use the a.c., use the toilet, but you couldn't flush the toilet paper down with it, had to go in the trash pile. Bed sheets so thin, you are sleeping on the last person's sweat stains. Mosquitoes, even though doors were closed, they'd get through holes or cracks in the walls.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace on the rooftop

Disliked: It was a bit noisy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close enough to metro station and easy enough walk to sites. Reasonably comfy bunks.

Disliked: No aircon in dorm, no locker for luggage in rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hospitable, central, cheap.

Disliked: Mosquitoes can be lethal, and no nets / fans.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kamal Passi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Kamal would recommend this property

Liked: It is just 10 minutes walk from the Acropolis and 5 minutes walk from the Monastiraki Metro Station. The Hostel offers a Free Walking Tour of the Acropolis which is fun and you will end up making a lot of new friends during the course of the tour. The staff is super friendly, and advices you in the best possible manner. I stayed there during the inauguration of the 2014 FIFA WC and saw all the matches on the Roof Top Bar with other backpackers which was also fun. And I personally thought that the toilets were quite clean. At the price they offer, it's a steal.

Disliked: 1. There is only 1 key to the Dorm Room. So you might have to make quite a few trips up and down the stairs in case you find the room locked. 2. The Wi-Fi Signal is pretty off. But in a way it is a good thing. No wi-fi meant we spent more time visiting and exploring Athens, otherwise we would just keep sitting right next to our smartphones in our dorm. 3. The Bathroom has 2 Showers on each floor. And you need to get undressed outside the shower cubicle. As a guy, there isn't any problem. But I am not sure about the girls.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ONUR ÖZTÜRK

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Less celaning, no locked cabinets, bad showers and toilets, less wireless.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014

Liked: It was close to everything

Disliked: There is no security whatsoever and it is really noisy, expect a few hours of sleep if that. The showers are in poor condition and the place is quite dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Devon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Devon would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome little place for the value! Beds were fine, showers were okay (a little old and run down but not that bad). Not very safe as in no lockers and the last person hands the key over but there's a luggage room. I stayed during a low time so I wasn't worried anyway but not sure what it would be like during the high season. I liked it - close to everything and walkable within all the main metro lines. Definitely worth the savings in Athens. WIFI was good in my room but some people were in the hallway outside my room for it - not sure about that.

Disliked: No locker in my room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nichole Cambridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a good location & cheap.

Disliked: There are no lockers in the rooms as well as no common area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lara Buschmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: The room and facilities were in a very bad state and needed urgently a renovation.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Steve Pabst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: roof top bar

Disliked: to pay extra for air con at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very, very friendly and extraordinarily helpful. They treated you like friends and welcomed you in happily. Also the dorms are really great and well-priced. The location is perfect, right in the heart of everything that's going on. The rooftop bar is pretty nice as well!

Disliked: No kitchen but that's Athens is really well priced for food so that's not such a bad thing in the end.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and close to some of the major attractions by foot,

Disliked: Not the best value for money place I've been. They don't supply sheets, have good working wifi (as advertised) and not the greatest condition of rooms/bathrooms (some toilets are broken, sinks in the rooms not working properly). For the price we paid, I would have expected a little better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price Helpfulness of friendly staff

Disliked: Shared shower facilities were not nice

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought that hostel provided excellent value. Location is great.

Disliked: Not a fan of their being a shared room key.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

martha elena reyna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012

Liked: i have no idea i did not stay there, but liked the one they acommodated me in instead except i would have rather been speared the walk!

Disliked: like new property better, i am sure, closer to fleamarket, bigger, nicer except hot water only in one shower stall

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, very safe and good internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money, clean dorms, clean showers (some mold up high) & very clean toilets. The walking tour is very good, so like me you'll probably give a tip.

Disliked: Mold up high on the showers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Hiller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, good location close to major sights.

Disliked: Rooftop bar was not in use, so the hostel lacked some atmosphere - nice place to stay, but not much opportunity to meet other hostel members, as no real communal area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Russel Goossen

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Russel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, Demitir, Alex and Grorge are very helpful.

Disliked: The nigbourhood is less than desirable.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012

Liked: Its cheap. I met some nice people staying there

Disliked: Although its close to the center attractions, its not very safe to walk around this part of the city. BATHROOMS need help. Not too nicely

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAKAHIRO OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 TAKAHIRO would recommend this property

Liked: cheep money

Disliked: TAKAHIRO left no negative feedback.


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels