We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels

Reviews of Hostel San Remo

Hostel | 8 Nissirou Street, (T.Deligianni Street), Metro Metaxourgio Athens, Greece 104 38

68.0% Overall Rating

116 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2014)

"Very helpful staff, very clean , location is really great close to metro and city center"

Read all Hostel San Remo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Our cancellation policy is that you are able to cancel your reservation up to 48 hours before the date of your arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Athens?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Athens

Neos Olympos Hotel
14.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.5% 1089 reviews
Athens Delta Hotel
16.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.5% 43 reviews
Hotel Stanley
41.01 USD

Hotel 4 star 81.9% 6 reviews
Hotel Rio Athens
20.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.2% 39 reviews
Apollo Hotel
22.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.4% 19 reviews
Nafsika Hotel
21.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.2% 6 reviews
MINOA HOTEL
32.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Athens International Youth Hostel
12.30 USD

Hostel 71.0% 444 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.0%

Overall Rating

116 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel San Remo'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 130 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Roberto Flores

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: easy to find, close to metro station

Disliked: the rooms are too small, the bathrooms are so small it's super uncomfortable, the neighborhood where the hostel is located is not the safest, non-existent common areas

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Security

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, very clean , location is really great close to metro and city center

Disliked: Bathrooms were very tiny

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: Hot and strong flow of water.

Disliked: Small toilet, no place to hang anything, poor recept upon arrival. Room smelled of poor sewage system. The size of the toilet is no doubt the smallest I have seen. We might have been given the lousier room. Also, we booked a 4-bed mixed dorm but they gave us a 6-bed instead. City map given was just sufficient.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 May 2014

Liked: It's near metro and city center (15 minutes walking)

Disliked: bathroom, bad smell

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Capillo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, comfortable, and a good deal for the money. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Disliked: There were no lockers to secure your belongings.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hanna Seifert

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013

Liked: - it was cheap - it is close to the train station

Disliked: - the place was noisy at night (the staff talking in the hallway at 5 o clock in the night) - the property is not comfortable at all and doesn't provide a welcoming atmosphere - the hostel is situated in a weird neighbourhood, we saw many drug addicts in the streets around - see above

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Close walkable distance from the nearest metro station, Metaxourgio. Supermarket nearby. Very fast wifi!

Disliked: Area itself is not very safe, but it was fine for me and my friends because we traveled in a group. I would not recommend this for single female travelers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanya Rudkovski

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 October 2012 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: Next to the metro. 20 min by woking from the center. Clin hostel and kwaet

Disliked: Tanya left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pamela Forbes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful, kept it nice and clean, quiet, free internet and computers when open, told us where some really good food was, and they moved us to an air conditoned room

Disliked: The kitchen you had to pay to use

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are so friendly and really helpful! I would definitley recommend staying here.

Disliked: ...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Collins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The access to other travelers and the fact they sold cheap beer downstairs. It was also conveniently located near the train station. One of the staff members had a real problem with noise and even though EVERY person in the hostel was in one room drinking and being friendly he routinely yelled at us because we were disturbing his skype with his girlfriend.

Disliked: The downside was the neighborhood was a bit rough and it was common to see people doing cocaine or shooting up on the street in the vicinity of the hostel.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

10 April 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynton Baird

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 April 2011 Lynton would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap room, close to a metro stop. Has a small kitchen.

Disliked: Some staff had limited english and were a bit grumpy. Had to pay extra for the stove.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Muhammad Sajjad

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 March 2011

Liked: nice

Disliked: ewr

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Luethi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: It's a lovely small hostel, nicely located and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small but the nice rooftop terrace brings up enough space to enjoy your meal when its crowded.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jess Tejani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010

Liked: Close to a grocery store and several cheap eateries.

Disliked: The room smelled. The kitchen was super tiny which meant no more than one person cooking at a time. The bathrooms were a bit minimalist. One of them contained a toilet only which meant you had to wait for the other bathroom to be free or wash your hands in the kitchen sink, assuming no one was cooking at the time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashley Eadie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2010 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: good location nice staff

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jamie Drobnick Drobnick

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2010

Liked: The staff was personable

Disliked: As a girl traveling solo, I felt very unsafe in this area and didn't some and go at all at night while alone. I was really lucky I made a good friend in my dorm so that made it worth it. There was only two of us in a room with 6 beds, the place seemed dead and empty. Apparently late August is the end of the tourist season, so maybe earlier in the summer would be better.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Burke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Small and easy to meet people

Disliked: Extremely small kitchen (gets hot very quick) and only 2 showers.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

19 July 2010

Liked: Not a whole lot

Disliked: The shower had a huge crack in the door so anyone might take a peek while you are showering, the only sink was in the shower so that made things difficult when many people were showering at night and I wanted to brush my teeth. There was no A/C and the room had a broken sink with "FRAGILE" tape all over it. The location was not very good and it did not appear to be clean.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Van Dyke

10 June 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty cheap, and we were able to get a room to ourselves.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Karma Rae

01 June 2010 Karma would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap place in an okay neighborhood! very hard to find in athens. wireless was good. small hostel so you get to meet lots of people. kitchen is tiny, but it worked for us. rooms are the bare minimum, but you pay for what you get. very close to (walking distance) the main train station, Larissa, So good if you want to move on somewhere by train. Easy to find. I would recommend!

Disliked: Karma left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's just the average

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms was nice and clean. The area was quite.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Athens hostels
See all Athens hotels