We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alex 30 Hostel

Hostel | Alexanderstrasse 30, Stuttgart, Germany 70184

83.2% Overall Rating

100 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Lena Sanosyan thinks…

"I like everything :) helpful 24 hour reception, clean room, wi-fi in room. I've forget my shampoo, and they give me one small for free.)"

Read all Alex 30 Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Stuttgart?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Stuttgart

Stuttgart IB-Gästehaus
72.12 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 3 reviews
Inter-Hostel
32.58 USD

Hostel 77.6% 276 reviews
Relax-Wellnesshotel Stuttgart
51.51 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 78.7% 18 reviews
Hotel Krehl's Linde
45.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.2% 15 reviews
Hotel Körschtal
45.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.4% 9 reviews
Hostel Cinkyn
21.89 USD

Hostel 75.2% 42 reviews
Le Village
27.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.2% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

100 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alex 30 Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Roxanne Conlon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: - Friendly staff - Free wifi - Secure lockers

Disliked: - Only one toilet for each gender per floor - had to go to other floors to use the bathroom - Room was old and in bad state. Chunks missing from the wall. Lockers were badly worn. The television didn't work. - The bathrooms weren't particularly clean. - Breakfast was excessively overpriced - 9 euros for a bread roll a couple of slices of cheese, a slice of ham, and some cereal. Food was served until eleven but at ten it seemed to have already been mostly eaten. Very little was left

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and a pleasant place to stay.

Disliked: They only provide a dooner, which gets too hot. A sheet and a blanket would be better. Also, they have "personal" reading lights next to each bed, but these are so bright that if someone wants to read at 2am, it's like the entire room light is on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lena Sanosyan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything :) helpful 24 hour reception, clean room, wi-fi in room. I've forget my shampoo, and they give me one small for free.)

Disliked: No elevator )

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good guest kitchen, all the different appliances and utensils you;d think you'd need.

Disliked: Toilet. Could do with a washing machine for guests to use (of course this would come at a price, but still)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Sunderland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: When I came to Alex 30 Hostel in Stuttgart I was very in need of recuperation and rest, and after one night I can say this hostel had everything I needed: big comfortable beds, lockers in room, very spacious, not crowded rooms and helpful staff. Will be coming here again.

Disliked: Only slight point that I disliked initially was the lack of washing machines, however the staff directed me to a laundrette not far away. It is a nice walk from the hostel to the laundrette giving me a chance to see the city centre, königstrasse and schloßplatz and such.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, clean, and quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014

Liked: none

Disliked: not very friendly

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Brent Douglas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: There were a bunch of cool people staying there you could hang out with in the lounge area downstairs. Some of the staff there were really cool.

Disliked: Brent left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fine. It has free wifi (which works in the rooms and works well), and it has a decent kitchen, and all for a good price. They tell you to take the tram to get to the hostel but you really don't; it's only a 25-30 minute walk from the train station through town to the hostel. The staff was very nice and helpful, the hostel was clean and it was fairly quiet. Breakfast is quite costly (8 euros) and not worth it, I recommend bringing your own food!

Disliked: Nothing really. Breakfast should be less expenisve. Alex 30 directly in the middle of town, but then again, I was in Stuttgart to see Hohenzolern Castle and the Porsche Musuem, not the downtown area. It's near the S-Bahn (though s-bahn tickets are expensive).

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice place in the middle of the city, with a cheap and nice bar which serves as a meeting point (in 2 days I got to know quite a lot of people, so you will not stay alone unless it's your goal), good environment, great kitchen with all facilities, there is even hairdryers in every shower The stuff was given away to all guests bread and cookies left from the breakfast. I also met long-time customers who recommended me this place - a good sign.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Lu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway.

Disliked: No elevators ... climbing the stairs is an epic challenge when you're drunk lol

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerfull and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and nice structure.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Easy access from and to U station which leads to all town's destinations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Claire Botsford-Allain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

20 June 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Easily accessible from central area

Disliked: Useless lockers, squeaky bed

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2013

Liked: The room and bed, shower bathroom were all ok. the location was also not bad.

Disliked: No elevator, my room was on 4th floor and had to carry all the luggages up. poor staff. No all of them though. But there is one very bad tempered aggressive girl that you'd better stay far from. in total the fiendlyness of the staff in this hostel was far from what i had seen in many other hostels in more touristic cities that i have been to.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michaela cordy

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 michaela would recommend this property

Liked: very clean facilities, good location that is close to the main centre and is very close to a train stop. friendly and helpful staff, breakfast is good as a paid optional extra.

Disliked: michaela left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Thais Araujo

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 September 2012

Liked: its clean :)

Disliked: Its expensive and there is not included, just the bedding

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Charges apply for additional things like Wifi and a city map.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LAIS FLORES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012

Liked: There was a lot of information available for places to visit in the city and how to get there, there's a bar, rooms were good. Location was not bad, not in the centre, but within walking distance.

Disliked: We booked a double room, but were given a twin room instead. When we complained they argued that in their definition, a double room is a room with two beds and a twin room is a room with a double bed!! They let us move to a real double room next day, but for the first day we had to stay in the twin room. So, if you book a double room or a twin room, I would reccommend calling them in advance or sending an email to make sure they understand what room you want... Also, the double room was better but the internet did not work there. We were annoyed in the evenings when we sat at the bar to use the internet, and many people frequenting the bar would go outside to smoke and leave the door open while they did so. It was -10ºC outside so it was very inconvenient to be inside and freeze anyways because someone keeps the door open all the time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Madhu Vasudevan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Madhu would recommend this property

Liked: Easily accessible location. Very helpful staffs. Neat and clean rooms and toilets. 1 EUR internet for whole stay.

Disliked: Like to have more english channels in the TV.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yael breuer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 yael would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing helpful staf!! Unbelievably clean!! Really close to downtown, great atmosphere.

Disliked: yael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shower room is very clean and there is a soap. Privcate room is comfortable for traveler who have a long trip and it is very cheap!

Disliked: there isn't an elevator.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and rooms facing back were 100 % quiet.

Disliked: No breakfast or internet included.