We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel

Hostel | Senefelderstraße 1, Munich, Germany 80336

90.1% Overall Rating

993 out of 1041 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

"Staff are all awesome. Bathrooms are super clean. Lockers are secure and functional. Bar is great. Totally recommended."

Read all Wombats City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Jaeger's Hostel
29.78 USD

Hostel 85.4% 445 reviews
Euro Youth Hostel
25.89 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1847 reviews
Hotel Modern
51.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 49.9% 390 reviews
Hotel Monaco
35.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 10 reviews
Pension Locarno
25.89 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 74 reviews
SMART STAY Hotel Station
37.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.1% 517 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
44.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Creatif Hotel Elephant
51.79 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.3% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

993 out of 1041 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 776 of 866 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that we got to check in right away when we came in earlier than expected at 06.30am! And they were more than helpful and we even managed to get straight to our room so we could sleep! Walking tour was amazing learnt so much History about the place especially as we knew next to nothing to begin with! Bar was really good and the couch and lounge area was quite funky!

Disliked: The lounge area could have more plugs and more of an atmosphere where you can talk to others in it as it's a bit separated so that if you wanted to go in to chat to someone you can't but I guess that's what the bar is for. Only a small thing is the lights on the beds are really bright so when someone comes in late or wakes up really early its so bright that it woke us up, maybe curtains on the bunk beds or dimmer lights?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, especially in the bar. Awesome location

Disliked: Unfortunately I think the room may have had bed-bugs...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the station. Good breakfast for 3 Euros. Nice rooms and very clean.

Disliked: Very big and unpersonal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere to chill out after a day of walking around the city.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Christian Zelmar Torrez Luzaga

Alone

City break

21 November 2011 Christian Zelmar would recommend this property

Liked: I think everything was Ok, nice place, good breakfast and very kind staff.

Disliked: The noisy pals that were outside the hostel that didn't let the ones that were inside to sleep.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Trigo

Alone

Business / conference

19 November 2011 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at the bar was excellent. The breakfast was very complete and cheap. Room was clean and the locker was big enough. The staff was sensational.

Disliked: Internet was only available in common areas, not in the rooms, it was also very slow during the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 3.7 euro breakfast deal is good

Disliked: Remove the hotwater per cup, this might results in wastage of paper cup as most folks use thier own water bottle

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Kammler

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a wonderful inner courtyard with trees - you feel immediately like being somoewhere on a southern beach :D Our room was quite big for 6 people and had enough seating possibilities. And the location couldn't have been any better!! Many (low-priced) places to eat around. Will come again, for sure! :)

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Warne

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lively bar & staff, clean and great locker and key system.

Disliked: Charge for breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Xavier Haro

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Daniel Xavier would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the property was amazing. It was across the street from the Main Train Station, 15 min walking to the Glockenspiel, and it was in a good area for going out and finding restaurants. It was clean in the room and we had a 6 person dorm but it felt private almost.

Disliked: Some of the staff were less than helpful. In general they were helpful, but we kept getting a repeat offender. There is one girl that works there, I never got her name, but she is a little rotund, that was very condescending. Every time I asked her a question I got an eye roll and she would throw me some shade with her comments. When I asked about the beer halls and how you get a table inside (do you just sit down anywhere or find a waiter?) she said she had never been to one. On top of that she wasn't helpful in asking another staff member or anyone for advice. What kind of German lives in Munich and hasn't been to a beer hall?????

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thuc Do

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Thuc would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at both the Wombats in Munich and in Berlin and have absolutely nothing negative to say about any of them.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big hostel, right by the train station, couldn't really fault it.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Neufeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice to be able to walk out of the train station and be at my hostel in two minutes. The hostel itself is very clean, the staff is very helpful and the hostel has a really chill vibe.

Disliked: The wifi was down one night, but they did have some computers available.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the beds are nice and comfortable!

Disliked: There's only wireless in the lobby!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick McQuiston

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Wombats is the cleanest and one of the friendliest places I've stayed around the world. Right next to the station and only a 5 minute walk to the city centre! Great staff, great atmosphere and a fantastic map and guide.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the main train station

Disliked: Poor Wifi, wasn't working most of the time and you had to go downstairs to access it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good facilities, clean bathrooms and nice common area.

Disliked: Wifi was way too slow, even normal browsing like checking train connections take ages.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near main station, convenient

Disliked: There's 2 lifts but they was not come once ben called, had to use stair. I checked in early and kept my luggage in the first floor but i stayed in the fourth floor so i had to carry it on the stair by myself. The rest was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved my stay here!!!

Disliked: Not applicable. Really a nice hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kimberley Stainlay

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and friendly hostel to stay at. Staff really helpful.

Disliked: Should include breakfast as part of the room rate.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Greg Macek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station (5 minute walk if you're slow). Decent room accommodations, each floor is secure. Hangout area and bar on main floor are cool.

Disliked: Wifi only available in lounge area, bathroom in room was OK, but small for 6 people to share. Not necessarily close to a lot of bars.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love how close it is to the train station! Perfect for solo travelers who don't want to haul luggage all over the city!

Disliked: The breakfast was not very good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jake Hanrahan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 October 2011 jake would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, the bar with cheap/free drinks was a great bonus. Rooms were clean and shower was not on a timer, so thats a good thing.

Disliked: There was no kitchen but there is a small guest fridge in the back corner of the enclosed court yard / common room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large clean dorms. Nice internet area and bar. Breakfast good value.

Disliked: drain in bathroom smelt a bit, perhaps needed unclogging

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of my favourites! Great hostel - location, staff, facilities, everything is perfect!! we stayed on 2 seperate occassios and they let us check in 3 hours early the 2nd time because i was sick from food poisoning. also they give you a free drink on arrival =) and everything is clean!! highly recommended!!!

Disliked: nothing at all


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels