HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel

Hostel | Senefelderstraße 1, Munich, Germany 80336

91.2% Overall Rating

985 out of 1032 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

"Hostel is Just across from the train station, very close to the bus station too. Walking distance to the old town. Clean. Staff are very nice, patient and helpful. Walking tours are very good. One of the best hostel…"

Read all Wombats City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Jaeger's Hostel
30.81 USD

Hostel 82.2% 440 reviews
Euro Youth Hostel
33.49 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1840 reviews
Hotel Modern
36.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 49.0% 389 reviews
Hotel Monaco
50.24 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 10 reviews
Pension Locarno
29.47 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 73 reviews
SMART STAY Hotel Station
32.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.1% 507 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
66.99 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Creatif Hotel Elephant
40.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 110 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

985 out of 1032 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 769 of 857 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yin-Shao Liu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Yin-Shao would recommend this property

Liked: The rules are clear and fair. The staff is very nice. The room is big, clean, and modern.

Disliked: Please note that there is no wifi in the rooms!! And when many people are using the wifi, it would be very very slow.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and the shower was hot. Common areas were nice and staff were friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yizhou SHU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012

Liked: The location are perfect!

Disliked: My room is very very hot in the night and i was not able to open the windows of my room!!! I called the stuff but they couldnt open it either! I was being baked the whole night and i failed to fall asleep the whole night!!! The socket is too far away from my bed, so i dont dare to plug my ipad in for fear of being stolen

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The patio, the bar, safety for my stuff in the rooms

Disliked: nothing to dry the floor in the bathroom (it becomes rapidely disgusting with 6 persons in a room).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Marscham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was terrific the staff very helpful, and other travelers just helped make the place. Very clean and big rooms with clean showers and bathrooms. I am definatelly planning on going I Munich again and will stay at wombats.

Disliked: Rooms were hot in the summer as there were 6 people in our dorm and the window wouldn't stay open.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe building, and everyone had secure lockers. Nice common area and breakfast, and I liked that they gave me a map.

Disliked: Really, there's nothing to complain about, it's very well run hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I stayed at in Europe. It has a chilled vibe with a great bar (cheep beers during happy hour) and relaxing outdoor/indoor garden.

Disliked: Noise from the road went on all night. At first it was people then it was construction.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Turgut Sebahtin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Turgut would recommend this property

Liked: İt was located at the center for everthing

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were quite spacious and there were lockers in the room, which were adequately secure.

Disliked: There was no wi-fi in the rooms. The hostel states that the reason for this is so that the guests can mingle in the lobby, but when one wants to check their emails quickly before going to bed, or watch a film, they don't want to mingle...And the skyping in the late hours of the night in the rooms can be fixed easily with a 'no making noise after a certain time' rule. Also, the housekeeping staff were not so friendly and often had tendencies to simply barge into the room during the day.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christina Clausen-Bruun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, modern atmosphere and lovely communal areas. Excelllent, good value breakfast. Good-sized, clean rooms and bathrooms. Helpful staff. Felt very safe and secure. Free drink in the bar included.

Disliked: Wifi was pretty patchy and only available in the communal areas, which got quite crowded in the evenings for this reason.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marley Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Marley would recommend this property

Liked: They made the hostel so it is very easy to mingle with other travellers. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was a bit pricy and no free breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cohen

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff, lots of great common areas for meeting new people.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XI JIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 XI would recommend this property

Liked: everything is perfect!

Disliked: wifi doesnt work very well all the time, but stuff can fix it immediately! great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really excellent standard of hotel, facilities were cool and really liked the central atrium with the hammocks and bean bags. Breakfast for 3.50 was good value for money, and the selection was pretty tasty! The location was excellent, literally 5 minutes walk from the central shops and restaurants. Had underground parking which was great seeing as we were on a road trip by car! Accommodation was an excellent standard, rooms were spacious clean and modern. The locker system allocated to your room key was a great idea, no chance of anyone cracking open your padlock to nick your stuff! On the whole, would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Morgan Jangula

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful with everything I needed and a lot of tours ran directly through the hostel, including one of the city (Oz Tour is the way to go!) and one to Dachau. The location is amazing, just a short stroll down a business lined street to the city center. Large, clean rooms and a decent breakfast too.

Disliked: No kitchen, although it's due to fire code restrictions and through no fault of the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Brooker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized and comfortable dorm rooms, close to the main train station and walking distance to the centre of town. Nice bar and great garden with couches and hammocks. Breakfast was good although cost extra. Good sized lockers in the room and security seemed quite good. staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: WiFi was frustratingly slow at peak times-early morning and early evening. Only accessible on the ground floor also. Not major issues really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere, very clean, friendly staff, lockers in rooms

Disliked: Very tiny bathrooms that get dirty easily, my first locker was broken

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Wombats in Vienna and the experience was the same in Munich. Great location, just a short walk into the main square and close to all major subway lines. Very safe and secure: your key card is used to get into the hostel, your room, and your locker. The breakfast isn't great but it's enough and it's affordable. The bar is pretty fun (not as good as the Wombar in Vienna but still pretty fun and good for meeting other backpackers). Very affordable and from what I've heard, better than the Youth Hotel next door.

Disliked: The rooms were hot. I'm not sure if there is an age requirement, but we had four girls in our room who looked like they were 14-years-old at most.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was what I expected from a hostel

Disliked: The rooms were not air conditioned and they do not provide wi-fi in the rooms

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, spacious room with built-in toilet, value for money.

Disliked: No kitchen available for the reason of no open fire allowed. Then at least microwave or hot water dispenser should be provided. Wi-fi connection rather slow.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, went out of their way to help me with my ticketing problems, helping me navigate, and answered my excessive questions with enthusiasm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohamed El Mekawy

Alone

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very clean, and the location is very good, just the other side of the central station, its not good for a walk but good for going anywhere with underground or even outside munich with the train. Also the stuff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good actually. Also the rooms where very quite even on friday and saterday nights where everybody was down stairs drinking and having party in the bar. (very well isolated)

Disliked: almost nothing..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to train station and main area of Munich. Good value, would recommend.

Disliked: Bar closes too early. Last call was about 1230 - 100AM, too early for a party hostel in my opinnion.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dacia Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Dacia would recommend this property

Liked: Location of this hostel was great! Very close to the train station. Really nice courtyard area to use the wifi. The staff were really nice and very helpful. I would recommend the free walking tour that goes from the hostel every morning, it was very informative and it gets you local as it says on the flyer!

Disliked: Wifi was not the greatest connection, but there were lots of people using it at the one time so I understand why it was like that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AKARAT SAE-SOW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 AKARAT would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT Location, Big Shared Room!

Disliked: Life doesn't work sometimes but that is no big deal.

The property's response is...


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels