We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Wombats City Hostel

Hostel | Senefelderstraße 1, Munich, Germany 80336

91.1% Overall Rating

1001 out of 1049 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

"Very friendly and helpful staff. Value for money breakfast. Clean beds and bathroom."

Read all Wombats City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Jaeger's Hostel
15.69 USD

Hostel 83.5% 460 reviews
Euro Youth Hostel
12.33 USD

Hostel 92.0% 1863 reviews
Hotel Modern
280.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 48.1% 391 reviews
Hotel Monaco
30.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 10 reviews
Pension Locarno
23.54 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 74 reviews
SMART STAY Hotel Station
13.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.6% 520 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
56.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Creatif Hotel Elephant
24.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.3% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

1001 out of 1049 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wombats City Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 782 of 874 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff and location the most! Close to the main train station and tons of late night eateries. The staff was really helpful in answering questions and helping with tourist info. The lockers in the room are large enough for any backpackers backpack and they are secure. There is also laundry on site, which was helpful. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was a good size but the bathroom was a bit too small for 6 people to share. The showers were warm and they provide Hand washing soap. The bar was fun, cheap drinks and good music. There is a pool table and lots of seating, we met a lot of people there!

Disliked: The wifi is only on the first floor which is ok with me but it only worked really good in the front lobby or computer area. There is a cute lounge area with hammocks but the wifi barley worked in there and it didn't work at all in the bar. So if there is only wifi on one floor it would be nice if it worked everywhere on that floor. There was a horrible stench comin from the shower the last two days we were there, probably plumming issues. Also wish there was a nice patio for smokers! No kitchen because of fire regulations which is understandable! There were also walking tours but the day we wanted to do it, it was cancelled and also the beer tour was cancelled. We did the bike tour with Frankie's bike tours and that was the best part of our trip!!! Highly recommeded and wombats offers 5 euros off!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James McConchie

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff with a friendly and comfortable environment.

Disliked: Wish there was wi-fi in the rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great bar, really cool building and all round good place to be!

Disliked: During the day there is little interaction between travelers - everybody was engrossed in their laptops!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was really hoppin' and it was in a great location for easy access to the public transportation. We also met a lot of other Americans there!

Disliked: The rooms were boiling hot and stuffy and we weren't allowed to eat or drink in our rooms!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money! Reception staff were very friendly and competent. Compared to other hostels I know it was exceptionally clean. The location is good, very central and many things are either within walking distance or easy to reach via public transport. The bar also seemed quite decent. All things considered Wombats Hostel made a good impression.

Disliked: No WiFi in the rooms with the implausible excuse that this is to make people meet each other in the lobby downstairs (although in the info on Hostelbookers it says 'we still fight the machine'). Cleaning staff were rude (coming in at 9am without saying good morning, opening shades and windows and cleaning around people's stuff), as was one girl behind the bar who coulnd't find a nicer way of telling people to leave the bar at closing time than just approaching someone from behind and flicking his ear.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station.

Disliked: No internet in rooms. Poor internet connection where they have wifi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere, cool bar, very nice lounge.

Disliked: Expensive drinks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was one of the best I've been to - really friendly, organised and helpful staff. A great security system to get into the rooms - swipe card access for all doors, to each floor, and to each room. Also had lockers on swipe which made life easy. Dorms quite roomy and spotless - and 6 bed dorm had enough space, plugs, space to sit etc - really good. Wifi connection downstairs was good, and had a busy and vibrant onsite bar. Served breakfast for €3.80 in the morning - all you can eat tea, coffee and other continental breakfast stuff. Overall felt friendly, comfortable, safe place to spend a night. Really close to the Hauptbahnhof so convenient too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, lounge area

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Fenton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is pretty nice and was a good price when we were there. The room that i stayed in had lockers and was very spacious. It also had a table in the middle of the room. Downstairs you can buy whatever from the reception toothpaste, a towel.. whatever.

Disliked: The bar downstairs is ok but doesn't have a lot going on, most of the time. I found it to be in a central area; however, there are a lot of dodgy people around when you walk out the front and i felt unsafe.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, awesome bar to meet people especially if you're travelling alone. So close to the train station. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No Internet except in some common areas, even then it was patchy. And if you like to be woken an hour before check out time because the cleaners come in to clean around you, then this is the place for you! Personally I hated it and seven when asking them to come back after checkout they wouldn't.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Sanchez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar and good location, you get a free beer!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sawanit wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 January 2013 sawanit would recommend this property

Liked: Recommended for traveller to munich. Very comfortable and convenient. Most important is cleanliness, well organized and proper managed.

Disliked: sawanit left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

QIANFAN CHEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013

Liked: It's ok. But charge more than hostelbooker. Much more. And no wifi in the room as well

Disliked: QIANFAN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Johannes Moll

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: great location good atmosphere

Disliked: almost everything is perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Figueiredo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location! Good breakfast! Big rooms!

Disliked: -------

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything and everyone. It's really cheap for all of the services we can get!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rami Qubti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping

05 January 2013 Rami would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price , the wellcom drink is great , the patio is nice

Disliked: No kitchen for use , no internet in rooms , they must clean with other cemicals with nice smell than what they use today .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kotchapol Yoosooksawat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

31 December 2012 Kotchapol would recommend this property

Liked: - Close to Hauptbahnhof - Worth the price. - Free Wifi. - Free Bed Sheet. - Free towel - Cheap Breakfast

Disliked: - If earlier check-in is possible, it would be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

REBECA RODRIGUES

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 REBECA would recommend this property

Liked: I liked pretty much everything! Spacefull bedrooms, really clean, location good, friendly staff, great breakfast for a good price!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012

Liked: Safe, convenient location, cleaning daily.

Disliked: No wifi in room. No wifi in room. No wifi in room. No free breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, efficient, well organised, staff helpful and I liked the free drink included. I was ready for a small glass of cool beer after the journey. The toilet / shower in each dormitory is an added convenience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Oh cmon, that shit rationale about only having WiFi in the lobby is nonsense. As if you see anyone interacting much in the lobby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever been. Liked the bar, the lobby with the trees, it's also silent in the rooms. The staff was really helpful. A plus is the breakfast for 3,8 euros where you can eat all you can!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Bender

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 December 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was a quiet common room as well as a noisy bar, for people who like whichever. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and it was very clean. I liked that it had elevators (I never mind the stairs, but with luggage it sucks!), I liked the beds, they were both comfortable and pretty. I liked that we could control the heat in the room ourselves, I liked the free wifi, I loved the proximity to the Hauptbahnhof, I liked the general character of the place, which was laidback and fun. The people who own it must have good senses of humour and are obviously experienced travellers who appreciate what people need and want when they're staying in a hostel. I would recommend this place to anyone, it's by far the best hostel I've ever stayed at (and I've stayed at many, probably 50+!)

Disliked: My only complaints at all are small ones: first, the wifi network wasn't always reliable, and second, I just wish there were more tables and regular chairs for people who prefer to work at their laptops that way (rather than in a hammock, say, though the hammocks were super cool). There was only one little table in the common room and people were fighting over it every time I went in there.

The property's response is...


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels