HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Jaeger's Hostel

Hostel | Senefelderstr. 3, Munich, Germany 80336

83.3% Overall Rating

370 out of 443 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

Joel Franco thinks…

"Everything was perfect. Housekeeping staff had done an excellent job in cleaning our room and changing the sheets on a daily basis. Reception staff are friendly most specially Marta who has…"

Read all Jaeger's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.54
  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Groups of more than 9 people must book entire dorms for private use. Groups must either transfer payment via their bank or pay the full balance by credit card at least 14 days before arrival. After completing your booking you will be contacted by Jaeger’s Munich directly. • We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Cancellations and changes are accepted via email, fax and letter. • During Oktoberfest there is a minimum stay of two nights and full pre-payment is required; your credit card will be charged immediately after booking with the total amount (non-refundable in case of amendment, cancellation or no-show). If we cannot take payment we will be forced to cancel your booking • There is a 100% charge for cancellations and no-shows of Singles, Twins and Doubles for bookings with an arrival date during the the following periods: 14.-18. February 2014 (Inhorgenta) 19.-24.. February 2014 (FREE) 1.-4. April 2014 (Analyticca) 5.-9. May 2014 (IFAT) 3.-6. June 2014 (Automatica / Intersolar) 7.-9. June 2014 (Kirchentag) 16.-20. July 2014 (Interforst) 6.-10. September 2014 (ERS) 19. September - 6. October 2014 (OKTOBERFST!!! IMMEDIATE CREDIT CARD PAYMENT) 6.-8. October 2014 (ExpoReal) 11.-14. November 2014 (Electronica) 29. December 2014 - 2. January 2015 (New Year's Eve) Cancellation Policy: • We have a 48hr cancellation policy. Cancellations and changes are accepted via email, fax, letter and on Hostelworld.com. • For Oktoberfest (18. September 2015 – 5. October 2015) full pre-payment is required; your credit card will be charged immediately after booking with the total amount (non-refundable in case of amendment, cancellation or no-show). If we cannot take the payment we will be forced to cancel your booking. Valid for all room types. • There is a 100% charge for cancellations and no-shows of Singles, Twins and Doubles for bookings with an arrival date during the following periods: 8.-12. January 2015 (OPTI) 17.-25. January 2015 (BAU) 4.-8. February 2015 (ISPO) 19.-24. February 2015 (INHORGENTA) 4.-9. May 2015 ((TRANSPORT LOGISTIC) 21.-26. June 2015 (LASER WORLD OF PHOTONICS) 18. September-5. October 2015 (OKTOBERFST!!! IMMEDIATE CREDIT CARD PAYMENT) 5.-7. October 2015 (EXPO REAL) 19.-24. October 2015 (CERAMITEC) 9.-13. November 2015 (PRODUCTRONICA) 29. December 2015 - 2. January 2016 (NEW YEAR’S EVE)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Euro Youth Hostel
19.70 USD

Hostel 89.3% 1841 reviews
Wombats City Hostel
32.83 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1034 reviews
Hotel Modern
38.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 49.9% 390 reviews
Hotel Monaco
36.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 10 reviews
SMART STAY Hotel Station
26.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.5% 515 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
65.65 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Pension Locarno
26.26 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 73 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
33.48 USD

Hostel 84.1% 200 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

370 out of 443 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jaeger's Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 312 of 432 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location near Hauptbahnhof. Convenient electronic key card system.

Disliked: Bedroom and bathroom could be cleaner. Awkward lockers with which not all padlocks work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Franco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Housekeeping staff had done an excellent job in cleaning our room and changing the sheets on a daily basis. Reception staff are friendly most specially Marta who has been very friendly, efficient and knowlegable. If I could rate this hostel more than 5 stars, I definitely would.

Disliked: Nothing, can't complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Copley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Party hostel! The bar was very good, and cheap for Germany! The hostel was ten minutes walk to the centre of Munich, and very close to the main train station. The room I was in was a ten bed, mixed dorm and it had a bathroom attached which was modern and spacious. The beds were very comfy and there were plugs beside the bed.

Disliked: The lack of an organised pub crawl!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really close to central station, very clean, nice staff

Disliked: the locker is a bit broken, better change it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: J

Disliked: J

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Blaine Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2014 Blaine would recommend this property

Liked: Free soft drinks and impressive magic tricks by the bar patrons, support beams for dorm ceilings on the fifth floor designed in excitingly chunky shapes.

Disliked: Complimentary shots, lockers obscured light switches and plug sockets.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: Only one toilet/shower in the room, nothing on corridors. No handsoap in toilets, bars toilet filthy also no soap or anything to dry your hand with.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Middleton

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly staff, the clean facilities, spacious rooms, lockers for secure baggage storage after checkout, and the free Jager shot!

Disliked: Maybe more staff on hand. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, but I often had to wait a while to talk to them as they were busy checking people in.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robin Waspe

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2014

Liked: Close to the city centre

Disliked: Attitude of the staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Khongphat Prasarnthong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Khongphat would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sandy Argyrides

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014

Liked: It was really close to central station and easy to walk to the town centre, so getting around was easy. It was really clean (though not sure it was necessary to change sheets every day) and awesome that each room has it's own ensuite just for the dorm.

Disliked: Apart from a couple staff members (forget names, the Bosnian guy and the bar girl) the staff weren't very helpful. I note that they were always busy, but every time I approached them with a question I got the impression I was putting them out. They always helped in the end but it seemed like effort. I also asked pretty basic questions (opinions of good museums, places to watch the world cup) and they just didn't seem to have that many tips. The wifi could be a bit all over the place but once you got the weird double log on thing it was fine. Finally, though in expensive it was REALLY annoying that there were added extras one you arrive. They mention they have computer/ internet but they don't mention that you have to pay €1 to use it for 20 mins or that it is 50c a page to print. They also don't mention their lockers may not work with your own lock. I had my own mid-sized padlock but the hole on the turning handle which locks the door is too big. I had to get a lock from them €10 deposit but they minus €1 for each day you're there (for example, if I paid the €10 security and got €7 back after three nights). It wasn't that much to pay but just annoying that they don't mention it. Overall it just seems like they're always so packed ( they are in hostel row) that they don't really put a premium on customer service or the added extra you'd get for free almost anywhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/a

Disliked: N/a

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very close to the train station

Disliked: No kitchen. One of the staff members was not really friendly... But the others were very helpful

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliam Faraon

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 June 2014 Liliam would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very friendly day staff, lookers on the bedrooms and a very good atmosphere.

Disliked: Security guy at night was very rude when we checked in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Wannamaker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, pretty decent value and the bar downstairs would have been great had I not been so poor on this trip.

Disliked: A couple of problems, the chief one being the wifi. I could not get it to work at all in my room, which is bad enough, but I couldn't find a place in the lobby or bar where it wasn't unusably sluggish or dropping constantly. There was also only one electrical outlet with two sockets in a dorm of ten beds. This becomes less of a problem once you take into account how little you'll use your phones and laptops because of the wifi. At least their weaknesses complement each other perfectly. The shower had a perplexing timed shower handle that you would activate and then it shuts off after say, 5 min. I'm gonna go out on a limb and say that no one out there forgets to turn the shower off. This can only waste water for one, and it also ends up leaving the rest of the bathroom floor always wet. Folks, there is nothing more suspicious and disgusting than a wet floor in a bathroom shared with strangers. Lastly, a minor thing, when I asked if I could leave my luggage there before I checked in (I was going on a day trip that left at 930AM), the guy at the counter gave me a bit of grief about how he supposed that an exception could be made for me. I feel a little petty mentioning it- it's not like he refused- but I mean, come on guy. All in all though, I've been in much worse places with a lot less to offer. The flaws of this place just glared a little more since the only other two hostels I've stayed at in Germany were some of the best I've seen and in the same price range too. I may have written a lot here, but this is still a decent enough place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the central station and the metro

Disliked: Wifi is slow

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extraordinarily close to the main train station. Everything was clean, nice private bathrooms with each room.

Disliked: The lockers in the rooms could use some updating or maintenance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in 4 bed dorm and I must say that it's a very, very good hostel. It's located just few minutes walk from the Old Town and the main attractions. Very clean and safe - lockers and padlocks in the room. The room had its own bathroom which was also very clean. You also get a free shot at the bar - it's for all the hostel guests! Top German quality. Absolutely worth a recommendation.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No kitchen and wifi always doesn't work in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. Across the street from the Hauptbahnhof and only about a 20 minute walk to the Innenstadt. Had lockers in the rooms. Downstairs bar, great for meeting people, bartender was great. Stayed in a cheap dorm style room, and I suppose I got what I paid for. Everything was very clean. Definitely more of a student/young person sort of hostel -- not for families. Overall was great.

Disliked: Had problems working the lock to my door. No internet on top floor. so very minor qualms :) Room was somewhat cramped, especially the bath room, but this is expected with a dorm room. Was also located in a sort of back alley area surrounded by - er - "immigrant" people who gave me the creeps.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was all right, we stayed there just one night. good location close to the city center, free shot of Jaeger at the bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Diana Goudian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Burford

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic

Disliked: All was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved staying at this hostel and would recommend it to everyone! The place is super nice, GREAT location, great facilities, free shot of Jägermeister, discounted parking, and a great breakfast!

Disliked: I loved everything about this place. I just wished I stayed longer!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Monia Ghalloussi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014

Liked: I like the location and the breakfeast oh and comfortable bed

Disliked: the atmosphere is really bad, yes thereis a little bar but it is not make for you to talk with others.. one bathroom for everyone... advice: wake up early if you want to use it.. no kitchen ..


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels