HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of Euro Youth Hostel

Hostel | Senefelderstraße 5, Munich, Germany 80336

90.1% Overall Rating

1727 out of 1816 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Craig Girdlestone thinks…

"This was my second time visiting the Euro Youth Hostel. The general atmosphere is excellent, the staff, all of whom speak multiple languages, are all very helpful, the location is excellent; it's…"

Read all Euro Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.76
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

If you enter your arrival time as later than 4 pm we will charge the first night to your credit card in advance of your arrival. If your arrival time was entered as before 4 pm but you have not yet arrived by the time specified we will charge your credit card immediately. Please make sure that you book with a credit card that will be valid and functional on the date of arrival. If we attempt to charge the card (for one of the above reasons) and it doesn't work, we will cancel the reservation. For all arrivals on 31.12.11, 19.05.11and Oktoberfest 2012 22.09.12 – 07.10.12 ) Cancellations and changes done up to 14 days before arrival will be charged 50% of all overnights. Canceled or modified reservations done later or No show will be charged the full amount. Deposit The total reservation amount will be charged on the day of booking and is part refundable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

Jaeger's Hostel
22.08 USD

Hostel 82.2% 414 reviews
Wombats City Hostel
30.36 USD

Hostel 88.7% 1021 reviews
Hotel Modern
33.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 55.5% 385 reviews
Hotel Monaco
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.1% 9 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
69.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
SMART STAY Hotel Station
27.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 484 reviews
Pension Locarno
27.60 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 72 reviews
CVJM / YMCA Muenchen
39.33 USD

Hostel 83.5% 197 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

1727 out of 1816 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Euro Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1248 of 1457 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot, great people, great experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Sinclair

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 December 2012 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Euro Youth Hotel was fantastic. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, my three-bed dorm room was large, clean and secure, and the location was excellent: about a minute's walk from the main railway station, and about 10 minutes from Marienplatz. when we arrived we were greeted by name, given vouchers for free mulled wine in the lovely hostel bar, and offered all sorts of information. I will definitely stay there again if I am ever travelling to Munich in future.

Disliked: My only complaint about the Euro Youth Hotel was that our room was quite noisy. It was located across from the lifts and stairs, and the window looked over the front entrance to the hostel, which is on a street with many other hotels and hostels, so we did hear a lot of talking/shouting until quite late into the night. This is what I expect when I stay in hostels though, and wasn't enough to warrant a complaint or put me off the hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

susan jelley

Alone

City break

10 December 2012 susan would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful and friendly, the place was clean and warm, essential when it was -7 outside

Disliked: susan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliot Bridgewater

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 December 2012 Elliot would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely reception staff, most bar staff are fantastic. Rather central location and cheap! (well, was for me as I pre-booked a month in advance, no idea about day rates)

Disliked: One two drinks on draught, one beer and one cider. Not enough!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haidee Wong

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Haidee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly. On arrival, I was offered Glühwein, and when I came back to get my key, the room I was given unfortunately smelt strongly of cigarette smoke, even though it was a non smoking room. When I went back downstairs to ask then if I could change rooms, they changed it straight away. Was great. The bar also has cheap beers, great atmosphere and really friendly people, which is pretty handy as I was travelling by myself. It's 24 hr reception, luggage store and proximity to the train station is also fairly handy.

Disliked: Nothing :-)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Munich HBF (train station) and 15 minute walk to the xmas markets. There was a great cheap italian place on the corner. Happy Hour is really good and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The bathrooms are cleaned like 5 times a day so they are never gross.

Disliked: The showers were average at best, the water pressure was at a dribble most days.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff and a good price hapy hour in the bar

Disliked: showers for dowms were very clean but despite running all of them to try and get hot water, all i managed was a warm shower.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Larkin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great bar, great crack,great value, great hostel !

Disliked: no kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, free wifi throughout the hostel was awesome, the staff were very helpful, and the free walking tour was great!

Disliked: Maybe the showers could be a little roomier but certainly no reason to avoid!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Boettcher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2012 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and quite helpful. I could speak both English and German. For how little one paid it was very clean and had a lot to offer. It was also nice that it had a bar and lounge right on the property so it was very convenient to get a drink, meet other people and hold conversations.

Disliked: There were some hidden fees that were a little bit of a surprise upon arrival (such as buying a lock for the locker if you wanted your belongings secure) but that could also just be a travel tip one must find out. But overall I enjoyed my stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds Location is great if you are coming in by train

Disliked: Bar gets very busy and loud in the evenings which can make it difficult to meet new people (but the rooms are still very quiet)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the train station, really good location

Disliked: nil

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sabrina Flores

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012

Liked: Clean and comfortable beds, proximity to the train station, fast wifi, blowdryers included :)

Disliked: Not fun for solo travelers, or at least not for me. There was a guy and a girl doing the nasty in my dorm room at 2pm, and very loudly i might add, so i asked them to move me to another room. The receptionist said okay but i'd have to be roomed in with 3 guys, and it was nice of her to make sure i was okay with it because i was a girl traveling solo. But when i got to the room i saw another couple and nobody else. They didn't do anything disturbing in front of me, but i hate that i was misinformed. Not very secure. I had three strange men follow me all the way to the hostel in just one night. Creepy. A lot of better hostels are nearby. They're a tad more costly though :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Perez Beltran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is more than great! The bathrooms and rooms are really clean. There is a bar with happy hour between 6-9 pm where you can take an extraordinary beer for 2€! Also the location is great. It is 10min walk to the city centre (which is not that much considering that the walk is wonderful) and 2min walk to hbf which is great if you come to the city by train or plan to visit Neuschwanstein castle. For the ones who are planning to stay during Oktoberfest, the field is also close, like 10min walk.

Disliked: The night that we stayed in the 5 bed room there was a guy who was snoring the whole night and it was really annoying for the other 4 people who were sleeping there. But I guess this is not the hostel's fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IRMA STERLE ERJAVC

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 IRMA would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Not too far a walk from the center. Staffs is very kindly.

Disliked: IRMA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to main train station

Disliked: No kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012

Liked: Good location and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet is only cost EURO 4.5 and I have serveral cups of tea.I am happy staying in Euro Youth Hostel. I would like to stay in here next time and highly recommend to all of you.

Disliked: There is only one lift in the hostel. When we checked out in the morning, the lift is fully occupied by the young people. I am already 65 years old and I have to carry my big suitcase by walking down the stair.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was extremely close to the train station and therefore very nice for the weary traveler uninterested in spending an hour trying to find his sleeping quarters. The bathrooms were clean and the beds are very comfortable.

Disliked: This hostel doesn't have a whole lot of character and doesn't really have comfortable lounging quarters. The bar is just another hostel bar and doesn't have a lot of food options, so don't bank on catching a quick bite there. All in all, the place makes for a relatively good night's sleep but isn't really a place to make friends (unless you wish to get obnoxiously trashed at the hostel bar) or have an authentic German experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Atencio

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 November 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like this hostel was a good mix of both party atmosphere and refined hostel for those looking for a different experience. It claims to be one of the largest hostels in Munich yet felt small and cozy to me. It's in a great location, close to the main train station. Best of all, I loved the convenient amenities of this hostel that made my stay a great one: - quiet beds - quality linen and blankets - individual bed reading lights and electrical outlet - privacy curtain for lower bunk beds! - large under-bed lockers for backpacks/luggage - well thought out lavatories and showers

Disliked: One of the electric hand dryers was out in the men's toilet and there wasn't any other way to dry off ones' hands.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in central area of Munich. For someone who has little clue about where to go or what to visit, the hostel is very helpful in finding you tours and great place to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurtis Cable

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Kurtis would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect! Literally 15 mins walk if that to Marienplatz city centre and close to many different attractions. The staff I wouldn't describe as "friendly" haha, but they certainly weren't rude, just doing their job with a smile and were plenty helpful. Free WiFi is a bonus and for under 5 euros u can grab a decent breakfast. I travelled alone and am quite shy, but would say its easy to meet people in the communal bar if you are the outgoing type. I would stay here again 110% if I came back to Munich and would highly recommend anyone to do the same :)

Disliked: Nothing! It was clean, close to the city centre and excellent value for money, what more can you ask for?

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Audrey SONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and tidy! Staff easy to talk with! Wonderful location esp. for day-trip-around lovers.

Disliked: Laundry coin machine strange to me, it cant give change!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Wild

Alone

Business / conference

21 October 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, value for money.

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefano Spacagna

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

12 October 2012 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really close to the main train station which is just perfect for us traveler . Then is really clean with really good people working there... Really welcoming hostel!!!

Disliked: Actually as is my first experience in a hostel I was expecting something really bad. I'd say the only difference between a hotel and hostel is only that in the hotel the employ escort you to the room and here not. But for the extreme difference of price is worth to go by your own to the room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful hostel! The staff was very friendly, a great place to mingle with other travellers, awesome location in reference to the trains.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels