We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center

Hostel | Landsbergerstrasse 20, Munich, Germany 80339

86.2% Overall Rating

1377 out of 1505 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/01/2015)

"Very quiet, clean and secure! It was easy to meet people here. Also the breakfast is yummy :) wifi is free and accessible throughout the hostel"

Read all MEININGER Munich City Center reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE! During the Oktoberfest (19.09.14 - 05.10.14) the breakfast costs 7.50 EUR per person. The parking place costs 18.00 EUR per day. Special cancellation & payment conditions: CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE
1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full.

Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

WESTEND HOTEL
27.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 198 reviews
Belo Sono
37.32 USD

Apartment 87.0% 43 reviews
A&O München Hackerbrücke
13.11 USD

Hostel 67.8% 884 reviews
A&O München Hauptbahnhof
26.20 USD

Hostel 76.3% 253 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.5% 201 reviews
The 4 You Hostel Munich
15.18 USD

Hostel 81.9% 1776 reviews
Hotel Nymphenburg Munich
41.75 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.5% 328 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
63.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

1377 out of 1505 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER Munich City Center'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 971 of 1120 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, clean and secure! It was easy to meet people here. Also the breakfast is yummy :) wifi is free and accessible throughout the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PUI YI CHENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 PUI YI would recommend this property

Liked: The price is cheap in Munich, it is not too far from central station The staff are nice even they are always busy

Disliked: The cleanness of bathroom can do better

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Evandro Passero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Evandro would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, really well located near the bus and the train stations. The neighborhooneighborhood itself is not pretty and look a little bit dark at night but it was not a problem. Subway system 10 minutes away and tram sistema rigut in front of the doors. We are in 3 people and stayed in a 6ppl room, it was alright. WiFi better than some other hostels we've been to.

Disliked: The drying machine didn't work properly so we needed to pay twice. Also I think they should clean the bathroom more often, once they clean the room after each chexk out... but it was not a major issue.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Bradford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 December 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with very friendly, helpful staff. Very clean and quiet with comfortable beds. Not a party hostel, which made me very happy.

Disliked: The kitchen was barely useful, so maybe not the place for you if you like to cook for yourself as I do. They have two small pots, some plates and cutlery, but no knives and no bowls. There is also only space for maybe 2 people to cook at a time. One room I stayed it had no security lockers, so you just have to leave your laptop out and trust your roommates. This room also strangely had a set of twin beds right next to each other, so it's possible that two strangers would have to sleep basically in the same bed if everything else is taken.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bar doesn't open until 8

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nelson Tay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Nelson would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4 bed room, it is quite spacious. I like the fact that floor towel is provided in the toliet. I can dry my leg after shower and avoid leaving a mess for my other roommates. Room is nicely maintained everyday too.

Disliked: Major issue: There is only one lift and it is super super slow. It takes 5mins on average to wait for the lift. If you are staying 4th floor and below, dont bother using the lift. I stayed for two nightson 6th floor, on the first day, the lift malfunction and I had to climb all the way up. Minor issue: It will be good if there is a place to hang our coat It will be good if locker is provided in the room. P.S. locker is provided at the main lobby though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICARDO FABIAN MALAGUEÑO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2014 RICARDO FABIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and up-to-date hostel, really like a hotel. Rooms with excellent bathrooms and lockers.

Disliked: Breakfast must be paid separately and is very expensive.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Lunn

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 September 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, it was the best hostel i have stayed in throughout europe

Disliked: honestly, there was nothing i could say i didnt like

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHU OUYANG

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 August 2014 SHU would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: It was well outside the city centre, several tram stops or a 15 min walk. It had no real character and was in general boring.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

William Brandon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Good size rooms, th staff were helpful, comfortable beds, fairly quiet

Disliked: The kitchen was way to small and lacked utensils, the bar wasn't the most comunal and prices were not really that cheap for a hostle

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not a lot to be honest. I expected more from a chain hostel.

Disliked: If you book a 12 bed dorm beware that it is not actually a 12 bed dorm. Ours was 2 separate rooms sleeping 8 and then 4 people. There were only 2 of us and when we checked in there were only 2 spare beds one in each of the separate rooms. Luckily we were only there for one night. Wifi didn't reach the rooms which is pretty standard in hostels to be fair, but still annoying.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RACHEL BROWN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 RACHEL would recommend this property

Liked: Small dorm rooms made it easy to meet people & we never had to wait to use the bathroom. Padlocks were complimentary. The staff was very helpful and patient.

Disliked: I couldn't fit my big backpack in the storage locker. The shower didn't drain well. Location wasn't the best - about 30 min from the main square.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rosanna Denton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2014 Rosanna would recommend this property

Liked: Style, sociable, clean, friendly staff, bikes for hire which was amazing! Location was great!!

Disliked: Lack of mirrors in the rooms, lockers in room weren't secure, so had to use one in lobby for 50c. Breakfast was expensive for what it was. Other than that - would recommend!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Westdijk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2014 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean.

Disliked: Can be noisy at night on the street side, but nothing which is a major problem.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brittney Lemon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014

Liked: This hostel provided the three beds and private bath we were looking for. Water pressure was good, toilet paper was restocked and the hostel staff would clean the room daily. Free wifi was essential and provided.

Disliked: There are several areas that did not meet my expectation, nor did they compete with the other 4 hostels I have stayed at on my travels. First, the staff were young and seeme. Inconvenienced by our check in, inquiries about local restaurants, transit, and various purchases we made. They also provided various tours, the one we chose to do was the brewery tour because you can't go to Munich and not participate in a brewery tour. The person behind the desk didn't seem overly interested in fielding any questions and just said to meet at the meeting place at the specified time. Upon arrival, we were informed that there was no English tour, that there wouldn't be any English tours, and suggested we go to a neighboring hostel to join up with their pub crawl. No AC in the rooms, no insulation in the walls, if you need a good nights sleep, look elsewhere. Unfortunately, this was the worst experience for customer service yet.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: It was very warm in the rooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

isabelle de leeneer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: clean room and bathroom with large lockers, close to main railway station, nice bar, helpful staff, good breakfast buffet

Disliked: isabelle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ida Kjeilen Thuv

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

23 July 2014 Ida Kjeilen would recommend this property

Liked: That it is very close to the subway and that you can get an affordable breakfast.

Disliked: At times it was quite noisy at the hostel, and I did not help going to the hotel room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi internet was complimentary. The location of the Hostel itself is not in the middle of "the action", but the transportation links and the fact that they rent bicycles more than make up for it.

Disliked: The only thing that came to mind was that there seemed to be a general lack of information regarding things to in the city itself. There were some pamphlets regarding castles outside of the city, as well as a map that advertised a couple tours, but there was nothing specific for different kinds of interests. What about a nightlife information, or historical points of interest, or a pamphlet of good places to eat. Luckily I am not shy so I just asked a bunch of people, but other people may not be so comfortable or have the linguistic skills.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 그냥 적당히 돈에 비해 괜찮아요 위치도 나쁘지 않고 조식이 좀 비싼대 좋아요

Disliked: 슈퍼나 이런게 주변에 없어서 조금 걸어야 하고요

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, got a private room

Disliked: Had to change rooms after checking in because two of us were given same room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to main train station, clean, simple, very friendly staff. Breakfast is pretty good too.

Disliked: The location, though easy to find, is next to a sewage plant or something so it smells outside. Also the bike rentals are not good quality - mine had no bell and the chain came off very easily

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Marie Gammon

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

17 June 2014 Anne Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Easy access to tram and subway The hotel has all the amenities a traveller could need or want. Exceptional breakfast. Staff very helpful and welcoming. I have travelled significantly and therefore visited many hotels.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lawrance king

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2014 lawrance would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, welcoming and clean!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels