HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center Munich Hostel

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.90EUR

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage lockers (for a fee) if required.

Please note that we have special conditions during the Oktoberfest period (16.09.16 - 03.10.16):

Cancellation:
0 to 30 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount and 31 to 60 days prior to arrival we will charge you 50 % of the total booking amount.

Payment:
We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment) , in order to guarantee your reservation.

If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

*******
Special cancellation & payment conditions 2015/2016:

02.03.2016-06.03.2016
25.03.2016-28.03.2016
11.04.2016-18.04.2016
29.04.2016-01.05.2016
29.12.2016-01.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.


**************************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

**********
Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 107 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The dorm was spacious and clean with lockers in the room and reading lights by each bed. There were 2 ensuite bathrooms in the 12 person dorm. The bar at the hostel had a relaxed atmosphere and the kitchen was small but clean with everything you could need. Key card entry to the rooms made the hostel feel secure. Good location, fairly close to the train station and a bit further to the city centre. Hostel staff were helpful and spoke good English. Overall the hostel was very well thought out.

Disliked: The kitchen was fairly small for the number of guests. The hostel was a 25 minute walk to the city centre.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It is well located. The staff is friendly. We had no problem at all.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Clean, nice breakfast

Disliked: Luggage lockers were expensive

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Quite clean, reasonably accessible

Disliked: Dormitory overcrowded with beds of various quality. Bar and common area lack atmosphere. Breakfast overpriced.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great breakfast, big and clean bathroom and toilet, spacious room, only 1.5€ for the towel (they give back the 5€ deposit when you return the towel). You can pay everything by credit card. Very clean.

Disliked: Only very small lockers outside the rooms, and some of the ones in the room were broken. You have to make your own beds which is awful if you get the top bunk. Also the ladders are cylindrical which is very uncomfortable when climbing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Marina,

thank you for your rating.

Due to the beds: Our stuff is not allowed to make the upper beds, because of hygienic and insurance reasons.
We are sorry for the inconveniences.

Kind regards,
Alex

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Staff were excellent. Very helpful and pleasant.

Disliked: Distinct smell of sewage on the day we arrived (but not noticeable after the first day)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

HI there,
thank you very much for staying with us and your review.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and would like to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Alex

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Uncomplicated, well organized, good equipment.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello,
thanks a lot for your kind review.
We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to your next visit :)
Best wishes,
Alex

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice, clean and tidy. Friendly staff, good breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thanks a lot for the kind review.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here.
Best wishes,
Alex

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Modern and comfortable hostel in a good location

Disliked: This hostel is big and part of a large chain and therefore does lack the atmosphere of an independent hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you very much for choosing MEININGER as your preferred accommodation and taking the time to write this review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and we're looking forward to your next visit :)
Cheers,
Alex

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is really clean. Staffs are all very nice. Located near S-Bahn. Bus and electricity tram stops are nearby. Close to supermarket.

Disliked: They sell things like water or breakfast in a higher price, compare with supermarket.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you very much for takring the time to write this review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you back again to one of the many MEININGER hotels all around Europe.
Best wishes, Alex

Check Availability