We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center

Hostel | Landsbergerstrasse 20, Munich, Germany 80339

87.2% Overall Rating

1402 out of 1533 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2015)

Amy Lemstra thinks…

"This hostel was really great! Super easy check-in, clean, comfortable, good common room. Really wishing I had the time to spend more than one night!"

Read all MEININGER Munich City Center reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE! Special cancellation conditions: 19.09.2015 – 04.10.2015 Until 61 days prior to arrival a cancellation is free of charge, total amounts will be returned. 60 to 31 days prior to arrival we will charge you 50 % of the total booking amount and 30 to 0 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount. Special payment conditions: The total price of the reservation will be charged directly on the day of reservation and is non-refundable prior 0 to 30 days prior to arrival. Special cancellation & payment conditions: CXL 7 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 7 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 6 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. CXL 21 Rooms - Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. BOOKING FOR GROUPS OF 12 OR MORE 1. Bookings for groups of 12 or more: cancellations made by the guest respectively on the part of the intermediary person or organisation are free of charge up to 60 days before expected arrival. For cancellations made within 60 days prior to arrival, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within 60 days of expected arrival: a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due. d) Guests who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged the agreed-upon total price in full. Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival. 2. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies. 60 days cancellation policy - Oktoberfest Cancellations received 0 to 60 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 59 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable. ----------------------------------------------------------------- 21 days cancellation policy – Special Events Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Munich

WESTEND HOTEL
24.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 198 reviews
Belo Sono
38.41 USD

Apartment 86.3% 52 reviews
A&O München Hackerbrücke
17.50 USD

Hostel 70.1% 896 reviews
A&O München Hauptbahnhof
30.06 USD

Hostel 77.8% 255 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
36.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.5% 206 reviews
The 4 You Hostel Munich
21.15 USD

Hostel 81.5% 1825 reviews
Hotel Nymphenburg Munich
36.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.7% 329 reviews
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
55.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 58.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

1402 out of 1533 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'MEININGER Munich City Center'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 987 of 1149 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

TONG WUN CHUN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015 TONG would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly.

Disliked: N.A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Bed was clean.

Disliked: But the drainage in the shower booth was not good

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, rooms were nothing to complain about. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: More like a very basic hotel than a hostel, not much atmosphere.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 August 2015

Liked: That it was near a tram

Disliked: The staff didn't tell me anything about anything. Not facilities or even how to get to My room ! they just gave me a room key that didn't work for the entire stay . Asking for then to reset it was like asking them to move a mountain. Buying a drink at the bar was tripple the price. Wifi didn't work. And the room was like a sweaty sauna.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Das Frühstück

Disliked: Die Flure zu den Zimmern sind renovierungsbedürftig

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Lemstra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2015 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really great! Super easy check-in, clean, comfortable, good common room. Really wishing I had the time to spend more than one night!

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Larson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2015 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The people there were SO NICE. Everyone at the front desk was extremeky cheerful, helpful, and just really good at their jobs. I had a slight issue with my room the first night I stayed, and they changed my room for the second night completly free of charge! They clearly value all of their customers having a good time. Given howw much I paid, I was SHOCKED by how nice the hostel was. Cool bar, very social, clean, friendly, really good location. I would recomend this to anyone traveling on a budget or anyone who wants a social stay in Munich!

Disliked: Their wifi went out for half an hour or so (at least in my room). I wasnt in my room all that often while there (Munich is a really cool city), so I have no idea if that is a common problem. Also apparently that hostel services a good deal more men than women (from what someone staying their told me- could be false). So I would recomend opting for a single sex room. I didn't, and I ended up being the only girl in a room of 12. May not be a big deal to you, but the snoring was pretty impressive.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2015

Liked: They sell you things so expensive. Wifi works really good.

Disliked: Expensive bar.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met some really cool people. Games room and bar for socialising.

Disliked: Some rooms dont have a lot of power outlets. A lot of stag /hen parties. Location a bit out of the way.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure and good location

Disliked: The breakfast could be better

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aya Kuratani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2015 Aya would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really nice and clean. It's very close to the Munich Hauptbahnof so that's really nice and there's a S-Bahn line 5 minutes from the hostel that can get you into town.

Disliked: There's only one ting elevator for the whole building. For people that like walking into town rather than taking public transport, it could be a hassle since it's about a 30 minute walk from Marienplatz I think. But all of the hostels are not in the city center. But like I said, there's a S-Bahn line super close for you to get around. My food got stolen and I overheard others saying their food was stolen too but I guess that's not the hostels fault and there's not too much they can do.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheuk Yin Lam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2015 Cheuk Yin would recommend this property

Liked: It's very easy to find, and it's clean. The design is modern-ish, the clean and clear style, which I like a lot. The beds are not shaky, not making noise every time you turn.

Disliked: Cheuk Yin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tong Tong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2015 Tong would recommend this property

Liked: I like the community room and the friendly staff.

Disliked: The location is a little bit off the beat.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: The kitchen was far too small.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Farnaz Poolady

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

31 January 2015

Liked: The several hobbied that it does have.

Disliked: The Price

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet, clean and secure! It was easy to meet people here. Also the breakfast is yummy :) wifi is free and accessible throughout the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Goran Borovina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Goran would recommend this property

Liked: This is not my first stay with Meininger. I stayed in many hostels owned by Meininger. They are just up to the level. Recommended to any travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PUI YI CHENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015 PUI YI would recommend this property

Liked: The price is cheap in Munich, it is not too far from central station The staff are nice even they are always busy

Disliked: The cleanness of bathroom can do better

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Evandro Passero

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Evandro would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, really well located near the bus and the train stations. The neighborhooneighborhood itself is not pretty and look a little bit dark at night but it was not a problem. Subway system 10 minutes away and tram sistema rigut in front of the doors. We are in 3 people and stayed in a 6ppl room, it was alright. WiFi better than some other hostels we've been to.

Disliked: The drying machine didn't work properly so we needed to pay twice. Also I think they should clean the bathroom more often, once they clean the room after each chexk out... but it was not a major issue.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Bradford

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 December 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with very friendly, helpful staff. Very clean and quiet with comfortable beds. Not a party hostel, which made me very happy.

Disliked: The kitchen was barely useful, so maybe not the place for you if you like to cook for yourself as I do. They have two small pots, some plates and cutlery, but no knives and no bowls. There is also only space for maybe 2 people to cook at a time. One room I stayed it had no security lockers, so you just have to leave your laptop out and trust your roommates. This room also strangely had a set of twin beds right next to each other, so it's possible that two strangers would have to sleep basically in the same bed if everything else is taken.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bar doesn't open until 8

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nelson Tay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Nelson would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4 bed room, it is quite spacious. I like the fact that floor towel is provided in the toliet. I can dry my leg after shower and avoid leaving a mess for my other roommates. Room is nicely maintained everyday too.

Disliked: Major issue: There is only one lift and it is super super slow. It takes 5mins on average to wait for the lift. If you are staying 4th floor and below, dont bother using the lift. I stayed for two nightson 6th floor, on the first day, the lift malfunction and I had to climb all the way up. Minor issue: It will be good if there is a place to hang our coat It will be good if locker is provided in the room. P.S. locker is provided at the main lobby though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICARDO FABIAN MALAGUEÑO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2014 RICARDO FABIAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and up-to-date hostel, really like a hotel. Rooms with excellent bathrooms and lockers.

Disliked: Breakfast must be paid separately and is very expensive.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Lunn

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 September 2014 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, it was the best hostel i have stayed in throughout europe

Disliked: honestly, there was nothing i could say i didnt like

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHU OUYANG

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 August 2014 SHU would recommend this property

Liked: nice

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...


See all Munich hostels
See all Munich hotels