HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center Munich Hostel

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 83%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.78USD

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage lockers (for a fee) if required.

Please note that we have special conditions during the Oktoberfest period (16.09.16 - 03.10.16):

Cancellation:
0 to 30 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount and 31 to 60 days prior to arrival we will charge you 50 % of the total booking amount.

Payment:
We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment) , in order to guarantee your reservation.

If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

*******
Special cancellation & payment conditions 2015/2016:

02.03.2016-06.03.2016
25.03.2016-28.03.2016
11.04.2016-18.04.2016
29.04.2016-01.05.2016
29.12.2016-01.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.


**************************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

**********
Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 83%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 81-90 of 100 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, close to the bus station and shops. Very clean inside the rooms and bathroom. Looked like a hotel. Staff provided good service and helped us locate sights to see.

Disliked: The shower door was a little leaky so the floor got wet easily.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!
Thank you very much for your great review!
We'll take care of the leaky shower door and hope to see you again next time you're around :)
Cheers,
Alex

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 施設は綺麗で、BARなどもありリラックスできました。

Disliked: ドライヤーがあったら…

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: every single thing..seriously

Disliked: nope..not a thing...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there!
Thank you a lot for your awesome review!
Come back and visit us again next time you're in Munich and have a look at the now even nicer bar and gameroom in the public area :)
Safe travels,
Alex

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Key card entry, no lockout or curfew, more like a hotel room than a hostel.

Disliked: No hair dyer, not good for winter

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you very much for your review.
We're happy you had a nice stay at our hotel.
We do provice hair dryers at the reception for a 10EUR deposit. Please feel free to ask for it next time you visit us.
Safe travels,
Alex

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I have previously stayed at MEININGER Munich City Center. It's a great value for money hostel. It's a bit of a walk into the city (around an hour) or 15 minutes walk to the main train station and only one stop into the city centre.

Disliked: If you get a room close to the stairs prepared to be woke up during the night from loud people coming home or doors banging. It's not very sound proof but most hostels are noisy anyway.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank for your nice comment.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here!
See you next time you're in Munich.
Cheers,
Alex

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is very good and comfortable. There is a great atmosphere and the localization is great. I really liked this place.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there,

thanks a lot for your feedback. That means a lot to us! We are very glad that you were satisfied with the hotel.

Cheers Alex

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly people, good location

Disliked: The other girls in the room made so much noise without concern for others.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there,

thank you for the review. If you have a problem with the loudness just come to reception and we gonna try to find a solution together.

Kind regards Alex

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 뮌헨의 엄청 유명한 맥주집이 호스텔 바로 앞이에요! 숙소도 깨끗하고 따뜻하고 좋아요1

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

HI,
thank you for your comment!
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here!
Safe travels,
Alex

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is easy to find and exceptionally comfortable

Disliked: If I had to pick an issue, the towels were really small. Otherwise it was all great.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was fine. It had a kitchen and free wifi which was more than many of the other hostels. No free breakfast, but it did give towels. It's only about a 10 minute walk from the train station and 25-30 minute walk to the old town. There's also a tram. I booked in the dorm but the two rooms were seperated so I was really only sharing with 3 other people, which was nice. The staff recommended the free walking tour at Marienplatz because I only had one day and wanted to make the most of my time, and it turned out really interesting and imformative! I recommend it. Also, it's right across the street from the Augustiner brewery which is actually better (more authentic...) than the Hofbrauhaus.

Disliked: It was really big, which means it's more impersonal and a bit loud. Also, the internet didn't work in my room (because it was in a corner I think) and even though it worked in the lobby, it still didn't work that well. (but it WAS free, so...)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability