HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center Munich Hostel

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 79%

Location 83%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage lockers (for a fee) if required.

Please note that we have special conditions during the Oktoberfest period (15.09.17 - 03.10.17):

Cancellation:
0 to 30 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount and 31 to 60 days prior to arrival we will charge you 50 % of the total booking amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 59 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

Payment:
We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment), in order to guarantee your reservation. If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

*******
Special cancellation & payment conditions:

16.01.2017 - 20.01.2017
09.05.2017 - 11.05.2017
11.09.2017 - 14.09.2017
04.10.2017 - 05.10.2017
06.10.2017 - 07.10.2017
28.12.2017 - 30.12.2017
29.12.2017 - 01.01.2018

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

05.02.2017 - 07.02.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 07 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 06 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.

If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

**************************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

**********
Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 79%

Location 83%

Safety 84%

Staff 82%

Value 86%

Showing 41-50 of 313 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the community room and the friendly staff.

Disliked: The location is a little bit off the beat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you for your review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Did you know that it is only a 5 min ride to the city center with the S-Bahn which is just around the corner?
Would be great to welcome you back again to one of the many MEININGER Hotels in the near future :)
Best wishes, Alex

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: The kitchen was far too small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thanks a lot for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Unfortunately there is no possibility to enlarge our guest kitchen... but the good thing is it bringt our guests closer together :)
Take care, Alex

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very quiet, clean and secure! It was easy to meet people here. Also the breakfast is yummy :) wifi is free and accessible throughout the hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
thanks a lot for your kind review.
We're happy you enjoyed your stay here.
Cheers,
Alex

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals

Liked: The several hobbied that it does have.

Disliked: The Price


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed staying with us.
Best wishes,
Alex

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is not my first stay with Meininger. I stayed in many hostels owned by Meininger. They are just up to the level. Recommended to any travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
thank you very much for your nice review.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and in all the other MEININGER hotels you have stayed in so far :)
Safe travels,
Alex

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price is cheap in Munich, it is not too far from central stationThe staff are nice even they are always busy

Disliked: The cleanness of bathroom can do better

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thanks a lot for your reivew.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here.
We will talk to our housekeeping to have a closer eye on the bathrooms.
Best wishes, Alex

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good place, really well located near the bus and the train stations. The neighborhooneighborhood itself is not pretty and look a little bit dark at night but it was not a problem. Subway system 10 minutes away and tram sistema rigut in front of the doors. We are in 3 people and stayed in a 6ppl room, it was alright. WiFi better than some other hostels we've been to.

Disliked: The drying machine didn't work properly so we needed to pay twice. Also I think they should clean the bathroom more often, once they clean the room after each chexk out... but it was not a major issue.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thanks a lot for your review.
We're happy you had a good stay here.
Hope to see you again next time you're in Munich.
Cheers, Alex

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bar doesn't open until 8

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
thanks for your review!
You're right, the bar only opens at 8pm, but on the other hand it has an open end so that you can still enjoy the bar and the beer for several hours :)
Cheers,
Alex

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice hostel with very friendly, helpful staff. Very clean and quiet with comfortable beds. Not a party hostel, which made me very happy.

Disliked: The kitchen was barely useful, so maybe not the place for you if you like to cook for yourself as I do. They have two small pots, some plates and cutlery, but no knives and no bowls. There is also only space for maybe 2 people to cook at a time. One room I stayed it had no security lockers, so you just have to leave your laptop out and trust your roommates. This room also strangely had a set of twin beds right next to each other, so it's possible that two strangers would have to sleep basically in the same bed if everything else is taken.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thanks a lot for your review.
We're glad you had a nice stay here.
Concerning the guest kitchen we put new equipment in there a couple of weeks ago.
The twin bed in the room you can easily seperate into two single beds, so you don't have to sleep right next to somebody else.
And did you know that we have lockers in the lobby as well? You can use them for free to store your valuables.
Best wishes,
Alex

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed in a 4 bed room, it is quite spacious.I like the fact that floor towel is provided in the toliet. I can dry my leg after shower and avoid leaving a mess for my other roommates.Room is nicely maintained everyday too.

Disliked: Major issue:There is only one lift and it is super super slow. It takes 5mins on average to wait for the lift. If you are staying 4th floor and below, dont bother using the lift.I stayed for two nightson 6th floor, on the first day, the lift malfunction and I had to climb all the way up.Minor issue:It will be good if there is a place to hang our coatIt will be good if locker is provided in the room. P.S. locker is provided at the main lobby though.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability