HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center Munich Hostel

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.75USD

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage lockers (for a fee) if required.

Please note that we have special conditions during the Oktoberfest period (16.09.16 - 03.10.16):

Cancellation:
0 to 30 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount and 31 to 60 days prior to arrival we will charge you 50 % of the total booking amount.

Payment:
We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment) , in order to guarantee your reservation.

If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

*******
Special cancellation & payment conditions 2015/2016:

02.03.2016-06.03.2016
25.03.2016-28.03.2016
11.04.2016-18.04.2016
29.04.2016-01.05.2016
29.12.2016-01.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.


**************************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

**********
Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

Showing 41-50 of 101 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice hostel with very friendly, helpful staff. Very clean and quiet with comfortable beds. Not a party hostel, which made me very happy.

Disliked: The kitchen was barely useful, so maybe not the place for you if you like to cook for yourself as I do. They have two small pots, some plates and cutlery, but no knives and no bowls. There is also only space for maybe 2 people to cook at a time. One room I stayed it had no security lockers, so you just have to leave your laptop out and trust your roommates. This room also strangely had a set of twin beds right next to each other, so it's possible that two strangers would have to sleep basically in the same bed if everything else is taken.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thanks a lot for your review.
We're glad you had a nice stay here.
Concerning the guest kitchen we put new equipment in there a couple of weeks ago.
The twin bed in the room you can easily seperate into two single beds, so you don't have to sleep right next to somebody else.
And did you know that we have lockers in the lobby as well? You can use them for free to store your valuables.
Best wishes,
Alex

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed in a 4 bed room, it is quite spacious.I like the fact that floor towel is provided in the toliet. I can dry my leg after shower and avoid leaving a mess for my other roommates.Room is nicely maintained everyday too.

Disliked: Major issue:There is only one lift and it is super super slow. It takes 5mins on average to wait for the lift. If you are staying 4th floor and below, dont bother using the lift.I stayed for two nightson 6th floor, on the first day, the lift malfunction and I had to climb all the way up.Minor issue:It will be good if there is a place to hang our coatIt will be good if locker is provided in the room. P.S. locker is provided at the main lobby though.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, it was the best hostel i have stayed in throughout europe

Disliked: honestly, there was nothing i could say i didnt like

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Danielle,

thank you very much for your comment and really nice rating, we love to hear that you enyoed your stay.

We hope to see you gain here in Munich or any other MEININGER in Europe

Alex

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very modern and up-to-date hostel, really like a hotel. Rooms with excellent bathrooms and lockers.

Disliked: Breakfast must be paid separately and is very expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

thanks a lot for your review.
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay hear.
We offer a all you can eat and drink continental breakfast buffet for 5,90EUR.
There you can chose between bread and rolls, ham and cheese, fruit and cornflakes, joghurt, milk, coffee, tea, juice and bavarian specialties.
We would like to welcome you back at one of the MEININGER Hotels all around Europe.
Cheers,
Alex

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good size rooms, th staff were helpful, comfortable beds, fairly quiet

Disliked: The kitchen was way to small and lacked utensils, the bar wasn't the most comunal and prices were not really that cheap for a hostle

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Brandon, thank a lot for your comment and good rating.

We always like to hear that our guests enjoy their stay.

Many greetings from Munich
Alex

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: It was well outside the city centre, several tram stops or a 15 min walk. It had no real character and was in general boring.


The property's response is

Dear D. thanks for the comment we will pass the compliment to our cleaning staff.

Many greetings from Munich
Alex

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: nice

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear, thanks a lot for the nice rating and lovely comment.

We hope to see you back here in Munich or any other MEININGER in Europe

Alex

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small dorm rooms made it easy to meet people & we never had to wait to use the bathroom. Padlocks were complimentary. The staff was very helpful and patient.

Disliked: I couldn't fit my big backpack in the storage locker. The shower didn't drain well.Location wasn't the best - about 30 min from the main square.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you very much for your comment.
We're happy you enjoyed our small dormitory.
It would be helpful if you could send us an email with the roomnumber, then we can fix the showe drain immediately.
Hope to see you again next time you're in Munich,
Alex

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Style, sociable, clean, friendly staff, bikes for hire which was amazing! Location was great!!

Disliked: Lack of mirrors in the rooms, lockers in room weren't secure, so had to use one in lobby for 50c. Breakfast was expensive for what it was. Other than that - would recommend!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this comment.
Did you know that you can rent padlocks for the lockers in the room for only a 5EUR deposit?
We also just charge a deposit of 5EUR for the lockers in the lobby, meaning when you return the padlock/the key to the locker we give you back the 5 EUR.
We would love to welcome you back again soon!
Best wishes,
Alex

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not a lot to be honest. I expected more from a chain hostel.

Disliked: If you book a 12 bed dorm beware that it is not actually a 12 bed dorm. Ours was 2 separate rooms sleeping 8 and then 4 people. There were only 2 of us and when we checked in there were only 2 spare beds one in each of the separate rooms. Luckily we were only there for one night. Wifi didn't reach the rooms which is pretty standard in hostels to be fair, but still annoying.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear S. thanks a lot for your comment and open words, we will pass your concerns to our provider.

Many greetings from Munich, Alex

Check Availability