HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center Munich Hostel

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 8.38USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE!

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage room if required.

Please note that we have special conditions during the Oktoberfest period (16.09.16 - 03.10.16):

Cancellation:
0 to 30 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount and 31 to 60 days prior to arrival we will charge you 50 % of the total booking amount.

Payment:
We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment) , in order to guarantee your reservation.

If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

*******
Special cancellation & payment conditions 2015/2016:

02.03.2016-06.03.2016
25.03.2016-28.03.2016
11.04.2016-18.04.2016
29.04.2016-01.05.2016
29.12.2016-01.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.


**************************

Bookings for groups of 12 or more: Any cancellations are permitted free of charge up to 60 days before the expected day of arrival for groups on the basis of multi bed rooms; respectively 45 days before the expected day of arrival for groups on the basis of single and double rooms. For cancellations made after this deadline, the following cancellation fees apply; these fees also apply for bookings made within this term:

a) For cancellations made 59 to 30 days respectively 44 to 30 days before expected arrival, 30 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
b) For cancellations made 29 to 10 days before expected arrival, 50 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
c) For cancellations made 9 to 1 day(s) before expected arrival, 80 per cent of the agreed-upon total price will be due.
d) Customers who either cancel on the day of their expected arrival or simply do not show up will be charged 90 per cent of the agreed-upon total price in full. Above cancellation conditions also apply if the number of persons is reduced at least 10 per cent within this period of time. A reduction of less than 10 per cent is free of charge until 1 day prior to arrival.

1.3. Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 87%

Showing 21-30 of 123 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: That it was near a tram

Disliked: The staff didn't tell me anything about anything. Not facilities or even how to get toMy room ! they just gave me a room key that didn't work for the entire stay . Asking for then to reset it was like asking them to move a mountain.Buying a drink at the bar was tripple the price. Wifi didn't work. And the room was like a sweaty sauna.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The people there were SO NICE. Everyone at the front desk was extremeky cheerful, helpful, and just really good at their jobs. I had a slight issue with my room the first night I stayed, and they changed my room for the second night completly free of charge! They clearly value all of their customers having a good time. Given howw much I paid, I was SHOCKED by how nice the hostel was. Cool bar, very social, clean, friendly, really good location. I would recomend this to anyone traveling on a budget or anyone who wants a social stay in Munich!

Disliked: Their wifi went out for half an hour or so (at least in my room). I wasnt in my room all that often while there (Munich is a really cool city), so I have no idea if that is a common problem. Also apparently that hostel services a good deal more men than women (from what someone staying their told me- could be false). So I would recomend opting for a single sex room. I didn't, and I ended up being the only girl in a room of 12. May not be a big deal to you, but the snoring was pretty impressive.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They sell you things so expensive. Wifi works really good.

Disliked: Expensive bar.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Met some really cool people. Games room and bar for socialising.

Disliked: Some rooms dont have a lot of power outlets. A lot of stag /hen parties. Location a bit out of the way.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe and secure and good location

Disliked: The breakfast could be better

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel was really nice and clean. It's very close to the Munich Hauptbahnof so that's really nice and there's a S-Bahn line 5 minutes from the hostel that can get you into town.

Disliked: There's only one ting elevator for the whole building. For people that like walking into town rather than taking public transport, it could be a hassle since it's about a 30 minute walk from Marienplatz I think. But all of the hostels are not in the city center. But like I said, there's a S-Bahn line super close for you to get around. My food got stolen and I overheard others saying their food was stolen too but I guess that's not the hostels fault and there's not too much they can do.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the community room and the friendly staff.

Disliked: The location is a little bit off the beat.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you for your review.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Did you know that it is only a 5 min ride to the city center with the S-Bahn which is just around the corner?
Would be great to welcome you back again to one of the many MEININGER Hotels in the near future :)
Best wishes, Alex

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: The kitchen was far too small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,
thanks a lot for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Unfortunately there is no possibility to enlarge our guest kitchen... but the good thing is it bringt our guests closer together :)
Take care, Alex

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very quiet, clean and secure! It was easy to meet people here. Also the breakfast is yummy :) wifi is free and accessible throughout the hostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,
thanks a lot for your kind review.
We're happy you enjoyed your stay here.
Cheers,
Alex

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals

Liked: The several hobbied that it does have.

Disliked: The Price


The property's response is

Hi there,
thank you for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed staying with us.
Best wishes,
Alex

Check Availability