HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of MEININGER Munich City Center Munich Hostel

Landsberger Strasse 20, Munich, Germany

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.74USD

Important Information

Earliest check in time is 3pm on arrival date for all Meininger properties. Of course guests can arrive before 3pm and leave their bags in our luggage lockers (for a fee) if required.

Please note that we have special conditions during the Oktoberfest period (16.09.16 - 03.10.16):

Cancellation:
0 to 30 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show we will charge you 100 % of the total booking amount and 31 to 60 days prior to arrival we will charge you 50 % of the total booking amount.

Payment:
We require payment in advance for the whole booking amount (bank transfer or credit card payment) , in order to guarantee your reservation.

If payment is not received your booking will be cancelled.

*******
Special cancellation & payment conditions 2015/2016:

02.03.2016-06.03.2016
25.03.2016-28.03.2016
11.04.2016-18.04.2016
29.04.2016-01.05.2016
29.12.2016-01.01.2017

Cancellations received 0 to 21 days prior to arrival or in case of No Show will be charged 100 % of the total reservation amount. The total price of the reservation will be charged 20 days prior arrival and it is non-refundable.


**************************

Room bookings for groups of 12 persons and above:

The deadline for free cancellations is 60 days before the day of arrival for group bookings on the basis of multi-bed rooms. For groups on the basis of single and double rooms, the deadline for free cancellations is 45 days before the day of arrival. These deadlines also apply if the Contract is concluded within the respective deadline. On cancellation after these deadlines, cancellation charges are payable on the following terms:

a) From 59 days (group booking on the basis of multi-bed rooms) or 44 days (group booking on the basis of single and double rooms) to 30 days prior to arrival, 30 percent of the agreed booking price is payable.
b) 29 to 10 days prior to arrival: 50 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
c) 9 to 1 day(s) prior to arrival: 80 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
d) In the event of a cancellation on the day of arrival or non-utilisation of the service, 90 percent of the total agreed booking price is payable.
e) If the number of persons falls by more than ten percent within these deadlines, the above cancellation charges for the cancelled persons will apply accordingly. Up to ten percent of the number of persons may be cancelled free of charge up to one day prior to arrival.
Unless otherwise agreed, for groups of twelve persons or more a payment of 10 percent of the total booking price shall be due immediately on confirmation of the booking. Unless otherwise agreed, the remaining amount will be due no later than four weeks prior to arrival without the Hotel issuing a separate payment reminder. In the case of group bookings booked less than eight weeks prior to arrival, the first advance payment of 10 percent shall not apply and the total booking price will be due in full in advance immediately on confirmation of the booking.

**********
Booked meals can be cancelled free of charge until 8 days prior to arrival. Thereafter, a cancellation fee of 100 per cent of the agreed-upon total price applies.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Munich?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 87%

Value 87%

Showing 281-101 of 101 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location and price

Disliked: atmosphere, alot of school children, older travelers, showers having to press for 30seconds of water. (having to pay extra for facilites)kitchen very dirty not enough suplies to clean / cook with

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean beds and good showers.

Disliked: Staff were very rude. Especially the guy with curly hair and beard.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bathrooms were directly adjoined to the dorm rooms. With a private shower and bath to share with every group of 4 people in the dorm.

Disliked: It did not have very much original character and the staff were not very welcoming

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Not far from the train station. The room is clean. And the receptionists are helpful.

Disliked: Everyone in our room is from Asia. I'm not sure whether the hostel did it on purpose to make us feel more comfortable. I don't see the point. And there's less chance for us to meet ppl from different cultural background.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great overall

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location wasn't far from center, however it was across the road from a dog food factory. Stank.Free Wi-Fi in lobby was good.

Disliked: When we first arrived the rooms smelt like somebody had urinated all over the place. A door to the outside rooftops/street was wide open and had no lock and our 'clean' linen was covered in hairs. The bathroom was dirty and had an air vent absolutely covered with dust, possibly why it couldn't remove the TERRIBLE smell. We were told the rooms were cleaned 'every day' and handed some freshener but saw no eveidence of them ever being cleaned. The lockers wouldn't lock, and in the event that they had i would have fancied my grandma to be able to force them open. As a result we carried our valuables around Munich all day every day in the rain.Breakfast was ABSOLUTELY NOT worth the 4.50, we by no means expected a lot, but in our experiences of hostels its the worst value for money breakfast we've ever had. Literally, some bread and limited choice of cereal. Do not be fooled into thinking 'it'll do for 15 Euros' because it won't. The worst hostel we've ever stayed in.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was right on the main strip through town. I could just walk along the road in front of the hostel straight to the heart of the city.

Disliked: It smells strongly of beer sometimes since it's right across from a brewery. This could be a good or bad thing. Some people thought it smelled really nice.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were spacious...it was right across the street from the Augustiner Beer Hall...it had pretty much everything one needs...soul recommend it.

Disliked: The laundry didn't work and there was no indication of it ever being fixed.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location is very good, and it is easy to reach the centre of Munich without trouble either by U bahn or tram. The location over the road of Munich's 2nd most famous Beer House Augustinianum is the best bonus of all.

Disliked: It was very noisy - the slamming of doors by unconsiderate kids/students went on throughout the day. Where were their supervisors/teachers? The room was badly designed in that only one bed had a reading light, and the TV couldn't be seen from the other bed. For the price we were paying I think that at least a light over the second bed could have been provided.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Has an elevator, good wifi (although only in lobby), certainly alot of people around so plenty of opportunity to meet people. The breakfast is basic but probably worth the 4 euro unless you are organised enough to get to the supermarket to buy your own cereal and toast. Keycard access and is very close to the bus station.

Disliked: The dorm room was tiny, we couldn't even fit all of our bags in it. The lockers are 'highschool' style, so good if you want to hang something up, but you can't fit a large backpack in one. The shower/ bathroom was pretty average and you will definitely need earplugs here as there are doors slamming/ people partying all night.

Check Availability